Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

dboyle782 wrote: »
    to be honest thats what i thought, surely there is a talent pool from previous recruitment drives that will get priority.
    But fingers crossed new recruits might sneak in

Cant imagine anyone sneaking in unless they are taking in more than 350 people and by some miracle you could get everything completed within 3 months......the more likely scenario is an intake of 100-150 and the remainder used in next intake....then new campaign recruits after that.
    I'd say you could be waiting a year or longer unless they have large intakes to fill vacancies from retirements.

Thats IF the government do sanction an intake and new drive this year.

Where did you hear rumour about the 7th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

itsallgood wrote: »
    Cant imagine anyone sneaking in unless they are taking in more than 350 people and by some miracle you could get everything completed within 3 months......the more likely scenario is an intake of 100-150 and the remainder used in next intake....then new campaign recruits after that.
    I'd say you could be waiting a year or longer unless they have large intakes to fill vacancies from retirements.

Thats IF the government do sanction an intake and new drive this year.

Where did you hear rumour about the 7th?

anyone care to answer this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

halfback5 wrote: »

i said the 8th but how true that is, is beyond me another rumour i m thinking :D:cool:

halfback5 wrote: »

Well the 7th's almost over, hopefully Da_Flash is right or heads will roll :D
    We have to hear something soon.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

da_flash, your neck is on the line! will you sleep ok tonight!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Watch out da_flash - they're gonna feed you to ' the thing ' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Anyone check out Garda.ie? The recruitment poster is not on the main page and subsequently if you click on "careers" and then "Garda College" you will see in the bottom right corner "open days" it says AGS are not currently recruiting...Now could we have to wait untill they hold an open day or what? Ive been to 3 of them already and I think I know more about the history of AGS than Mr. Commissioner himself.

Think it's about time they got it kicked off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

garda trainee is back on publicjobs.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Anyone check out Garda.ie? The recruitment poster is not on the main page and subsequently if you click on "careers" and then "Garda College" you will see in the bottom right corner "open days" it says AGS are not currently recruiting...Now could we have to wait untill they hold an open day or what? Ive been to 3 of them already and I think I know more about the history of AGS than Mr. Commissioner himself.

Well , you could keep on going to the open days and rack up enough of them to claim you've gone through the training :D

Shakin I didn't say publicjobs.ie I said Garda.ie...they had the recruitment poster up and now it's gone...Haha do you think that would work?. No but it's just a general query do they have to hold an open day before they launch a recruitment campaign?

sorry man, thought i read it somewhere on boards it was down? anyway its on publicjobs

well i m still awake so what does that tell ye all:eek::cool:

da__flash wrote: »
    well i m still awake so what does that tell ye all:eek::cool:

your on the run and you have an iphone?

if anything was posted today i wouldnt expect nything til near ten, it is the public service after all

shakin wrote: »
    your on the run and you have an iphone?

if anything was posted today i wouldnt expect nything til near ten, it is the public service after all

No i have a laptop with a good battery and im half way to papa new guinea haha :D

before ten lets be real now sure they ll have tea at ten and then a relaxation so id say bout 1 or maybe 2 because of lunch at 1.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭gardapa

Guys I think the alerts get sent out at midnight which means if it was kicking off today you'd already know...im nearly sure they do ive got emails before at that time.

Its been gone for the last week and a half

da__flash wrote: »
    No i have a laptop with a good battery and im half way to papa new guinea haha :D

before ten lets be real now sure they ll have tea at ten and then a relaxation so id say bout 1 or maybe 2 because of lunch at 1.:cool:

D-Day for Da_Flash
    Oh!!!! excuses already, you can try buy all the time you need....
    Hunting you down will be a good training exercise for future Gardai...

tick tock, tick tock, time is running out flash man! Still nothing up on public jobs! not that im too bothered, i applied over 2 years ago! But youve gotten a lot of peoples hopes up! Hope you can live with the guilt! you better have a good bunker to hide in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jwt22

I heard a rumour about a new campaign being launched tomorrow.

Than again.....only a rumour....

jwt, you better give da_flash a call and make sure he has room in that bunker!!

jwt22 wrote: »
    I heard a rumour about a new campaign being launched tomorrow.

Than again.....only a rumour....

They must be launching 2 cause Da_Flash swore there would be 1 launched today:D

Devil08 wrote: »
    jwt, you better give da_flash a call and make sure he has room in that bunker!!

:p Ha. No bother. I could do with a little holiday!

Seriously though - surely it's a good thing that both myself and da_flash have heard something about this week.

Can't be coincidence....or can it.....oh I don't even know what to believe anymore myself! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 mgx

No open days are held approx. twice a year and are not held before the start of a recruitment drive. They can be held at any stage. They are definitely worth going to and to get a taste of what goes on in the Garda College. Also handy to mention during the interview that you have attended an open day as shows interest.

jwt22 wrote: »
    :p Ha. No bother. I could do with a little holiday!

Seriously though - surely it's a good thing that both myself and da_flash have heard something about this week.

Can't be coincidence....or can it.....oh I don't even know what to believe anymore myself! :confused:

Jwt are you being serious?
    Someone else mentioned the 7th earlier so thats tuesday, wednesday and thursday....
    Was your source a garda or someone in publicjobs?

itsallgood wrote: »
    Jwt are you being serious?
    Someone else mentioned the 7th earlier so thats tuesday, wednesday and thursday....
    Was your source a garda or someone in publicjobs?

da_flash originally said the 8th which was taken up wrong by a poster as the 7th so really only the 8th & 9th but yes I do admit that's 2 different days.

Garda source but, like I said, it's only a rumour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

jwt and da flash to be roshambo'd by each person in the forum if they are wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

eroo wrote: »
    jwt and da flash to be roshambo'd by each person in the forum if they are wrong!

:D:D:D:D ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

The email I got from one of the prep courses saying they were holding a course on the 25th of September could be some indication that they know something......maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Iceman aka Bobby Drake

The email I got from one of the prep courses saying they were holding a course on the 25th of September could be some indication that they know something......maybe.

Hey redsteve.. any chance u could pm me the name of the prep course ive been looking for 1. thanks

Redsteveireland...Don't hold your hopes on that I done a prep course 2 weeks ago...Although There is a recruitment drive scheduled for this year!...To point out when I done it in 2008 Id day there was only 25 max in the room...Sat 2 weeks ago Id easily say 90-100 sign of the times!

All indicators are pointing to this month and the month is still young so were all still in hope!.Nice to get the race started!