Things that Jackeens do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,973 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

- Litres of heroin. In soup, sandwiches, on toast, in their tea.
    - call each other bud. Ariiii buuuud...stowreee??
    - Think dublin is the biggest city in the world.
    - Run from one building to the next avoiding junkies with knives.
    - Congregate around the spire & chant because they keep mistaking it for a giant needle.
    - love the film Trainspotting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

orourkeda wrote: »
    Where are you from. I take it Funkytown isn't in Ireland

It's in Nauru. We don't have Jackeens here clearly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

whatever we are, I'm so glad I'm from here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

orourkeda wrote: »
    Did you just make that up?

Well I don't know what age you are, but this is the case with college students.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Dublin is great I really dont know why non-dubs have such a problem with it, all my friends from the UK and Europe love visiting here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

I love Dublin and I'm just glad I'm not from there. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Dublin is some ****hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Ever notice how when you are out walking the dog it is always the small runt like mongrels who have an inferiority complex and never tire with their incessant yapping? They can't resist having a go even when all and sundry know it's a lost cause.

I appreciate village life may be repetitive but all the built up angst leading to the need for a daily thread highlighting it can't be healthy. Overcome that inferiority and embrace your own culchie ways. You'll only give yourself high blood pressure or an ulcer boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Dublin has always had good away support for football games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Rebelheart wrote: »
    There's that "Dublin = vast majority of society" Jackeen thing again, like.

Actually, no it's not.

You have a chip in your shoulder with anyone who watches English football or supports it, that's a large amount of people in Ireland.

You seem to think the average person takes their holidays in the Gaeltacht, that's just ignorant. Most people haven't holidayed in the Gaeltacht since their teens.

From experience, quite a lot of people in the surrounding counties of Dublin are adopting the "Dublin" culture. Speaking the same way, wearing the same style of clothing. This is probably going to hurt, but most young Cork people I've met have been pretty similar to us dirty Jackeens.

Just because a person is sent to a private school doesn't mean they will piss their way true life expecting to live off Mummy and Daddy for the rest of their life. You're very narrow minded and bigoted Rebelheart, it's pretty funny actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm gonna go build an electric fence around around all of Irelands county lines because if there's one thing that AH has taught me at this stage it's that we are all irreconcilably different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

Dublin is a ****hole, but it's the nicest ****hole in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Use the Internet.

Don't complain about the ban on drink driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,973 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Hows this, and its true:

17/18 years ago our nextdoor neighbours used to keep students as paying guests from the back of beyond, real boggers, you could hear them shouting at eachother a mile away. We lived quite near an airport so you often heard 737 size aircraft flying over head.

My brother was talking to one of these bogfolk in the front garden one day. This skinny chap from mayo farming people, he was sound to be fair. It was his first day in the big smoke. When he heard the jet noise he went pale from fear & asked us what the **** was that? looking up in total panic, actually walking towards our nextdoor neighbours front door. (run awaaaaay!!!):pac: He was genuinely frightened.
    Jaysus, tiz very close like isn't it!!! We laughed a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Hows this, and its true:

17/18 years ago our nextdoor neighbours used to keep students as paying guests from the back of beyond, real boggers, you could hear them shouting at eachother a mile away. We lived quite near an airport so you often heard 737 size aircraft flying over head.

My brother was talking to one of these bogfolk in the front garden one day. This skinny chap from mayo farming people, he was sound to be fair. It was his first day in the big smoke. When he heard the jet noise he went pale from fear & asked us what the **** was that? looking up in total panic, actually walking towards our nextdoor neighbours front door. (run awaaaaay!!!):pac: He was genuinely frightened.
    Jaysus, tiz very close like isn't it!!! We laughed a lot.

We dont get iron birds that size in good aul Maigh Eo, not to mention all the horseless carriages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

CorkMan wrote: »
    a)
    d) Sing lots of Westlife Songs

Rofl, thats the funniest thing I've read all week:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Carry the rest of the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Carry the rest of the country
    We have a winner!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Conor108 wrote: »
    Have broadband.

Culchies were first to get broadband. 120meg in Dungarvan. Dublin? Shíte-meg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Live in Bray and Maynooth but when they are going to "town" they certainly don't mean Kildare town or Wicklow town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭andrew cross

- Litres of heroin. In soup, sandwiches, on toast, in their tea.
    - call each other bud. Ariiii buuuud...stowreee??
    - Think dublin is the biggest city in the world.
    - Run from one building to the next avoiding junkies with knives.
    - Congregate around the spire & chant because they keep mistaking it for a giant needle.
    - love the film Trainspotting.
    wear pyjamas to the shops think everything is (bleeding deadly) two dublin joyriders went over a cliff and died guards said it was a tragedy it was a 7 seat er :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Say "soddy" when they mean "sorry."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭yeahme

Wear Abercrombie and Fitch, and drink jizzinachino coffee......
    hold on...
    have we done this thread already????

anyway to be fair, the real dubs are sound out,
    just the other 2 groups (skangers&D4s) give them a bad name.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

Saila wrote: »
    I thought a jackeen was a knacker bitch from dublin :confused:
    No, that's either a Julia or Jackaleen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

a) Bemoan secretly the fact that they don't live in Dublin and have access to high speed broadband and other technological novelties.
    b) Spend thousands on petrol/ diesel.
    c) Rarely come to Dublin (except when they are in dire need of supplies and when they want to watch major GAA matches) because they have this inferiority complex with respect to Dublin people.
    d) Make threads on boards.ie about what Dublin people do.
    e) Have this crazy obsession with primitive instruments and singing the most boring tunes with the most depressing lyrics about death, famine, disease and other sufferings and how terrible their lives are.
    f) Have to travel around the country to watch primitive fuseball games.
    g) Think that talking about potholes in South Kerry all day will fix the country's problems.
    h) Become Taoiseach or Minister for Finance and fuck up the country.
    i) Have a sexual obsession with farmyard animals.

What else can you think of, I'm sure I missed out on a hell of a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

bog snorkle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Adriatic wrote: »
    I love Dublin and I'm just glad I'm not from there. ;)

Why? (Just curious!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

a) Wouldn't live in Dublin if you paid me. But secretly, I really wouldn't live in Dublin if you paid me, not even really really well.
    b) But not pay thousands for parking.
    c) I went for the Zoo. If the Zoo was in Roscommon, Id' go there. We left before Sundown, a la the Simpsons.
    d) Hahahaa
    e) It's called culture, it's OK, we don't expect you to understand, all that pollution interfering with foetus development and that.
    f) Nope, see there's this new fangled invention called the Television, unfortunately ruined by some twat called Ger Canning.
    g) I could care less about South Kerry, no, wait, I actually couldn't.
    h) I never knew Bertie was a culchie, now I feel dirty.
    i) What happens on the farm, stays on the farm. No, serioulsy, you can't imagine how hard it is to sell a half human half sheep hogget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

Show Dubs how to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Host Dinner parties :)

Ah wait, no....