Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MW2 MegaBitch thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

dante9000 wrote: »
    hightower1 the bullet on the left does not even go to the Barrett .50 cal and the .50 cal isn't even the most powerful sniper rifle the South African Denel-Mechem NTW-20mm Anti-Material Rifle is the most powerful sniper rifle in the world photos can be found at http://www.vincelewis.net/20mm.html

I have to respectfully disagree, the one I showed was indeed the .50 cal round used by the barret in the m82 and its variations. I cant be bothered to trawl back over months of thread to find the link but its there (in future just quote the post in your own) ...

You can clearly see the round below...

barrett82mod.jpg

I dont believe I said it was THE most powerful but one of the most powerful rifles in existence. If you want to get pedantic about it by terms of "powerful" do you mean recoil, destructive power, range etc?

For sheer destructive force you are incorrect about the most power rile being the Denel-Mechem NTW, you'l find its pipped at the post in terms of range by the Anzino 20.

Highly impractical but does outperform range wise due in no small part from its extreme barrel length.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Think I'm getting close to being finished with the COD series now. I used to have great craic playing it, now the entire mp game revolves around really bad maps filled with campers, tubers and knifers. That's all there is to it these days and it's such a shame to see it deteriorate to this crap after MW1 was so, so good.

I'm not expecting much of the next in the series so amn't bothered buying it. The addon pack released recently is just tragic, what a waste of money. Crash is a great map but congrats on failing everywhere else, IW.

I've a 30mb line and I'm getting into really laggy, already half finished games constantly and I am SICK of it. There's so much wrong with the game that I honestly hope that IW never see a penny of the "owed bonuses". Not a single cent. They don't deserve bonuses for a very short single player game and a multi-player game that has the most flaws of perhaps any multi-player in recent memory.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I'm gonna give Black Ops a go, considering it's Treyarch, and the level of dissatisfaction with MW2 was so great that the CoD series would be nothing short of brain dead to do the same again.

Rb wrote: »
    Think I'm getting close to being finished with the COD series now. I used to have great craic playing it, now the entire mp game revolves around really bad maps filled with campers, tubers and knifers. That's all there is to it these days and it's such a shame to see it deteriorate to this crap after MW1 was so, so good.

+1 on the commando knifers. Havent played in a while due to it, tried for a few hours the other night but looks like the idiot teens and obsessives have taken the joy out of this in their lust for easy kills no matter what.

Bring on medal of honor to kick ass.... well until the teens and obsessives try and ruin that one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I started playing MW1 there at the weekend, bought it on the cheap for my ps3 ages ago but never played it properly (had it on 360 when it first came out but had a crap net connection so never bothered with the multiplayer) and people are right, its a much better multiplayer game in the sense that there arent as many stupidly annoying things that ruin games. I played a game of domination and people were actually y'know, playing it properly. guys defending without camping, teaming up to take flags rather than lone gunning it and hoping to get their killstreaks. I'm about to prestige for the 2nd time on MW2 just want to finish a few challenges before I got round the horn again and then I'm giving it a break and going to MW1 instead.

Treyarch, as a pretty please to all the people who want to play good games and enjoy the MW franchise for the incredible multiplayer experience it should be, please please please remove the following for Black Ops:

commando
    danger close
    OMA
    commando
    akimbo shotguns with the firepower of the Death Star
    commando
    tactical insertions
    commando

yours sincerely,
    all the pissed off MW2 players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

krudler wrote: »
    Treyarch, as a pretty please to all the people who want to play good games and enjoy the MW franchise for the incredible multiplayer experience it should be, please please please remove the following for Black Ops:

commando
    danger close
    OMA
    commando
    akimbo shotguns with the firepower of the Death Star
    commando
    tactical insertions
    commando

yours sincerely,
    all the pissed off MW2 players.

Eh, no not all of us. Tac Insertions should stay but be fixed to not be taken advantage of.
    Danger Close is a good idea..Sure why not get rid of Lightweight when you're at it too? and Stopping Power..And SitRep..

Lightweight I have no prob with, its great for CTF matches where you can leg away with the flag, you're at a massive risk being the flag carrier so a bit of speed is welcome.

