If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The 2010 Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford, Sunday August 29th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭thehangtenguy

A very enjoyable, well organised event. Did the 90K and really enjoyed, i was expecting and dreading a stronger headwind on the way home. Well run, not too many potholes and a friendly crowd. Fair play to the people of waterford cheering us on. You have a lovely coastline. Did the 90K in 3 hours 17 minute rolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Great day out, weather good aside from around Rathgormack feed stop.
    Don't think I ate enough there as I found Mahon Falls an absolute killer. 4 bananas in Kilrossanty fueled me up for Mama though and I got a tow back to Dungarvan from the tour of Munster gang.
    6:30 rolling - absolutely chuffed with that as it took myself and mate 7:15 to do the 160 from Dublin to Waterford without any climbing.
    Met the Cork boardsie gang at the start and ran into 2 more in Clonmel. Was probably a bit behind the rest of yis though...

Great day out bar the descents - Powers the Pot was too wet, Mahon too dangerous and Mama had a nasty headwind all the way down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

what a great days cycling .

a big thanks to all the marshals and helpers with out there help this brilliant event just would not happen .

sekin hill what a bitch , i hit it with my HR to high and suffered .

i enjoyed the long drag before mahon falls ,it reminded me of the sally gap above luggala .

mahon falls its self was grand apart from the wind ,the shower near the top spoiled the decent for me .

powers of the pot was nice , still a head wind .

i had bananas all the way through the spin ,3 liters of water + 2 liters with 4+1 ,one bar and 5 gels .

my garmin 500 info is rolling 6.20 ...at 25km/h ....elevation gained 1961m ....calories burnt 2716...Avg HR 133 max 169 ...AVG power 158w ...cadence 74 max 120 .

time for a chinese and a glass of something cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Having only taking up cycling 6 weeks ago, I went into today's 90k quite nervous, ie. would I be able to finish it ! So I'm pleased to say, yay ! I did it, and ahead of my forecast time of 4 hours, my computer is showing 90km (might include a little rolling afterwards) in 3hr 32mins, average 25.47km/h. The first 45km to Tramore was quick, despite the slow rolling start, alot of braking/shouting etc, and the average at the interval was a healthy 27.5km/h. We skipped the Tramore break (despite unecessarily going up that hill!) and headed for Annestown. But...........I didn't expect ALL those small/sharp/steeeeep climbs on the way home, the last few nearly killed me, calf muscles bursting at the seams !! Kudos to the support (specators & other riders) & marshalling, it was great.
    Kudos also to Dennis ;) who I met after 20km, as he dragged me home (or rather who I held up).........and of course to Sean Kelly himself for being involved in such a great event :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,704 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Great day! I am happily surprised! I did it in 5:58 with an average speed of 26.6!

Great boardsie company again and fantastic organization on the stops and along the way! The head wind up to Mahon falls totally killed me, there was times that I was wondering if I was moving. I lost the legs around the 120km mark, ate two bars, 2 energy gels and half the bottle of water and 20kms later I magically found the legs and literally flew down to dungarvan.

Btw the amount of food I ate was amazing! 1 egg, 2 slices of bacon, 2 sausages and 2 slices of toasts for breakfast, 3 bananas, 4 energy bars, 6 energy gels, 4-5 sandwiches, 2 cups of penne, 2 cupcakes and around 4 liters of water, garmin says I spent 5500 calories.. (which is lie) but I think I got double! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

Did the 90km today as my first sportive and had a great time. A huge thanks to all the marshalls and other volunteers - everyone smiling and encouraging us along the way.

Finished in 3:16 rolling, so delighted with that. I wasn't expecting all those short sharp digs on the way back, and went into the lowest gear in my triple for the first time ever, but survived without walking up anything. Does anyone know what the steepest gradient we hit today was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭alanucc

Did the 160k in 6:40, delighted with it. Great day out.

Saw the ambulance a few too many times. And the high drama with the rider being airlifted from the mahon falls descent. Hope they are ok.

Kudos to whoever wrote "53-11" at the bottom of the final kick up mahon falls, really lifted my spirits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,218 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Great to meet a few boardsies today, AJK24, Niceonetom, Captain Havoc and some others I think. Pretty sure I saw Raam at one point, assuming he is still 7ft tall, 9 stone in weight and riding a white R3. Passed blowfish at one point (new jerseys with Names are cool), Spotted a couple of Boardsies in retro boards jersies too but didn't know who they were. Didn't spot Cunavalos so you have me at a disadvantage there ! The Cervelo S1 is probably quite recognisable though, only saw one other there and that was under a teammate (another boardsie, shapez). Better to have an aluminium frame on a ride like that I reckon where the chances of a crash are a bit higher. I see that Planet X is still the machine of choice for boardsies though !

