Another €80 a month off me, property TAX !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

ESRI should change their name to ERI everything they come up with is for economic purposes I have yet to hear a social plan from them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Lu Tze wrote: »
    And people admonish the sense of entitlement in the public sector...

so once this property tax comes in, the local authorities will suddenly be properly financed and they will be doing these things?

if you believe that i have a piece of string to sell you

i don't expect them to do those things for me, but at the same time i don't expect to pay them money, still have them not do it, and pay for it anyway myself

this idea that this money is going to pay for services from the local authority is ridiculous, in most cases people are paying for the services themselves already, and will continue to do so after this tax comes in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

Things are going to get VERY violent very soon in my opinion.
    It's going to get like Germany and France, and worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

A complete Bollox of a notion in an already crisis hit housing market. Doing the maths based on the limited info available, i doubt the government will collect a fraction of what is predicted.

A. 450k unemployed and i have no doubt a high percentage of same are on SW and therefore will be exempt.

B. 35,000 Mortgages already in arrears (the true figure is nearer 100,000)

C. Those who paid stamp duty will be apparently exempt until the amount paid Tally's with the proposed amount to be charged.

D. Its property valued based, so based on the enormous amount of negative equity, how the **** are they going to work this one out

E. Who the **** is going to pay for the valuations in the first place, most of us are broke as it is.

Jesus wept, what next! Tent city's? Seems to me the people who will be hit hardest with this new tax are the Banks seen as they will likely be holding the keys to massive repossessions in 2011.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

At least the TD's are looked after, they increased the contribution to their pension fund last week.

Makes me feel all warm inside knowing they will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 shazzad01

not sure about u but i will be refusing too pay it and so should the rest of da country we have too stain up too these thugs :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

That's right. Add ANOTHER tax on those already struggling! Then add another after that. than no doubt after everything improves, KEEP the tax you greedy shower of ****ing *****. Hit the hard working public but ****in freeze your already ridiculously high wages.

Come on 2011, hurry the **** up!!! get me the hell out of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    Things are going to get VERY violent very soon in my opinion.
    It's going to get like Germany and France, and worst.

As bad as worst? that's an awful sh*thole. Full of filthy work shy Worstastanis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭La Haine

MarkR wrote: »
    Just because you disagree with someone, doesn't make their views moronic.

Businesses are paying a lot (I presume anyway, they're always giving out about it), and it does only seem fair that the cost is spread out amongst more people.

I think if they do move towards this tax, then they should be getting rid of stamp duty completely. Not sure have they talked about that, have they?

Enough tax is being paid by the middle class.
    We all know where should be hit next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

This is a bad idea. To the poster who said businesses already collect rates, so what, most of the LA funding already comes from central government which is funded by, you guessed it, taxpayers. And they'd have a hell of a lot more money to spend if they didn't continue to purchase properties from their builder buddies/supporters for social and affordable that end up more expensive than what's already available on the open market, upwards of a third of local authority budgets in many cases.

All this for a few percent of the deficit.

Still it does underline what I was saying earlier, you won't see people looking up from the parish pump in this country until they personally start getting hit in the pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

It's a load of BS.

It's an "idea" from the ESRI which the government are "considering". As reported by the independent. :o

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

How the fcuk does this government think taxing the nation will fix the recession? It will lead to people having less money to spend, therefore more businesses closing down, which will lead to more unemployment. How will they fix that? More tax?
    Owner occupiers? So landlords who own fifteen properties won't have to pay tax on any of them? This really is fúcking ridiculous. If any property tax is imposed, it should be for secondary properties, not a primary residence. Landlords have got away with paying fúck all for years now. I seriously think FF really wants us to just storm the Dáil and drag them out by their neck ties.
    I see where you are coming from here but surely this will hurt hard for landlords too. My landlord saw that apartments were needed in the area and he went about building an apartment block and provided homes for so many people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 993 ✭✭✭Twin-go

Lu Tze wrote: »
    And people admonish the sense of entitlement in the public sector...

Sence of entitlement? My house-hold pays over €20,000 a year in one form or tax or another. What do I get in terms of services from my local autority? Thats what I am asking. If I', going to be paying another €1,000+ on top of that I wan't to know what I will get. Where is the value for money?

Edit: after quick calculation its closer to €30,000 my household pays in taxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Craven99

Sure tis a gas country when we are as broke as can be with a fortune in oil just off our coast......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

80 quid a month is feck all, lower than I thought they do. I fully support this measure. Look at England, council tax is much higher than that. Granted you do get your bins collected without charge but that's about it.
    once again though it unfairly target the working middle class, no-one on welfare will have to pay it, why not, even at a reduced rate?

you don't have to do any of that...
    80 quid is feck all but it is the foot in the door, like every other form of tax and charge that has hit this country in the past it will soar in every upcoming budget.

