Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

nommm wrote: »
    How is my head stuck up my arse? You made a point, I said why I thought you were wrong. This is a discussion forum isn't it?

McD's will give a job to someone with no qualifications over some one with a law degree. The person with the law degree will quit as soon as something better comes along.

Then don't tell them that you have a degree.

You're an arts student, aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Terry wrote: »

Arts is hardly a real degree anyway. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nommm

Terry wrote: »

no.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

come out of college in debt = need quick money = take a financial job = less scientists, engineers and doctors etc = the road to another credit crunch in 10 years = baby Jesus will cry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Give them hell kids.

Fare play to yas having the backbone to be the only ones to get out there and give the Gov a bit of a riot.

I hope ya wreck the place down there. Its about time people in this country stood up for themselves against those lieing robbing feckers who have half of us forced to the dole Que

Ya want to try bricks though , maybe lite one of their cars up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

What is all this business about people being disgusted at students kicking up a bit of a fuss and throwing stuff around? Isn't the whole point of a protest to kick up a fuss and get people talking? To get the lads in the Dail to take heed?
    Doubt they'd be paying to much attention to a nice quite sing song outside the gates now would they? (not that they'll take any notice anyway)

But that just generally galvanizes the other side. Protests are just an excuse for people to say "well at least I tried something" and to cause havok. How many protests in the past 10 years were successful? That Iraq war never happened? There are only 2 taxis in town on a Saturday night? Will these same people be protesting about the extra HSE cuts or whatever that are required to cover the loss of revenue required because of the loss of fees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

iamstop wrote: »
    come out of college in debt = need quick money = take a financial job = less scientists, engineers and doctors etc = the road to another credit crunch in 10 years = baby Jesus will cry go on the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Problem with graduate tax is that those who piss away their time in college and then go on to get a crap job or sign on the dole, or leave the country, won't have to pay anything back...
    Whatever about the current "education not emigration" nonsense, if the graduate tax comes in, there'll certainly be more emigration then (assuming I'm right in thinking the Irish govt won't be able to follow one abroad for tax?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

amacachi wrote: »
    But it'll stop people going to college! Somehow.

UCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Ya want to try bricks though

Times article says we did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Which was poorly done. On the facebook page, it was just countless posts on going up to Dublin and drinking for the day, most were there for the laugh and so on, as most of their parents pay the fees for them. Its shocking.

Now all us students look like pricks. Glad I didn't go.

I don't agree that all students look like pricks out of this. From news reports it was hijacked by the same fools as that one that poured paint over Harney, and the Socialist Workers Party, whoever they think they are.

But the organization was indeed bad and that does lay in the lap of the students. Have a head rep from each college attending and several assistants who know the people going. Then if things get out of hand, with good communication between the reps and the Gardai, trouble makers not known, or indeed perhaps known to the students but there for other motives, can help isolate and remove troublemakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

OisinT wrote: »
    Arts is hardly a real degree anyway. :D

I may have alluded to something similar the last day and got charged with dumbing down the future stock of the country.

Brace yourself for incoming :p

Ficheall wrote: »
    Problem with graduate tax is that those who piss away their time in college and then go on to get a crap job or sign on the dole, or leave the country, won't have to pay anything back...

Not like they'll have the option to. No jobs, so either stay here and be on dole or leave to make use of your education.

I've pondered on the idea that the powers that be feel we are TOO educated. Easier to herd uneducated people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Ficheall wrote: »
    Whatever about the current "education not emigration" nonsense, if the graduate tax comes in, there'll certainly be more emigration then (assuming I'm write in thinking the Irish govt won't be able to follow one abroad for tax?).

You are right in assuming so, it was one of the concerns voiced when a graduate tax was big news last year. I agree there will probably be more emigration in the short term but you have to consider that even if around 70% of students were to emigrate the cost of 3rd level education would still work out as less than it does now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Give them hell kids.

Fare play to yas having the backbone to be the only ones to get out there and give the Gov a bit of a riot.

I hope ya wreck the place down there. Its about time people in this country stood up for themselves against those lieing robbing feckers who have half of us forced to the dole Que

Ya want to try bricks though , maybe lite one of their cars up.

yea a good effort but hardly what id call a riot, i was tempted to head in and lead these pack of warriors in a charge against the government myself but had a look outside and the cold got the better of me:(

on a serious note well done to everybody that went in and made their voice known ye get nowhere for been silent!!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

Seems to be a lot worse than originally thouight.

