An Garda Siochana - Do you respect them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    I've been stopped about three times for speeding in recent months and each guard has turned around and said something like "you're blonde, go on!" etc.

I was also pulled into a garage at about 2am one night and an undercover car came upto me and they both shined their tourch in at me (I had pulled in to send a text) and they were like "what are you doing?" and I said "oh I just pulled in to send a text" and they just replied "ah sure you can do that driving! enjoy your night!".

However I've noticed they can be a lot different on the phone, for instance I phoned up a station there about a month ago in relation to a tax fine which was left on my car window. Lets just pretend the name left on the ticket was Emma Hog". Phone call went like this...

Me: Hi is Emma Hog there please?
    Guard: No there's no one here that works under that name.
    Me: Well she's after leaving a ticket on my car and the ticket clearly says Emma Hog
    Guard: No Emma Hog, but there is an Emma Hogan
    Me: Well that's obviously her then, can I speak with her?
    Guard:Next time you phone up get the name right
    Me: Excuse me???? How dare you. Ticket says Emma Hog now if you've got a problem with that then tell your colleague to spell her name correctly in future :mad:

That's 4 examples of sh1te policework, "sound" or not.
    Assuming for just one second that the Garda Siochana had any interest in going after the criminal bankers and their Fianna Fail buddies, do you think they'd have a hope in hell if they can't even spell their own names correctly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

This thread has descended into the foreseeable farce it was always destined to be. Too many people mixing up the reality of a huge number of gardaí on the street with a Killinaskully caricature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Im always respectful to them and I appreciate that they have a very hard job. But im from Donegal and I know how corrupt some of them are. The Donegal Garda corruption scandal was mild in comparison to some of the stuff they got up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

One thing people keep saying here is that it's just a minority of the guards who behave poorly or incompetently. If it's only a minority it's a very noticeable one let's put it that way. Maybe it's the nature of the job but I've come across far more stupid or bullying guards than I have other civil servants.

There's been quite a few studies on law enforcement professionals and a link to a predisposition for violence.

http://maamodt.asp.radford.edu/Police%20Research/Police%20-%20Personality%20and%20Domestic%20Violence.pdf

A good example from this part of the country is the way the Garda basically ignore the law to allow spectators at GAA matches to park wherever they feel like, even blocking off residents driveways. Even the GAA themselves were welcome to block off houses with their merchandise vans, despite multiple phone calls to the nearby Garda station who said there was "nothing they could do".
    None of the complaint calls were even logged.
    I had a next door neighbour who was a bit batty and left her radio on blaring 24/7. When I first moved in I didn't know what was happening as I couldn't get an answer at the door and the house seemed to be empty. Advice from the Gardai? "There's nothing we can do. Have you gone around the back and looked in to kitchen window?"
    Er, wouldn't that be illegal?
    "Well, I guess so..."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Boards.ie is an excellent forum but probally does not truly reflect societys as a poll would, independant surveys have consistantly put public confidence in the Gardai at 80% + bracket and internationally that's excellent, Negative posters don't have to state what their occupations are but if they did they might not be so perfect either and open to ridcule, as a Garda I have to say the respect I get on the street by and large is fantastic and it works both ways, i won't listen to ****e for too long from a scumbag or drunken law student if I'm being abused pbut I'm not here to be abused either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Bosco boy wrote: »
    Boards.ie is an excellent forum but probally does not truly reflect societys as a poll would, independant surveys have consistantly put public confidence in the 80% + bracket and internationally that's excellent, Negitive posters don't have to state what their occupations are but if they did they might not be so perfect either and open to ridcule, as a Garda I have to say the respect I get on the street by and large is fantastic and it works both ways, i won't listen to ****e for too long from a scumbag or drunken law student if I'm being abused pbut I'm not here to be abused either.
    That might be more an age thing than a Boards thing to be honest. Presumably nationwide polls would include the older age bracket, the Catholic generation, and this demographic would typically be more deferential to, and have more respect for, people in positions of authority.

Add to this the fact that younger people would have more run-ins with the Garda, and would generally find themselves more targeted by them, and I think you'd have a better explanation for the discrepancy in the statistics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Bosco boy wrote: »
    Boards.ie is an excellent forum but probally does not truly reflect societys as a poll would, independant surveys have consistantly put public confidence in the Gardai at 80% + bracket and internationally that's excellent, Negative posters don't have to state what their occupations are but if they did they might not be so perfect either and open to ridcule, as a Garda I have to say the respect I get on the street by and large is fantastic and it works both ways, i won't listen to ****e for too long from a scumbag or drunken law student if I'm being abused pbut I'm not here to be abused either.

Even from reading the thread, it's very easy to differentiate between people who have had genuinely bad experiences and the serial moaners.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I think you'd have a better explanation for the discrepancy in the statistics.

I think the best explanation at all is down to the fact that people on boards are behind a computer screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

prinz wrote: »
    I think the best explanation at all is down to the fact that people on boards are behind a computer screen.
    What, in the broader surveys do they have a Garda stand over you as you fill in the poll options?

Do you think a non-internet survey of the <25 age bracket would result in an >80% vote of confidence for the Gardaí?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

A little overweight? Some of them are obese!

I was in abrakebabra one evening and i saw two guards come in and order food and sign for it. They had an account there! How can you respect overweight guards that are meant to be fit and healthy?

Did you ever stop and think that maybe it was for a prisoner...:confused:

Pace2008 wrote: »
    What, in the broader surveys do they have a Garda stand over you as you fill in the poll options?Do you think a non-internet survey of the <25 age bracket would result in an >80% vote of confidence for the Gardaí?

No, but I'd think there would be far less of the 'badly educated/village idiot/ignorant/wannabe security men/dull/incapable of intelligent conversations' shíte.

Forgive me for thinking some of the people coming out with the above kind of crap would in reality become quiet as church mice when dealing with a member of AGS face to face. Although can't blame people for this 100%, many of them have probably never had any real dealings with the gardaí and have formed an opinion based on RTÉ's stereotype, which has been a gripe of mine for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

There are 3 types of people who don't respect Gardai
    1. People who can't obey the law and therefore dislike the ones that make them obey it.

2. The people who have had bad experience with the small minority of bad immature Garda.

3. power hungry people who never got to be (at best) like the people in option2

Note: ive often met a bad mechanic or nurse but noone gives them the severe critical analysis the Gardai get off the public. Some people think they are right always, all of the time.....until they get told they aren't by the people whos job it is to tell them.

They seem fine in my limited experience with them.
    An ex assaulted, late one night and the guy took off, wouldn't expect much done but they were down at the house fairly sharp and asked questions and took it all down.
    Breathalysing, passport forms signed, etc, all very professional and courteous.
    And of course the time I didn't look where I was going in town one day and pretty much walked into one of them :D laughed it off

prinz wrote: »
    Forgive me for thinking some of the people coming out with the above kind of crap would in reality become quiet as church mice when dealing with a member of AGS face to face.
    Possibly due to that fact that they'd be afraid you'd kick lumps out of them perhaps no matter how peaceful they are, as witnessed on national news?
    Just guessing.
    Unbelievable that a Garda would think the best response to allegations of incompetence would be a threat of a kicking. Or maybe not so unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭hobochris

Depends on the individual Garda, Some are a credit to the organisation, Others have no place being in that position in society.

I generally give the same level of respect that I'm given.

I have met a couple of bad apples, who have attempted to give me hassle under the 'I was bullied at school and now its my ****ing turn' Act™ (i.e. no reason other then they are having a bad day).

I have met Garda who could not have been more helpful(luckily these in my experience are the majority).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I don't respect the Gardai, or for that matter, Doctors, Nurses etc etc. Neither do I hate them or take the piss out of them. I deal with people on a 1 on 1 basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Turtyturd wrote: »
    As someone pointed out in another thread. I respect the Laws, not so much those that enforce them.

I would be on the opposite side of the coin from this. I was arrested recently for breaking a law that I completely disagree with. The guards who arrested me were very helpful and respectful.

