FF Propaganda on the Six One News.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

snyper wrote: »
    Dont do that ..seriously.

They (as in any politican) expect it and simply dont take any notice of it.

If a Sinn Fein Head came to my door i would like to give them in a head in the face, but that would only be lowering myself to their level. An easier way to deflate them is ask them some questions about economic policy.

If you dont like FF, you will make a better impact by doing the same.. trust me on this one

I wish I could thank this post twice. I can't wait til the election so I can have a somewhat "charged" discussion with candidates from certain parties who come weasling up looking for my vote. Fun times!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

If a Sinn Fein Head came to my door i would like to give them in a head in the face, but that would only be lowering myself to their level. An easier way to deflate them is ask them some questions about economic policy.

But surely if you asked a sensible economic question to any politician you would just end up having to explain it to them thus lowering yourself to their level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Einhard wrote: »
    No, it's just laziness, plain and simple. There's no other word to describe lumping FG in with SF. Their policies on cutting expenditure alone are completely different.

Also, if you feel so strongly about it, why not form your own party? I know of one boards poster who has done just that. But you'd just rather bang on about our appaling state of affairs without doing ANYTHING to address them. That's not noble or sticking it to the system, that's just apathy.

Where is this said boards member...I would like to take a look at his opinions. Several of my colleagues have also mentioned this. We need new political parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Where is this said boards member...I would like to take a look at his opinions. Several of my colleagues have also mentioned this. We need new political parties.

Amhrain nua

Sharkey 10 wrote: »
    If enda kenny is our next taoiseach things will be as bad

NO THEY WON'T!!!!!

God, I hate that reasoning. Ff have absolutely bankrupted this nation over the past 10 years, have caved in repeatedly to every vested interest, and essentially repudiated all notion of fiscal prudence in order to gain power in 2002 and 2007. And yet, FG are somehow going to be worse on the sole basis that Enda Kenny has all the charisma of a plank?! Bullcrap!! FG consistently opposed the idiotic benchmarking policy, knowing well it would cost them votes. They're come up with interesting proposals on health and public reform. I'm a supporter of no party or ideology, but I wish people would stop claiming that FG or Labour would somehow be worse than FF, that they're all the same. They're not! Or at least, there's no basis to claim so. It's just lazy bloody analysis to think so.

Elmo wrote: »
    But surely if you asked a sensible economic question to any politician you would just end up having to explain it to them thus lowering yourself to their level.

No, you wont. Politicians are not stupid. Thinking they are, is naive.

They might make some stupid decisions, but as a collective entity, you cant describe them as stupid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Without any introduction they began a piece on Latvia, a country which seems to have suffered even worse than Ireland from a bust. However despite the policies pushed on the government by the IMF/EU the government has been re-elected. Does anyone think there is any reason for this piece other than to show the good people of Ireland that FF deserve re-election?

The race for the Dail is starting now people, its time to join a party and start canvassing if you are genuine about not letting FF back into government again.

Not really? Maybe it was to make people aware not to be complacent that it can happen, or maybe you are correct... or maybe both views are correct and it was an impartial piece to draw similarities between both situations so people can make up their own mind.

Am I the only one who feels FF will be back in power despite all the whinging here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Op as a matter of interest which party will you be canvasing for ?
    Personally , i will probably spoil my vote.

The opposition parties are awful. It new polititions we need and a total reform of our democracy .

Things are already bad, and will be for a long time. It won't be because Enda Kenny is Taoiseach:rolleyes:

Copper23 wrote: »
    Am I the only one who feels FF will be back in power despite all the whinging here?

God, I hope you're the only one. If FF get back in I'm going to launch a campaign for Ireland to become a fully fledged province of Germany.

NO THEY WON'T!!!!!

. And yet, FG are somehow going to be worse on the sole basis that Enda Kenny has all the charisma of a plank?! .

