Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

One step at a time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Gringo78 wrote: »
    Great stuff on the mile! I think we may have unearthed a track natural....claiming the inside line as your own like that!

I'll do sub 60 in mallow in early jan with you as a warmup and then we can race dungarvan properly

Thanks gringo,no idea what my plans are yet,but that sounds good to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

Brilliant going Sosa, you have now achived both my 2010 goals !
    Now I want to go and run a mile !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭aero2k

Hi Sosa,

I'm sitting here smiling - a couple of days ago I was composing a post on your log comparing your post Cork racing with my post Edinburgh racing, it seems we've both had some ups and downs - fortunately when I hit submit my internet connection froze and I lost everything, as you mile performance rendered everything moot.

That's really a cracking performance. Krusty and myself were chatting along the lines of " how hard can it be" etc, and we reckon we're both capaple of it, but it won't be easy. I've done 5:30ish for the opening mile in a few races, so mabe I'd manage 5:15 if it was only the one, but the idea of going so much faster is scary, despite what McMillan might say. I did 5:12 for a very downhill first mile in Tinryland and thought my legs would fall off.

Fair play to you, I can sense a real buzz from you now, I've no doubt that will spur you on to even greater heights.

aero2k wrote: »
    Hi Sosa,

I'm sitting here smiling - a couple of days ago I was composing a post on your log comparing your post Cork racing with my post Edinburgh racing, it seems we've both had some ups and downs - fortunately when I hit submit my internet connection froze and I lost everything, as you mile performance rendered everything moot.

That's really a cracking performance. Krusty and myself were chatting along the lines of " how hard can it be" etc, and we reckon we're both capaple of it, but it won't be easy. I've done 5:30ish for the opening mile in a few races, so mabe I'd manage 5:15 if it was only the one, but the idea of going so much faster is scary, despite what McMillan might say. I did 5:12 for a very downhill first mile in Tinryland and thought my legs would fall off.

Fair play to you, I can sense a real buzz from you now, I've no doubt that will spur you on to even greater heights.

Thanks Aero,i had serious doubts also.having done several 5:30ish first miles in 5 milers like yourself i thought it was to big an ask,but in reality its like anything else,dont talk yourself out of it,just give it a lash 4*75s laps will get you home,i could have shaved a few more seconds off if i was more aggressive on laps 3 and 4.

I am buzzing alright but with no races in the near future i will have to put this buzz on ice for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

how ya doing Sosa, well done on the track race! sub5 is savage going lad....
    i prob wasnt around when you 1st posted you big 8, but looking at it now the sub90min half in the same line up as sub3 marathon, sub5 mile and sub60 10m.....it was a breeze id say!

well done again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Sosa wrote: »
    Due on 29th Oct..all going well so far,thankfully.

My birthday:D. Best of luck though
    Sub 5 heh. Wow might give it a try one day. Nice one. Almost as important as the sub 3 but not quite

5m Aerobic @ 7:13p

No plans to run today but got up earlier than expected and clipped along a handy 5,very windy in parts especially the last mile which has 2 tasty hills on it.

30.1m for the week ( but one of those was 4:58 ;) )

8.5m Aerobic w/6*30s Hill Sprints

A real VR type run today,4.5 hours sleep and up around 2pm,really no mood to run but decided on 4/5 easy to wake myself up.
    Got going then and decided to get some hill sprints in,really felt the benefit of these while training for Cork and am going to reintroduce them again.
    Didnt really plan this so picked the wrong hill,it was not long enough and when i did my 30s up it,the 30s recovery back down was not getting me down far enough and the next set i was going over the hill so i had to take longer recoveries on the others (45s).
    I have a longer hill picked out for next week that will allow me to start and finish in different places but i will be able to keep the recovery to 30s,plan is to build these up over the winter to more reps that are longer in duration with less recovery.

7:06p Overall and a good start to the week.

Intervals tomorrow at the track

Intervals on Grass 17*400

2m aerobic run at 7:27p this morning after dropping the youngster to school.