Fair play to the students who are standing up to the government and their ****!ng corrupt bouncer police force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

IMO both sides need to make concessions, increasing the fees every 1-2 years will not help and eventually we will end up in the UK's situation with £9000 a year being announced today. That was why I originally left the north to study here.
    Why doesn't the government say fees will be increased this year and will stay at those levels for x years and will be reviewed. Then the SU and the universities will have to make cuts, €50000 for the UCD observer and 16m in almost illegal bonuses to top lecturers.

Also getting rid of most of these mickey mouse courses would greatly help, who in gods name needs 500 english gradaduates per year (in before your grammer need it) and philosophy and art history!! What are they gonna do? Rationalise money into the government coffers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

major bill wrote: »

on a serious note well done to everybody that went in and made their voice known ye get nowhere for been silent!!!.

Completely agree 100%.
    I am not 3rd level educated but have a very gifted 7 year old who I will have to pay through collage by the sweat off my brow.

Im really glad people are at last starting to fight back a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

Why can't your kid walk to school? Why do you have to clog up the damn roads chaffeuring your little sweety? After a few days of being WALKED by my mother the mile and a half to school when I started aged five I then completed the journey myself for the duration of my days in education.

Because this country does not provide adequate special resources in all schools and therefore children with special needs cannot attend their local school and must travel by car, yes a car, to gain access to the services. I have no problem with students not wanting to face double registration fees but fact is this country does not even provide adequate care of its very young, very sick and very elderly so when you go out into that big and bad world, your idealistic views get quickly tested.
    bonerm wrote: »
    And what does your problems picking up your spoilt brats have to do with the validity or otherwise of a political protest?

Don't claim the high ground here or claim be representing the issues of commuters when you and your like are a bigger contributing factor the traffic problems in this city than a bunch of kids throwing mars bars over a railing are.

Oh look name calling children, how mature - speaks volumes about your personality:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Jeez, I'm all for the registration fee increases. Students feel it's a right rather than a luxury that's given. If you can't afford it, work for a few years to save up and then go - you're more likely to pick a course that's suited to you when you're older anyway. Why do you HAVE to go when you're 17/18? Or get a loan, work part time or remove other luxury's from your lifestyle.

The amount of people I knew who were in their 2nd/3rd year, decided they were no longer interested in the course they choose but completed it...never to be used again. Waste of money.

Need to put things in perspective, it costs a hell of a lot more to do a degree in other countries. I quit work last year to do a full time one year course - I qualified for the grant but didn't take it because I had saved up enough money to support myself while finding a new part-time job and didn't feel it was right to take it. The youth of today (I'm not old myself! But can see major differences from myself and those 10 years younger!) need to be given a kick up the arse and learn that things can not just be given to you on a plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Des Carter wrote: »
    Seems to be a lot worse than originally thouight.

Fair play to the students who are standing up to the government and their ****!ng corrupt bouncer police force.

I only know too well what these supposed ''protectors'' of the state are like in dealing with mass crowds, animals would be too good a word to describe some of these in action, without tarring all gards with the same brush(and there are huge number of good honest ones) when the **** hits the fan these brain dead personality lacking recruits wont be able to handle it.

just look at the venom in some of the gards faces on the video, they are dealing with students hardly some of the breed that took to the streets on love ulster day, if they cant handle students in an orderly fashion they are fcuked for when the welfare lads take to the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I stand by these comments I made on another forum about the idiot rioting at the end of the protest.

To be quite honest, I was abhorred by the sight of rioting at the end of the protest and what's more that members of political youth organisations, like Ógra Sinn Féin and the Socialist Workers party, were involved. I really hope that members of supposedly more civilised left political organisations, like Labour Youth, weren't involved in those moronic acts. If they were than all I can say is that they're making the left and liberals in general out to be nothing more than hooligans.

If you look at the flags in the background of the TV reports, it wouldn't come as a shock to assume that hard line socialists just came out on the day to cause trouble and had no real interest in the subject of the protest. I wouldn't be surprised if the government decided to reintroduce third level fees just for the sake of getting those knackers out of college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

yeahimhere wrote: »
    Jeez, I'm all for the registration fee increases. Students feel it's a right rather than a luxury that's given. If you can't afford it, work for a few years to save up and then go - you're more likely to pick a course that's suited to you when you're older anyway. Why do you HAVE to go when you're 17/18? Or get a loan, work part time or remove other luxury's from your lifestyle.

