Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LOWRYLAND.....Coming Soon!!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Dempsey wrote: »
    Do you want the 3000 jobs or not?
    Wait, are you fine with the idea of a TD bribing the government to change laws so that he can build his own property venture? Have you honestly learned nothing from the recession?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Fair play to the guy who is proposing to build this Casino, racetrack etc. These are the guys who will make it , the guys who keep going while the rest are moaning about the recession and saying it won't work. Well done to Lowry for backing them and if this goes ahead , he will be in line for Taoiseach :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I think the IDEA of a European Vegas is a great one.

And Ireland is particularly suited to it.
    • We have the history and notoriety of being welcoming.
    • We speak English.
    • We have an affinity with fun, drinking, and gambling.
    • We have an entrepreneurial attitude.

For this to be successful though it needs to be big - really big.
    It needs to be near an airport - preferably Ryan Air operated.
    It needs other activities such as golfing, horse-racing, concerts, etc. etc.
    We need a choice of casinos, not one.
    COMPETITION! Not one company owning everything.

Can you imagine, the casinos operating deals to bring in the tourists. Paying for flights (operated by ryan air) and offering cheap hotel rooms to stay.

The could be a real cash cow. And I would welcome it very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Xiney wrote: »
    curious that this should be announced just before the budget and when FF are most in need of his vote.

Conspiracy Theories forum
    >

This was approved by the county council
    And like most councils in Ireland, FG & Labour have the most seats.

We've been hearing about this project for quite a while now, it was all over the paper 8 months ago and I'm sure we had a thread here on boards too, you're reading too much into it

It's great news and now you see why Michael Lowry tops the polls every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Conspiracy Theories forum
    >

This was approved by the county council
    And like most councils in Ireland, FG & Labour have the most seats.

We've been hearing about this project for quite a while now, it was all over the paper 8 months ago and I'm sure we had a thread here on boards too, you're reading too much into it

It's great news and now you see why Michael Lowry tops the polls every time.

And people wonder why this country is so corrupt. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

shawnee wrote: »
    Fair play to the guy who is proposing to build this Casino, racetrack etc. These are the guys who will make it , the guys who keep going while the rest are moaning about the recession and saying it won't work. Well done to Lowry for backing them and if this goes ahead , he will be in line for Taoiseach :D:D:D[/QUOTE

Everyone seems to be talking about Lowry but its proposed by Dick Quirke(father of the famous Wes) ex garda who made his fortune out of poker machines and there ability to pay out rarely compared to the factory model allegedly:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

It's long been established that building a casino as a means of rejuvenating an economy has the exact opposite effect. Visitors come and go not winning or losing a huge amount but it's the local degenerates who end up being the life blood of these vultures. The jobs that are created tend to be low paid with poor working conditions while local businesses are forced to shut because of the amount of money that's removed from the community.

Take a look at what happened to the many towns in the American midwest and rust-belt who were sweet-talked into this option by the very same language Lowry is using.

An independent TD backed it

A FG & Labour dominated council approved it

Where's the corruption?

Let's just remind ourselves of who Mr. Lowry is exactly.
    A succession of controversies broke during his period of office, these included the granting of a mobile phone licence to Esat Telecom, plans for the Dublin Light Rail System and the closure of rural post offices - these culminated with accusations by Lowry of a cosy cartel operating in the public sector. At the 1997 McCracken Tribunal it was revealed that supermarket tycoon Ben Dunne had paid IR£395,000 for an extension to Lowry's home in Tipperary. This allegation prompted Lowry's resignation from the Cabinet in November 1996. When John Bruton announced that Lowry would not be allowed stand as a Fine Gael candidate at the next election he resigned from the party. The Tribunal concluded that Lowry had evaded tax.
    At the following election Lowry announced that he would stand as an Independent candidate. The investigation of payments to Lowry is one of the remits of the Moriarty Tribunal which has been sitting since 1997. In early 2007, Lowry announced that he had made a full and final settlement of all outstanding payments with the Revenue Commissioners. His company Garuda had to pay up €1.2 million after a Revenue audit. He also paid almost €200,000 to settle his personal taxes.
    He is backed by a strong local organisation in Tipperary known informally as "Team Lowry" which consists of 4 County Councillors in North Tipperary, 2 Town Councillors in Thurles and 1 Town Councillor in Templemore.

That's pretty much his entire wiki page.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Lowry

Sure is it any wonder he got permission for this thing? He has the councillors in his pocket.

latenia wrote: »
    It's long been established that building a casino as a means of rejuvenating an economy has the exact opposite effect. Visitors come and go not winning or losing a huge amount but it's the local degenerates who end up being the life blood of these vultures. The jobs that are created tend to be low paid with poor working conditions while local businesses are forced to shut because of the amount of money that's removed from the community.

Take a look at what happened to the many towns in the American midwest and rust-belt who were sweet-talked into this option by the very same language Lowry is using.

Las Vegas sprang up out of nowhere. It makes its money on tourists not locals. It makes a vast, enormous amount of money for its local and state economies.
    Poor working conditions are a choice of the regulatory authorities. Ireland does not really have any poor working conditions.
    Low paid jobs are better than no jobs.

Where's the corruption?

Just to drive the point home, though I already posted this.
    He is backed by a strong local organisation in Tipperary known informally as "Team Lowry" which consists of 4 County Councillors in North Tipperary, 2 Town Councillors in Thurles and 1 Town Councillor in Templemore.

Yeah, not corrupt in the slightest. Michael Lowry, King of the Gombeens.

His wiki is almost entirely dedicated to his well known corruption and tax evasion. He's only an independent because FG wouldn't have him in the party anymore. He was allowed to resign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Just to drive the point home, though I already posted this.

Yeah, not corrupt in the slightest. Michael Lowry, King of the Gombeens.

His wiki is almost entirely dedicated to his well known corruption and tax evasion. He's only an independent because FG wouldn't have him in the party anymore. He was allowed to resign.

So because you have a major dislike/ hatred for Michael Lowry the new project shouldn't go ahead?
    Call him what you like & make assumptions about that Quirkey guy all you want but this is a fantastic opportunity for the country. FFS the way things are at the moment I don't see much else happening do you?
    Unless of course you consider free cheese as a step forward.

Seriously, a lot of people in this country need to get a life & stop complaining. Posts like yours make me wonder will people ever be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

enda1 wrote: »
    Las Vegas sprang up out of nowhere. It makes its money on tourists not locals. It makes a vast, enormous amount of money for its local and state economies.
    Poor working conditions are a choice of the regulatory authorities. Ireland does not really have any poor working conditions.
    The number of pathological gamblers would range from a low of 19,836, based upon a doubling of the National study’s prevalence rate of 0.9% of pathological gamblers in society, to a high of 38,571 based upon Volberg’s study of Nevada which found that 3.5% of the adults were probable pathological gamblers at the current time.

http://www.casinofreepa.org/images/documents/s._nevada_beyond_limits.pdf
    researchers found that residents of Las Vegas had a 50 percent higher risk of suicide than folks living elsewhere in the country

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=98042717

The last thing the country needs is more of the get-rich-quick bullshit that got us into this mess in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

In Thurles? Who the hell is gonna go all the way to the arsehole of nowhere for anything this place is offering? I don't actually think there is a demand for this type of thing. Ireland already has plenty of racetracks and golf courses and Ireland's reputation as a tourist destination has taken a massive nosedive in recent years. Fewer and fewer tourists are coming year after year. This tacky development will not attract enough people (if any) and will fail in the first five years. That's my take on it anyway.

Myself and Pancho here have never agreed on anything until now. Building a casino for 15,000 people in the middle of nowhere is ridiculous. Also a development of that size in a rural area has serious implications for the environment, water, sewage etc.

Leaving aside any view on gambling generally if this was to be built it should be built elsewhere in Ireland, nearer Dublin would make sense. Or at least nearer an international airport.

latenia wrote: »
    http://www.casinofreepa.org/images/documents/s._nevada_beyond_limits.pdf

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=98042717

The last thing the country needs is more of the get-rich-quick bullshit that got us into this mess in the first place.

In the 30's there were 5,000 people living in Vegas, now there are 2,000,000.
    This is not a natural increase only attributable to local birth rate, as you can well imagine.

Therefore people were drawn to Vegas in an effort to get rich, but also as you mention, to gamble.

If you wanna go gamble in America, a country with such opposing gambling laws, there are few places to do it in such legal comfort as Vegas.

The statistics are highly skewed by the concept of the place and by the structure of American society.

As Vegas is such a prime example of how to do it right as well as wrong, we can learn from its positives as well as negatives.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Have you ever been to Vegas? It's not as glamourous as tv makes it out to be. Unless you're rich, all you'll see is that it's a tacky hole.
    easyeason3 wrote: »
    So because you have a major dislike/ hatred for Michael Lowry the new project shouldn't go ahead?
    Call him what you like & make assumptions about that Quirkey guy all you want but this is a fantastic opportunity for the country. FFS the way things are at the moment I don't see much else happening do you?
    Unless of course you consider free cheese as a step forward.

Seriously, a lot of people in this country need to get a life & stop complaining. Posts like yours make me wonder will people ever be happy.

It's possible it could be a good thing, but considering who's involved, the whole thing has to be investigated first to see who is gaining from it, how planning permisison was obtained, how the land was obtained, what the impact on the environment and local area will be, etc etc. This being Ireland, it's unlikely any of that will be looked into.

Where's the corruption?

I believe he thinks that all of them are corrupt.

It would be political suicide to vote against this given the supposed level of jobs being created. Still doesn't make it the right thing to do though.

humanji wrote: »
    Have you ever been to Vegas? It's not as glamourous as tv makes it out to be. Unless you're rich, all you'll see is that it's a tacky hole.

Where did I mention that it was anything other than tacky?

It can't be denied that it makes a hell of an amount of money in catering to an enormous market though. And that its almost the single player in this global market.

Remember that Vegas also targets the Joe Bloggs 2 kids, wife and small house in suburbia. We have Monte Carlo for the hyper-rich, but nowhere in Europe for Mr. Bloggs. Nowhere he can feel a bit more special for a weekend.

The Brits like to gamble too, along with the French, Germans, Spanish etc. so why not give them the option a bit closer to home?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I've seen the plans.

It looks tacky as fcuk.
    Complete with hotel modeled on the White House.

Looks like the sort of thing you would seein Dubai.

Where did I mention that it was anything other than tacky?

It can't be denied that it makes a hell of an amount of money in catering to an enormous market though. And that its almost the single player in this global market.

Remember that Vegas also targets the Joe Bloggs 2 kids, wife and small house in suburbia. We have Monte Carlo for the hyper-rich, but nowhere in Europe for Mr. Bloggs. Nowhere he can feel a bit more special for a weekend.

The Brits like to gamble too, along with the French, Germans, Spanish etc. so why not give them the option a bit closer to home?

So they fly to Dublin, then spend a few hours on the train to Thurles then a car to the casino? OR maybe its put near an international airport and not in the middle of nowhere in Tipperary..

meglome wrote: »
    It would be political suicide to vote against this given the supposed level of jobs being created.

That's a fair point.
    A councillor would be slaughtered if they campaigned and yet said they turned down 1,000 possible construction jobs.
    Leaving aside any few on gambling generally if this was to be built it should be built elsewhere in Ireland, nearer Dublin would make sense. Or at least nearer an international airport.

Not far from Shannon
    Motorway through North Tipperary though it's closer to Nenagh the Thurles.
    On the main train line.

And there are private airfields in Tipperary, they could be developed
    I think you're the first person on thread to mention Dublin

It's possible it could be a good thing, but considering who's involved, the whole thing has to be investigated first to see who is gaining from it, how planning permisison was obtained, how the land was obtained, what the impact on the environment and local area will be, etc etc. This being Ireland, it's unlikely any of that will be looked into.

I have to wonder why choose a rural location with no access to an International airport. Then I see Michael Lowry's name.. hmm.
    Not far from Shannon
    Motorway through North Tipperary though it's closer to Nenagh the Thurles.
    On the main train line.

And we have private airfields in Tipperary, they could be developed

We don't need another international airport.

So they fly to Dublin, then spend a few hours on the train to Thurles then a car to the casino? OR maybe its put near an international airport and not in the middle of nowhere in Tipperary..

I agree with the IDEA but not the location.

I think Mosney would be better :D

I never once said an international airport in Tipperary, I was thinking more of shuttles from Shannon

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Dempsey wrote: »
    Yea, its just happening down the road from me.

And me ;)

I work for a building contractor in Templemore so we're hoping to get to tender for each phase. Just hope he sticks to his plans of keeping all the work local!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

They give planning permission for this and fingal dismiss the snowdome in D15..

******s....

And me ;)

I work for a building contractor in Templemore so we're hoping to get to tender for each phase. Just hope he sticks to his plans of keeping all the work local!

And me, good opportunities here

Watch out though, the Dubs are trying to poach our jobs :mad:
    Leaving aside any view on gambling generally if this was to be built it should be built elsewhere in Ireland, nearer Dublin would make sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

And me, good opportunities here

Watch out though, the Dubs are trying to poach our jobs :mad:

Yes, I see that!! Good thing we also have offices in Dublin :D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

In Thurles? Who the hell is gonna go all the way to the arsehole of nowhere for anything this place is offering? I don't actually think there is a demand for this type of thing. Ireland already has plenty of racetracks and golf courses and Ireland's reputation as a tourist destination has taken a massive nosedive in recent years. Fewer and fewer tourists are coming year after year. This tacky development will not attract enough people (if any) and will fail in the first five years. That's my take on it anyway.

But you're right, it's a private development from the guy who owns the drugs den on O'Connell St. I hope it bankrupts him.
    And who's going to have all this money to spend of racing, gambling, and hotels? People are leaving the country in droves, the government is saddling people with fraudulent debt, the country is about to swallow itself whole. Who the hell is gonna be throwing their money away at a casino? Oh yeah, all the bastards who made a killing during the "Celtic Tiger" and all the ones getting massive pensions for their corruption and greed. I can imagine a few people going there but it won't be to gamble or watch the races.

You just want to have a moan about anything and everything tbh. The biggest part of this venue isnt the casino, its the racecourse, dog track and 15,000 multi purpose indoor area. The casino is something to do whilst you are there, a reason to stay longer.

I'm not a gambler, odd flutters and thats it but I've been to Las Vegas twice and been to the casinos in Melbourne and Sydney. I'm not rich, very very far from it. Maybe you should go to one before you talk like you know what type of person goes to one.
    Wait, are you fine with the idea of a TD bribing the government to change laws so that he can build his own property venture? Have you honestly learned nothing from the recession?

Where's the corruption?

What he said. You dont have to explain to me about Lowry's past but these conspiracy theories are just ridiculous. Its not Lowry's own property venture either, did you read the article properly?

I'm sure they are going to get chartered helicopters to run from Shannon Cork & Dublin to the venue.