My opinion on enda is, he actually has charsisma, and he impressed during the leadership challenge, however - big PR mistake was when he was accused of not being vocal and passionate and within a few days he was literally screaming in the Dail - i actually cringed.

But FG imo are a decent party.. ie they're not sinn feinn or the Greens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Anyone remember US comedian George Burns?
    “Too bad all the people who know how to run the country are busy driving taxi cabs and cutting hair."

God, I hope you're the only one. If FF get back in I'm going to launch a campaign for Ireland to become a fully fledged province of Germany.

FF wont get back int power.

However - they will get between 6 -8% more in the national election than polls leading up to the election show.

They will be back after the following term.

Bookmark this post.

I'll put my money (the little i have) where my mouth is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

NO THEY WON'T!!!!!

God, I hate that reasoning. Ff have absolutely bankrupted this nation over the past 10 years, have caved in repeatedly to every vested interest, and essentially repudiated all notion of fiscal prudence in order to gain power in 2002 and 2007. And yet, FG are somehow going to be worse on the sole basis that Enda Kenny has all the charisma of a plank?! Bullcrap!! FG consistently opposed the idiotic benchmarking policy, knowing well it would cost them votes. They're come up with interesting proposals on health and public reform. I'm a supporter of no party or ideology, but I wish people would stop claiming that FG or Labour would somehow be worse than FF, that they're all the same. They're not! Or at least, there's no basis to claim so. It's just lazy bloody analysis to think so.

The fine gael party love enda

One things certain if fine gael are in power after the next GE , enda will not be leader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jaysus! I thought it was actually a nice piece of good news. The IMF coming in doesn't mean the end of the world as some think. They increased the minimum wage there and have a scheme to help people in arrears.
    Suppose we should just let RTE become like Boards instead and we'll all cut our wrists.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

I know but seriously... it wasn't as bad last time but at the last election everyone was convinced they wouldn't get in.
    I keep going back to the same problem. None of the other individual parties appear large enough or capable enough to do any better and get us out of this. And they don't act like collectively they would be cohesive enough to all agree on and formulate plans to deal with our country.

Its a simple scenario I keep putting forward but rarely hear an arguement showing me something that proves it is incorrect. Its very worrying. I genuinely feel if FF are not in power it will be very very close and there is a solid chance that they will when push comes to shove and the actual votes of those who chose to go out are counted.

I'll be honest, I'm no fan of any of my FF candidates but I am equally not overly impressed with my alternatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Op as a matter of interest which party will you be canvasing for ?
    Personally , i will probably spoil my vote.

The opposition parties are awful. It new polititions we need and a total reform of our democracy .

I haven't decided yet but I will have to pull the finger out soon I guess. Things will not be as bad if Kenny is taoiseach. That's unthinking foolishness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The report showed that the EU/IMF gave Latvia €7.5 billion

The report could / should have mentioned what (if anything) the Latvian government did in relation to its corrupt and rogue banks (assuming they had any).

The report also said that they cut EVERYTHING public service related by 50%, which I assume included the government's wages, expenses and pensions.

Maybe the above three points explain why their people trusted their government to do the right thing.

So no, citing Latvia as an example of why we should vote a government back in does not equate to promoting FF, because the above 3 issues are what should ensure that FF are buried six feet under.

As for the canvassers, I've come up with a new idea. If an FF canvasser arrives at my doorstep I'm going to tell them "not interested" and then follow them all the way up the road, calling into every house once they leave and dropping in a printout detailing every f**k up and corrupt and sickening decision this government has made.

K-9 wrote: »
    Jaysus! I thought it was actually a nice piece of good news. The IMF coming in doesn't mean the end of the world as some think. They increased the minimum wage there and have a scheme to help people in arrears.
    Suppose we should just let RTE become like Boards instead and we'll all cut our wrists.

The way the article/section was written was to put maximum emphasis on the fact that the government was re-elected despite the decisions, clearly suggesting Irish people should forgive and forget with FF.

