Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Radio host jerks it on Aer Lingus flight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Dermo123

On a technicality, if an incident took place in an aeroplane, is it not the authorities in the jurisdiction that the plane is located that has responsibility for the investigation. So in this case as reported it took place while the plane was taxiing for the runway in the UK so is it not a matter for British police to investigate? Just a thought!

I am thinking of incidents of air rage that take place in Irish Air space and the plane has to land in Shannon for example even if the flights origin and destination is not in Ireland and then the guards take care of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,675 ✭✭✭policarp

I thought Nurofen was for a pulled mussle,
    not for pulling the mussle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

It seems Neil has discovered a way to overpower his desires.

Very Good!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,562 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Andip wrote: »
    Lets not lose sight of where this story is at the moment lads....

Whilst I would fully support whatever action the Gardai take 'if' the allegations are upheld & lets not forget, no matter how compelling the evidence we read in the newspaper; these are still only allegations & still subject to Garda investigation.

Some of the comments on here are valid, but others purile, with some in my opinion bordering on libellous.....if charges are dropped, this thread could make very interesting reading for his lawyers.

Every story has a human factor - like him or loathe him, this guy has a family with kids at school - lets not crucify him based on a newspaper article when the Gardai investigation hasn't even started.

I do feel sorry for his family but if this was someone else Neil would be crucify them on his show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,255 ✭✭✭beer enigma

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I do feel sorry for his family but if this was someone else Neil would be crucify them on his show

Not not with a Garda investigation pending - he's always very careful to cover his lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

This is going to be some disaster for 96fm, as it stands I think Prendiville has ratings of around 120,000 for his daily morning show. That will prob jump upto 150000-170000 in the next week or so while this goes on, but when Prendiville untimatly hands in his notice the ratings are going to drop so so much, he was always the first thing that would pop into yer head when someone mentioned 96fm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

the more of this stuff i see on here and other media/websites the more my opinion is changing. :o

its one thing to say if he had someone on his show who did this he would crucify them,

but what i cannot understand is why the people who hated him for the way he is on his show, are the people who are now doing the exact same thing to him,when what they are doing is why they hated him in the first place??? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

the more of this stuff i see on here and other media/websites the more my opinion is changing. :o

its one thing to say if he had someone on his show who did this he would crucify them,

but what i cannot understand is why the people who hated him for the way he is on his show, are the people who are now doing the exact same thing to him,when what they are doing is why they hated him in the first place??? :confused:

Because sometimes it pleases people to see someone get a taste of their own medicine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

CHealy wrote: »
    This is going to be some disaster for 96fm, as it stands I think Prendiville has ratings of around 120,000 for his daily morning show. That will prob jump upto 150000-170000 in the next week or so while this goes on, but when Prendiville untimatly hands in his notice the ratings are going to drop so so much, he was always the first thing that would pop into yer head when someone mentioned 96fm
    96FM pretty much IS Neil Prendeville. Heh, their rivals RedFM must be in their element - top story on RedFM news this morning: Max Clifford gives his views on Prendeville controversy! Main story like...
    A lot of RedFM heads began their career on Neil's station - not saying that isn't the way business works, but still...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Because sometimes it pleases people to see someone get a taste of their own medicine.
    Personally I think he's not so much getting a taste of his own medicine as opposed to an overdose of it. Just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Dudess wrote: »
    Personally I think he's not so much getting a taste of his own medicine as opposed to an overdose of it. Just my opinion.

Some people are just milking it for all it's worth tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Some people are just milking it for all it's worth tbh...

It was outrageous behaviour though and people are entitled to be horrified by it.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

It is outrageous but if the woman in question started flicking the bean in front of most guys they would laugh it off, ask to move seats and pretend it never happened.
    Either that or take her to the toilets.

No sense ruining people's reputations but then again it is Neil Prendeville.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

JohnK wrote: »
    To be honest the more I hear the more sceptical I am that it happened as we were lead to believe. I'm almost thinking at this point he could have just been scratching/rearranging himself under a magazine (Al Bundy style) and its been taken the wrong way.

I don't think al bundy got his cock out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Has anyone really been far as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

jayteecork wrote: »
    It is outrageous but if the woman in question started flicking the bean in front of most guys they would laugh it off, ask to move seats and pretend it never happened.