For those of us that can remember the introduction of VAT, Outpatients fees, refuse charges, etc these have all started out small but eventually become prohibitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

80 quid a month is feck all
    No it isn't.

80 euro a month is an esb biill, a heating bill, new shoes for the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I see where you are coming from here but surely this will hurt hard for landlords too. My landlord saw that apartments were needed in the area and he went about building an apartment block and provided homes for so many people.

Landlords won't have to pay a penny. From what I can understand from the article, this tax will only apply to owner-occupiers, which means only on the primary residence. Landlords will have to pay the tax on their own home but will be exempt from all their rental properties. I guess we'll have to wait and see what the government says about this. As someone already said, this is just a suggestion the government is considering, but I wouldn't put it past them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

80 quid is feck all
    :eek: You must be loaded. €80 extra on top of every other bill i have to pay is a huge amount every month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Of course we must pay property tax
    Sombody has to pay for all the foreigners living here Huge dole and free houses. The govt pays excessively high rent allowances just to keep propety prices up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭CortezTheKiller

Dempo1 wrote: »
    D. Its property valued based, so based on the enormous amount of negative equity, how the **** are they going to work this one out

They're going to make the homeowner pay a auctioneer to do the valuation, of course!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

I am already at the pin of my collar as is, a tax like this will put me and my family on the street

reduce the fcukin dole by €80 a month more like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Mayeston

we have a second property that we cant sell cos its in negative equity...its currently renting with 200 loss which i have to pay, as well as paying tax on that, management company fees and the non principal residence payment and now this?

And now we'll have to pay more for our primary residence and we're already struggling. We'd LOVE to sell both (even at a small loss) and be able to get a house but it just aint going to happen.

The second property costs us money...we're not those wealthy landowners some people mentioned.

We just both had apartments, met, fell in love, got married and now have two small properties instead of an average house that we could raise a family in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Twin-go wrote: »
    What services do they provide?

Just as an example, in the estate I live in.
    • I have to pay to have my bin collected
    • I had to pay for a water pipe that burst under my driveway in January (and pay to have the drive-way repaired)
    • All the neighbours had to take it in turns to cut the common area grass - It was cut once in april and once in September by the council
    • Neighbours and I had to plant trees and flowers
    • Neighbours and I had to paint a wall that the local teens scribbled on (Several times):mad::mad:

Excuse me?

You produce the waste, you consume the water, and you use the common grass area. Of course they're your responsibility. Why would the council have to pay for things you consume and use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Landlords won't have to pay a penny. From what I can understand from the article, this tax will only apply to owner-occupiers, which means only on the primary residence. Landlords will have to pay the tax on their own home but will be exempt from all their rental properties.

I am renting. I feel this is wrong, now I am aware if the landlords did have to pay for other properties other than the one they, themselves occupy, my one at least would try and dump the load on me! And I am on SW! I could afford it if I tried, I am struggling as is!

Alot of people here have aggro to those on SW. There are quite a few of your fellow home owners, that like you worked hard and got a house but are not lucky enough to still be working!

I think it should be based on the value of the house. Why should someone in a 3 bed semi have to pay the same as a person with a 5 bed, detached with separate garage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SamSamSammy

Auvers wrote: »
    I am already at the pin of my collar as is, a tax like this will put me and my family on the street

thats right, get someone else to do it, take the hit, someone else do it should be irelands catchphrase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Auvers wrote: »

We are already going to be taking a hit of at least half that, its not my fault you HAD to get on the property ladder!!!!

I didn't get a house because
    a) prices were going insane
    b) I knew I could lose my income

and surprise surprise both happened and I am not €250,000 in debt thank God!

We ALL need to take a bit of the burden, every single one of us.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Property tax of any sort, is an evil tax. There is no choice for the property owner.

If the government increases other taxes, such as PAYE, fuel, VAT etc, the consumer retains the privilege of choice as to how to spend their money. With property tax, that option is removed entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭niallers1

I'll just forward my bill to Perm TSB, They own my house so I think they should pay it.

They might need to build more prisons becuase I don't see people paying this one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Shenshen wrote: »
    Excuse me?

You produce the waste, you consume the water, and you use the common grass area. Of course they're your responsibility. Why would the council have to pay for things you consume and use?

they shouldn't

at the same time, we shouldn't have to pay them NOT to do these things either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    We are already going to be taking a hit of at least half that, its not my fault you HAD to get on the property ladder!!!!

I didn't get a house because
    a) prices were going insane
    b) I knew I could lose my income

and surprise surprise both happened and I am not €250,000 in debt thank God!

We ALL need to take a bit of the burden, every single one of us.

WOW, incredible,
    I wonder how differently you'd speak if you were in the position of so many other people.
    Fair play to you for been so knowledgable.