Mahon Falls tougher than usual today with that head wind, one of my teammates went off on the descent too but luckily they had a hay bale up that saved him and he was up running again in no time (Non-locals, next time you are around try go up the opposite way, hit's 20% or more in one part, thats why your brakes didn't work so well going down there today in the rain and thats why they have the hay bales out.

Even with waiting around though for riders to get back on, we still managed to get around with a rolling time of about 4:58 without killing ourselves which was just as well because I didn't eat nearly enough after being ill yesterday (2x500ml water, 1 bowl rice krispies, 1 digestive biscuit, 1 nutrigrain bar, 1 half sandwich and 1 bun). Pretty hairy in the bunch as far as Carrick though and especially up Seskin. I felt a lot better when the bunch had thinned out a bit.

Didn't know someone was airlifted off Mahon Falls... hate that descent. When we do it on our club rides, we usually go up and down the same side, avoiding that dangerous descent.

alanucc wrote: »
    Kudos to whoever wrote "53-11" at the bottom of the final kick up mahon falls, really lifted my spirits!

I believe it was 54x11 ! I don't think Alberto would make it up in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Daithi BC wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the steepest gradient we hit today was?

Can't be certain about that, my RideWithGPS track suggest 15% at one point in Kilmurrin Cove (62km mark in the above), but thats BS. I say Kilmurrin and the climb westward out of Bonmahon are both in the 6-8% region (they both hurt the same amount :D), but maybe someone else knows more accurately? Coming as late as it did, the long hill out of Stradbally was pretty tough too....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

some lads passed me on the decent of mahon falls , way to fast in the wet . seen one bad crash after kilsheelan ,the guy looked in a bad way .

it was no harm splitting the 160 and the 90 when you hink about it ..

had a quick chat to sean today ,he looks fit and lean , to much chili in this chinese i am struggling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭cantalach

Superb event as always and still the gold standard for Irish sportives I reckon. Well marshalled, great food and plenty of it, challenging route (esp with that head wind on Mahon Falls!), wonderful scenery.

5:34 moving time for me, which I'm pretty happy with, as I was in a group of mixed abilities and we had to take the foot off the gas a lot at times. We didn't keep our group together on the climbs so I was able to go for a burn then. Very happy with the day.

TheBlaaMan wrote: »
    Can't be certain about that, my RideWithGPS track suggest 15% at one point in Kilmurrin Cove (62km mark in the above), but thats BS. I say Kilmurrin and the climb westward out of Bonmahon are both in the 6-8% region (they both hurt the same amount :D), but maybe someone else knows more accurately? Coming as late as it did, the long hill out of Stradbally was pretty tough too....

15 is about right. Going the opposite way around Kilmurrin hits around 14%, so 15 for a very short piece of it is plausible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Good day out. Plenty of suffering. 5:11 from rolling over the start line of the 160k to rolling over it at the end. Had some good fun up the front for the first 70k with Mr Skeff + others. It got a bit split up at the food stop (which I spent a few minutes at but didn't eat anything!) and ended up riding the rest with a friend. I think we were the 3rd and 4th judging by the commentary we got from a few punters, but I'm not sure. If someone told me that a bunch of 30 finished ahead of us, I'd believe it. I'm pretty sure Joe Barr was the first over the finish. Left Mr Skeff at the second last food stop.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I heard also that Joe Barr and A.N. Other were first over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭downwiththatsor

Did the 160 today in 7 hrs and was very happy with it considering what me and my brother consumed in Youghal lastnight:D
    I agree it was very well organised and i did see 3 crashes, one guy in a neck brace a few miles before Clonmel and another 3 went down a few miles out of Clonmel, one guy was in agony with his lower back. All in all a great day and a good challenge, did not see Sean pass me out after the food stop before mahon falls so either he took the short cut or maybe he had a few too many Budweisers as well lastnight(not to metion the curry chips!).
    Very impressed with the organisation, much easier to make progress than the ring of kerry and much tougher climbing too.
    Hope to be back, thanks to all the curteous fellow riders
    A day well spent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Plastik

6 45 rolling time for me. Found Powers the Pot very hard for some reason and it really sapped a lot of energy that I didn't feel I had back until nearly the bottom of Mahon Falls. I had a serious battle with myself for about the 15k approaching the turn off for M. Falls to get myself to HTFU and get up over it. Glad I did in the end.

Organisation was top notch, very impressive.

Diarmuid wrote: »
    Good day out. Plenty of sufferring. 5:11 from rolling over the start line of the 160k to rolling over it at the end. Had some good fun up the front for the first 70k with Mr Skeff + others. It got a bit split up at the food stop (which I spent a few minutes at but didn't eat anything!) and ended up riding the rest with a friend. I think we were the 3rd and 4th judging by the commentary we got from a few punters, but I'm not sure. If someone told me that a bunch of 30 finished ahead of us, I'd believe it. I'm pretty sure Joe Barr was the first over the finish. Left Mr Skeff at the second last food stop.

im glad you suffered ,bril time .. can captain ban this lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 barneylynam

A cyclist was involved in a crash on road between Clonmel and Dungarvan today on Sean Kelly....Does anybody know how he is.....

jwshooter wrote: »
    im glad you suffered ,bril time .. can captain ban this lad

Sweet Jebus, my ban list for infractions today is bloody long as it is but I'm sure we can add one more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Bobbins

90km much tougher than last years 100km even with the lovely weather! Was wishing I was cycling my hybrid going up those evil climbs, found there wasn't enough gears on my road bike...nothing to do with my pathetic leg muscles....:D

Great day out, and good organisation - much better splitting the 160 & 90 groups - it felt much more controlled and safer.

Have to say, the locals made it for me...the numerous 'Fair play to ye' kept me going even when the going got very tough!

Great day out, thanks to all involved :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

A cyclist was involved in a crash on road between Clonmel and Dungarvan today on Sean Kelly....Does anybody know how he is.....

There were a few, one guy from Sorrento, came down after a wheel rub, by all accounts, he is fine, there was also someone airlifted from Mahon Falls, apparently went straight off the road at the bottom of the descent where it takes a sharp left turn.

On another note, 6hours 25mins for me on the 160, thoroughly enjoyable day, apart from the strong headwind heading up to Mahon Falls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭keano007

Great spin today, I had planned on the 90k but while having drinks of all things last night I was convinced to tackle the 160k. Really glad I did, the spin was faultless, excellent and challenging route, great food, an absolute credit to the organisers. Finished in a time of just over 6 hours rolling. I was really happy with this as I had done 4 hrs on a turbo trainer yesterday as part of a charity cycle.

I think pints in Dungarvan tonight are a must! I didn't see many boardsies today though...love the new jersey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭dowtcha

Managed the 160 in 6.5 hours, enjoyed the day no end, big hats off to all the organisers, for the logistics involved

soembody said earlier the garmin registered a total climb of over 1900m, find that hard to believe, seeing as how Mahon falls is 400+ meters, but maybe all the smaller hills add up?

sad to hear about the airlift, not surprising, I came down to see ambulance personnel fishing around in the heather about 100m clear of the bend - a sobering sight, my experience was I found a good level of safety awareness, but I did come across two other accidents

If I was in any doubt aout my climbing ability, watching 100+ riders whizz past me up Powers Pot certainly cleared it up for me. Was fit for not much after it but refuelled at food stop in Rathgormack, a life saver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭nutzzz123

alanucc wrote: »
    Did the 160k in 6:40, delighted with it. Great day out.

Saw the ambulance a few too many times. And the high drama with the rider being airlifted from the mahon falls descent. Hope they are ok.

any news on this dude, i heard it was quiet bad. hope he ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 barneylynam

Thats good news,was involved in that incident and it was some muppet who pulled out on the guy beside "Sorrento" guy which caused him to go down...and the muppet kept cycling on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭brendan0576

nutzzz123 wrote: »
    any news on this dude, i heard it was quiet bad. hope he ok
    He's being kept in overnight for observation nothing broken just bruising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 abbeyside1

Didn't see any of the crashes but they don't sound good.Has to be expected based on the numbers involved. Mark Power from Dan Morrissey finished with Joe Barr,they did 4 hrs 50 mins!Did 5 hrs 10 mins myself so quite pleased with that considering I was on my own from the top of powers the pot to the finish!Great day out though,very well organised.Passed Captain Havoc going backwards on seskin,hope it got better from there on for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭nutzzz123

He's being kept in overnight for observation nothing broken just bruising

cheers for the info, much appreciated!!!