The Bertie Ahern defense, now used by Ireland's top criminals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Right for one thing he definatly did the country good but wouldnt it be the standard to have a politician who did good things for the country but didnt steal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

Glad you're amused, now get back to the ironing.

I think with your woman gossiping and tantrums it should you doing the ironing :D or wait diaper change:P

Gilligan Bertie,all same stammering shifty thieves,and both pretend to be business men.:rolleyes:

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Right for one thing he definatly did the country good but wouldnt it be the standard to have a politician who did good things for the country but didnt steal?

Wish it was like that for him to he could have went down with reputation intact as one of the best.But he screwed up and let the grasp of money catch hold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

caseyann wrote: »
    I think with your woman gossiping and tantrums it should you doing the ironing :D or wait diaper change:P

Gilligan Bertie,all same stammering shifty thieves,and both pretend to be business men.:rolleyes:

Resorting to insults already? Yet another sign of ignorance. Like all Fianna failers you avoid the tough questions. Oh and I will ask for a third time.... what he did to lenihan, was that just him helping the country out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

He warned of the government spending,and warned what would happen with the living beyond means.

"Living beyond means".....that includes having Charvet shirts and pretending to be a country gent ?

Yeah, that lands you in front of a tribunal, except the p***k pretended to be sick every time he was called to appear, only to be photographed the following week in the South of France or wherever fit as a fiddle.

Haughey is the one that showed his protegés how to be a con-man and get away with it, and we're suffering the results of that mindset to this day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

No one said he didnt get greedy,he didnt run the country into the ground though did he?
    I think obviously it was copied and pasted from somewhere:rolleyes: didnt say it wasnt.
    He isnt buring in hell for taking money off rich people nor did he wreck the country for his own ends.

Hmm yeah ever heard of the Moriarty tribunal ??
    From the wikiepedai page on haughey:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Haughey#Retirement.2C_tribunals_and_scandal
    The subsequent Moriarty Tribunal delved further into Haughey's financial dealings. In his main report[32] on Charles Haughey released on 19 December 2006, Mr. Justice Moriarty made the following findings:
    • Haughey was paid more than IR£8 million between 1979 and 1986 from various benefactors and businessmen, including £1.3 million from the Dunnes Stores supermarket tycoon Ben Dunne alone.[26] The tribunal described these payments as "unethical".[33]
    • In May 1989 one of Haughey's lifelong friends Brian Lenihan, a former government minister, underwent a liver transplant which was partly paid for through fundraising by Haughey. The Moriarty tribunal found that, of the £270,000 collected in donations for Brian Lenihan, no more than £70,000 ended up being spent on Lenihan's medical care. The tribunal identified one specific donation of £20,000 for Lenihan that was surreptitiously appropriated by Haughey,[34] who took steps to conceal this transaction.[35][36]
    • The tribunal found evidence of favours performed in return for money — Saudi businessman Mahmoud Fustok paid Haughey £50,000 to support applications for Irish citizenship.[33]
    • In other evidence of favours performed, the tribunal reported that Haughey arranged meetings between Ben Dunne and civil servant Seamus Pairceir of the Revenue Commissioners. These discussions resulted in an outstanding capital gains tax bill for Dunne being reduced by £22.8 million. Moriarty found that this was "not coincidental", and that it was a substantial benefit conferred on Dunne by Haughey's actions.[37]
    • Allied Irish Banks settled a million-pound overdraft with Haughey soon after he became Taoiseach in 1979; the tribunal found that the lenience shown by the bank in this case amounted to an indirect payment by the bank to Haughey.[33]

Interestingly it seem Bertie may have learned a trick or two from the master:

The tribunal rejected Haughey's claims of ignorance of his own financial affairs[27] and Haughey was accused by the tribunal of "devaluing democracy".[33]

Yup caseyann ....CJ was in it for the good of the nation....a real humanitarian.... :rolleyes:

Wake up to reality caseyann please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭LookBehindYou

A lot of good things could be said about Hitler too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

He did make the trains run on time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

At least Hitler was an effective leader (Im not a fan of all that nazi lark now, but he did seem to be good at it) But bertie, feckin Brian CowenMickey Mouse could a led the country through the good times, and still we would have had the celtic tiger etc

EDIT: And the darts dont run on time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Did work on developing the IFSC
    Over 10,000 people work there, I'd consider that an achievement

It was once a run down part of the docklands
    And the new social housing looks great, they are very nice houses that the residents got so they weren't hard done by if they had to move from the houses and flats

IFSC was his idea, but would never have happened without Ray McSharry.

Haughey was a bully, similar to Thatcher in personal characteristics.

Events transpired to give McSharry immense power. He was the Minister for Finance in a Minority Govt. and threatened to resign if cuts were not introduced.

