Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Air traffic controller

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Intouch9 wrote: »
    I had the same issue mate, but I emailed my old school and they send em straight out to me!
    I would have tried that, but the current principal of my old school is a class-one dick. So was the previous one. And the one before that.

Hmm, looks like I'm the common denominator here... :confused:

Still, €13.50 didn't break the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Intouch9

Haha true - not bad at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 rattrap

locklor wrote: »
    Thanks for the info.

I have an unusual question. You say the interviewers ask about motivation and goals. I am a good worker and a genuine person. However, I really have no "goals" or "motivation." I just want to do a job and do it well and get paid for it.

From your previous posts, it sounds to me like it's a job suitable for people who just want do their job and do it well. In the interview, would you have to pretend otherwise and come off as an enthusiastic, goal-driven, Mr. positive motivational speaker etc??

Well, I think you might know the answer to that one already...No interviewer wants to hear 'I just wanna get PAAAAID!'.
    I mean you don't have to be all sunshine and light (I am most definitely not one of those kinds of people), but try to put a positive spin on things. For example, just cause you don't want to rise up through managerial positions, doesn't mean you don't have goals. And the fact that you want a job that you like and want to do it to the best of your ability is motivation in itself! For instance, if they ask you what your long term goals are, the perfect answer for you would be 'In five years time, I would hope to be the very best controller I can be, and for others to feel like they can rely on me for support or information. And so in the long term I would feel prepared to take on roles with greater responsibilities.' I mean that's not lying, it's just taking what you said yourself and making it 'more attractive to the buyer'...Man I'd make a good estate agent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

Whats the story with entry requirements? It says that "You need a Leaving Certificate with 5 passes (including Maths) with Grade C in at least two Higher Level Papers. An equivalent second level qualification may be acceptable"

I was never overly academic and only got one honours grade C. The rest were 2 grade D. Got a B1 in pass maths. So obviously don't pass this criteria, however, I have 2 degrees... Would this qualify?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

neaideabh wrote: »
    Whats the story with entry requirements? It says that "You need a Leaving Certificate with 5 passes (including Maths) with Grade C in at least two Higher Level Papers. An equivalent second level qualification may be acceptable"

I was never overly academic and only got one honours grade C. The rest were 2 grade D. Got a B1 in pass maths. So obviously don't pass this criteria, however, I have 2 degrees... Would this qualify?

Call the IAA ask to speak the human resources and ask them.
    But realy, they are looking for any excuse to whittle down candidates and you may get rejected over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

so got the email stating application was recieved:rolleyes:

now what LOL:o how long is the wait?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Here ye are lads....its going to be a tough one.

4000 apply for 25 positions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭maryishairy

SeaFields wrote: »
    Here ye are lads....its going to be a tough one.

4000 apply for 25 positions!

If my mathematics are correct, that means for every 165 people that applied for the job, 1 will be successful. :eek:

You would get better odds on a donkey in the grand national !!:)

Well in that case Im off to Paddy Powers...:p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,262 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I got selected for the aptitude test. Any one know what it is is it like the MBA test they use in america? (it has a particular name)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I got selected for the aptitude test too,but I'm pretty sure I have work that day.I'd really like to know how tough it'll be so I can decide if it's worth my while getting the day off?It's Spacial Relations,Numerical,Abstract and Mechanical Reasoning:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

every one that applies gets 'selected' , unless you dont meet the minimum criteria.
    Lollipops23, i would book the day off, you may have a natural aptitude for these tests, and may go on to get the job, it would seem a waste not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Chazz Reinhold

I wouldnt bother getting the day off.....

Now all I need to do is convince about 4000 more people this and I'm a shoe in!

wylo wrote: »
    every one that applies gets 'selected' , unless you dont meet the minimum criteria.
    Lollipops23, i would book the day off, you may have a natural aptitude for these tests, and may go on to get the job, it would seem a waste not to.

Completely right Wylo. There's no point trying to research or 'study' for it though, as there's no possible way to 'trick' this test!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,262 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

rattrap wrote: »
    Completely right Wylo. There's no point trying to research or 'study' for it though, as there's no possible way to 'trick' this test!