2m warm up beforehand and i was resy to go.
    A right good crowd doing them which helped i suppose,the first few were easy,then i got motoring,got to 8 and thought this is ok...8 more no problem...got to 10 and i was tiring a little...got to 12 and i was really tired...legs were heavy...heavy breathing,but still mainting pace which was good.
    The 14th and 15th were sluggish and i let rip for the 16th thinking that it as my last only for some bright spark asking who wants more ?
    Shur i couldnt have someone say they did one more than me,so off i went again...hell for leather.
    Really enjoyed the session,my first ever session of 400's.
    I will only get better at them and they will stand to me.

1 min recovery between intervals.
    Splits
    80s,76,77,76,74,75,74,74,75,73,75,75,74,74,73,68,71

75s is 5:01p,so delighted with the effort
    The 74 and 73 before the 68 felt like 68's...i was struggling then,but came good for the last two.

A few laps down on the track after that to cool down.

8.5m for the day

I am after commiting to run the XC Novice on Oct 3rd for the club,looking forward to it,going into the unknown but a bit excited,it will give me a feel of it as i am doing the masters XC late Nov in the same venue.
    I am presuming by the name that its only for XC beginners,i didnt ask any questions,i was asked to run,i said i would....should really ask a few questions before signing up for these things.
    Its on the same day as Cork to Cobh,so i have knocked that on the head,save the hols anyway,i would have had to take 6hrs to do that.
    90mins will do me for the XC as its on close to work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

you're a fcuking animal sham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

[

I am after commiting to run the XC Novice on Oct 3rd for the club,looking forward to it,going into the unknown but a bit excited,it will give me a feel of it as i am doing the masters XC late Nov in the same venue.
    I am presuming by the name that its only for XC beginners,i didnt ask any questions,i was asked to run,i said i would....should really ask a few questions before signing up for these things.

God bless your innocence. Anyone who has never come 1st,2nd or 3rd on the novice race can run it year in year out....it'll be hot pace up the front!

Ah right,as Manuel would say " i know nothing,i'm from Barcelona "
    I'll give it a lash anyway,see how i go.
    Its on in Showrys back yard,The Friary in Dungarvan.....
    whats the surface like up there,showry ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

Its on in Showrys back yard,The Friary in Dungarvan.....
    whats the surface like up there,showry ?

was there tonight kid, good to firm I reckon

showry wrote: »
    was there tonight kid, good to firm I reckon

Thats good to hear,i am looking forward to it,are you taking part yourself ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Intervals on Grass 17*400

1 min recovery between intervals.
    Splits
    80s,76,77,76,74,75,74,74,75,73,75,75,74,74,73,68,71

wel..., ahhh, but...., <speechless> - that's a savage session.

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    wel..., ahhh, but...., <speechless> - that's a savage session.

Thanks BeepBeep,i had no idea what they were doing before i arrived down there,and it was probably ignorace or innocence on my part,but not having done these before i was in a good frame of mind doing them,and now that i got through them i know i can do them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

damn you man, I only managed 16 400's last week, and nowhere near that pace !
    Great session, especially on grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

If there was a prize for session of the day/week I'd say you've nailed it Sosa, especially the way you hit those last two 400's.

I reckon you could be savage on the track if you concentrated on it for a season.

Good to hear your tackling the x-country too! :)

tisnotover wrote: »
    If there was a prize for session of the day/week I'd say you've nailed it Sosa, especially the way you hit those last two 400's.

I reckon you could be savage on the track if you concentrated on it for a season.

Good to hear your tackling the x-country too! :)

I am going to do the munster masters indoors in March...with no marathon next year,i shoud be able to make a decent account of myself.
    The coach at the club wants me to do the 800 and 1500,but i would love a go at the 100 and 200 aswell.

XC is another roll of the dice,but we will have a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

good session alright.
    but marathon to 100m . are you mad ted.

good session alright.
    but marathon to 100m . are you mad ted.

