Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The 2010 Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford, Sunday August 29th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

abbeyside1 wrote: »
    Didn't see any of the crashes but they don't sound good.Has to be expected based on the numbers involved. Mark Power from Dan Morrissey finished with Joe Barr,they did 4 hrs 50 mins!Did 5 hrs 10 mins myself so quite pleased with that considering I was on my own from the top of powers the pot to the finish!
    We didn't pass you on the long drag after Mahon, about 1-2k from the top? I was in Orwell gear with a guy in an Orange top? With a good bunch you could knock a lot of time off the 5:10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

5:42 on the 160 meself, great larks. Highlight was definitely bombing it home on the last 20k at 50kph. Mahon Falls was like ascending into Mordor, howling wind & rain and cars squishing past you. And no fun on the descent either.

Hats off to the organisers & volunteers, fantastic stuff as expected.

How in god's name could you do that in 4:58 or even 5:11?? The mind boggles. A 32kph average? I was well chuffed with my time 'til I read those.

Oh yes and I will be back in Dungarvan again sometime for those Copper Coast ales, scrumptious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

Great Ride, very well organized. The best organized race/ride I have ever been on and the volunteers all had a smile on their face as well.

Did the 160 @30.5 kph, very happy with it, considering I have been smoking 10-15 a day for the last year-stress-and I have done only about a dozen rides in the last two months, the knees are hurting from not having a base, but it's a good pain.
    Thanks to the guy in the red assos shorts and black Ekoi? kersey for helping me to Mahon falls and all the way back to Dungarvan, really helped me big time.

Love the course, got a pic with Sean Kelly and Sean Kelly the MEP together-he was my Irish teacher in Secondary, props to Lars in Dungarvan as well for putting me up last night and his wife for cooking supper, all around a great weekend, cannot think of a complaint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭hawkwing

First ever event like this for me doing the 90k.Enjoyed it until Tramore foodstop when some lad fell off his bike onto mine which i was wheeling at the time as he didn't seem to know how to dismount. :mad:After spending another minute with all his weight on top of my back wheel it was then a bit buckled when he managed to get back up which was not nice as i only bought it last week (Easton EA70).Managed to get back on it but the brake pads rubbing with the buckle were annoying no matter how i adjusted them for the last 45k.Jerseys all gone too but i think they may order more.Otherwise enjoyable and well ran.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 abbeyside1

Diarmuid wrote: »
    We didn't pass you on the long drag after Mahon, about 1-2k from the top? I was in Orwell gear with a guy in an Orange top? With a good bunch you could knock a lot of time off the 5:10.
    No but I was with ye on powers the pot and left ye off on the decent when I started daydreaming!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭redmenace1

Great day great ride. Well done organisers:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭corkandproud

Top marks for the quality of cycling today in the 90k.

[Mostly] Everyone stayed to the left and if they overtook moved back in swiftly. Lots of encouragements and brief conversations on the road too which adds to the day. I started up near the front and finished in 3 25, reckon I was still in the first half so probably stayed ahead of any potential trouble.

oh yeah - the descent out of Stradbally was great - hit 70kmph on the downhill and 7kmph back up the other side...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Joe Barr finished at 1:45pm I also spotted Sam Bennett but I don't think he cycled the 160.
    Jeffontour , LDB and myself set off for the 160 but having cycled the 90km route and a little extra yesterday, we decided to cut short and turned the 160 into a 110.
    I was spotted waved at and heard my name a few times ... I think I'm famous ... Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭The tax man

Did niceonetom win? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

First time doing this sportive and have to say i was very impressed, well marshaled and lots of food and water stops.

Seskin is an absolute bastard thought i was gonna have cardiac arrest at the top but glad i done it.

Powers the Pot was long, longest climb i've ever done and that head wind didn't help.

Mahon Falls felt reasonably good for some reason but still that head wind didn't help at all at all.

Done it in 6hrs which included waiting for team mates after the climbs, average speed 26km 4970 calories burnt :eek: and 1915 meters of accent, that was the most climbing i ever done in one day, before this it was only 950 !

Was talking to Astramonti, seen and said hello to a few other boardsies but we didn't really have time to chat !

Great day out, what is it about cyclist that they enjoy soooo much pain.

