Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

lol are you seriously trying to get your account deleted? They tend not to do that cause it ****s up the archives and stuff. You should troll your way to a perma ban, at least it would a bit of fun.

Sorry for the off topic Hanley, I just had to lol at L's 'problem'.

Meh, they seem to be handing out sitebans for no reason.

Which is where my problem originated.

This is all delightfully off topic.

We could make a metcon out of it.

Or a westlife song.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

F*ck off the lot of yis or I'll get The Drifter after ya.

<<The club is alive...>>

Thrusters:
    50kg x5
    70kg x3
    90kg x3
    100kg x3
    110kg x1

Front Squat:
    115kg 2x5

Military Press:
    65kg 2x5

Bench:
    60kg x5
    90kg x5
    112.5kg 2x5

Chest to Bar Deadhang Pul Ups:
    bodyweight 2x8

Pulldown Abs:
    90 x12
    stack x12
    stack +10kg 2x5

Barbell Curls:
    50kg 2x5

Didn't go in with any real plan outside of knowing a couple of exercises I wanted to do. Wasn't feeling anything that required lung or heart power so just hit some lifts.

Thrusters were disappointing, was soft on the 110 and pushed it in front. The 100 x3 was solid.

Front Squats were good. Easy like. As was the pressing and benching.

C2B pull ups are lots of fun, really. I'd like to bust out a strict set of 12 or something on them.

Pulldown Abs are back to bring up my core again and curls to make my arms big.... Obvs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

what're these hip mobility yokes you do from time to time?

Parsley wrote: »
    what're these hip mobility yokes you do from time to time?

1) 10 leg swings per leg back and forward focusing on max ROM w/ hips square

2) same as but side to side

3) step overs - stand side on to a bar just below crotch level, life leg and go sideways over, bring other leg over and then go back with both - that's 1 rep, I do 5

4) step thrus - same as above but going forwards and backwards and not side to side

5) side lunge - go into a squats and step sideways as far as possible then come back the opposite way - that's 1 rep, I do 5

I'd say you'll get youtube vids of most of them if you want. Just google hip mobility exercises or something like that.

<<I'm on a bloodrush>>

Thrusters:
    40kg x5
    62kg 2x10

Front Squat:
    90kg x2
    115kg 2x5

Military Press:
    65kg 2x5

Bench:
    70kg x5
    90kg x2
    115kg 2x5

Dead Hand Chest to Bar Pull Ups:
    bodyweight x10, 8, 6

Pulldown Abs:
    stack x5
    stack +15kg 2x5

Barbell Curls:
    22kg x5
    52kg 2x5

I dunno how I feel about training at the moment. I know what I'm going is going to be mega productive 2 months down the road if I stick with it, but I'm feel like I'm just spinning my wheels and going no where because I'm not seeing fast progress like I would on a targeted cycle. I guess seeing small improvements across the board's good tho!

Like to me all those lifts feel pretty sh!t cos I've handled more in all of them... it's just tedious. I like the way it's thoughtless tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

When's your date with Bob Kalsu again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

Hanley wrote: »
    I dunno how I feel about training at the moment. I know what I'm going is going to be mega productive 2 months down the road if I stick with it, but I'm feel like I'm just spinning my wheels and going no where because I'm not seeing fast progress like I would on a targeted cycle. I guess seeing small improvements across the board's good tho!

Like to me all those lifts feel pretty sh!t cos I've handled more in all of them... it's just tedious. I like the way it's thoughtless tho.

In the end, results are what really matter, and in my experience small improvements = better long-term results!

d'Oracle wrote: »
    When's your date with Bob Kalsu again?

Ugh. That thing. I knew I'd regret saying it publicly.
    podge57 wrote: »
    In the end, results are what really matter, and in my experience small improvements = better long-term results!

WAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH I WANT IT NOW!!!!!