Normally Haughey would have sacked him and called a confidence motion. He couldn't do that in a Minority Govt.

McSharry got his way and the IFSC became viable.

Haughey gets far too much credit for the Economic turn around. He was a Machiavellian politician, through and through. Events conspired against him and he adapted, like all good Machiavellian disciples.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

In Bertie's defence, that excuse isn't just used by top criminals like Gilligan. It's a popular choice with low level drug dealers and petty thieves for many years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,931 ✭✭✭Calibos

I stopped trusting Bertie donkeys years ago after seeing a video of him being asked questions by a reporter outside the Dail during the Des O'Malley putsch on Charvet Charlie just before O'Malley left to form the PD's. Shifty looking fecker with his top shirt buttons open and tie pulled loosely aside like a schoolboy. Refused to answer questions each time with, "I'm not anserin' da, no I'm noh anserin' da eeder". I am not slagging the Dub accent but you have to see the vid to see the sleeven type way those lines were delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

This blind devotion to the undefendable is bloody funny, keep it up, started my day off with a good laugh, thank you FF supporters.:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭nobby grande

Resorting to insults already? Yet another sign of ignorance. Like all Fianna failers you avoid the tough questions. Oh and I will ask for a third time.... what he did to lenihan, was that just him helping the country out?

I would like to point out to you Gunsfortoys that you brought the discussion to the childish level with your ironing "gag".

Also why does everything have to be so black and white, yes C Haughey was an excellent ambassador for Ireland, paving the way for the IFSC, spousal inheritance and higher employment, he also lived the priveleged life of a politician, while the rest of the country was told to tighten their belts. Thats politicians for you. He was not a saint but generally he will be remembered as a good Taoiseach for Ireland.

There is no need for your arrogance and sexist remarks. try and be a little more adult in your reasoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

The chewbacca defence is better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,097 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Other way around OP!

John Gilligan was using this excuse long before Bertie ever did
    No fan of Paul Williams but it's all detailed in these books

Spot on. Gangsters and criminals have been using these excuses forever.
    Bertie adopted this from them, not the other way around, and in effect, this paints Bertie in a worse light.

You compare haughey to a mass murderer :rolleyes: please

walshb wrote: »
    Spot on. Gangsters and criminals have been using these excuses forever.
    Bertie adopted this from them, not the other way around, and in effect, this paints Bertie in a worse light.

Well if you believe the alleged allegations made about a certain criminal and a certain other person we shouldn't name,as is slander,been best buddies.Who knows who taught who what;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

He did make the trains run on time..

That was Mussolini. Hitler made the trains run into Poland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

You compare haughey to a mass murderer :rolleyes: please

Wasnt there some funny business about arms.............
    In 1990 under his leadership Ireland enjoyed a very successful European Presidency at the time of German re-unification.

I suppose he personally took the first swing of a pickaxe against the Berlin wall as the border guards looked on........................

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Wasnt there some funny business about arms.............

I suppose he personally took the first swing of a pickaxe against the Berlin wall as the border guards looked on........................

Alleged ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Alleged ;)

Never proved! :p

He was a fascinating character!

As for the Arms crisis, ever the Machiavellian, he thought he was on the right side.

I think the general political opinion on him is "what a waste".

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

K-9 wrote: »
    Never proved! :p

The "mass murderer" he was compared with earlier was never convicted (of that particular offence) in a court of law either :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I still can't believe there are people out there who defend the corrupt Haughey. I mean it's bad enough he pilfered from the state, but also his best friend's medical fund?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/moriarty-tribunal-haughey-stole-45m-65364.html

The IFSC was not even the corrupt Haughey's idea, it was Dermot Desmond's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭flanno_7hi

The Aussie wrote: »
    Whats the term used for blokes who ride a corpse???

Your da?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Has caseyann answerd the question about the lenihan found yet? Or is she still busy?

Haughey was a great lovely man :):cool:

I would like to point out to you Gunsfortoys that you brought the discussion to the childish level with your ironing "gag".

Also why does everything have to be so black and white, yes C Haughey was an excellent ambassador for Ireland, paving the way for the IFSC, spousal inheritance and higher employment, he also lived the priveleged life of a politician, while the rest of the country was told to tighten their belts. Thats politicians for you. He was not a saint but generally he will be remembered as a good Taoiseach for Ireland.

There is no need for your arrogance and sexist remarks. try and be a little more adult in your reasoning.

I was merely dropping to the childish level of a previous poster, also you nor the poster answered my question. If you want to be adult, why don't you try and answer it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Haughey was a great lovely man :):cool:

Still doesnt answer the question, seems dodging questions IS a trait of yours. I am genuinely interested in your answer.

Has caseyann answerd the question about the lenihan found yet? Or is she still busy?

She is too busy fantasising about women ruling the World.:pac: