Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Air traffic controller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 razor2000

got called for the 1st at 9am!!!!!!!! id say its just the first stage!! here we go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

13th Sept in the Gresham for me. I think I'll be in work though so not sure I'll be able to attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭someday2010

would it be a reasonable assumption to make that at least say 20% of the 4000 wont turn up to the aptitude test? It seems like a pointless excercise even going to the aptitude tests given the amount of probably really smart people for the jobs

everybody has a equal chance. if you dont go u will only regret it. i would rather give it a go and maybe fail, they not try at all. "carpe diem".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

would it be a reasonable assumption to make that at least say 20% of the 4000 wont turn up to the aptitude test? It seems like a pointless excercise even going to the aptitude tests given the amount of probably really smart people for the jobs

Ah jesus...chin up there head.:D Give it a lash anyway. Worst case scenario you gain a bit of experience in these types of test environments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭filmfan

A family member applied for this but hasn't received any word back yet, do you think they have informed everyone who's going to get to try the appitude test? Do they inform you if you're not successful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

If they met the minimum requirements then they should have gotten the email. Check the spam folder - few lads here found their email there. Otherwise, if your sure they met all the requirements, give the HR dept a ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

eire2009 wrote: »
    I have reflexes like a cat ...

Me too - I sleep most of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

filmfan wrote: »
    A family member applied for this but hasn't received any word back yet, do you think they have informed everyone who's going to get to try the appitude test? Do they inform you if you're not successful?

Check Spam folders...

SeaFields wrote: »
    If they met the minimum requirements then they should have gotten the email. Check the spam folder - few lads here found their email there. Otherwise, if your sure they met all the requirements, give the HR dept a ring.

They did, but they're a lot older than the other applicants on here, around 50...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭jwabh

They did, but they're a lot older than the other applicants on here, around 50...

the retirement age is 56 as far as im aware, so if it takes 2 years to train and another 4 to repay the iaa for training, he is probably too old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭eire2009

garancafan wrote: »
    Me too - I sleep most of the day.

That too lol

There was no where to put a DOB on the application form. Do they meet the other requirements (i.e. LC)

he just got it:) best of luck to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Paulyh

It states that there is no upper age limit on the IAA website

"
    Is there an age limit in becoming an Air Traffic Controller?
    There is no upper age limit. However, you must be 21 years of age to be a licensed Air Traffic Controller and because the training takes up to 2 years an applicant must be at least 19 years of age when applying.

(from the FAQ in the IAA Website).

Tell them to check their junk mail folders, thats what happened to me. failing that, contact Jackie Mahon in HR ( Jackie.MAHON@IAA.ie ) you would have recieved the orginal receipt of your application from her. She was very quick in getting back to me after i emailed her and was very helpful.

edit: ah, i just saw he got it!!

Paulyh wrote: »
    It states that there is no upper age limit on the IAA website

"
    Is there an age limit in becoming an Air Traffic Controller?
    There is no upper age limit. However, you must be 21 years of age to be a licensed Air Traffic Controller and because the training takes up to 2 years an applicant must be at least 19 years of age when applying.

(from the FAQ in the IAA Website).

Tell them to check their junk mail folders, thats what happened to me. failing that, contact Jackie Mahon in HR ( Jackie.MAHON@IAA.ie ) you would have recieved the orginal receipt of your application from her. She was very quick in getting back to me after i emailed her and was very helpful.

edit: ah, i just saw he got it!!

Ah thanks for the info though! He's still very dubious about getting to a further stage because he's older but you never know unless you try!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭peking97

jwabh wrote: »
    the retirement age is 56 as far as im aware

I think you've got those figures reversed. It's 65.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Chazz Reinhold

Have mine this Saturday in the Gresham....

Just reading the email, it says "Dress Code for Aptitude Test is Smart-Casual."

Can anyone who's already been for theirs tell me if people adhered to this?

Also, how many people were taking the tests at the same time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Have mine this Saturday in the Gresham....

Just reading the email, it says "Dress Code for Aptitude Test is Smart-Casual."

Can anyone who's already been for theirs tell me if people adhered to this?

Also, how many people were taking the tests at the same time?
    I think there were about 80 people at mine yesterday.

I wore blue jeans, a shirt and brown shoes. Seemed to blend in okay. There were some people in hoodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Chazz Reinhold

I wore blue jeans, a shirt and brown shoes. Seemed to blend in okay. There were some people in hoodies.

Cool, thanks!

Were you happy enough with how you did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭cr17

Couldnt go to mine yesterday. Some unavoidable tasks came up at work and i had already changed the date of my test because of a trip away, so bit pissed off but know i,m lucky to be in a job.....so best of luck to the rest of ye.....your chances have increased pretty undramatically..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Reactor

What were the tests like? What format were they in and were they hard?

Reactor wrote: »
    What were the tests like? What format were they in and were they hard?

It's a competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭someday2010

Dress code really doesnt matter, theyd just prefer if people didnt wear the likes of tracksuits as you look seriously out of place in salubrous hotel like the Gresham.
    testicle wrote: »
    It's a competition.
    +1 ALthough passing on the details wouldnt really help anyway as its not something you learn for.

once you dont have your tracksuits tucked in2 your socks, u'll be ok!! as for the format, its exactly what it said in the e-mail.i had mine yesterday morning, and i didnt finish every question, time isn't your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭willit

razor2000, fair play to you for that post. There are a lot of nervous people who have applied for this that are bound to ask about the tests and while I completely agree with not saying what questions came up etc. I think to post short snappy answers serves no purpose and does no one any good. Some of the posts, more so in the aviation & aircraft forum than here, can only be described as rude, I even saw one where the poster told a person that they hoped he/she didn't get the position. :confused::confused::(

Anyway, your answer stating it is what it said it would be is perfect and I just wanted to slalute you for posting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 rattrap

cr17 wrote: »
    Couldnt go to mine yesterday. Some unavoidable tasks came up at work and i had already changed the date of my test because of a trip away, so bit pissed off but know i,m lucky to be in a job.....so best of luck to the rest of ye.....your chances have increased pretty undramatically..

Get on to Jackie Mahon about this. They usually reserve a couple of days at the end of testing, for people who couldn't make the dates they had originally been assigned. If you explain your circumstances I'm sure there'll be no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

got my test in Dublin tomorrow, quite nervous:(

Anyone out there who done the test want to drop me an email about what sort of questions i should look out for?

Also studying, abit last minute but anything should take a revision on>?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Anyone out there who done the test want to drop me an email about what sort of questions i should look out for?

You know this is a competition, right?

The only help someone could give you is to google what was in your email about the tests. It won't be much help anyway, because you can't really learn anything for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Teferi wrote: »
    You know this is a competition, right?

The only help someone could give you is to google what was in your email about the tests. It won't be much help anyway, because you can't really learn anything for it.

Exactly, im not applying for this job but if i was i wouldnt be posting up info on what types of questions or anything bar the normal information that every applicant recieves. Its a competition, helping someone like this only puts them further up the list than you are.

I applied for a civil service job before i came 51st in the exam they where interviewing the first 50 :) so 1 place can even make a difference.