Weight on 14/5 - 103.5kg, waist = 38 inches (approx)

Weight on 1/6 - 100.5kg, waist = 36.25 inches (approx)

Weight on 3/6 - don't know, waist = 36 inches, Caliper's = 16ish (to 17)mm

Weight on 8/6 - 99.94kg, waist = 35.9999 inches, calipers = 16ish mm

Weight on 15/6 - 99.1kg, waist = 35.5 inches, calipers = 16mm, bodyfat = 17%

Weight on 5/7 - 96.86kg, waist = <35.5, >35 inches, calipers = 15/16mm, bodyfat = 15.4%

Weight on 27/4/09 - 109kg, waist = 39 inches, calipers = 21mm, bodyfat = 20%

Weight on 12/7/09 - 103.75kg, waist = 37 inches, calipers = 17-18mm, bodyfat = 17ish%

Weight on 20/12/09 - 97kg, waist = 34.5 inches, calipers = 11mm, bodyfat = 11ish%

Weight on 11/6/10 - 95.5kg, waist = 34.75 inches, calipers = 10mm, bodyfat = 10.5ish%

Weight on 29/6/10 - 96kg, waist = 33.75 inches, calipers = 9mm, bodyfat = 9.5-10%

Weight on 10/8/10 - 95.4kg, waist = just under 34, calipers = just under 10mm, belly button = 35 inches

Bullin' I didn't take measurements at my leanest. I was at about 9mm, sub 33 waist and 93.9kg. Gonna re-start the diet from today and push for sub 90kg.

<<S...E...C...S...E...C...S...E...C...R...E...T...>>

Thrusters:
    40kg x5
    65kg 2x10

Military Press:
    65kg 3x5

Bench:
    50kg x5
    80kg x5
    115kg 3x5

Chest To Bar Pull Ups:
    bodyweight x10, 8, 6

Barbell Curls:
    52kg 2x5

Pulldown Abs:
    stack x5
    stack +15kg 2x5

Up a little bit on the thrusters, I'll add 2.5kg again tomorrow and plan to top out with 70kg by the end of the week. I'll go back a bit and build up towards 75kg for the end of the next week.

More volume on the pressing and benching today, just an additional set.

Dunno where to go with the C2B pull ups. Maybe 3x10. They're an unbelievable exercise. Can really feel them knockin the **** outta everything in my upper back.

Curls were curls... BUT THEY WERE IN THE SQUAT RACK. Mwuh hahahahahhaha.

<<Y'all gonna make me lose my mind...>>

Yesterday....

Dumbbell Bench:
    30kg 'bells x15
    35kg 'bells x12
    42.5kg 'bells x10
    45kg 'bells x8
    50kg 'bells x5

Incline Dumbbell Bench:
    30kg 'bells 2x10

Barbell Curls:
    30kg x15
    35kg x12
    40kg x10
    45kg x8
    47.5kg x6
    50kg x4

One Arm Barbell Curls:
    20kg x10-5-3rp

Hammer Strength Jammer:
    40kg x10
    60kg x10
    70kg x8
    75kg x6

Bleh sesh... My shoulder doesn't really seem to like heavy low rep dumbbell presses, or incline dumbbell pressing. The frustration.

Barbell Curls were grand... the one arm curls were down slightly because it was after a lot of reps and a long time since I did em.

Not sure how I feel about the jammer, my shoulders were pumped after it so I guess that's good.

The basic plan for the next 10 weeks is....

DAY 1 (week 1 - 5):
    dumbbell bench
    incline bench
    barbell curl
    one arm curl
    HS Jammer
    Lateral raises (if my shoulder can handle it)

DAY 2:
    thrusters 2x5-10
    front squat 2x5
    military press 2x5
    bench 2x5
    curls 2x5

DAY 3:
    Coan-Phillipi

DAY 4 (week 1 - 5):
    Bench 2x8, 2x5, 2x3
    HS bench
    Preacher Curls
    Machine Curls
    HS Shoulder Press

DAY 5:
    thrusters 2x5-10
    front squat 2x5
    military press 2x5
    bench 2x5
    curls 2x5

DAY 6:
    (I'll repeat day 2 and 5 depending on energy levels)

Oh and get leaner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭COH

What numbers are you running on Coan-Phillipi this time around?

COH wrote: »
    What numbers are you running on Coan-Phillipi this time around?

I'm planning on aiming for a 260kg beltless pull, which is probably good for around 280kg under competition conditions. The main aim is to pull 3x bodyweight at the end of it, my weight should be down around 90-92kg by then, so 270-280kg should give it to me.

