Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

One step at a time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Aerobic 6m w/6*30s hill sprints

Good run out today in glorious late september sunshine....
    A different route as i had to incorporate the hill sprints.
    Headed out to ballygunner church and pounded up and down that hill for a bit before coming home the opposite direction.
    I found the hills easier than last week but still kept it at 6,will increase to 8 next week,also i extended the recovery...i basically ran the 30s up hill from a point and recovered back to that point,that let me know exactly how i did in comparison to the others without playing around with the watch at all.

7:04p Overall

Intervals tomorrow,not sure if i will be doing them,working tonight and tomorrow night,so it depends what time i get up at tomorrow and how tired i am,it would be like doing intervals at 8am on a regular morning....body wise,not sure if that is possible.

We will see what happens.

Intervals 10*600m
    ( on very wet and slippy grass ,in lashing rain and winds...ahhh the great outdoors )

I didnt reach the dizzy heights of last weeks 400's but this was tougher for a plethora of reasons.
    The extra 200m, the grass was draining and i had just normal runners on,the rest of the lads had fancy spikes and i was slipping around the place,didnt feel comfortable tbh,but it was good to get this done.

Splits were :
    2:02,1:59,1:59,1:59,2:00,2:01,1:59,1:58,1:59,1:59

Very consistent throughout,2:00 is 5:21p and the more experienced fella there said that it was good running with the conditions underfoot,so i will go with that.

7m in total,a good workout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Sosa wrote: »
    Intervals 10*600m
    ( on very wet and slippy grass ,in lashing rain and winds...ahhh the great outdoors )

I didnt reach the dizzy heights of last weeks 400's but this was tougher for a plethora of reasons.
    The extra 200m, the grass was draining and i had just normal runners on,the rest of the lads had fancy spikes and i was slipping around the place,didnt feel comfortable tbh,but it was good to get this done.

Splits were :
    2:02,1:59,1:59,1:59,2:00,2:01,1:59,1:58,1:59,1:59

Very consistent throughout,2:00 is 5:21p and the more experienced fella there said that it was good running with the conditions underfoot,so i will go with that.

7m in total,a good workout.
    2011 will be a better yr with those workouts. I may stand beside you at the start cos its the closest i will get to you. What recovery are you taking ?? On slippy grass makes it even more impressive.

90s between reps VR,i found them much tougher than the 400's last week,i would say thats mostly due to the conditions.

Recovery 5m @ 7:53p

Very sluggish today and was happy to get this over with,legs very heavy after yesterdays intervals.
    Tempo tomorrow night....cant wait :rolleyes:

Aerobic and Tempo

Didnt go according to plan today.

I did my usual short handy run after dropping the young fella to school this morning.
    2.3m @ 7:14p

Then tonights tempo.
    They were doing 2*15 min w/2 min rec
    I decided to do only 1 of them with the xc race on Sunday.
    1.3m warm up and then a good 15 mins that covered 2.52m ...just under 6:00 pace on the same wet draining grass,felt better as it went on,wanted to do the other one but any of the lads racing Sunday were only doing the one so i did the same.
    0.5m warm down after.
    I had to scoot back up to the house then to collect the boy for his running at 7,got him down there and then the heavens opened and he got soaked,he wanted to go home then so that was the end of my 5m aerobic i had planned to do while he was at that.

Total of 6.62m today.

It now looks like i will be running the Run for Life 10m on Oct 17th,turns out that i can get a days leave from work ( paid :D ) as i am raising money for charity....nice one !
    Only thing is with such a short timeframe to work with i am not in shape for a crack at sub 60,i will be close ( i hope ) but it will be a struggle and also there wont be to many doing it going under that so it will be more that likely run mostly on my own.
    Im not going to put myself under any pressure for this,i will go for sub 60 but will not be dissapointed if i miss out.
    I have heard it could have been short last year,by what distance i dont know,that would pi$$ me off no end if i ran it under 6:00 pace with a few metres to go,i will have to make some enquirements.