Also first time taking gels jesus them things are great worked a treat :D

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,140 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Heres a few pictures from todays Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford, mostly of the 90km but there are a few from the 160km towards the end of that route

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Joe Barr finished at 1:45pm I also spotted Sam Bennett but I don't think he cycled the 160.
    Jeffontour , LDB and myself set off for the 160 but having cycled the 90km route and a little extra yesterday, we decided to cut short and turned the 160 into a 110.
    I was spotted waved at and heard my name a few times ... I think I'm famous ... Weird.

cool to have a fan club ,possibly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Great Day had by 7 Westernlakers. Sean Kelly even changed a wheel for one of the girls after he turned back.
    Big Thanks to the guys sponsored by Richies Bike shop G.CC for the pull up Powers and the Bray Lads for the fun of a great run in for the last 15km.
    Good to hear the guy who was airlifted is ok as we had just topped out when the chopper came over.

A really well run event and have to say a big thank you to everyone

I have now cycled and walked the 2 Commeragh Challenges and I can honestly say 2 of the best days out I've had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

Esroh wrote: »
    Great Day had by 7 Westernlakers. Sean Kelly even changed a wheel for one of the girls after he turned back.
    Big Thanks to the guys sponsored by Richies Bike shop G.CC for the pull up Powers and the Bray Lads for the fun of a great run in for the last 15km.
    Good to hear the guy who was airlifted is ok as we had just topped out when the chopper came over.

A really well run event and have to say a big thank you to everyone

I have now cycled and walked the 2 Commeragh Challenges and I can honestly say 2 of the best days out I've had

If you were in the group with 4 Bray Wheelers jerseys for the last 15kms, that was me that lead the way, where I got that energy from, I'll never know. One of the guys told me afterwards, that we were avg 56km/h for a good bit of that run in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭ajk24

ajk24 wrote: »
    Job done. Around 6hrs40 rolling. Good to meet a few other boardsies. Now for dinner.

i left the backlight on on my garmin which meant the battery ran out after 5 hours - just after the descent from mahon falls. i thought - "at least i'll have that much" - damn data transfer didn't work and data is lost. nooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Smashing Day. Organisation puts the other sportives to shame.

6.20ish rolling time - Chewing the handlebars going up Mahon Falls seems to be an annual event for me.

Saw the crash involving the Sorrento lad - was in the group but luckily a bit back to avoid it.
    He touched shoulders and went down hard also took down 2 others

Seemed to be in a fair of pain and when someone asked him where it hurt "f*cking everywhere" was the reply. Hope he's ok.
    Always put's a bit of a dampner when you witness something like that.

Saw a shed load of boards jerseys - one of the most represented 'clubs'...

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,484 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

ajk24 wrote: »
    i left the backlight on on my garmin which meant the battery ran out after 5 hours - just after the descent from mahon falls. i thought - "at least i'll have that much" - damn data transfer didn't work and data is lost. nooooooooooo

Try accessing the data via windows "my computer" - go into the gGarmin, then history and look for the Garmin files - I suspect the date is actually there.

If you can find it, from Training Centre (or whichever programme you use) use the Open file/workout function, and you should then be able to transfer the data directly into your analysis software

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

cunavalos wrote: »
    Spotted a few boardsies about but wasn't talking to anyone (Quigs Snr and RAAM i recognised from their bikes and there were a few others wearing the new kit).

Was that you I saw on Mahon Falls in the Plowmans-Craven kit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    Pretty sure I saw Raam at one point, assuming he is still 7ft tall, 9 stone in weight and riding a white R3.

A little shorter, a little heavier, right bike :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭downwiththatsor

tener wrote: »
    Hi all...just wondering does anyone have any info on the cyclist that went down a few km before coming into clonmel???? He was in the middle of a group and had a bad fall..luckily without taking out anyone else....did anyone in the group see what actually happened....he fell off bike with bad consequences.....tryin to figure out what caused the fall??? Can those in the group confirm what the road was like at that time etc?? Thanks

I was 10-15m back on the group, the guy was not happy with what some rider in front of him did but did not see what happened, the road was fine, he was saying his lower back was the worst, two other came down with him but escaped lightly, thats as much as i know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Soilse

A w/e of firsts, first time doing a cycling sportive and a 90km. Longest I had cycled to date has been 50k but I do like a challenge:D. Only got into my bed at 3am night before so getting up early for brekki and leaving on time was never going to happen. Luckily the road from kk is pretty good, having left my mates behind still dreaming about their beer and chips. The 160km was a great sight to see as I was driving in late. Arrived at 9.40 to register, hopefully the vests will turn up in the post, wolved down the free porridge and started round 10 on my own, think it started late coz I caught up fairly quick and thoroughly enjoyed the day, started queuing for the food in Tramore but got restless grabbed a banana and snack and left again. Absolute mortification when one of the supporters on the first of those hills decided to give me a push but I admit was nice. Found the hills hard managed to cycle most of them but it took it out of me and near the end I had to walk them damn it. 4hrs 10m in all. Great day, tough hills, great supporters and so much food at the end thought id never stop eating at one stage. One to return to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭paddymacsporran

Inquitus wrote: »
    Just back home from the SKT 90km

Firstly I'd like to say what a brilliant event it was, great job by the 800 odd volunteers and the people who cheered us all the way, it really made you dig in when the hills and the vicious headwind on the way back were doing there best to demoralise you.

