TA Events - 2010 heads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭jinko

i have to say i had an absolute blast despite constant problems with my m14.
    great play from all sides and great Marshalling. ian and the guys organized a fantastic game. i will defiantly be back for more :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭defenderdude

Unforgettable event.

Cant wait for next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭MindPhuck

absolutely insane weekend. loved it. i had such a whale of a time. hats off to everyone for playing so well that to the USMC and Tans and of course the Greens.

looking forward to the next one.

100_3227.JPG
    some other pix on - http://www.ericmooney.org/post/sennybridge.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Skatedude

bugger all sheep, er, sleep , kept waiting for the tent to blow away while sleeping on friday, but was a great weekend

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

MindPhuck wrote: »
    absolutely insane weekend. loved it. i had such a whale of a time. hats off to everyone for playing so well that to the USMC and Tans and of course the Greens.

looking forward to the next one.

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_3NNEvVk49RU/TAVOgXrDDdI/AAAAAAAACEY/iighv4okNEQ/100_3227.JPG
    some other pix on - http://www.ericmooney.org/post/sennybridge.aspx

The sick thing about this is, Ive rebuilt/tuned most of the enemy aegs in this photo., shoulda sabotaged them all on yas. rofl., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

must have been a bitch alright considering the amount of times you were shot by them :D

only kidding mate.....;)

that new addition to your Bullpup family behaved itself very well and didn't seem to do you wrong over the weekend

Yeah it got a lot of attention on the day, I swear it spent more time in other peoples hands than my own. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭jack s

Just so's people don't go thinking it was a walkover, here's some stuff from the Chedaki perspective.

When our side went after Building 15 where the gold was located, it was well-defended and many assaults died just getting to the walls. Eventually after it got dark, I went with 1-1 to try and infiltrate. We worked our way around the backs of buildings 10 and 25 and those ones along the uphill side near our base, helping out in whatever firefights were going on there, before nipping behind the church and around the graveyard. We waited for a break people going to and from the burger area and campsite and crossed the path. From there we could see a few Dessies standing in the middle of the main drag firing tracers up in the direction of our friendlies. We dropped down behind 11A where people were kipping, and scuttled past the front of it through the lit courtyard like Looney Tunes characters walking stealthily on their toes. We then sauntered across the main road casually behind the guys with the tracers and went into 14 to use as a base of operations. We were expecting to find it occupied and so cleared it stealthily, intending to knife kill occupants, but it was already empty. We called for reinforcements, and eventually one guy turned up. So we moved on 15.

We walked naturally across to the basement door, and when challenged claimed to be Marines. It was completely dark inside, and I waved at a guard who pointed a laser at me as I entered. The following conversation is inaccurate due to my terrible memory but the gist is correct.

Marko: "How many are there in here?"
    Fay: "About 20, how many of you are there?"
    Marko: "We've got 6."
    Fay: "Who are you, anyway?"
    Marko: "Eh, we're 2-1."
    Fay: "2-1? Why the hell aren't you occupying building 24 like you're supposed to?"
    Marko: "Well we were told to come down here to reinforce you."
    Fay: "You're not OUR 2-1."
    Marko: "Ehh, no. We're section... KNIFE KILL"

There my memory leaves me, and rejoins me getting killed with Marko in another building due to overcaution about blue-on-blue. Gerrowadat is saying "We need to get the package to building 12" and Dr. Pepper is alternately shaking our hands and cursing us for having infiltrated and knife killed the group for a second time. So it's off to building 12 we go, around the woods on the downhill side, past the CDF respawn, misreading the map and clearing building 8, and finding that the rest of the remainder of 1-1 are already in 12, also empty. There's activity in 11 so we head up there.

Ahh I remember what happened next!
    Mako dude tried the same trick upstairs in 15 and picked up a bb or 2! uniform 1-3 held the upstairs for a further 1.5 -2 hours until we were relieved by Marines! Fantastic battle with lots of nades, flairs, lasers, tracers and night vision!
    In my opinion the Operator were the best greens we came across, well organised and aggressive! unfortunately we didn't get to meet the Tigers but theres always next time.
    thanks to all for a great, no brilliant event. Thanks Ian and crew.

Regards
    Jack
    feck am I tired.