Aerobic 7m

Planned to do the half route today with a fast finish but was absolutely shattered after 3m (ran at 11:30 and only had a bowl of cornflakes at 8...not my ideal prep for a med long ) so i turned back towards the RSC as i didnt want to get caught out the tramore road being so tired,but at m4 iwas motoring again but still decided to go home with the XC on Sunday,just wanted to get a med long done as i have not run over 10m in 6 weeks.
    I have to say i am a bit worried about that,but will try get a hard week next week and then mini taper the week of the race...not ideal but the best i can manage.
    With the intervals and tempos i have been doing i would hope to get to 6m handy enough on target,then m7 and 8 are very testing,that will decide if i go under or not,if i get to 8 in 48 mins i will do it as the last 2m are flat and a couple of downhills.
    Overall the course is not one i would pick for a sub 60 attempt,i plan to run it next Wednesday morning,see how it feels as its the opposite way that i usually run.

Anyway...7m today @ 7:13p w/m7 in 5:57

XC on Sunday,the distance is just under 4m i am told,apprehensive about it tbh but will enjoy it none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

XC on Sunday,the distance is just under 4m i am told,apprehensive about it tbh but will enjoy it none the less.

All the best with the XC Sunday Sosa, be interested to see how you find it, as I'm doing the same sun week and for first time! Have ye a team in for it, could be a good hance to get a medal ?

tisnotover wrote: »
    All the best with the XC Sunday Sosa, be interested to see how you find it, as I'm doing the same sun week and for first time! Have ye a team in for it, could be a good hance to get a medal ?

Thanks tno,yes we have a team,we won the st senans team event last Sunday,the 4 lads did very well,i will do well to break into that 4.
    Its the county championships but West Waterford are very strong,so little chance there on the medal front i would imagine.

County Championships - Novice XC

I was a bit apprehensive about this,i have no idea why because i wasn't out of place at all as it turns out.
    There were about 20-25 in my race,all novice and masters male...masters is o40 for XC,so i had a sticker that said N on me...thats what yer man in the cortina that was registering people at the start gave me...no name,club,age...just a asticker with N on it...
    I went over to join up with the rest of the club and we headed off then for a lap to see what was in store for us,a lap is 1.2m of flat smoothed out grass,have to say very favourable conditions overall,warm,no wind and flat...cant ask for much more than that.
    The race was 3 laps...3.6m and we set off around 2:30...i eased into it for the first half lap,seeing who was ahead of me and taking stock of how i was doing.
    All was going well near the end ofthe first lap,happy days...i counted that i was 11th then...started picking off a few then and as always thats a great feeling and spurs you on...going onto the 3rd lap i was feeling vey strong and kept that all the way to the end,i would have gone round again which tells me yet again that i left alot out there again,but today was only a training session in my quest for another magical milestone...sub 60 in 2 weeks time.

Total
    1.2m warm up
    3.6m race - 20:32 (5:42p) 6th Overall
    1.2m warm down

6m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,530 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Well done Sosa. Did you have spikes for the day?

Yeah,i got them yesterday...only €55,and they gave me 2 sets of spikes,one for xc and smaller ones for the track,tbh you would have got away with normal runners today such were the conditions.
    Nice to have them though as i will be training on grass when conditions allow for the intervals and tempos, and will be trying out some track races next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

Great stuff Sosa, well done on the 6th placing!

Will u be doing a few more xc races as well?

tisnotover wrote: »
    Great stuff Sosa, well done on the 6th placing!

Will u be doing a few more xc races as well?

I dd myself an injustice,i was actually 5th in the novice,6th overall,the guy ahead of me won the masters.

I will more than likely do a few more XC races tno,i enjoyed the different atmosphere and surroundings.

Aerobic/Recovery 5m @ 7:27p

A nice trot around after work tonight in a slight drizzle.
    Since i will be doing less training for a while soon i have altered the paces of my runs.
    My recovery runs will now be 7:30-40,Aerobic 7:00-7:20...tempos as part of a medium long will be 6:00 and tempos/long intervals as part of a short run will be 5:45-5:50p.
    All this depends on how i feel on the day,weather,route and surface i run on.
    But usually when i plan something out i generally stick to it.