Nothing about tricking the system. Some people just want to prepare

godtabh wrote: »
    Nothing about tricking the system. Some people just want to prepare

Ok, let me rephrase that then, there's really no way to prepare either. It's not like other tests where learning, research and looking into things will give you an advantage. Even if I did turn around and say this or that is in the test (and I gave an example earlier in the thread), you couldn't be guaranteed that they'll use the same tests that they have for previous panels. I'm not trying to put a downer on things, just my opinion through experience...

I got email regarding aptitude test too. Did they offer it to all 4000 people so? :confused:

rattrap wrote: »
    Ok, let me rephrase that then, there's really no way to prepare either. It's not like other tests where learning, research and looking into things will give you an advantage. Even if I did turn around and say this or that is in the test (and I gave an example earlier in the thread), you couldn't be guaranteed that they'll use the same tests that they have for previous panels. I'm not trying to put a downer on things, just my opinion through experience...

Right, I take what I just said back. I was perusing the interweb and found this, which might actually help some people prepare:

http://atcocareers.co.uk/games.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

SeaFields wrote: »
    I got email regarding aptitude test too. Did they offer it to all 4000 people so? :confused:

All suitably qualified candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Col1980

I got the email too 1st Sept. I am out of the country untill the evening of the 8th Sept. Does anybody know how accomodating they are at rearranging appointments?? or does anyone know if there are any appointments after the 8th. What dates have you all been given?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Chazz Reinhold

As far as I know the first round goes on until the 11th so might be worth contacting them. Mine is for the 4th in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭eire2009

testicle wrote: »
    All suitably qualified candidates.

How do they determine that, I haven't heard anything back. I have a good Lc and degree wtf like:confused:

I easily have the criteria aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭derdider

eire2009 wrote: »
    How do they determine that, I haven't heard anything back. I have a good Lc and degree wtf like:confused:

I easily have the criteria aswell

If you have the required LC results, are over 19, clicked that you are proficient in English and are eligible to work in Ireland you'll get the e-mail about the aptitude test. They have over 4000 applicants so it might take more than one day to get them all out.

derdider wrote: »
    If you have the required LC results, are over 19, clicked that you are proficient in English and are eligible to work in Ireland you'll get the e-mail about the aptitude test. They have over 4000 applicants so it might take more than one day to get them all out.

Cheers, I recon since I spend most of my day on computers and playing high speed games I should have a better chance than 165:1 .. I have reflexes like a cat should see me playing in goal up the astro :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Paulyh

i havent recieved the email either! :(

same as above, have a good leaving (12 years ago) and many qualifications since. I just sent an email to HR to get feedback as to why i did not meet the minimum requirements.

I'll let you know what they say, if i get a reply :o

As a matter of interest to those that didn't get a email regarding aptitude are ye 100% sure our application went through?

There was plenty of talk on here about it being difficult to submit the app with the page refreshing or something and nothing happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Paulyh

The IAA just rang me back now. I am IN :) the mail they sent went into my junk mail folder!!! :eek:
    So make sure you check yours if havent recieved the mail.

Im on the 31st August in the Gresham.

Paulyh wrote: »
    The IAA just rang me back now. I am IN :) the mail they sent went into my junk mail folder!!! :eek:
    So make sure you check yours if havent recieved the mail.

Im on the 31st August in the Gresham.

2nd of september right in the junk folder.. Thanks paul :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭cr17

Colmq wrote: »
    I got the email too 1st Sept. I am out of the country untill the evening of the 8th Sept. Does anybody know how accomodating they are at rearranging appointments?? or does anyone know if there are any appointments after the 8th. What dates have you all been given?

Allowed me to to switch from 2nd Sept to 31st Aug as I wont be able to make it on the original date, I was expecting them to tell me tough luck because of the number of applicants.
    Good Luck to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 nievus89

Got called for the 31st, just making sure is it just going to be these tests?? no interviews or group sessions or anything?? thanks!