Masada wrote: »
    Yeah it got a lot of attention on the day, I swear it spent more time in other peoples hands than my own. :D

I was wondering why you were looking at me like i had just stole your favorite Action man when I asked you for a look at it up by the chipper :)

jesus it was a bit embarrassing when I had to prise every finger of the barrel ha ha

it's sweet, did you change anything in her before you went over ?

Not a thing, had the Tavor as a backup and switched to it thinking the F2000 was missfeeding, it turned out my mags are fecked so switched back to F2'Sexy and stuck less BBs in the mags. i reckon they'll be very popular. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭The_ChiefDUB

I started the day on the M60 but the M4 that you put the TK twist barrel in for me a couple of weeks ago came out later on. I was getting unbelievable range and accuracy on it, even in the wind and rain. It made my weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭delta-boy

Not a thing, had the TAVOR as a backup and switched to it thinking the F2000 was missfeeding, it turned out my mags are fecked so switched back to F2'Sexy and stuck less BBs in the mags. i reckon they'll be very popular. :)

Are you just trying to tease us. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭defenderdude

delta-boy wrote: »
    Are you just trying to tease us. :pac:

He already has...:):):):)

Not a thing, had the Tavor as a backup and switched to it thinking the F2000 was missfeeding, it turned out my mags are fecked so switched back to F2'Sexy and stuck less BBs in the mags. i reckon they'll be very popular. :)

Same here mate it's a peach did you see the scope that you can get for it makes it look even better in my opinion even looks like you in the photo ha ha

0.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Danin wrote: »
    even looks like you in the photo ha ha

Its a photograph.

Of course its bleedin' well him in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 smallbike

I had a great weekend. everyone seemed to be on top form too which was nice to see.

The most memorable moment for me was the infiltration of building 15 on the sunday morning as mentioned by shane (whom it was a pleasure alongside) and others, really got the adrenaline pumping!

thanks to all who made it what it was!

smallbike. Operator: Zulu 1-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Jimbobak47

First of all great weekend serious buzz had by all im sure!

An elite squad (PK) remained in the conflict zone thought the night, this 1 man section is reported to have caused complete havoc for the CDK.

Suck my Chedaki balls, I was in the fight for 24hrs and didnt see much of this "elite squad", we attacked a few buildings and cleared every other building in search of the gold only to discover two deserts sat on top of them in their regen which we raided and liberated and proceeded to defend for the remainder of the exercise.

We had maybe 2 or 3 contacts with marines after about 03.00 all of which we iniciated otherwise ye yanks were all tucked away in bed.

Holdstock.P Operator FSG
    Zulu 1-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭P.K

i think he meant that in jest considering the fact rory and myself were kipping on the boxes shortly before you came and liberated them:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭roryk1

if i had gas in the pistol i wouldve tried;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭*DOBBY*

Using up the last of the pyro.......:D We always buy too much

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=susu7eXF22A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

So that's where all the pyro around building 8 came from. I did wonder what went on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭roryk1

*DOBBY* wrote: »
    Using up the last of the pyro.......:D We always buy too much

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=susu7eXF22A
    ralphs releasing a video of who de-legged my jeans while i was asleep:D

lol, heard about this on the ferry home. never fall asleep near any of you fukers. :D

Any more photos show yet? Didnt recognise anyone in the last batch of em. :)

oh, and here's something for the Chedaki'Massive, :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭*DOBBY*

OzCam wrote: »
    So that's where all the pyro around building 8 came from. I did wonder what went on there.
    Well at least they were all in the one place for collecting;)
    roryk1 wrote: »
    ralphs releasing a video of who de-legged my jeans while i was asleep:D
    I've no idea what your talking about:rolleyes:
    lol, heard about this on the ferry home. never fall asleep near any of you fukers. :D
    :D:D:D:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭coys

Any more photos show yet? Didnt recognise anyone in the last batch of em. :)

oh, and here's something for the Chedaki'Massive, :D

Haha heard that blaring out of Fayers jeep when everyone was packing up!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭markomongo

Just in the door after a week in London (would have preferred if seeny had have gone on that long instead!)... all I can really do is echo what other players have said at this point. Brilliant experience (it was The Operators first event of this magnitude) that was slightly overcast with some issues already mentioned but I dont think anybody left the Brecon Beacons without a smile plastered of their faces.

Fair play to Ian ,who given the task at hand and with the inclusion of un-foreseen circumstances still managed to pull off a great weekend. To all who marshaled too, fair play!!