All eyes on the Run for Life 10 Sunday week,i will run the route a couple of time between now and then to get used to going in that direction,i usually run the opposite.

Intervals 10*600 on Grass

Much better than last weeks effort as conditions were more favourable.
    I did 2.75m warm up beforehand at a nice clip of 7:02p...then met up with the lads up on the grass behind the track at the RSC.
    I wore the spikes again and after i finished both my achilles were hurting a bit,didnt feel a thing Sunday or during them,they are tender now,will be icing thm as soon as the family go to bed and i have the dowstairs to myself.
    Tomorrows 10m is now in doubt as i will not rock the boat if they are tender tomorrow.

Splits were :
    1:59,1:56,1:54,1:57,1:54,1:58,1:55,1:58,1:56,1:53

Felt really good during them,the last 4 were harder but manageable and very happy with the pace,the slowest tonight was 1:59,bar the last one last week that was my fastest,the weather was awful last week though,i knew they would be better tonight.
    The last 1:53 was 5:03p....felt good to push it out the last 100m.

2.75m warmdown afterwards.

9.5m total

Recovery 5.5m @ 7:34p

Shelved plans to run the 10m route today,a combination of a bad idea the day after the intervals and the achilles being sore,i iced them last night and applied some diclac cream (for sore tendons and inflammation) and they were alot better this morning,could still feel it but nothing like last night.
    reduced the run to 5.5m nice and handy and got through it without any discomfort.
    I have started listening to "once a runner"...im enjoying it,its no born to run but good none the less.

I had plans to hit 50 this week (have not got near that since training or cork) it looks more like 45 now,still will be my most in a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

born to run. is that the book by christopher mc doughal?
    you enjoyed it? i've heard of the title but have not read it yet.

born to run. is that the book by christopher mc doughal?
    you enjoyed it? i've heard of the title but have not read it yet.

Thats the one,its very good,i will listen to it again someday...i had audio book btw,helped me while training for Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Hey sosa,

i'm thinking of running the Solas 10 miler in waterford next week. You mentioned a while back that it might be short...is that still the case?

Will you run the leinster novices the week after as well?

asimonov wrote: »
    Hey sosa,

i'm thinking of running the Solas 10 miler in waterford next week. You mentioned a while back that it might be short...is that still the case?

Will you run the leinster novices the week after as well?

I dont know asimonov,i will find out.
    Some results from people were a bit on the fast side last year and its not a fast course,so i was sceptical about the distance.
    another fella from the club thought the same but no confirmation that it was short.

I wont be running the novice the following,i will be knee deep in nappies hopefully :D

I dont know asimonov,i will find out.
    Some results from people were a bit on the fast side last year and its not a fast course,so i was sceptical about the distance.
    another fella from the club thought the same but no confirmation that it was short.

I wont be running the novice the following,i will be knee deep in nappies hopefully :D

Best of luck with that..hope it all goes to plan! Sure we'll see on the day about the distance but hopefully if someone brings it to their attention they'll sort it.

Aerobic 7m @ 6:35p

A bit on the fast side but felt good but its been 3 days since the intervals,with only a slow 5 miler inbetween, so its allowed :D
    Every mile was faster than the last and finished with a 5:47 and it felt good.
    Splits - 7:04,6:47,6:44,6:39,6:38,6:31 and 5:47

The first 5 of these miles were miles 2-7 of the 10 miler im doing next week and its not an easy stretch by any means,not to mention the hefty wind in my face for most of it.
    If it blows hard on the day,i will have to forget about sub 60.

asimonov wrote: »
    Best of luck with that..hope it all goes to plan! Sure we'll see on the day about the distance but hopefully if someone brings it to their attention they'll sort it.

Hey Asimonov,i mapped out the run on gmaps and it reads 10.07m,now as we all know that may not be 100% accurate but i was happy to see it 10m+.
    I watched a clip of last years run on the run for life facebook page and from what i can see it starts outside the granville hotel,the exact line i am not sure of,so it was my best estimate where to start recording the distance from.
    I plan on running the route next wednesday morning ( hopefully ) and beforehand i plan to go down that way and see if there is a line painted on the road somewhere.

This is the route : http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=4092589

Hey Asimonov,i mapped out the run on gmaps and it reads 10.07m,now as we all know that may not be 100% accurate but i was happy to see it 10m+.
    I watched a clip of last years run on the run for life facebook page and from what i can see it starts outside the granville hotel,the exact line i am not sure of,so it was my best estimate where to start recording the distance from.
    I plan on running the route next wednesday morning ( hopefully ) and beforehand i plan to go down that way and see if there is a line painted on the road somewhere.

This is the route : http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=4092589

thanks sosa - that looks pretty ok - fingers crossed the length is good. I checked the elevation of that link too - there does not appear to be much in the way of flat sections - should be a good workout either way though.

Aerobic 10m @ 7:26p

My first run over 10m in 6 weeks and it was a horrible run.
    I had planned to do the half route but time restrictions meant i had to cut it short,no harm as the howling winds out the tramore road were far from enjoyable...if its like this on Dec 11th there will be alot of broken bodies at the end....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

Aerobic 7m @ 6:35p

A bit on the fast side but felt good but its been 3 days since the intervals,with only a slow 5 miler inbetween, so its allowed :D
    Every mile was faster than the last and finished with a 5:47 and it felt good.
    Splits - 7:04,6:47,6:44,6:39,6:38,6:31 and 5:47

The first 5 of these miles were miles 2-7 of the 10 miler im doing next week and its not an easy stretch by any means,not to mention the hefty wind in my face for most of it.
    If it blows hard on the day,i will have to forget about sub 60.

what do you reckon you tempo pace is these days sosa? do you do much tempo running? every time i log on it seams your key sessions are intervals....would you not be better off doing a 30-40min run at tempo pace, it would help more for the 10miler and half in december like....

*just looked back over your log and you did a tempoo run as recently as last week.....but still, the 1st question stands, where do you think your tempo pace is at the mo, is below 6:00m/m is it!?!

seanynova wrote: »
    what do you reckon you tempo pace is these days sosa? do you do much tempo running? every time i log on it seams your key sessions are intervals....would you not be better off doing a 30-40min run at tempo pace, it would help more for the 10miler and half in december like....

*just looked back over your log and you did a tempoo run as recently as last week.....but still, the 1st question stands, where do you think your tempo pace is at the mo, is below 6:00m/m is it!?!

For the last 4 weeks i have been doing an interval and tempo session every week,i have drastically cut down on mileage concentrating on faster stuff.
    My tempo pace is 6:00 or just under...based on my aspirations of a sub 60 10 miler.
    In previous weeks i have done 3*1.5m,3*10 mins and 2*15 mins all on grass.
    Last nights run was a blow out,needed to let of a bit of steam and the 6:35p does not tell the true story,it was more effort than that,winds were swirling hard and it was fairy hilly so it was a tough tempo session really,on a flatter route and calmer day it was more like 6:10p overall.

You are right though,tempos are the way to go to improving your threshold to sustain a pace during a race,and its the only way to do it.

-Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭dermCu

Well, you won't be stuck for speed on the sub 60 10m effort. I've found 4 x 2 miles at T pace to be a great indicator of what you can do in a 10 or half. Based on some of your previous posts I'd bet that you wouldn't have too much of a problem keeping them under 6 m/m

**edit: didn't realise you are running on Sunday. Might not be a good idea to do that one during race week! Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

sorry about that, i think that every time i look at you log i see intervals, but ya...ive seen the tempo runs also now....my bad...

agree with dermCu, doing 4x12min(or 2m) with 2min recoveries is a great session....prob my favourite.....but the longer ones are good also, like 4-6(or even7) miles....

you should be well able to go sub6, last 10miles you did was 60:XX right? you have come on a long way since then....either way, the half in dec, will be a cracker for ya! lets hope its not too windy!!!