LOWRYLAND.....Coming Soon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Sounds like a ludicrous idea. And I love it!
    Sure Tipperary is a bit of a trek, but Vegas is in a desert!
    That being said, the size of the project is a bit of a step up from Dr Quirkys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Dempsey wrote: »
    What he said. You dont have to explain to me about Lowry's past but these conspiracy theories are just ridiculous. Its not Lowry's own property venture either, did you read the article properly?

Lowry is backing it. He's an independant TD who's vote FF need. He needs a law changed to get the project underway. Do you see how corruption pops into this?

In Thurles? Who the hell is gonna go all the way to the arsehole of nowhere for anything this place is offering? I don't actually think there is a demand for this type of thing. Ireland already has plenty of racetracks and golf courses and Ireland's reputation as a tourist destination has taken a massive nosedive in recent years. Fewer and fewer tourists are coming year after year. This tacky development will not attract enough people (if any) and will fail in the first five years. That's my take on it anyway.

But you're right, it's a private development from the guy who owns the drugs den on O'Connell St. I hope it bankrupts him.

The racecourse in Killinan is closing down when this palce opens up. Have you ever seen the amount of people who frequent that facility? I have and I can tell you, it's nearly as many as when there's anything on in Semple Stadium.

With regard to Ireland's reputation as a tourist destination, do you not think that having this kind of amenity would increase tourism? This will, afterall be located just off the Cork-Dublin motorway.

This project is too big to fail and has too much money put into it to fail. It's not just Richard Quirke's money in it, this has nearly 10 investors so it won't bankrupt him. Sorry to burst your bubble on that one.

I heard something similar about the housing market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭mox54

How many thousands of U.S.citizens on the east coast travel hours on a plane each week to got to vegas for a flutter for the weekend, they will soon be able to travel a shorter journey to little old ireland to take a flutter,marketing potential is massive and that's just one simple example of where the market is for this, this will be built and be a huge success!!, the world is a big old place and there is plenty of scope for this to work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

Guys, you all do realise that this is a hell of a long way off getting proper planning permission yet.
    Yes the local council has granted it (big shock!) but it will without doubt be appealed to An Bord Pleanala where the real decision will be made.
    It is much harder to get around ABP than your average gombeen local councillors.
    And by the time they get around to changing any gambling legislation the present government could be gone along with lowry's position of influence due to the small government majority.

This is all very much pie in the sky still, they have a very long way to go.
    Also what bank is gonna finance this?
    Seems a bit strange that the law gets changed to benefit one particular developer and a bunch of private investors.

Sure it would be a great little country if we could only roof it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    Guys, you all do realise that this is a hell of a long way off getting proper planning permission yet.
    Yes the local council has granted it (big shock!) but it will without doubt be appealed to An Bord Pleanala where the real decision will be made.
    It is much harder to get around ABP than your average gombeen local councillors.
    And by the time they get around to changing any gambling legislation the present government could be gone along with lowry's position of influence due to the small government majority.

Seems a bit strange that the law gets changed to benefit one particular developer and a bunch of private investors.

Beat me to it - the chances of this getting past an Bord Pleanala or financed are slim to nil.

Not a mention of the build cost either? "Funding is not an issue" according to Lowry - pull the other one - more like its not an issue because if they can get the permission and the licence, Dr Quirky and his mates will be flipping the whole thing as a ready to go project to an existing casino operator from the US or Far East

In relation to the Tipperary planning permission they have - was this a material contravention case with the councillors voting (dont think so but open to correction)? If not then it would have been the council's planning staff who issued the permission and the councillors wouldnt have been involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

humanji wrote: »
    Lowry is backing it. He's an independant TD who's vote FF need. He needs a law changed to get the project underway. Do you see how corruption pops into this?

Horseracing Ireland, Denis Desmond and Aidan O' Brien amongst others are backing it too.

I see how you see that corruption pops into this and I also see that you are a moderator of the conspiracies forum. If you think he's corrupt, why dont you take him to court and prove it. This thing is sailing through planning permission as the locals (i.e. the voting people of ireland) arent complaining.

I think they all are corrupt and this corruption is leading to centralisation of horse and greyhound racing in Tipperary (something that was recommended), a 15,000 seater multi purpose area, a hotel, a golfcourse, casino & 3000 jobs.

Again, I refer to that frontline program, its shows how alot of irish people contradict themselves when it comes to creating jobs in ireland.

Imhof Tank wrote: »

Not a mention of the build cost either? "Funding is not an issue" according to Lowry - pull the other one - more like its not an issue because if they can get the permission and the licence, Dr Quirky and his mates will be flipping the whole thing as a ready to go project to an existing casino operator from the US or Far East
    This is exactly what I'm thinking, the promoters are wealthy people but not wealthy enough to bankroll a development of this size.
    However they would make a fortune by flipping it

Beat me to it - the chances of this getting past an Bord Pleanala or financed are slim to nil.

In relation to the Tipperary planning permission they have - was this a material contravention case with the councillors voting (dont think so but open to correction)? If not then it would have been the council's planning staff who issued the permission and the councillors wouldnt have been involved.

The land has been bought up and he's in the process of relocating the people he bought land off of.