The weights work out as;

Weeks
    1) 195 x2
    2) 207 x2
    3) 220 x2
    4) 235 x2
    5) 207 3x3
    6) 220 x2
    7) 235 x2
    8) 247 x2
    9) 252 x1
    10) 260 x1

Funnage.

3x bodyweight would be sick. Good luck with it... and with week 8 of Coan-Phillipi beltless. I hate week 8 of that programme!

Yeah... right now that looks untouchable!! I'm just hoping I remember how to deadlift half way thru. I've been as high as 260kg x2 before, but that was during comp prep...

If I can't get the rx'd weights I'll throw on a belt and get them that way!

<<The Hills - featuring Ger and Rob>>

Training 1:

5 rounds, rest as needed:
    Squats w/ Rob on my back (90ish kg) x5
    30ish m sprint w/ sled +20kg
    30ish m backwards drag w/ sled +20kg
    Hill sprint x1/2

Jesus that was awful. The squats into the sprints are disgusting.

<<That's the mentality here>>

Military Press:
    40kg x3
    60kg x3
    70kg x2
    75kg x1
    80kg x1
    85kg x1 - easy
    65kg 2x5

Close Grip Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg 2x5

Chest To Bar Pull Ups:
    bodyweight 2x5

Barbell Curls:
    20kg x5
    42kg 2x5

Pulldown Abs:
    stack -3 x5
    stack x5
    stack +15kg 2x5

Hanging Leg Raises on bench:
    2x12

Happy out on the lifting today. Shoulder strength's feeling great. The 85kg went up no bother. Especially since I was so fcuked after yesterdays session and had cardio'd it up before hand.

CG bench because I'd like strong triceps again. I may or may not take a run at some lifting next year so I wanna be in a PR position if I choose to.

Gonna work away again on the C2B pull ups. I'll build up slowly on them because I'm starting Coan-Phillipi tomorrow and am expecting serious DOMS.

Abs work because I wanna be sick ripped...

<<I wanna be a billionaire....>>

Coan-Phillipi Week 1

Deadlifts (beltless):
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x2
    180kg x2
    195kg x2

"Speed" Deads (beltless):
    160kg 8x3 - 60 second rest

---GIANT SET---

SLDL:
    120kg x8

Bent Over Row:
    80kg x8

Dead Hang Pull Ups:
    bodyweight x8

Good Mornings:
    65kg x8

---3 ROUNDS w/ 60-90 seconds between each exercise---

Baseball - feet and calves

Foam Roll - 9 positions

Well... back at it. I'm on the road to a 3x bodyweight deadlift. I'm gonna do the Coan-Phillipi cycle beltless and probably test with a belt and suit on and see what I can do... Hopefully pull a PR, either on absolute weight or points!!

Everything today was fairly handy truth be told. The 8x3 "speed" deads were fine even with the short rest, and the top set x2 was p!ss.

I'll move up 5kg at least for the next 4 weeks on the circuit. Might go up 10kg next week. I'll check my log for the last time I ran it and see what I did.

I'd like to think about competing in the u105kg class at next years Ireland's Strongest Man. Anyone know what the events were this year?

Anyone know what the events were this year?

1. Car Deadlift - for reps
    2. Log Press - 80kg for reps - 90 seconds
    3. Farmers Walk and Super Yoke Medley - 100kg farmers and 240kg super yoke 30meters each
    4. Truck Pull - arm over arm
    5. Loading Medley - 4 x 60kg Kegs onto a platform

I think they made some of these events heavier before the show though

1. Car Deadlift - for reps
    2. Log Press - 80kg for reps - 90 seconds
    3. Farmers Walk and Super Yoke Medley - 100kg farmers and 240kg super yoke 30meters each
    4. Truck Pull - arm over arm
    5. Loading Medley - 4 x 60kg Kegs onto a platform

I think they made some of these events heavier before the show though

Sweet, thanks.

Q's on the events...
    1) What sorta reps were people hitting (for all of them really) and any idea of the equivalent weight of the DL in your hands?
    2) Any idea how strict press numbers compare to log ability?
    3) Seems alright... Was that just one round as fast as possible?
    4) That's an unknown quantity!
    5) Again, doesn't sound too bad... What height were the platforms? I've thrown a 50kg keg overhead for a good few reps before (I did drop it on my face and smash my nose, but that's another story)

1) What sorta reps were people hitting (for all of them really) and any idea of the equivalent weight of the DL in your hands?
    ~220-240KG Deadlift.. with a different leverage making it more like a rack pull, not sure how many reps. It'd have to be high enough though. There are some videos on youtube I think.