Sitrep doesnt enable you to teleport across a map and stab people, no prob with that either.

Tac insertions when used correctly are fine, which is about 5% of the time in games, the rest is boosters/glitchers.

I get that for every perk theres an argument against it, but the one that the overwhelming majority of players have an issue with is Commando, as it cant be countered. In the end its no more silly than something that stops your body heat showing on a thermal scope or something that makes your footsteps silent, but theres acceptable suspension of disbelief in the game and then theres physically teleporting 5 feet ahead and stabbing people,sometimes even further, I got commando'ed through a wall the other night ffs.

Lightweight I have no prob with, its great for CTF matches where you can leg away with the flag, you're at a massive risk being the flag carrier so a bit of speed is welcome.

Sitrep doesnt enable you to teleport across a map and stab people, no prob with that either.

Tac insertions when used correctly are fine, which is about 5% of the time in games, the rest is boosters/glitchers.

I get that for every perk theres an argument against it, but the one that the overwhelming majority of players have an issue with is Commando, as it cant be countered. In the end its no more silly than something that stops your body heat showing on a thermal scope or something that makes your footsteps silent, but theres acceptable suspension of disbelief in the game and then theres physically teleporting 5 feet ahead and stabbing people,sometimes even further, I got commando'ed through a wall the other night ffs.

How is SitRep Countered? How is Cold Blooded countered? How is Sleight of Hand countered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

callaway92 wrote: »
    How is SitRep Countered? How is Cold Blooded countered? How is Sleight of Hand countered?

Sit rep is countered by a baby monitor or a decent headset

Cold-blooded is countered by Stopping power.

Soh is a first choice perk by asking what is the counter for it is the same as asking whats a counter for marathon/bling scavenger etc.

Cold Blooded is countered by paying attention, I'v gotten many a kill and likewise been killed by predator missiles by being eagle eyed and watching out for guys moving even without a red square around them.

Sleight of hand isnt something that needs a counter per se, being able to reload quicker is the same as having a gun with a bigger mag size really. I reload after every kill out of habit regardless of the gun (except the LMG's of course)

Theres always going to be a complaint about the perks, for every person who finds commando irritating there are just as many guys who snipe with thermals and hate cold blooded,or rely on heartbeat sensors and dislike ninja. That saying of you cant please everyone all of the time is pretty apt when it comes to MW2.

Do you use commando?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Just caught my brother nuke boosting in MW2. The little dickhead. I'm ****ing raging. Play the game PROPERLY! Ugh. Cúnt.

EDIT: Thankfully him and his friends are really bad at it. Keep getting raped and going back to the same spot. Plus my constant insults towards him and screaming down his mic is putting him off. Dope.

Kersmash wrote: »
    Just caught my brother nuke boosting in MW2. The little dickhead. I'm ****ing raging. Play the game PROPERLY! Ugh. Cúnt.

Shun! shun the cheater! shunnnnnn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

I swear to christ, he just started playing recently, and I've been showing him the ropes, teaching him all the tricks and helping him improve. Now this. Never again will I give him advice or help. I'm gonna add his friends and then absolutely rape the shít outta them whenever they're online! I'm so angry! Thought he was better than that :(

All kids should be handed a NES and a copy of Mega Man 2, when they finish that, then they can advance to new games, once their hard, calloused thumbs and newly arthritic fingers and wrists have gotten through that birth by fire, then they can stand and call themselves gamers. :D

hightower1 wrote: »
    Do you use commando?

not anymore, at the mo i'm trying to get the Sitrep Emblem...Will be trying for the Last Stand one after that

Shammy wrote: »
    Sit rep is countered by a baby monitor or a decent headset

Cold-blooded is countered by Stopping power.

Soh is a first choice perk by asking what is the counter for it is the same as asking whats a counter for marathon/bling scavenger etc.
    Cold Blooded is countered by paying attention, I'v gotten many a kill and likewise been killed by predator missiles by being eagle eyed and watching out for guys moving even without a red square around them.