My opinion on enda is, he actually has charsisma, and he impressed during the leadership challenge, however - big PR mistake was when he was accused of not being vocal and passionate and within a few days he was literally screaming in the Dail - i actually cringed.

Where do you sense that enda has charisma ?
    Id love go on a session with cowen but definatly not enda.
    Im not defending cowens policies or his government but its obvious he has a great personality.

I haven't decided yet but I will have to pull the finger out soon I guess. Things will not be as bad if Kenny is taoiseach. That's unthinking foolishness.

What makes you think they will be better? The fact that they cant get much worse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭geespot

fine gael want cuts in public service and welfare labour wants to spend its way out of crisis with the help of unions they could agree to limiting public spending by say a max increase in the number and wages of public servants by 10-20% and increasing social welfare by the same and probably take in refugees to fill the empty houses blaming fianna fail for the greed that everyone in this country showed and the stupidity in taking out loans that a child wouldve known they could not payback but now when the sh1t hits the fan its everybodys fault but theres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

They're not as bad as Sinn Fein and the Greens but they're no Fianna Fail, eh?
    Not that you're a supporter of FF or anything...
    Actually, your post is reminiscent of the kind of 'balance' you see on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

When the dust settles we will finally be rid of the FF cancer once and for all but

WE WILL NEVER FORGET WHAT THEY HAVE DONE:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

The first policy of my new party is to tax the church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Im not defending cowens policies or his government but its obvious he has a great personality.

My buddies are great craic but I wouldn't let them run the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Enda has no charisma and his new Finance spokesperson is depressed.

Cowen can talk but often doesn't come across well at all, on occasion he takes up the mantel of a leader but generally this isn't in the dail. His speech to the SFA was well presented and high in energy, something that often does not come out in other speeches he has made.

I am neither a fan of FF or FG but I hope that they make up the next government together so we can do away with civil war politics once and for all.

Either way I feel FF need to take Ireland out of the recession before any new administration takes over, but this should not mean that people vote for the feckers.

If he had none, he would never become a leader of a party.

You need to get elected as a TD and then by your peers to become leader - if your personality is akin to a potato, you aint getting elected. People see him answering questions in the Dail or on tv, they dont get to see the man 1 on 1 ofter if ever.

I never met the man, im reading through the lines - im not a fan - but to say he has no charisma is in my opinion not accurate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭geespot

fianna fail will be back in power within five years peoplewill blame whoever is in power things or going to get worse and having labour in the next goverment is going to speed up the process and the inevitable break down of the coalition and the replacement wit a fianna fail led goverment ideal goverment would be fianna fail finegael coalition but that is probably further down the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Don't worry, he wasn't actually, really complimenting Enda; read the post again.
    After the faint praise, he's then 'cringing' at Enda's Dail performance; 'ah, he's not a bad fella but he's not fit for the serious stuff like Brian and the boys...'.
    The faint praise gives the illusion of balance; type of tactic you regularly see deployed on RTE, as it happens.

What makes you think they will be better? The fact that they cant get much worse?

I'll be picking from parties that I've previously voted for so I already know I agree to them to some extent. I'm going to look at manifestos and past policies and see who I agree with the most then sign up to help out. There's obviously a lot of anger we all know that but without action people's anger will turn to impotent apathy and FF will get into power again. That's why I suggested people sign up to a party if they truly feel pissed off with the current government. I'm ABFF atm and willing to take a chance on anyone else. Just because you feel a party doesn't 100% represent you doesn't mean people should not vote or say they're all the same; even Enda Kenny doesn't agree with everything the FG party has in its manifesto or has voted for in the past. That's the nature of democratic parties, you're being asked to find the best fit, not the perfect fit. Instead of waiting for some amazing new party to come along and save us all and fulfill every broken promise get on board with a tangible alternative that can do well in the polls right now. Just liked you can't change the government if you don't vote you can't change a party if you don't work to better it.