Love Parade cancelled forever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

podgedurka wrote: »
    What is that even supposed to mean.... "Unavoidable" are u an idiot?

AVOIDABLE

jaysus relax the knickers there newbie! Typo, grammar nazi...etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 podgedurka

AVOIDABLE

jaysus relax the knickers there newbie! Typo, grammar nazi...etc etc

Newbie!!newbie!!.. well excuse me for not being the king of the internet congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Wow!Calm down there folks :o Seriously, i was there in 99 and obviously A LOT has changed since then, for the worse...and im sad.

Sad that so many people lost their lives and it was managed so badly.At any festival you'll get crusties,mongheads,knackers,wasters...whatever..at EVERY festival. This one, was ridiculously badly planned. A TUNNEL FFS!!!!Even looking at Poodles link i was shocked and that seemed to be at the entrance,imagine if you were inside the tunnel?

Its nothing to do with one person...that many people, some off their heads..in a confined space is bound to cause chaos.Its not rocket science.Even sober people panic in a crowd..

I really hope it didnt come down to "cost cutting" in the end.Its a savage festival and im glad i experienced it at its best. RIP the ones that didnt survive it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭AB03

yeh, on a closer inspection that tunnel was insane, 1.4 million, the population of dublin more or less, through that ****ing tunnel in a few hours.
    it was bad planning for sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

I think I chose the wrong word when I said 'overreaction'

It is of course a tragic...tragedy, and the number of people also injured is pretty disgraceful.

But in 1980 a pipe bomb exploded during Oktoberfest killing thirteen people.
    And yes it was a terrorist attack and you shouldn't give in and let the terrorist win, but the fact of the matter is that thirteen people died and it still continued and is today a huge international event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

A tragedy yes, avoidable, yes. With only 1200 police in attendance when 1.4 million people showed up, that shows problems not only with the organisation on the LP side of things, but with the police. Under german law Political demonstrations have security paid for by the state, the state dropped the ball on this one. Along with the Organisers.

Duisburg was used because it was one of the only places willing I would bet, but with a residency of only 500,000, how can anyone expect them to cater for 3 times that number in visitors?

I don't think LP should be cancelled though, whether out of respect or not, If soccer was cancelled after Hillsborough, would it be seen as respectful to the fans who died? I think not.

I was at in 98 in Berlin, at the time it was meant to be the last year being held.

RIP to all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

AB03 wrote: »
    i suspect police blockage frankly...
    kraggy wrote: »

The organisers are not at fault. It's the authorities. They were the ones who directed the crowd into the tunnel.

Get your facts right.

why was the staircase blocked off???

the love parade organisers are well-accustomed to dealing with crowds in the millions so i imagine they weren't the ones blocking off staircases.
    seems strange, the tunnel, although definitely a possible hazard, looks absolutely massive in width.

Why are some people so determined to absolve the organisers of any responsibility? Does it always have to be the fault of The Man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

I think it's an under reaction, they should jail the organisers for endangering and taking people's lives....hands up who wants to tell a parent their child is dead and that it's just an accident, nobodies fault, might as well of been there own....

Totally agreee. 19 dead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

What happened in Duisburg was shocking and a Crime
    19 Dead and Over 350 injured

This is what happens when Citys get Greedy thinking about what renenue is made by an extra 1,000,000 partygoers in your City which is the Duisburgs Councils Fault .

Also The Police have a hugh part to play in this as only 1200 on duty for over 1 Million people . Thats police person for 833 people

For the Council and the orginizers to chose a route that Bottlenecks like that was simply stupid and im sure they had concerns about it before the Gig .

in 2009 the LP was cancelled due to Bochum having concerns that the City could not handle so many people
    Duisburg was greedy

2 weeks ago Germany had a Big party on the Autobahn where they Closed the Autobahn from Dortmund to Essen
    so they do know how to plan properly .

Rip to the 19 and I hope there is Criminal Charges brought against the Council and Orginizers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

WIZE wrote: »

2 weeks ago Germany had a Big party on the Autobahn where they Closed the Autobahn from Dortmund to Essen
    so they do know how to plan properly .

Just ask the Poles...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

RIP to those who lost their lives needlessly.

Let's hope that's the end of the LP 'festival' as it was getting out of hand and dangerous.

Too difficult and expensive to control properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

podgedurka wrote: »
    Newbie!!newbie!!.. well excuse me for not being the king of the internet congrats
    WTF?? pwned!lol u suck! give up playing the game noob ROFL!!!!$$$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

WIZE wrote: »

This is what happens when Citys get Greedy thinking about what renenue is made by an extra 1,000,000 partygoers in your City which is the Duisburgs Councils Fault .

