Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Vudgie

Enough of this rubbish can we have more/some pictures of students and members of the SWP getting clobbered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Jaysus Harney will be delighted.

Red Paint one day :(

Mars Bars the next :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Xavi6 wrote: »
    99 euro? Sure there's 5 weeks of the increase right there, and that's before you factor in credit.

Get yourself a call card and keep it old skool :cool:

Or do what I do and when a phone breaks just get an old one someone doesn't want any more, I've bought one new phone in 5 years but have been through 5 phones in that time. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Vudgie wrote: »
    Enough of this rubbish can we have more/some pictures of students and members of the SWP getting clobbered.

Hehe scuffles

Another

k_mac wrote: »
    I thought it was pretty restrained and well organised on the part of the Gardaí. All the items were being thrown at them and people were pulling at the shields. All they did was push back the crowd.

I was being sarcastic, they were far more restrained than I would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

nommm wrote: »
    I actually know someone who works in recruitment so yes.

Do you know the McDonalds employment policy? Looks like you're the one making an uninformed point. ;)

Obviously you dont know anything about employment law or discrimination...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

amacachi wrote: »
    Or do what I do and when a phone breaks just get an old one someone doesn't want any more, I've bought one new phone in 5 years but have been through 5 phones in that time. :pac:
    I just pre-ordered a HTC Desire HD. You're missing out on the goodness of new phones!

I could definitely not go back from having a smartphone to a regular phone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I was a student for 5 years and it wasn't all nights out and boozing. I worked 5 days a week except for the last few months.

It sickened me that some of my classmates had no jobs but could afford to go out 3 or 4 times a week. These would be the same people who would be against fee's.

I'm all for bringing in fees. Work for your education. It will keep out the dossers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

One thing that grates me off. How many articles have their been about 'standing up' or 'fighting back' or comparisons with Greece and France and how we sit back and take this and in the main people go on those threads and support them or agree yet some of them very people come on and spout about the terrible students for doing what they have just talked about for the last 6 months.

Each to their own, I don't care what the Students do and how they do it but the sheer hypocrisiy of this thread is a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ciaransull92

Cowen will be out later on when the media is gone to collect any left over mars bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

flyton5 wrote: »
    You can buy phones for €20. Why buy a €99 one?

Sigh..

Because people get given 99 euro gifts etc... Some people buy 20 euro phones. BUT 95% of people, including those barely getting bye, have a phone worth in excess of 99 euro.

Would you like students to sleep on the streets and shine your shoes too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Funny how the turnout today when it is too ****ing late far exceeds the turn out in the last student protests (I can't recall when they were).
    I was there, I'm not even a student. The turnout was sh1te.
    The old folks protested last time the following day to far greater effect (bigger numbers) and because of this (and because they vote), their cuts will be far less.

Rawr Rawr Rawr we're angry now, 4 weeks before the budget when it's far too late!
    Tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Why would these people even go online on phones to tweet something? I can send a text from my phone (for free as it's to a meteor number) to tweet whenever I want...

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Sigh..

Because people get given 99 euro gifts etc... Some people buy 20 euro phones. BUT 95% of people, including those barely getting bye, have a phone worth in excess of 99 euro.

Would you like students to sleep on the streets and shine your shoes too?

The sleeping on the streets part yes. Show them what real hardship is.

Shining my shoes no. I'd want a proper job done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Wertz wrote: »
    I hope they were Aldi's Mars equivalent and not the real deal.

Titan Bar

Otherwise they are undermining their own argument of hardship...

They're nicer than Mars. Seriously yum.

OisinT wrote: »
    I just pre-ordered a HTC Desire HD. You're missing out on the goodness of new phones!

I could definitely not go back from having a smartphone to a regular phone!

I'm a student alas and about 5k in debt for it. I'd love one of those smart phones but I think I'll be ok with my PSP, PS3, Xbox 360 and laptop. :pac: My disposable income goes on cigarettes, and if my income is cut I shall stop smoking and if it's cut further I shall look for a job and possibly drop out for a while. The last thing I'd do is get one of those fancy touchscreen phones. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Get a loan then.

I do and its a pain in the ass, I'm from the north an so no grant from either government. When I graduate I will be in nearly €40k of debt simply for trying to educate myself. As for jobs, with the levels of uneducated workforce its nearly impossible to get one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

graduate tax ftw...

Just looking through my accounts. I spend €20 a week on washing my car. If any students want to take a chunk out of their new registration fees, I'm accepting offers for employment under €20. :D

phasers wrote: »
    graduate tax ftw...

But it'll stop people going to college! Somehow.

smk89 wrote: »
    I do and its a pain in the ass, I'm from the north an so no grant from either government. When I graduate I will be in nearly €40k of debt simply for trying to educate myself. As for jobs, with the levels of uneducated workforce its nearly impossible to get one
    Where on earth do you go to college?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

Just looking through my accounts. I spend €20 a week on washing my car. If any students want to take a chunk out of their new registration fees, I'm accepting offers for employment under €20. :D

15e a week for someone to wash yer car id almost do it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

peabutler wrote: »
    One thing that grates me off. How many articles have their been about 'standing up' or 'fighting back' or comparisons with Greece and France and how we sit back and take this and in the main people go on those threads and support them or agree yet some of them very people come on and spout about the terrible students for doing what they have just talked about for the last 6 months.

Each to their own, I don't care what the Students do and how they do it but the sheer hypocrisiy of this thread is a joke.

Possibly the people who start those threads are at the protest so we normal/reasonable people have free reign for an exchange of ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

graduate tax ftw...

+

Income Tax Levy

+

Pension Levy

ftw

You could do lowest bidder wins...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2010/11/Protest-Green-Scribbler-502x377.jpg

To think these future Laureates might be denied their education...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Cherry.Blossom

What is all this business about people being disgusted at students kicking up a bit of a fuss and throwing stuff around? Isn't the whole point of a protest to kick up a fuss and get people talking? To get the lads in the Dail to take heed?
    Doubt they'd be paying to much attention to a nice quite sing song outside the gates now would they? (not that they'll take any notice anyway)

graduate tax ftw...

I'd prefer set amounts in loans etc so I don't end up paying back more than someone else for the same service just because I was successful. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

graduate tax ftw...

I actually agree with this, I'm not against paying for my education, just the idea of an up front fee whose sole purpose is to make the balance sheets look better today, a harmful and idiotic quick fix imo. Also, if a graduate tax is introduced there should be no means for wealthy parents to pay in advance (as was proposed last year), its a god awful idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I don't recall students ever saying they were living in hardship. In fact, student do a lot of charity work to help those who do. Like... ohhh... sleeping on the streets before Christmas to raise awareness for those who HAVE to...

You have grudges for some reason. That much is clear. If its with society, the government etc... well then get off your arse and march like we did today.

Otherwise, shhhhh.