Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

ya know it says on public jobs garda trainee 2010
    well my thinkin is that the campaign will have to start this year?? if it wasnt going to im sure they would of put down garda trainee 2011:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

podsieboy wrote: »
    ya know it says on public jobs garda trainee 2010
    well my thinkin is that the campaign will have to start this year?? if it wasnt going to im sure they would of put down garda trainee 2011:confused:

They based that on Dermot Ahernes statement last April that there would be a campaign opened before the ned of the year. I really don't think they have any further information than that, and I wouldn't read any more into it,other than the minister said it would happen before the yer end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 GRHopefull

Thanks for the update about the age limits...... I've got a clearler picture now.

As podsieboy mentioned earlier, the PAS did say Garda trainee 2010.

Could it be a case - very late notifications being sent out with possible intention (by PAS) a lot of expressed candidates for AGS will not attend the aptitude test !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

thekopend wrote: »
    the only man to ask about recruitment would be fachtna if anyone knows him!!

i've seen him a few times around his wife's home place and at mayo association dinner, she's a lovely mayo woman like myself i might chain myself to the gate of the house. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Daffydolly

C-J wrote: »
    i've seen him a few times around his wife's home place and at mayo association dinner, she's a lovely mayo woman like myself i might chain myself to the gate of the house. . .

Can we get a 'like' feature on this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Daffydolly wrote: »
    Can we get a 'like' feature on this :)

I offer my services for self-chaining to gates!! i'm not at much else!!! ;)

i also offer snappy slogans re recruitment such as 'ahern to burn' a personal favourite of mine with my pyromania tendencies as of late. Or we could always 'talk to joe'. . . Out of curiosity has anybody done this?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭niallofthenine

i will be qualifying as a mechanical engineer at in 2011. Would i be able to joint the gardaí working with my degree doing crash analysis or similar, or would I have to work my way up?

C-J wrote: »
    i also offer snappy slogans re recruitment such as 'ahern to burn' a personal favourite of mine with my pyromania tendencies as of late. Or we could always 'talk to joe'. . . Out of curiosity has anybody done this?!

oooh "ahern to burn"...i like it! haven't resorted to Joe....yet!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

oooh "ahern to burn"...i like it! haven't resorted to Joe....yet!!!! :mad:

Been in touch with Joe,
    Text in one day when the army were given out that they could only recruit a small number.
    They rang me to talk about Garda recruitment but couldn't take the call.
    They said they'd raise the issue again.
    Maybe if one or 2 more people emailed him or text in he might bring it up.

If anyone can Joe can.

C-J you could always take the other drastic measure and ask the commissioner next time you see him:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 pure_mule

itsallgood wrote: »
    Been in touch with Joe,
    Text in one day when the army were given out that they could only recruit a small number.
    They rang me to talk about Garda recruitment but couldn't take the call.
    They said they'd raise the issue again.
    Maybe if one or 2 more people emailed him or text in he might bring it up.

If anyone can Joe can.

C-J you could always take the other drastic measure and ask the commissioner next time you see him:D

The problem with ringing Joe Duffy is that - in my opinion - he is not very pro garda...in fact I would go as far as saying that he is anti garda! Doubt he would go out of his way to help the cause!

Every time I hear the news I keep hearing that "no area will be immune to budget cuts". . . When the recrutiment embargo was supposed to have been lifted last May I think that the government believed that there would be money there for recrutiment, however now I think that they are backtracking - and as everyone is expected to share the pain I believe that future garda applicants will have to take it too.

I REALLY hope I'm wrong.

However there are certain positives - crime is on the rise (only a postive for potential garda applicants) and it's petty crime - which is the type of crime that will annoy people on the streets who in turn will annoy their public reps who in turn might consider recruitment.

The subversive element is also becoming worrying - and in the past if anyone has coerced the government to recruit its been the provo's.

Between 1978 - 1983 there was a form of accelerated recruitment for An Garda Siochana - these members have reached retirement age (or are now approaching it) which should see continued elevated retirements.

Also for anyone considering joining the reserve which I would highly reccommend being a reserve myself - I would reccommend doing it SOON. There reserves are approaching 1,000 members and remember the limit on the reserves is 10% of the full time force i.e 1,400 members. When the reserves are full futute reserve applicants will be depending on places opening up when existing reserves resign/retire.