I think with all the things that have gone wrong with this state, the one thing we've been lucky with is our police service. I think they do a good job and the majority of them are very professional. Ireland would be comparable to a lot of South American nations in terms of political corruption and back-handed cronyism.

Thankfully we don't have the same levels of police corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

http://www.herald.ie/breaking-news/national-news/gardai-in-pepper-spray-probe-2425009.html

Ah yea perfect police force, courteous, use only nesacery force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

steddyeddy wrote: »
    http://www.herald.ie/breaking-news/national-news/gardai-in-pepper-spray-probe-2425009.html

Ah yea perfect police force, courteous, use only nesacery force

Every allegation of assault is investigated and every use of pepper spray is reviewed. It doesn't actually mean anything was done wrong. I could accuse you of running me over. Doesn't mean you actually did it.

k_mac wrote: »
    Every allegation of assault is investigated and every use of pepper spray is reviewed. It doesn't actually mean anything was done wrong. I could accuse you of running me over. Doesn't mean you actually did it.

weak man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

I think its a disgrace that nearly 40% of people on here dont respect the Guards. Just another small indication of how boards is full of idiots.

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    I think its a disgrace that nearly 40% of people on here dont respect the Guards. Just another small indication of how boards is full of idiots.

people who disagree with you are idiots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I've met maybe three sound guards who are actually nice people.

The vastly overwhelming majority of them that I've met are power-tripping thickos. They seem intend on getting you into more trouble by antagonising you into an ill-advised response. You really need to hold your tongue around them. That really drives me nuts.

I've dealt with police in other countries who are a million times more acceptable when they are giving out to you. They give out to you and get on with it. Here, they firstly try to get you into further trouble, then give you loads of smartarsing and sermonising before letting you go after an age. Why is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

steddyeddy wrote: »
    people who disagree with you are idiots?

In this instance, yes.

I've met maybe three sound guards who are actually nice people.

The vastly overwhelming majority of them that I've met are power-tripping thickos. They seem intend on getting you into more trouble by antagonising you into an ill-advised response. You really need to hold your tongue around them. That really drives me nuts.

I've dealt with police in other countries who are a million times more acceptable when they are giving out to you. They give out to you and get on with it. Here, they firstly try to get you into further trouble, then give you loads of smartarsing and sermonising before letting you go after an age. Why is it?

Thank you and thats were Im coming from too I lived aborad for years and the level of basic courtesy the police in other countries show you really shows our police force up. I have never been in trouble with the gaurds but I find that although there are plenty of nice ones there are several that are an embarrasment to ireland

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    In this instance, yes.

you dont see anything wrong with saying people who have a different view than you are idiots? Do you see how you calling people idiots shows a slight paradox after that comment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭nomnomnom

Im from Tír Chonaill,I know what they are like first hand.

I wouldnt put water on one of them if he was burning.

Anyone who walks about with open eyes and ears knows what they are capable of.

Terence Wheelocks family or Frank McBreartys or Frank Whites or all the other victims of their evil have seen no justice and be careful because if you fall foul of them neither will you.

FTG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

I have less than 0 respect for them. I honestly don't give a **** if there are good, bad or indifferent Garda out there as long as they do their job which is to enforce the law. Them going out of their way to take it handy and wreck the head of the everyday hard working John then turn a blind eye to 2 junkies shooting up ina phone box just off O'Connell Street completely baffles me.

The holier than thou types praising them for getting out of bed, standing up and being counted every morning can feck off too. They're doing a poxy job. Lots of us have poxy jobs. Their poxy job just happens to be law enforcement. They are in a very lucky position that there are a huge amount of laws to choose from when it comes down to it. I've seen first hand the law they can be arsed with and the ones they just don't like the hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

kyub wrote: »
    Them going out of their way to take it handy and wreck the head of the everyday hard working John then turn a blind eye to 2 junkies shooting up ina phone box just off O'Connell Street completely baffles me.

Because John is an easy target and the two junkies are hard work.