Oh yeah, sure the country is so awash with jobs (full and part time), any potential student who can't afford to go to college can just pick up any one of these employment opportunities...or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

I stand by these comments I made on another forum about the idiot rioting at the end of the protest.

To be quite honest, I was abhorred by the sight of rioting at the end of the protest and what's more that members of political youth organisations, like Ógra Sinn Féin and the Socialist Workers party, were involved. I really hope that members of supposedly more civilised left political organisations, like Labour Youth, weren't involved in those moronic acts. If they were than all I can say is that they're making the left and liberals in general out to be nothing more than hooligans.

If you look at the flags in the background of the TV reports, it wouldn't come as a shock to assume that hard line socialists just came out on the day to cause trouble and had no real interest in the subject of the protest. I wouldn't be surprised if the government decided to reintroduce third level fees just for the sake of getting those knackers out of college.

Are you for real. It was a peaceful sit in protest and the police forcefully removed them and even stamped on their heads and the students reacted. Ya some came for trouble but they didnt start it - the police did. I say fair play to them we have been letting this government sh!t all over us for too long and its about time we got the fighting Irish spirit back.

The other option is to let them destroy the education system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I'm sure your all horrified by the videos of people coming down the street with Blood on their faces but to be honest, 99% of the people who got a wallop from the cops deserved it. The police riot squad went in to maintain control and did just that.

God help any protester if the army riot squad ever get called in. Those guys psych themselves up for blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

Why do people have this great belief that all students spend most of there time and money drinking and going to nightclubs. You would swear some of the people posting have never gone to a pub the way they talk. True I do go out once a week in college but I have to have some sort of social life. I spend the rest of the week in the library or at my lectures. I work at the weekends so I can offord my extravagent lifestyle that consists of a drafty bedroom with peeling wallpaper and microwave dinners. Alot of other students I know are in the same boat as me. Why do people object so much to the government paying for part of my degree. When I qualify I will hopefully work in Ireland I will pay tax to the irish government which will pay for pensions and hospital beds. Its a circle and we all will contribute and benifit from it at certain times during our lives.

Why don't we see this argument more often? Third-level education should be seen as an investment, one which creates a highly skilled workforce, attracts jobs. and benefits everyone in the long run through increased taxation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Pictures from today's protest and subsequent scuffle.
    http://pix.ie/jimeatsmenu/album/392900

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

major bill wrote: »
    I only know too well what these supposed ''protectors'' of the state are like in dealing with mass crowds, animals would be too good a word to describe some of these in action, without tarring all gards with the same brush(and there are huge number of good honest ones) when the **** hits the fan these brain dead personality lacking recruits wont be able to handle it.

just look at the venom in some of the gards faces on the video, they are dealing with students hardly some of the breed that took to the streets on love ulster day, if they cant handle students in an orderly fashion they are fcuked for when the welfare lads take to the streets.

Boo hoo. I went to a riot and people pushed me. Its not fair. You expected the Gardaí to be smiling while having to stand there getting objects and abuse hurled at them.
    Des Carter wrote: »
    Are you for real. It was a peaceful sit in protest and the police forcefully removed them and even stamped on their heads and the students reacted. Ya some came for trouble but they didnt start it - the police did. I say fair play to them we have been letting this government sh!t all over us for too long and its about time we got the fighting Irish spirit back.

The other option is to let them destroy the education system.

Just out of interest. If someone forced there way into your house and sat on the floor would you be happy if the Gardaí came up and said "Well we can't do anything because he's being peaceful."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I don't care who apparently started what. I witnessed a lot of heavy handedness by the guards today and before the riot cops got out of the three vans I was told by a traffic cop...

"move, we're going to get violent"
    I started laughing and he came back with "you wont be smiling when you get hurt". I was no threat to anyone, just standing there taking in sham that things became.

Have the whole thing on video. Also overheard a fire man telling a cop that they needed to stop hitting people.

Seen a 17 year old knocked out, seen a female guard charge at an SU head for asking what direction they had sent people this was after everything had calmed down.

Complete disgrace on the guards behalf they looked amateur and panicked.