Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MW2 MegaBitch thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Denny M wrote: »
    Can't we all just get along? *cries self to sleep*

Then.. Then you'd be asleep in your room all night.. you.. you.. CAMPER! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Had to leave a game there .......nothing but noobtubes & thumpers

can any of ye ***** kill with a bullet ??

fcuking USELESS :mad:

Why the fcuk is this not like MW where if you want the noobtube you lose a perk .

Roll on black ops is all I can say .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

Shammy wrote: »
    Technically iw own the name mw

I dont know where to begin with how flawed your argument is ....

As you say (and is fact) IW own the modern warfare name and associated characters...........

So how is someone else currently developing the next "modern warfare" game based on the fact that IW own the rights to this??????? :confused:

the fact that activision produce a cod game every year, there is definetly someone working on the game for 2011.

Activision are a PUBLISHER and do not produce anything!? IW are a developer and produce the game. lol lol lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

hightower1 wrote: »

As you say (and is fact) IW own the modern warfare name and associated characters...........

So how is someone else currently developing the next "modern warfare" game based on the fact that IW own the rights to this??????? :confused:

I said technically , jesus the world is not black and white , there are some shaded areas in between, obviously you know very little about the gaming industry, just because they technically own the name does not mean that Activision do not have another company working on it.

Activision are a PUBLISHER and do not produce anything!? IW are a developer and produce the game. lol lol lol
    Ok lets put this as simple as i can for you shall i.
    A writer writes a novel then he goes to a publisher to get it published .
    a: writer = IW
    b: publisher = Activision

Surely you could see that that what i was getting at , or maybe not , it seems you need everything spelled out to you in black and white .

your up

obviously you know very little about the gaming industry,

lol , I shall respond to that with your own mistake where you believe publishers actually make a product! ....

activision produce a cod game every year

just because they technically own the name does not mean that Activision do not have another company working on it.

Are you for real? Honestly?
    So activision have another studio working on developing another modern warfare title to which they hold no rights at all. So what I guess they will release another MW game with Price and Soap yeah? No need to worry about being sued at all then for intellectual property infringement? Sure in your world so we can all release items with brand names on them like my own version computers called apple,soft drinks called coca cola, and cars called Mercedes Benz and no one will sue us?! lol lol lol lol

Here is the definition of intellectual property for you Shammy...

Intellectual property (IP) is a term referring to a number of distinct types of creations of the mind for which property rights are recognised--and the corresponding fields of law.[1] Under intellectual property law, owners are granted certain exclusive rights to a variety of intangible assets, such as musical, literary, and artistic works; discoveries and inventions; and words, phrases, symbols, and designs. Common types of intellectual property include copyrights, trademarks, patents, industrial design rights and trade secrets in some jurisdictions

Ok lets put this as simple as i can for you shall i.
    A writer writes a novel then he goes to a publisher to get it published .
    a: writer = IW
    b: publisher = Activision

Putting it simple for me? I'm sorry but you were the one thinking the "publisher" was the one who creates the book? I think you'll find a writer creates a book in fact and a publisher markets and releases said book. Below is your quote again...
    activision produce a cod game every year

Surely you could see that that what i was getting at

Not really no, not when you have the entire basis of what your trying to say arseways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Ryan!

Holy jaysus, relax there lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

activision had begun the process before this all kicked off thats how . there attempting to continue . as far as i know not all of the IW staff left straight away (may have changed since and there may be none of them left now) and they brought in more staff from other companies and outside contractors to finish work on it . ill try and find the article for you but give me a while im "in work" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Had a game of FFA about an hour ago that Krudler was also playing in, in which I was the host..I felt so bad for everyone else, it must have been lagging like fúck!..eventually everybody left after just the 1 game of me as host..Any way to stop me actually being host?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭The_D_Man

this nuke-boosting ****e is seriously annoying me now, theres a way too much nukes in TDM's and FFA's now. How is it even fun to shoot your friend 25 times in a row when he keeps using tactical insertion?

sierra117x wrote: »
    activision had begun the process before this all kicked off thats how . there attempting to continue . as far as i know not all of the IW staff left straight away (may have changed since and there may be none of them left now) and they brought in more staff from other companies and outside contractors to finish work on it . ill try and find the article for you but give me a while im "in work" lol

Thats where you get into a grey zone in intellectual copyrights... if IW own the MW brand no other studio can develop a game based on the MW universe and as such Activision cannot publish said work. In theory yes IW can keep open with just one staff memeber and refill the other positions while still maintaining all rights under IW name - MW is under this.

However what will be decided in civil court will be at what point does IW stop becoming a valid company and as such relinquish all rights held under it and in which case to whom do said rights tansfer to?

If Jason West and Vince Zampella get their way the rights will default to them as in their opinion IW stopped being a valid company when the founders left, activision claim otherwise as they had bought the developer.

Ether way as I had explained in an earlier post no developer can currently be working on an intellectuall property which is currently the linch pin of a civil case regarding said developer and assosiated right.

Activision annoncing that they have another developer already working on MW3 is simple sabre rattiling ahead of the case, it has been done on both sides very publicly with West and Zampella claiming gistapo style interigatiuons also. This needs to be kept in mind when reading and posting anything like this under the gyise of fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

callaway92 wrote: »
    Had a game of FFA about an hour ago that Krudler was also playing in, in which I was the host..I felt so bad for everyone else, it must have been lagging like fúck!..eventually everybody left after just the 1 game of me as host..Any way to stop me actually being host?

That the one on Crash? yeah guys were jumping ahead feet at a time, made hitting people a bitch, the guy who was winning quit, was wierd seeing the score change from 650 or something back to 200 I think it was.