Sleight of hand isnt something that needs a counter per se, being able to reload quicker is the same as having a gun with a bigger mag size really. I reload after every kill out of habit regardless of the gun (except the LMG's of course)

Theres always going to be a complaint about the perks, for every person who finds commando irritating there are just as many guys who snipe with thermals and hate cold blooded,or rely on heartbeat sensors and dislike ninja. That saying of you cant please everyone all of the time is pretty apt when it comes to MW2.

Lololol
    How the fúck can you say Cold Blooded is countered by Stopping Power..HAAHAHAHAHAHA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Countering isn't the issue, it's how badly balanced as a killing aid Commando is in relation to everything else

Lololol
    How the fúck can you say Cold Blooded is countered by Stopping Power..HAAHAHAHAHAHA

Glad it amused you

Jev/N wrote: »
    Countering isn't the issue, it's how badly balanced as a killing aid Commando is in relation to everything else

Quite true on the countering but in fairness usually the only people who complain about commando are snipers and campers, i dont have a problem stopping commando users.
    Lololol

In my view if you use cold-blooded /hardline/danger close/lightweight if you come up 1 v1 against someone who has stopping power , by the mechanics of the game you are dead.
    If your talking about being invisible to air support and uav's then there is no counter as its not a killing perk .

So in reply to your lol's etc and over excited ha's i ask , why the fcuk would some one be dumb enough to ask how to counter cold-blooded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Kersmash wrote: »
    I swear to christ, he just started playing recently, and I've been showing him the ropes, teaching him all the tricks and helping him improve. Now this. Never again will I give him advice or help. I'm gonna add his friends and then absolutely rape the shít outta them whenever they're online! I'm so angry! Thought he was better than that :(

Caught my son using my gamer tag to boost in an attempt to get me my first nuke.I had a **** fit.One of the lads on here suggested he should get me sit rep pro.And when I next prestige for the last time thats what the little fecker is gonna do!

Quite true on the countering but in fairness usually the only people who complain about commando are snipers and campers, i dont have a problem stopping commando users.

If you look over any of the larger threads here you'll see roughly 90% of posters complain about commando pro, myself included. does that mean we are all snipers and campers???? I dont think so somehow.

A better generalization seeing as your into them is commando users are teens looking for quick gratification kills with as little skill needed as possible, the type of people who see killstreaks as their main weapon as it stimulates the "micheal bay crash and bang" noise center of their particularly under developed sensibility....

I can only speak for myself... I am no camper. I use tar or ump45 with silencers, SOH, stopping power and ninja. The entire set up is aimed @ movement around the entire map with the least visibility and maximum power possible. Hardly the set up of a camper or sniper now.

If you look over any of the larger threads here you'll see roughly 90% of posters complain about commando pro, myself included. does that mean we are all snipers and campers???? I dont think so somehow.

A better generalization seeing as your into them is commando users are teens looking for quick gratification kills with as little skill needed as possible, the type of people who see killstreaks as their main weapon as it stimulates the "micheal bay crash and bang" noise center of their particularly under developed sensibility....

I can only speak for myself... I am no camper. I use tar or ump45 with silencers, SOH, stopping power and ninja. The entire set up is aimed @ movement around the entire map with the least visibility and maximum power possible. Hardly the set up of a camper or sniper now.

Touched a nerve have i ?

As for your middle paragraph , what a load of rubbish , never once have i seen anyone run around with a knife commando pro style and get a high killstreak. The reason i have no problem with commando pro users is because i carry a shotgun , or a quick step -back with my primary weapon, although that could be hard to do if your stuck in a corner......

Touched a nerve have i ?

As for your middle paragraph , what a load of rubbish , never once have i seen anyone run around with a knife commando pro style and get a high killstreak. The reason i have no problem with commando pro users is because i carry a shotgun , or a quick step -back with my primary weapon, although that could be hard to do if your stuck in a corner......

I carry a shotgun myself yet this does nothing to a commando pro coward if they spam the melee button first, they can kill though claymores, DOUBLE shotguns and even walls... this is how broken it is.

No nerve hit but if your going to make such a flawed generalization based upon people widespread hatred of a broken perk be prepared for a heated correction of the facts. As I said a quick use of the search function on the forum for commando will show a vastly negative response from the majority of people whom all cannot be snipers and campers?
    If you took all the people here that oppose commando, totaled the amount up you would come to the conclusion that nearly 90% of all boards COD members are campers and snipers as you have? Having played many a game against said members I and many others can verify for you that they are not 90% campers and snipers.