Thats my 2 cents anyway. Lets just hope for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 itchy_sack

well about time i got some good news about the garda.... happy days people . happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

pure_mule wrote: »
    The problem with ringing Joe Duffy is that - in my opinion - he is not very pro garda...in fact I would go as far as saying that he is anti garda! Doubt he would go out of his way to help the cause!

Every time I hear the news I keep hearing that "no area will be immune to budget cuts". . . When the recrutiment embargo was supposed to have been lifted last May I think that the government believed that there would be money there for recrutiment, however now I think that they are backtracking - and as everyone is expected to share the pain I believe that future garda applicants will have to take it too.

I REALLY hope I'm wrong.

However there are certain positives - crime is on the rise (only a postive for potential garda applicants) and it's petty crime - which is the type of crime that will annoy people on the streets who in turn will annoy their public reps who in turn might consider recruitment.

The subversive element is also becoming worrying - and in the past if anyone has coerced the government to recruit its been the provo's.

Between 1978 - 1983 there was a form of accelerated recruitment for An Garda Siochana - these members have reached retirement age (or are now approaching it) which should see continued elevated retirements.

Also for anyone considering joining the reserve which I would highly reccommend being a reserve myself - I would reccommend doing it SOON. There reserves are approaching 1,000 members and remember the limit on the reserves is 10% of the full time force i.e 1,400 members. When the reserves are full futute reserve applicants will be depending on places opening up when existing reserves resign/retire.

Thats my 2 cents anyway. Lets just hope for the best.

this sounds about right , when my father joined in 75 he said there were bus loads of new guards shipped up to the border, he has retired 6 years ago, so the ones from 78 to 83 should be due around now.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

itchy_sack wrote: »
    well about time i got some good news about the garda.... happy days people . happy days

what news did you get?!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

itchy_sack wrote: »

Whats the news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 mgx

i will be qualifying as a mechanical engineer at in 2011. Would i be able to joint the gardaí working with my degree doing crash analysis or similar, or would I have to work my way up?

you will have to work your way up - join as a regular on the unit and then go for promotion as it arises. traffic corps deal with crash scenes and receive specialist training for it.

you will have to wait about 4 years from when you enter the gates of templemore first day to the time you go for promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

pure_mule wrote: »
    However there are certain positives - crime is on the rise .

This should be leading to a rise in recruitment, but it's not.
    That's very worrying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

I got an email address which led to the office of the Chief Super in Templemore.
    Well a sergeant handles all queries and boy God she gave nothing away I think she was trained on "How to avoid the question" and that was after 2 e-mails.

Ha ha I think you could be right there Delancey42. She either is or she's a carbon copy of the justice minister. I think the most frustrating aspect is the way they push you over to another dept... I mentioned and I quote "has the minister for justice and the justice dept been in collaboration with AGS regarding the next intake and recruitment" of course she picked up on the "Dept of Justice" side of things and told me to contact them. Talk about passing the book.

In my honest opinion I actually don't think they have a clue as to the next recruitment drive or intake and that only the Minister for Justice and Commissioner know and they haven't spilled the beans to their colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Ha ha I think you could be right there Delancey42. She either is or she's a carbon copy of the justice minister. I think the most frustrating aspect is the way they push you over to another dept... I mentioned and I quote "has the minister for justice and the justice dept been in collaboration with AGS regarding the next intake and recruitment" of course she picked up on the "Dept of Justice" side of things and told me to contact them. Talk about passing the book.

Then she went on to say about register with Publicjobs.ie. Thanks sweetheart for your pointer but Ive been registered with them since late 2007. I gave up as I knew I was getting nowhere.

In my honest opinion I actually don't think they have a clue as to the next recruitment drive or intake and that only the Minister for Justice and Commissioner know and they haven't spilled the beans to their colleagues.

I find your attitude towards this member disappointing. Contrary to your beliefs, she can't just divulge everything she knows in an email to a member of the public. Her hands are tied, simply because she has no info.

Don't be so condescending with your 'sweetheart' comment. She is a member, and a Sergeant at that. Your also fooling yourself if you think this site isn't monitored by the College, so you can be sure you have identified yourself. I hope your attitude changes before you consider applying.

Also, NOBODY knows about recruitment. No Commisioners, Chief Supers, Supers, Cigs, Sgt or Gardai know. They are waiting on what the Govt says, and they are too focused on the budget right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Posts Deleted for being Off Topic.