I was talking to one of the lads in work about this tonight actually, he's done a few of the national comps. Said its just a completely different exercise, a decent strict press doesnt equate to much unless you've practiced with the equipment. But I know Vaidas who came 7th was able to manage the 100kg log and he wouldnt have crazy strong shoulders, probably something similar in the gym with on an oly bar

I think so yeah

Unknown is fun... I believe its more of a stamina thing keeping it moving as opposed to crazy weight being pulled. In fact it doesnt matter how much the truck weighs.. its the amount of tyres it has that makes the difference.

5) Again, doesn't sound too bad... What height were the platforms? I've thrown a 50kg keg overhead for a good few reps before
    - Not sure... I had gone up to the expo at this stage to look for the powerlifting comp and to see if I could scam some free supplements from the stalls. weeman2 who posts here would be able to answer all this alot better than me, he was one of the organisers.

~220-240KG Deadlift.. with a different leverage making it more like a rack pull, not sure how many reps. It'd have to be high enough though. There are some videos on youtube I think.

I was talking to one of the lads in work about this tonight actually, he's done a few of the national comps. Said its just a completely different exercise, a decent strict press doesnt equate to much unless you've practiced with the equipment. But I know Vaidas who came 7th was able to manage the 100kg log and he wouldnt have crazy strong shoulders, probably something similar in the gym with on an oly bar

I think so yeah

Unknown is fun... I believe its more of a stamina thing keeping it moving as opposed to crazy weight being pulled. In fact it doesnt matter how much the truck weighs.. its the amount of tyres it has that makes the difference.

5) Again, doesn't sound too bad... What height were the platforms? I've thrown a 50kg keg overhead for a good few reps before
    - Not sure... I had gone up to the expo at this stage to look for the powerlifting comp and to see if I could scam some free supplements from the stalls. weeman2 who posts here would be able to answer all this alot better than me, he was one of the organisers.

Awesome... thanks for the reply. Ya gonna do it next year too?? Was there a qualifying process or anything actually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Strongman is where it's at! With some training at it I'd say you'd be hard to beat in u105kgs James. From what I've seen with the log press (from guys in TF) regular strict press strength seems to transfer over very well, once ya get the technique. And the deadlift was a big tyre deadlift, like a 240kgs rack pull and you can use straps.

Kev M wrote: »
    Strongman is where it's at! With some training at it I'd say you'd be hard to beat in u105kgs James. From what I've seen with the log press (from guys in TF) regular strict press strength seems to transfer over very well, once ya get the technique. And the deadlift was a big tyre deadlift, like a 240kgs rack pull and you can use straps.

Thanks for the vote of confidence!! But lets not get too wild just yet... If events like that came up I'd fancy my chances of getting thru them quite quickly. Whether that would be quicker than the rest of the field or not I don't know. Giving away 10-15kg is a big disadvantage as well, but once I hit the leaness level I want I might actually try to clean bulk and gain 3-5kg for the first time ever. We'll see.

I just wanna start playing with the equipment now. Grahamer swears that the yoke and farmers walk have done wonders for his deadlift, so hopefully I'll see the same!!

Awesome... thanks for the reply. Ya gonna do it next year too?? Was there a qualifying process or anything actually?

I don't think there was a qualifying process last year. Might be different next year though if they get enough people competing in the league. I think theres talk of an under 90kg category too, and that could be interesting. Either way I'll see how I'm set once Ironside is open, if I dont completely embarass myself I might give it a shot down the line, but I definately have to deadlift a car at some stage before I die!

Ohhhh under 90kg?!? I'd be VERY into that.

2,500kcals per day for the next 4-6 weeks is the plan....

247g protein, 160g carbs, 95g fat

Bleh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭VIS VIRES

Ohhhh under 90kg?!? I'd be VERY into that.
    So would i..

There was an U90kg comp held in NI this year..
    I read on one of the strongman pages on facebook that they were looking at holding one in the republic next year..