I dont think it was a case of the city been greedy. There was a series of meeting between all concerned and it was very doubtful that it would go ahead this year. It took a long time for it to be confirmed to be taken place. I dont think they took the decision lightly. Fair enough, it wasnt planned properly but I doubt it was a matter of pure greed.

From the live stream I was watching it seems the motorway beside it was closed to traffic so maybe that could have been used as an access point for people attending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

blow69 wrote: »
    Do you think it is a complete overreaction? I think it is.

No. It's a tragedy but it was only a matter of time before something serious happened.
    Slunk wrote: »
    ... and past free loveparades have gone off without incident for years..

Depends what you consider as 'incidents' tbh.
    ...which was solely held to promote love and peace.

:pac: Yes, love and peace...
    Duisburg was used because it was one of the only places willing I would bet....

Nail on head. Then you have to wonder why it was one of the only places willing. It's not because it was always such an incident free happy-clappy love-in.... it was costing a fortune to police, provide amublances/doctors etc etc, not to mention the locals got sick of it following the usual property damage. What city is going to allow it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The Roskilde Festival had a similar incident 10 years ago, and that's still going stronger than ever.

So no, I don't think it should be cancelled. They didn't ban soccer matches after Hillsborough. It's a tragic accident, and hopefully they'll learn something about how to avoid this in future festivals. But cancelling it's just a knee jerk reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Best thing to do would probably be to 'retire' the name of the festival in respect for the victims and start a another event, perhaps the year after next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭kormak

Almost 9 years ago this week, me and my mates celebrated our 21st birthdays at a techno festivel called The Hafentunnel in Frankfurt, Germany.
    It was an absolutely awesome experience run by Sven Vath and the Cocoon against the commercialisation of the Love Parade.
    It was held inside a similar underground Autobahn tunnell which was closed for the weekend.
    Seeing those scenes yesterday was frightfully familiar to be honest.
    Only at the fest we went too was pay in and it was nowhere near as packed.
    Having said that, the heat and the noise in there was sometimes unbearable.
    Even coming out of the Hafentunnel was similar to the ramp at Duisberg, very high walls that would be impossible to climb.
    I find the whole thing pretty f*cking shocking to be honest.
    R.I.P to all the friends and family of those 19 clubbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

stovelid wrote: »
    Best thing to do would probably be to 'retire' the name of the festival in respect for the victims and start a another event, perhaps the year after next.

good idea. They should charge people too, nothing extortionate, even 15euro each. Maybe limit to 800k(random number) and use the money for extra security, clean up afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭kormak

Bunch of idiots ,obviously out of it, caused the chaos.

Should never be heard of again.

Just an excuse for spongers and wasters to run wild.

what a bizarre and ignorent comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

and jobless waters

How on earth did you manage to distribute and collect employment census forms to thousands of "wasted" people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Terrible tragedy, really should not have happened. Condolences to all the families who lost loved ones :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭kiddums

This was a huge tragedy but I don't think the festival should be cancelled.
    The organisers need to really look at how to stop anything like this happening ever agian, like limiting the number of people attending and letting them into the venue in bursts to avoid mass numbers of people moving at once.
    They also need to look at a suitable venue for the festival.

I do agree that someone needs to be held accountable for this tho. Be it the organisers or the crowd control people involved, this needs to be investigated properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,220 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

I went to this in Berlin about 8 years ago and the amount of people at it is overwhelming. It was mostly grand wth lots of space but we did have one or two occasions where people were getting bit squashed. Even going over a bridge and lots of people going in both directions that police had boats underneath to catch anyone who needed out.
    Not surprised it happened. Pity.

Judging by the comments of some idiotic narrow-minded individuals it has reconfirmed my view of the element of socially lacking, ignorant idiots boards has among it's members.
    Rather than the likes of the LP etc they should head up for a cup of tea with Daniel and his mammy away up there and not be carrying on like that now...

People cane here to party and have fun. It's not like the SVP for clubbers cause it's free! Dortmund was mentioned earlier, I think the person must have saw a few people acting loudly and got scared. Especially if that's all the man of the world remembers it for.

Fellow clubbers crushed to their deaths. Could have easily been me. Although it would gave Been nice to have some experts from boards.ie overseeing who came and what stimulants were consumed, just so that would have been avoided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

You can see the what Happened Here
    Its in German but still Interesting Video

Warning Some Viewers wont like it

http://www.rtl.de/medien/information/rtlaktuell/d061-60747-51ca-47/protokoll-des-dramas-haette-die-panik-verhindert-werden-koennen.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Shiiiit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

kormak wrote: »
    what a bizarre and ignorent comment.

Why do you say that, my friend?

'Ignorant' actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭MGMTea

"The number of dead after Germany's Love Parade stampede has risen to 20 after a woman died of her injuries." - From Sky News :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Tragic. Hindsight is a wonderful thing. RIP to all the victims.