Anyways I am thrilled with my ride.

Time Rolling: 3hrs 45mins
    Avg Speed: 23.6kph
    Distance: 88.9km

I reckon the amount of climbing must be getting on for 1000m, anyone with a non phone GPS able to confirm?

Thank god for the uber Granny ring on my hybrid, gave me some respite on some of the exceptionally steep bits.

Will be back there next year for sure!

My Garmin said 1051m climbing, 88.25km, 3:15 riding time, great event and the marshalling on the route and signage was superb. +1 for the credit to the locals too, their encouragement was valued!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

*Long Post Alert*

Great day on the bike, exhausting but great [pretty much my opinion of it every year since it started!] Saw loads of boardsies over the day - didn't get the chance to talk to many but tried to get a 'hi boardsie' to as many as I could. Everyone seemed to be rolling really well and in high spirits

Made the route in 6h25 which I'm pleased with. RWGPS link.

Was an amazing sight right off the start seeing the huge stream of cyclists both ahead and behind stretching over the hill ahead and back over the one you've just covered - just class and great to see so many people out on bikes.

Had though all weekabout cutting Seskin out (had been suffering the Seskin Trembles - a from of PTSD after climbing it the last three years) but when the turn off came the bike turned left and I was along for the ride. Tapped up to the hairpin and tried to recover for the second half. The bugger beat me for the 1st time, had to pause about 2/3 up to catch my breath... some hill...

Powers was fine, better than fine actually and rode well up it [I now suspect there was a slight tailwind]. Scratch that. I was in the zone. It was all me and a previously untapped, and unfortunately transient, climbing prowess :D

Mahon Falls was everything I knew I was getting into - loads of lactic acid. Was soooo happy to have a 27 to put with my 39T coz anything less and I was f*cked! The chopper passed overhead about 1/3 of the way up and then left just as I reached the top - having climbed (mountaineering climbing) a lot in Kerry and assisted Kerry Mt Rescue I'm not a fan of seeing it as you know it's serious when you see 'big bird' on the scene. Little did I know who was in it...

Anyhow - rolled on from there with two clubmates that helped tow my sorry tired ass over the Mama road (in the unlikely event they see this - Cheers Donnacha/Brendan - was on vapors at that point so it was well appreciated). Was delighted to see the main road and the tailwind on it and the rolling/falling road gave the chance let loose the TT/descender-fu and leave whatever was left in the legs on the road.

I think any route that leaves you so well tested that you arrive in well exhaused but with a smile on your face from the completion of it is a great one and the SKT hasn't failed in 4 years to deposit me back in Dungarvan like that.

The whole thing is a credit to those involved in it; all the marshalls, those staffing the food stops, and those that make it happen, Sean Kelly, An Post, WLSP and the various sponsors.

Only 364 days till the next one. Count me in.
    alanucc wrote: »
    And the high drama with the rider being airlifted from the mahon falls descent. Hope they are ok

Unforutnately he's one of my lot - one of our junior riders. Was talking to him last night - just said the brakes weren't up to the task of braking him down into the left hander, gave it everything to try to anchor up but went off the road. Apparently rolled over x 3 while while still attached to the pedals which carried him in the distance making it look worse than it was. Happy to be able to say injuries are limited to a few scrapes and bruises with nothing broken and a full recovery expected.

As a club organiser I was in the horrors myself when I got back to the finish to be told...
    tener wrote: »
    Hi all...just wondering does anyone have any info on the cyclist that went down a few km before coming into clonmel????

Another member of the Gang was first to stop on this one, he's a medic thankfully so knew what to do. Came to enough to provide a phone number for a family member before being moved to hospital. Last I heard was the diagnosis in hospital was a broken femur, hip and cracked shoulder - hope he recovers well, and he gets back to enjoying his cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭mahoo

Really good day and really well organised. Cheers to the tax man and 72hundred for the numbers.
    First time ive done 160k and was surprised i got around it and was still able to walk this morning. Really chuffed with myself after finishing in 6hrs 15 on the road. Got a great tow from the Dungarvan cycling club from powers the pot to the Mahon Falls and then was promptly dropped like a lead balloon. Saw my first boards.ie jersey on Captain Havok half way up the climb. He was cursing about 'this is supposed to be a f***ing leisure cycle'. Hope you made it home ok!. it was a tough climb but my least favourite climb of the day was the mama road. wasn't expecting it and had nothing left at that stage. last 10k was great though. never been so happy to get on to a bit of smooth tarmac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Boosterseat

Great day. Did the 90km. Bike computer went on the blink and only registered 77km in 3hr 18, so delighted to read earlier posts that it was actually 88km which is the most I've ever ridden.

Hills on the way back were no joke, at one stage I thought my legs would explode. Great to see local support out cheering us on, though something told me that the locals at the top of the town in Annestown were a little sadistic waiting at the top to see who'd make it. Then again, I guess we did the same as youngeters at the top of Patrick's Hill in the Nissan Classics!

Hats off to to all volunteers and organisers, will definitely be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Clippers

Inquitus wrote: »
    Just back home from the SKT 90km

Firstly I'd like to say what a brilliant event it was, great job by the 800 odd volunteers and the people who cheered us all the way, it really made you dig in when the hills and the vicious headwind on the way back were doing there best to demoralise you.

Anyways I am thrilled with my ride.

Time Rolling: 3hrs 45mins
    Avg Speed: 23.6kph
    Distance: 88.9km

I reckon the amount of climbing must be getting on for 1000m, anyone with a non phone GPS able to confirm?

Thank god for the uber Granny ring on my hybrid, gave me some respite on some of the exceptionally steep bits.

Will be back there next year for sure!

It was a great day and a nice spin but some of those hills were sheer torture.
    Even with that Granny ring I still had to wait for up at the top of all those hills for you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,704 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Any news about how Lumen is feeling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

tough ride but a great day. didn't sleep much the night before and arrived at 8.25 to an enormous queue for registration. Sean Kelly came down through the line asking people if they were doing the 160 and was quickly ushered through and signed up by the man himself, was delighted.

was a real ups and downs sort of day, a half hour of fatigue followed by an hour of indifferance to it and feeling strong. My teeth were in bits by the end of it from all the crap i'd eaten throughout the day! Couldn't WAIT for a toothbrush and some lovely colgate! Broke down on the turn off to mahon falls, i thought my chain had dropped but it fell down beween the middle of the front two cogs and had been wedged in, still hadn't realised where it had gone, tried to gear it out and whoomph, double wrapped it and wedged it in hard and suddenly it felt like game over. Fair play to the man and his daughter managing the turn who were no end of help and support. The van arrived looked at it and offered me a lift back to dungarvin, No!!!

Decided to break the chain myself and slowly lever all the bits out one by one, took abut 45mins but finally got back up and running. Another mechanic arrived then and did the last little bit. The break did me the world of good and I was flying again. A puncture later on but was only a few mins. Lots of good groups to fall into and pace along with and larger riders to draft off!

Good day though, much pacier than any other sportif I've ever done, felt harder than the orwell randonnee but then i know those roads and seem to pace myself better on climbs than on flats and undulating so no comparison really. Total rolling time of 5 hours 50mins, with about an hour and a bit for stops and breaking down x2. So seven hours on the road. My computer tells me my heart rate was only in the low zone for three minutes yesterday and in the upper region for about three hours and 5410 calories burned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Anyone have data from a Garmin for the the gradient of some of the short sharpe kicks on the second half of the 90km? Curious as to what it would be as saw a lot of people walking them. Strangely I really enjoyed all those little hills, out of the saddle and attack stuff. Nice day out but the one complaint was the size of the queues for the goody bag and food at the stop and the end. But was extremely well marshalled and signed so congrats for that! Really enjoyed it although I did it with 3 of my brothers who weren't so happy about the hills and spent most of the cursing me, so they might not be so keen next year!

Well done to all who completed the 160, as we left we met a large number of groups coming in the Clonmel road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭damo80

CheGuedara wrote: »
    *Long Post Alert*

Powers was fine, better than fine actually and rode well up it [I now suspect there was a slight tailwind]. Scratch that. I was in the zone. It was all me and a previously untapped, and unfortunately transient, climbing prowess :D

tried to stay with you going up Powers for as long as i could, so yeah i can vouch for this "prowess" :):):)
    hope your clubmate is doing ok.