I was playing a TDM game earlier and a guy on my team had a 10th prestige symbol, he was possibly the worst MW2 player I've ever seen, he was in the same lobby for 5 games, his best score? 3 kills 18 deaths, his worst was 0 kills 22 deaths, wtf? I know we all have bad games but jesus! added him as a friend for the laugh, followed him into a session he was in, boosting away with a friend, 10th prestige my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Agh! Was on a FFA earlier with 7 other players, knew some were boosters so hung back and spectated for a bit... EVERY single player had the TI equipped, it was ridiculous.

The only redeeming feature was the fact that after awhile some of the boosters gave up and started hunting the other boosters :D

Jev/N wrote: »
    Agh! Was on a FFA earlier with 7 other players, knew some were boosters so hung back and spectated for a bit... EVERY single player had the TI equipped, it was ridiculous.

The only redeeming feature was the fact that after awhile some of the boosters gave up and started hunting the other boosters :D

Why people bother playing ffa is beyond me :confused:

Thats where you get into a grey zone in intellectual copyrights... if IW own the MW brand no other studio can develop a game based on the MW universe and as such Activision cannot publish said work. In theory yes IW can keep open with just one staff memeber and refill the other positions while still maintaining all rights under IW name - MW is under this.

However what will be decided in civil court will be at what point does IW stop becoming a valid company and as such relinquish all rights held under it and in which case to whom do said rights tansfer to?

If Jason West and Vince Zampella get their way the rights will default to them as in their opinion IW stopped being a valid company when the founders left, activision claim otherwise as they had bought the developer.

Ether way as I had explained in an earlier post no developer can currently be working on an intellectuall property which is currently the linch pin of a civil case regarding said developer and assosiated right.

Activision annoncing that they have another developer already working on MW3 is simple sabre rattiling ahead of the case, it has been done on both sides very publicly with West and Zampella claiming gistapo style interigatiuons also. This needs to be kept in mind when reading and posting anything like this under the gyise of fact.

they cant publish it . they can develop whatever the hell they like . the way they figure its theirs and thats that . hence the court case . there fecked if they loose though id imagine its quite costly designing games your not going to sell . added to this IW is still under the activision umbrella . even if its purely in name and everyone and everything that made up IW is gone from it . IW own MW. IW are contracted to activision . in theory shareholders of activision can simply rehire all staff lost so far in october when the contract runs out . then IW will be fully staffed and have full rights to modern warfare not however the entire COD franchise . the reason activsion however are so sure of themselves is that they claim that the two main heads at IW breached their contract by going into secret meetings with a rival publisher (supposedley EA) which would mean IW could loose any rights to modern warfare and any other contractual plus's they are entitled to i.e. their bonuses. http://www.bingegamer.net/2010/infinity-ward-has-not-received-royalties-for-modern-warfare-2/ this is a well known well regarded source. there are others but i decided they may not do the job as i cant find out how reliable they are . some of it is speculation( the parts about the royalties).
    do not come back with any of that do you believe everything your told on the internet crap either because ive sourced and resourced this time and again to back it all up

sorry sham cant ignore him its so infuriating :p

Why people bother playing ffa is beyond me :confused:

Why not?

Why not?

boosting

boosting

Half the fun of FFA for me is finding them :D They're easy to find on most maps anyway, and theres some the never bother doing it on, I caught 2 kids doing it on Rust once, gobsh1tes...

boosting

I find that 9/10 FFA matches have decent, skillful players who play by the rules for the most part - it's only late at night or certain points of the weekend that there's lots of booster...when that's the case, I just switch game mode

after school on weekdays and pretty much all day Saturday are booster times, any other time FFA is grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

krudler wrote: »
    after school on weekdays and pretty much all day Saturday are booster times, any other time FFA is grand
    Fuck off robbing my kills. FFS, 6 kills, 6 assists, 8 deaths

The entire other team were using last stand and everytime I put someone into it, I had to duck away to reload and those cúnts on my team would nick my kill. One time, I had 2 people in last stand beside each other and as I reloaded noobtube OMA basterd on my team noobs them both.:mad:

Jackobyte wrote: »
    The entire other team were using last stand and everytime I put someone into it, I had to duck away to reload and those cúnts on my team would nick my kill.

Why are you reloading, just lob a flash or a stun at them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 FeckinForeigner

You're all idiots who just aren't good enough to play it.

It took you 9 months of being a registered user to come up with that gem? bravo.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

It took you 9 months of being a registered user to come up with that gem? bravo.
    Correction. 9 months, and a grand total of 2 posts. You can tell he/she knows their stuff!

Anyway, was playing a match in Favela, with cherryghost. One guy was blatently aimbotting, Cherry can attest to that. After one of his team got harriers, when the screen was shaking as the bombs were dropped, he was managing to get headshots with one shot, with no sight of someone he's aiming at. Got me through a bloody wall when he couldn't have seen me even enter the building, never mind where I was in the building.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 ClubEire

Denny M wrote: »
    Correction. 9 months, and a grand total of 2 posts. You can tell he/she knows their stuff!

Anyway, was playing a match in Favela, with cherryghost. One guy was blatently aimbotting, Cherry can attest to that. After one of his team got harriers, when the screen was shaking as the bombs were dropped, he was managing to get headshots with one shot, with no sight of someone he's aiming at. Got me through a bloody wall when he couldn't have seen me even enter the building, never mind where I was in the building.

That was on PC I take it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

He's only back after getting a ban for his first post Krudler give him a break..sheesh:rolleyes::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Fukking spawning in FFA....:mad:

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    Fukking spawning in FFA....:mad:

It's nuts in some games but grand in others, I don't understand it!