No sense ruining people's reputations but then again it is Neil Prendeville.

The only person who has ruined Neil prendervilles reputation is Neil prenderville. Don't try and pretend its the fault of some sort of media witchhunt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

jayteecork wrote: »

That might happen in porn films, doubt it in real life!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Ah, poor Neil

"Better to keep your fly closed and be thought a w.anker, than to open it and remove any doubt!"

Eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Dont you just love it when people who preach morality to others get caught with their pants down

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

it is true that a certain amount of alcohol and pain killers could knock you out, i also believe his "i don't remember" is bull ****, no matter how much you drink on a night out you still remember acting like an ass the following morning, and if the pain killers are involved then i speculate you would be out cold before you could get to the stage of jerking off!

Interesting take on things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

also believe his "i don't remember" is bull ****, no matter how much you drink on a night out you still remember acting like an ass the following morning, !

There have been plenty of times I've woken up in the morning after drinking and think that the previous evening seemed quite mild and uneventful......until my friends tell me all the stupid things I had done that I didn't remember.....including, one night, getting knocked down by a car (explained the sore back)

Someone I know woke up in a Garda cell and had to be informed that he had vandalised some randomers car (completely out of character as well).

So, maybe you have a great memory when you're drinking, that doesn't apply to anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,562 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

If he was so drunk and out of it how did he get on the plane I mean how was he left on

Also what if there were kids on the flight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Daibheid

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    There have been plenty of times I've woken up in the morning after drinking and think that the previous evening seemed quite mild and uneventful......until my friends tell me all the stupid things I had done that I didn't remember.....including, one night, getting knocked down by a car (explained the sore back)

Someone I know woke up in a Garda cell and had to be informed that he had vandalised some randomers car (completely out of character as well).

So, maybe you have a great memory when you're drinking, that doesn't apply to anyone else.

Well if you know that's your response to getting off your head there's an obvious solution. But maybe you don't mind getting knocked down or worry about the mis-fortunate driver and maybe you wouldn't sweat your car being trashed by a drunken tosser as long as he was off his head and didn't do it while sober.
    There's probably an obligation on any adult to take personal experience into consideration when hitting the booze and in Neil Prendeville's voice-mail "And as you know, with me anyway there was pints and wine and stuff and... ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Daibheid

If he was so drunk and out of it how did he get on the plane I mean how was he left on

Also what if there were kids on the flight

He didn't mention how he got home from the airport.......? Given how carefully that apology would have been written by his celebrity lawyer and then rehearsed anyone care to bet he took a taxi home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭kellogscoffey

3 full pages coverage in the Examiner is absolutely ridiculous though. From pages 1-8, two pages were dedicated to the economy, three to full page ads and THREE to Neil!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Daibheid wrote: »
    Well if you know that's your response to getting off your head there's an obvious solution. But maybe you don't mind getting knocked down or worry about the mis-fortunate driver and maybe you wouldn't sweat your car being trashed by a drunken tosser as long as he was off his head and didn't do it while sober.
    There's probably an obligation on any adult to take personal experience into consideration when hitting the booze and in Neil Prendeville's voice-mail "And as you know, with me anyway there was pints and wine and stuff and... ".

It's not my typical reaction to booze (getting knocked down was an exceptional case) nor am I defending Neil Prenderville, myself or anyone else who acts the maggot whilst under the influence, I was merely refuting a statement made that people always remember being an asshole when drunk. Capiche?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Was stopped in the street today by a girl from the examiner for a vox box on it, (not sure what the feck a Vox Box is, but anyway) I'm gonna be in the examiner, one of the things I said was I always thought he was a wanker anyway! :D Keep an eye out for me! :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

3 full pages coverage in the Examiner is absolutely ridiculous though. From pages 1-8, two pages were dedicated to the economy, three to full page ads and THREE to Neil!

Well he is probably the most well known person in Cork to be fair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Yeah like whats mad is the crap people talk here....

Likes it's pretty obvious he had a bit to drink and at that moment probably wasn't exactly with it and did something regretful. I dunno why people are refuting that as if it's something that he does on a regular basis.

He had a bit to drink I'd imagine and he did something stupid, I'd presume most people here can identify with it. He's a pubic figure though and it gets around, he's not the first and not the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Good job he wasn't flying with Ryanair or he would have been charged a handling fee.