So? Whats your point?
    That still doesnt mean its going to get through ABP or get finance or change the law.
    This was all tried before in the Phoenix Park in the late 90's, lovely designs were done a fortune spent and then NOTHING.
    So you'll forgive me for my scepticism
    But i really cant blame you for your enthusiasm for this being from Tipp :D

So? Whats your point?
    That still doesnt mean its going to get through ABP or get finance or change the law.
    This was all tried before in the Phoenix Park in the late 90's, lovely designs were done a fortune spent and then NOTHING.
    So you'll forgive me for my scepticism
    But i really cant blame you for your enthusiasm for this being from Tipp :D

I'm sure the failures of the Phoenix Park was the first thing they looked at.

I'm literally a 2 minute drive from the site, I know most of the people including friends of Quirke himself that have been bought out and what their settlements are. Its fair to say that I know more than what you'll read in the newspapers.

I just cant understand the constant negativity & begrudgery around something that wont be near anyone here thats complaining.

fair to say that I know more than what you'll read in the newspapers.

Do you know what the build cost will be?

None, that's why there's about 10 private investors, if not more. You can be sure that if they didn't have the money to do it, they wouldn't. There's no grants, no loans, nothing like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Visitors would also be able to access the 800-acre site by helicopter as the plans include a “major” heliport.
    What they really mean by that is they have no plans of upgrading the dirt roads in the area and the only way to access the casino will be by helicopter or trekking through a field. By the time people realise there's no access to the site the developers will be back in Spain sipping the blood of dying children and using €500 notes to start the BBQ where they eat endangered species exclusively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭hinault

I'm sure the failures of the Phoenix Park was the first thing they looked at.

I'm literally a 2 minute drive from the site, I know most of the people including friends of Quirke himself that have been bought out and what their settlements are. Its fair to say that I know more than what you'll read in the newspapers.

I just cant understand the constant negativity & begrudgery around something that wont be near anyone here thats complaining.

I reckon that we're neighbours.

And you're correct, planning permission is not an issue.

The land has been acquired and the planning permission will be granted in the next couple of weeks.
    In fact the sites acquired by the developer are being vacated as the residents there acquire planning to build new homes in that greater location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭hinault

ScumLord wrote: »
    What they really mean by that is they have no plans of upgrading the dirt roads in the area and the only way to access the casino will be by helicopter or trekking through a field. By the time people realise there's no access to the site the developers will be back in Spain sipping the blood of dying children and using €500 notes to start the BBQ where they eat endangered species exclusively.

Actually the road network in that location is excellent.

(I'm a Dub, relocated to this area because my wife is from that location).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭mox54

In america when a guy see's another guy's huge house and obvious success he'd say, 'some day i'll have a house like that too, in Ireland when we see a huge house and some success we say, 'how did that f&%£ing b$£"rd get a big house!, stop the negativity and fortune telling here, ye simply don't know how this is going to develop so lets wait and see and give it a chance, at least respect the guy for giving it a go!!:cool:

Do the plans include one of these?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEZjzsnPhnw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Do the plans include one of these?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEZjzsnPhnw

Nope, but I've just finished putting up one of these:

2zrf5me.jpg

Horseracing Ireland, Denis Desmond and Aidan O' Brien amongst others are backing it too.
    So?
    I see how you see that corruption pops into this and I also see that you are a moderator of the conspiracies forum.

About as relevant as your avatar meaning you're the devil.
    If you think he's corrupt, why dont you take him to court and prove it.
    You don't have to break the law to be corrupt.
    This thing is sailing through planning permission as the locals (i.e. the voting people of ireland) arent complaining.
    Do teh locals know all the details? Do they know who's gaining from this project? Do they know what, if any, paymenst and promises have been made to various groups in order to gain their support? Is it really to much to ask that measures are taken to unsure this isn't yet another plan to f*ck over the Irish people?
    I think they all are corrupt and this corruption is leading to centralisation of horse and greyhound racing in Tipperary (something that was recommended), a 15,000 seater multi purpose area, a hotel, a golfcourse, casino & 3000 jobs.
    Has any real studies been made into the need and viability of all this? Will there actually be 3000 jobs? Will a 15,000 seater really be necessary or be used?
    Again, I refer to that frontline program, its shows how alot of irish people contradict themselves when it comes to creating jobs in ireland.
    And you'll see many Frontline episodes talk about corrup developers abusing political favours and the Irish people picking up the tab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If this was in Dublin most of this site would be welcoming all the jobs
    Now I reading posts about middle of nowhere and dirt roads. Do you know any dirt roads?

As Dempsey states the casino is only one part of the project but it seems to be what everyone focuses on

It's on the main train line, not far from M7 and good access to both Shannon and Dublin airport.
    An heliport can be developed, there are also airfields in Tipp that could be used for national flights

It's very exciting for the county and 1,000 construction jobs to start with.
    What's with all the negativity?

mox54 wrote: »
    In america when a guy see's another guy's huge house and obvious success he'd say, 'some day i'll have a house like that too, in Ireland when we see a huge house and some success we say, 'how did that f&%£ing b$£"rd get a big house!, stop the negativity and fortune telling here, ye simply don't know how this is going to develop so lets wait and see and give it a chance, at least respect the guy for giving it a go!!:cool:
    So we shold all bury our heads in the sand, forget about the housing fiasco and just hope it all turns out well?