No,not really.
    starting off running i tought that the shorter stuff would suit me better,i got dragged long with this marathon stuff through friends doing them,but next year iwant to do a few track races,see how i get on.
    I was looking at times that were winning the 200m at recent indoor and outdoor munster masters o35's 24/25s....would like to do some specific fast stuff and have a cut off those guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

savage session tonight sosa.....best of luck with the track stuff....you seam to have a knack for it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,530 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Top class Sosa. Every time you put your mind to something different, you fly it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

jaysus, 17 reps! ya must have been bush whacked after! Did 11 mtself yesterday, but no way id have continued on for any more..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

17 x 400m....impressive. Supposedly Emil Zatopek 'invented' 400 intervals....he once did 80x400m!!

Was talking to a Belgian runner last weekend and he credits his 31:xx 10k PB to among other things gut busting 400m interval sessions he started doing after he was working in the UK and trained with a local club

Top class Sosa. Every time you put your mind to something different, you fly it..

I told you a while back that i thought i would be better suited to the shorter stuff,i didnt think i meant 400's or a mile but since they were my first ever efforts at both,i am thinking that i could improve on those in the next few months.
    17 x 400m....impressive. Supposedly Emil Zatopek 'invented' 400 intervals....he once did 80x400m!!

Was talking to a Belgian runner last weekend and he credits his 31:xx 10k PB to among other things gut busting 400m interval sessions he started doing after he was working in the UK and trained with a local club

I heard a bit about him recently,apparently he used to do them in his soldier boots !
    Correct me if i am wrong but he is the only athlete in olympic history to win the 5k,10k and marathon in the same games.

I am going to keep them up,i didnt start feeling them until 12,the last 5 were harder alright but i could have done more....amazingly enough.

Rest day today,one more key session this week.

Saturdays plan is to do the half route :
    3m easy
    3m @ 6:00
    1m easy
    3m @ 6:00
    3m easy

Its my Med long run and tempo in the one session.

6m ( Fastish ) Aerobic

When i started this job back in May i never thought i would run getting home at 8:45 at night,but the few times i have done it the last couple of weeks i have been running well.Tonight was no different,got home and talked to the family for ab it and was out the door by 9:30,the first half mile was slow but after that i clipped along very nicely with a nice few hills on the last 2m to encounter it was a good midweek run.

Average pace was 6:46,only reason i did it that fast was i took a rest day yesteray after the 400's and also tomorrow before Saturdays med long w/tempo,so i kind off needed something decent in the middle.

Bring on the tempo

Tempo & Aerobic

Todays plan was to do the half route with the first 6 easy then 3m @ 6:00,1m easy and the last 3m @ 6:00.
    I didnt get out of bed until 9:40,i was shattered after a long week in work,so had to get creative.
    Dropped the young fella to hurling at 11:30 and went cross the road to the park to get the best i could out of the hour i had before i had to collect him.

1.5m warm up
    1.5m @ 5:50p ( 8:46 )
    400m jog rec
    1.5m @ 5:55p ( 8:54 )
    400m jog rec
    1.5m @ 5:55p ( 8:54 )
    1m recovery

7.5m in total

The plan was to do them at sub 6 pace and i did the first to fast and therefore it was the hardest of the 3,i would have done a fourth only i had to get back up to the boy.

As soon as i dropped him home i headed back out the door to do another 5.5m @ 7:21p

So i got my 13m done,just a little different than the plan

Very happy with that this morning,to get the last 2 reps done easy enough is a good thing....
    Another good week,intervals on tuesday,that fast aerobic on thursday night and the tempo this morning with the 5.5 afterwards...all is good

4m recovery tomorrow will be 40 for the week,before we start all over again on Monday :D

Best of luck to everyone running Berlin tomorrow.

Recovery 4m @ 7:39p

Forgot to post this earlier as i was to busy putting in boards ac through the search facility on the berlin marathon website...to find out how all the lads and ladies got on.

Take a bow,Krusty,VR,Peckham and Emer...great achievements today.....

I feel a bit embarassed posting my measly 4m run today....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

Recovery 4m @ 7:39p

I feel a bit embarassed posting my measly 4m run today....

:)yeah know what you mean, join the club.
    but youre right the lads did great.