Comms really let our side down. It mas a large factor in the Chedaki downfall. I remember meeting another section leader and asking him where his section was, 'I havent seen any of them in over an hour' was his response... :eek: Also my command radio was not working at the start of the game and it was 2 hours in before I got a replacement. **** happens though, nobodys fault. Lessons learned I hope for next time.

Epic moments- the building 15 night infiltration as mentioned by shane... great buzz altogether. One of the best things that ever happened to me in airsoft. I believe their was only four of us though not six (me, shane, paul and smallbike) as we left JB in the window covering the alley at the back of 15!

After clearing downstairs with knife kills I thought to try my hand on the next story... walked casually up the stairs where an irish marine (guy maybe?) shone a light on me just before i made it to the top (my luck had run out). 'STOP' he shouted, i had my hand on my pistol and he shouts 'dont move that hand'... two others stood beside him gazing down the stairwell at me, i knew i only had one chance and that was to try take as many of the three with me as i could so i unloaded my pistol from left to right hitting two of the three in a split second when the guy with the flashlight tagged me...it was fun as hell and fair play to those lads holding that top story for so long after that!

After checking every single building on the 'graveyard shift' finding out the marines had taken the gold off game to their regen and laughing our asses off as paul came in the tent behind them talking of scalping them with his rubber knife!

The early morning assault on building 11 (which im sure anybody asleep in the barn was cursing!)...looked excellent as flashs of pyro went off, i was lighting up the two rooms with a floodlight from the road at the rear while taking tracer rounds from around building 8...just looked like something out of a movie. Really got the adrenaline going.

Clearing building 20 with the squad on Sunday then holding it with just myself and Dan inside. I was on the second story and hear voices below...i figure Dan has been hit and radio the squad for reinforcements but its too hot for them to get to me... i draw the pistol and move on to the stare well...see a tan uniform making its way up from the ground floor...wait until i have a clear shot then take him. He couldnt believe how i got to where i was (they failed to check the top story). I entered the 1st story hall taking another three tangos then a couple of pyro fails on their side led to a couple more kills and i took the last man with a rush. building successfully held.

Myself, Shane and Paul repeated a clearing of buidling 20 later that led to a reinforcement by the operators soon after and held until end-ex (or very close to) after repeated enemy assaults which made for some great game play!

Cooking a striker grenade for waaay to long and lobbing it at the 1st story window sill of building 22...bounces off back down to me where i make a baseball catch in my throw hand and peg it back in the window. win!

Throwing a grenade from building 20 2nd story window into building 7 second story window. win!

Dan comes running into building 20 to bandage steve, ground is wet, Dan slips and hits the ground hard busting his elbow and smashing his brand new G&G susat scope to pieces...steve found it hard to hold in the laughter. FAIL :D

Again great to get to know more members of the community and look forward to playing with or against all in the near future...

32521_396621928934_616538934_4138089_1713735_n.jpg

On to the pub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

Good read.

Sorry not me on the stairs in 15. I believe it was Jack. I'm embarrassed to say was knifed on the ground floor. Based on that photo it's fairly clear why we thought you guys were tan. You guys did a great job.

Can't believe we've to wait till September to go again.

Guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

markomongo wrote: »
    Cooking a striker grenade... bounces off back down to me where i make a baseball catch in my throw hand and peg it back in the window. win!

Not a good idea. You're lucky you didn't lose a finger. Ten minutes in the sin bin for being silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

The post-game epilogue results thing has been written and is up. The meat of it, in terms of storyline, is minor-Chedaki-victory-but-at-what-cost.
    The sole purpose of the Chedaki attack was to get to the gold in the bank. The use of the hostages during the day was for the purpose of having human shields to prevent an all out CDF/USMC wipe out.

As it was, all three hostages were killed within a couple of hours when 1 USMC fragmentation grenade ripped through one of the rooms that held the hostages and killed them all outright.

The gold fell in to the Chedaki’s hands during the early hours of the morning and was kept on the move in the north of the town during the morning until it was extracted at midday.

So because of this, the Chedaki commander achieved his objective and victory goes to the Chedaki. But with a value of £750k, it’s disputable whether the result was worth the loss in life.

Still worth reading the whole lot though, because it talks about the problems that were experienced on the day, and people not knowing the rules you worthless maggots.

http://www.ta-events.co.uk/forum/index.php?showtopic=787