Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

One step at a time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

When's the first big 10 miler next year? I wouldn't mind another pop at a sub-60.

Dungarvan in Feb is the first big one (mallow in jan but not as big). New motorway opened to Waterford makes it a lot more accessible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,530 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Hmm.... Interesting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

sounds like your legs were just tired. great to know the lungs were relatively ok which is the main thing- with that in mind only a matter of time. great time considering all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

sounds like your legs were just tired. great to know the lungs were relatively ok which is the main thing- with that in mind only a matter of time. great time considering all.

Yeah,thats exactly what i am taking from it.
    Its not even all my legs,just the calf's and achilles,mostly on the left side.
    They just feel like they are holding me back,real heavy feel.
    A good rub out will sort that,should have got it done a couple of weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

Congrats on the 10K, good to see your not letting it bother you and just take it for what it was.

Btw, 2011 target times up on September 12th, I suppose you've also started your Christmas shopping Sosa !
    Fair play though, am tempted to post mine but will wait 'til after DCM. I do want to drop down though and concentrate on the shorter stuff as well.

Also, there was a good 10ml in Craughwell lat March, stopped taking entries at 500, nice course and was very well organised.

Speedy44 wrote: »
    Congrats on the 10K, good to see your not letting it bother you and just take it for what it was.

Btw, 2011 target times up on September 12th, I suppose you've also started your Christmas shopping Sosa !
    Fair play though, am tempted to post mine but will wait 'til after DCM. I do want to drop down though and concentrate on the shorter stuff as well.

Also, there was a good 10ml in Craughwell lat March, stopped taking entries at 500, nice course and was very well organised.

Thanks Speedy,nothing like staking your claim early.

Sosa wrote: »
    WLR 10k - 36:57

Target Times for 2011

5k - sub 17 ( PB 17:45 )
    4m - sub 22 ( 22:18 )
    5m - sub 28 (28:24 )
    10k - sub 35:30 (36:16 )
    10m - sub 60 (60:36 )
    Half - sub 80 (83:37 ) !

Good targets there. You need to be shooting for sub 59 though over 10m.

Gringo78 wrote: »
    Good targets there. You need to be shooting for sub 59 though over 10m.

Its a bit like the sub 3 marathon,just get under it first...then move on.

You regretted that approach after the marathon. Twas the right tactic then but for 10 milers you have lots of second chances.

Recovery 4.5m

A sluggish run to start,the left calf and achilles a bit troublesome,but as usual nothing to actually stop me running.
    Started out very slow and picked it up slightly near the end.

Ave Pace 7:55

All eyes on the mile race at the track thursday night...really cannot see myself going sub 5,just not in the right shape to have a proper cut off it.
    But i will give 100% at this one,as its only 1m...it will be over soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

the faster you go the faster it's over Sosa

5.5m Aerobic

When i started this job i could not bear the thought of running after work,but i love running in the night...nice quiet roads and very little traffic make it a pleasure.

I was surprised how well the leg held up,its a strange one,certainly holding me back speedwise but i feel i could run a marathon in the morning...want to get it flushed out though.

5.5m @ 7:14p

I have decided to "enter" the waterford half.
    With the new arrival training will drop obviously but will try to do the best i can on the day,minimum requirement is a PB...83:37 is there to be ripped apart,but i would take 83:36 now as i really have no clue what kind of training i will fit in.
    Worst case scenario,i get little or nothing done,i will still go down on the day and pace anyone who wants to go round in 90 mins...i'll even get my own baloon made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

5.5m Aerobic

When i started this job i could not bear the thought of running after work,but i love running in the night...nice quiet roads and very little traffic make it a pleasure.

I was surprised how well the leg held up,its a strange one,certainly holding me back speedwise but i feel i could run a marathon in the morning...want to get it flushed out though.

5.5m @ 7:14p

I have decided to "enter" the waterford half.
    With the new arrival training will drop obviously but will try to do the best i can on the day,minimum requirement is a PB...83:37 is there to be ripped apart,but i would take 83:36 now as i really have no clue what kind of training i will fit in.
    Worst case scenario,i get little or nothing done,i will still go down on the day and pace anyone who wants to go round in 90 mins...i'll even get my own baloon made up.

Possibly targeting the half down there myself as a test of the early winter's speedwork. Is entry open? What is the course like?

If I have a great winter and you have a bad day I might get somewhere near you :)

Possibly targeting the half down there myself as a test of the early winter's speedwork. Is entry open? What is the course like?

If I have a great winter and you have a bad day I might get somewhere near you :)

Entry is open a while now,think its on runireland.
    the course is very favourable,weather permitting of course.
    The last 2 years its been perfect and there for a pb but on its day it can show its teeth with howling winds on that tramore road,i did all my LSR's mostly on that route and it can be tough,but when its good...its very good.

1m Race RSC Track - 4:58

I set myself loads of targets this year,some i knew i would do, but there were two that i had real doubts about...i took care of one of those in Cork on the bank holiday monday in June and i completed the other tonight on tired legs...seriously considered not doing this tonight as i was afraid of injuring the leg,just back from physio and he told me that it was a big risk running that fast with the leg tender the way it was.

As del boy would say " he who dares,rodders...he who dares "

I was one of the people asking for the race to be organised,so the least i could do is turn up.

Anyway,i did a 2m run this morning after dropping the young fella to school and it didnt feel great,gave it a bit of treatment myself during the day and i got the gear on and went down,felt much better but i knew it was just a patch up job.
    1m warm up with the majority of the group and we talked pace.
    6 of us going for sub 5,one fella was guarenteed and he duly ran 4:48...the other 5 of us were on the bubble.
    We lined up and off we went,straight away i took the inside lane and forced the fast fella outside me,stayed with him for lap 1 71s,then left him go as 4*75s was my pace,lap 1 was tough and i wondered how i would keep going,Lap 2 in 75s,felt very controlled,just kept an eye on the ave mile pace on the garmin and as long as i saw 4:5* i was happy,Lap 3 and i got my second wind,i was passed by one of the juniors halfway through this lap,just tried to hang onto him then 77s for lap 3.
    Into lap 4 and i was on a mission,time keeper called 3:45 as i went through and i thought if i cant do 75s here i will never get a better chance.
    Stayed controlled all the way and in the last 50m absolutely legged home passing the junior and romping in at 4:58 2nd place,the junior was hot on my heels to finsh in 5:00 on the button,then a 5:01,5:02 and 5:05 close by

I can honestly say,only the marathon this year gave me such a buzz...im still buzzing,really honestly did not think i had the legs tonight to go sub 5 tonight,its amazing what you can achieve if you set your mind to it.

Looking back after tonight,i could certainly have gone faster,plenty in the tank to be able to finish as fast as i did,why i didnt go with 200/300 to go is the same reason i didnt do it up in Cork...all i wanted was sub 5...im not greedy,but i will be next time :D

The garmin has me down for 4:56,but i stopped the watch at the finish line,the lads reckoned that the garmin would be off on the track slightly.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/49283514

10.1m for the day

2m am
    1.5m warm up before race
    1m Race
    1m warm down with group
    4.6m run with a different group after that

got all my niggles sorted at the physio thankfully,it was getting very close to an injury the way it was going,some serious pain though but he couldnt wipe the smile of my face tonight :D

and he tried his best !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

wow, savage going Sosa, delighted for ya, well done! :)

P.S. thats ure first track race too ? even better !

tisnotover wrote: »
    wow, savage going Sosa, delighted for ya, well done! :)

P.S. thats ure first track race too ? even better !

Yeah first one,they were trying to get me to run the masters events earlier in the year,i had no interest but after tonights taste i will be competing next year.
    I'll have to get a pair of spikes though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

that's some running sham, well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,530 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Absolutely savage! Brilliant stuff...
    Out of curioisity, which was easier, Sub-3 or sub-5? :D

Absolutely savage! Brilliant stuff...
    Out of curioisity, which was easier, Sub-3 or sub-5? :D

Honestly they were very similar in the way i approached it,i had a pace that i was going to stick to,i was in a race against the clock,not any individual.
    Sub 3 was way easier....but i really enjoyed that track race tonight,it was has given me a needed boost after my dodgy results as of late.
    Pity i have no races coiming up :rolleyes:
    Tempos and intervals now for the winter ( when i am not changing nappies,working,night feeds,taxi service to my 7yo )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Great result tonight..............
    Sub 5 and sub 3 al in the one year.
    Interesting that your garmin eas only 2 seconds out. Mine does me way out on the track.

Doing 13.1(half course easy sat 9am with a few of your club boys). Probaly 7.20 pace if you interested.

Great result tonight..............
    Sub 5 and sub 3 al in the one year.
    Interesting that your garmin eas only 2 seconds out. Mine does me way out on the track.

Doing 13.1(half course easy sat 9am with a few of your club boys). Probaly 7.20 pace if you interested.

Thanks VR,would like to join you but im working the w/e.

Another day...........When is the newest due to arrive ??
    At least the oldest is a good age. I have one that pushes the little one and when she falls on the ground she stands on her back for good measure.

Another day...........When is the newest due to arrive ??
    At least the oldest is a good age. I have one that pushes the little one and when she falls on the ground she stands on her back for good measure.

Due on 29th Oct..all going well so far,thankfully.

Im toying with the idea of doing the cork to cobh,not racing it but a nice clip all the same.

Oh yeah,just marked another one off Racing Flats Big 8.
    Just the 2 left now,5:21 pace is 9:59 for 3k...i must get the guys on the track thinking of this as our next race.
    as for the sub 60 for 10...hopefully Dungarvan 10 next year.

The-Big-8
    1 mile in 5 min

3k in 10 min

5k in 20 min

5 mile in 30 min

10k in 40 min

10 mile in 1 hour

half in 90 min

marathon in 3 hour

Due on 29th Oct..all going well so far,thankfully.

Im toying with the idea of doing the cork to cobh,not racing it but a nice clip all the same.
    There not a 10 miler that weekend in Waterford ?? I heard something. They look for you to raise money.......Jaysus you could do dublin and when your finished bring her in have the baby and ye both go home.;););)

17th..i am working that w/e also.
    Im also working the w/e of the half in december but taking a night off for that.

Recovery 5m @ 8:11p

A lovely stroll of a run this morning in absolutely perfect conditions,it was glorious out there.
    The legs were sore last night after the rub,ever more so after icing them,so i had no plans to run this morning as i didnt think the legs would be up to it,but got up for the school run and walked around a bit and decided that it would be fine,and it was.
    Maybe only another 5 on Sunday for me as work will curtail me,but hopefully my new fresh legs will be rearing to go on Monday.

Im still smiling :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

great sosa. just to see the 4:xx on teh watch must have been nice.

the garmin only 2 secs out , thats fairly good in my book. anyhow you could argue that you might not have been tight to inside line all the way . but i wouldnt expect the garmin to ba any more accurate tahn that anyhow.

theres still something cool about the 'mile', it might be short but big on pain and tactics !

fair play. i'm off soon to get a 5:XX !

Great stuff on the mile! I think we may have unearthed a track natural....claiming the inside line as your own like that!

I'll do sub 60 in mallow in early jan with you as a warmup and then we can race dungarvan properly