Lads, it's hard enough trying to keep this thread in some sort of order during normal conversation, can we please stop bickering? One poster has already received a warning for Back Seat Modding. Please use the report post button if you have an issue with a post and attack the post, not the poster.

Back on Topic Please.

I came across this from a paper in County Mayo today and was dated yesterday 02/11/2010. A senior politician voiced concerns about the drop in Garda numbers in County Mayo. He went on to criticize about how no recruitment is robbing young people of employment benefits/opportunities. Link below.

http://mayotoday.ie/2010/11/02/concern-at-drop-in-mayo-garda-numbers/-13635

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    I came across this from a paper in County Mayo today and was dated yesterday 02/11/2010. A senior politician voiced concerns about the drop in Garda numbers in County Mayo. He went on to criticize about how no recruitment is robbing young people of employment benefits. Link below.

http://mayotoday.ie/2010/11/02/concern-at-drop-in-mayo-garda-numbers/-13635

i don't know how i didn't spot this as i normally read the local papers top to bottom! I'm glad to see some press coverage is being given, as far as I'm aware there's no chief of the mayo general district since he retired over a year ago and hasn't been replaced. I've heard of letters and emails coming to stations locally that sergeants aren't authorised to open, but there isn't anyone else in place to open them! And as for the above poster, I've reported as I don't even think the post justifies a response

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,766 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

shakin wrote: »
    afaik the commissioners retirement has been put back till the new year,not sure why but read somewhere that a visit by the queen may have something to do with it and them wanting continuity in security leadership.open to correction of course :-)

The commissioners extension was purely to deal with the planning aspect of the operation, not the implementation.

Commissioner Fachtna Murphy set to retire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

if there is €6b worth of cuts in the next budget, how are they going to stary a fresh Garda recruitment campaign?

clayton1 wrote: »
    if there is €6b worth of cuts in the next budget, how are they going to stary a fresh Garda recruitment campaign?

I wonder if there's any chance that the Government has already planned for another Garda recruitment campaign, and put the money aside for it already. I know it's unlikely, but if the army and various other bodies have already recruited this year, maybe the Gardaí will be allowed to recruit (even a small number). Probably wishful thinking, but you never know!! I suppose we'll have a better idea later when Brian Lenihan makes his speech about proposed cuts! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

I wonder if there's any chance that the Government has already planned for another Garda recruitment campaign, and put the money aside for it already. I know it's unlikely, but if the army and various other bodies have already recruited this year, maybe the Gardaí will be allowed to recruit (even a small number). Probably wishful thinking, but you never know!! I suppose we'll have a better idea later when Brian Lenihan makes his speech about proposed cuts! :eek:

Was thinking the same, because I think the new pension scheme applies to everyone taken on in the public sector from Jan 2011. Hopefully we'll hear something soon, wouldn't hold my breath though

Itsallgood, I totally agree with you everytime our justice minister answers a question the politicians seem to accept it! I suppose the only thing is that this particular TD seems to raise "the question" a lot.

I just don't understand why they announce a recruitment drive and then there is no substance behind it. I personally think that a lot of our politicians are incompetent and clueless. I posted a particular post over a month ago and it was where a female politician asked the question and the Justice minister literally bluffed her off by raving on about the announcement on publicjobs.ie but it wasn't an announcement to apply it was just an announcement to register an interest and she accepted this and didn't even care to question.

We are on our own make no mistake about it. I suppose the only encouraging aspect is the force is down near the 14,000 mark again the "APPROVED" level is 14,500 and with the budget coming up Levies, Cuts, Pensions etc.. might force a couple more out.

But yeh great point Itsallgood!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭dentalnurse

Hi all.
    Just a quick question.
    What are the entry requirements maths wise. Now I know it's OL D3, it's the only thing I failed in the leaving. I mean in terms of fetac?? What level do they accept. The requirements state:
    Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

Hey I'm afraid you will have to pass maths. I done my aptitude test in 2008 and passed it but when I had to fill out form B I had to submit my educational qualifications and they told me regardless of college qualifications, Cert, Degree etc.. You will have to pass maths I was absolutely gutted! Of course I went back and got my maths!

It's only November you could still go into a local secondary school and apply to do maths for the duration of the year. Bit of maths grinds and you will be flying.

To answer your question plain and simple you HAVE to pass maths!