Sorry, I'd rather know the facts before it's built.

You don't have to break the law to be corrupt.

Do teh locals know all the details? Do they know who's gaining from this project? Do they know what, if any, paymenst and promises have been made to various groups in order to gain their support? Is it really to much to ask that measures are taken to unsure this isn't yet another plan to f*ck over the Irish people?

Has any real studies been made into the need and viability of all this? Will there actually be 3000 jobs? Will a 15,000 seater really be necessary or be used?

There was a presentation done in the Horse and Jockey about a year ago addressing all that. You really should have been there and quizzed Quirke himself.
    So we shold all bury our heads in the sand, forget about the housing fiasco and just hope it all turns out well?

Sorry, I'd rather know the facts before it's built.

So everything should stop because people made a tit of themselves in the celtic tiger era? Gimme a break. Its passing all the criteria thats in place so it should go ahead as planned and on schedule

There was a presentation done in the Horse and Jockey about a year ago addressing all that. You really should have been there and quizzed Quirke himself.
    Did you quiz him? Do you have all the details and all the reports?
    So everything should stop because people made a tit of themselves in the celtic tiger era? Gimme a break. Its passing all the criteria thats in place so it should go ahead as planned and on schedule

You know this recession thing that's currently going on? Do you not think that it makes sense to guarantee the best options are being taken instead of just assuming everything will turn out grand? Do I have to cite references to all the times doing this came back to bite the Irish people on the ass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

So?

There have been regular meetings held in a local hotel where Quirke and his team meet the locals, give them an update and presentation, and hold a Q&A session for as long as it takes for people to be satisfied.

The planning application has been with N.Tipp Co Co for a number of months now. All documentation is available for public inspection, most of the process can be followed online if you're too lazy to trek to Nenagh. There have been regular updates in the local press.

We know that first and foremost, Richard Quirke will be benefitting from this. That's what happens when you're an entrepreneur, you invest money and hope to make a profit. After that, his other investors presumably will be in for a cut. There has been no move by Tipperary North Co Co to insist that the project be run as a cooperative with the proceeds being equally divided amongst the natives; nor has there been any recent push to declare North Tipp a Marxist republic.

Those who are most directly affected have been satisfied with how things are proceeding - as far as I'm aware only one local farmer has made a submission to the planning authorities. the main objections come from Taisce, but that's what they are there for and hopefully some compromise can be reached. The land for the proposed site consists of agricultural land and unused bog for the most part, but is not located in or near any areas of special scientific interest.

No promises have been made to any of the locals in the village. Most of us hope that the motorway junction will be upgraded and don't really get why it was built the way it was in the first place. If it isn't upgraded, it will affect local traffic, but nothing beyond what we were used to before the motorway opened.

Of course, if the murder and prostitution rate goes up, we'll all be complaining, but not if we're offered jobs on the new CSI unit/as exotic dancers/croupiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Why everyone has to get so up-in-arms about this proposal I have no idea. Surely it won't have any baring on day to day life for people outside of Tipperary. It will create JOBS, something we sorely need in this country. It will increase tourism for the area, attracting holiday makers from both on and off the island. I think it's a great idea. And just because you might think casinos or buildings modeled on the White House are tacky doesn't mean that supercedes our need for employment.

Sure, it's a far cry for that dingy den of dubious electronic slot machines on O'Connell St., but that's why there are outside investors, obviously willing to fund the project and foot the bill without having to rely on bank loans or backing. They'll probably make a fortune out of it once the venture breaks even, but so what? Such is the nature of business in any time, be it recession or not.

Did you quiz him? Do you have all the details and all the reports?

You know this recession thing that's currently going on? Do you not think that it makes sense to guarantee the best options are being taken instead of just assuming everything will turn out grand? Do I have to cite references to all the times doing this came back to bite the Irish people on the ass?

I didnt attend it. If you were really serious about finding out whether this thing is viable YOU would have found out. You didnt but want to bitch about it anyways because its the easiest thing to do. You have google, off you go.

This is a private venture and its not using Irish Banks or taxpayers money. You are talking like its a private/public partnership. IT ISNT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭meglome

You just want to have a moan about anything and everything tbh. The biggest part of this venue isnt the casino, its the racecourse, dog track and 15,000 multi purpose indoor area. The casino is something to do whilst you are there, a reason to stay longer.

I'm not a gambler, odd flutters and thats it but I've been to Las Vegas twice and been to the casinos in Melbourne and Sydney. I'm not rich, very very far from it. Maybe you should go to one before you talk like you know what type of person goes to one.

Personally I'm not questioning that it should or shouldn't be built. I'm questioning where it's being built. If they are actually serious about bringing money into the country then it needs to be near an international airport.

It's a good hour and a half between Shannon Airport and Thurles. A train line would be useful too.

if we're offered jobs .............. as exotic dancers/croupiers.

What about us local slobs??

You'll all be given cushy jobs!