I carry a shotgun myself yet this does nothing to a commando pro coward if they spam the melee button first, they can kill though claymores, DOUBLE shotguns and even walls... this is
    how broken it is.

Funny 90% of the time i dont have a problem taking them down with a spas/ump or any other weapon i use, seems like you may have connection issues.
    No nerve hit but if your going to make such a flawed generalization based upon people widespread hatred of a broken perk be prepared for a heated correction of the facts. As I said a quick use of the search function on the forum for commando will show a vastly negative response from the majority of people whom all cannot be snipers and campers?

Strong words maybe you should play pacman if the game is so broken. Of course if you had read my post i said usually.Also there are a lot of people having lag connection difficulities , the problem seems to be more on the ps3 with regards to the "hatred" as you put it.
    I remember you moaning about it before and you were on about some american kid....well that was your problem a cross atlantic game.

If you took all the people here that oppose commando, totaled the amount up you would come to the conclusion that nearly 90% of all boards COD members are campers and snipers as you have? Having played many a game against said members I and many others can verify for you that they are not 90% campers and snipers.

Ok i'll take it back , lets rephase it shall i , its usually people with a bad connection to a game that suffer more from the huge lounge that is commando pro.

Now go play pacman and stop crying :rolleyes:

Funny 90% of the time i dont have a problem taking them down with a spas/ump or any other weapon i use, seems like you may have connection issues.

Strong words maybe you should play pacman if the game is so broken. Of course if you had read my post i said usually.Also there are a lot of people having lag connection difficulities , the problem seems to be more on the ps3 with regards to the "hatred" as you put it.
    I remember you moaning about it before and you were on about some american kid....well that was your problem a cross atlantic game.

Ok i'll take it back , lets rephase it shall i , its usually people with a bad connection to a game that suffer more from the huge lounge that is commando pro.

Now go play pacman and stop crying :rolleyes:

lol ...."big tough man on the internet" lol, get a clue for gods sake.
    Your post is about as puerile and childish as it gets, look at my sig, do you think its a bad connection? RAFLMAO

Just get your facts right before you try and make a point, you'll find you screw up a lot less, or dont and keep on makin an ass of yourself...its very entertaining as highlighted by callaway above also. "stopping power counters could blooded" "usually everyone who gives out about commando is a camper or sniper" .... prime examples of idiocy.

I unlike yourself shammy have no interest in trying to have an argument with a total stranger. Grow up.

internet_tough_guys.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Hedman

Ffs get thrown into some game halfway through on FFA, lagging to fcuk so leave the game and join another. Thrown straight back in same game, leave again, join another, same lobby. Leave again and exit to main menu and retry, puts me back in the same fcukin lobby once again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

I carry a shotgun myself yet this does nothing to a commando pro coward if they spam the melee button first, they can kill though claymores, DOUBLE shotguns and even walls... this is how broken it is.

if there getting that close your not doing it right can you not hear them running towards you ? although i will agree one on one if you come across a commando in a tight space your boned . shammy's right though spas 12 one round and their on the deck nothing about it. get yourself a headset they help out a lot . or just do what i do and BLARE the tv so you can hear people coming a mile away :D

Hedman wrote: »
    Ffs get thrown into some game halfway through on FFA, lagging to fcuk so leave the game and join another. Thrown straight back in same game, leave again, join another, same lobby. Leave again and exit to main menu and retry, puts me back in the same fcukin lobby once again.

That wrecks my head, and its always on the news maps as well, bloody Salvage :mad:

Being thrown into almost over games is my biggest pet hate with the matchmaking system, although once I got the game winning kill on my one and only kill in the game on a TDM, was in the match about 20 seconds and spotted a guy camping :pac:

lol ...."big tough man on the internet" lol, get a clue for gods sake.
    Your post is about as puerile and childish as it gets, look at my sig, do you think its a bad connection? RAFLMAO

Tough man on the internet ? why because i told you to stop crying and play pacman. Yes if you cant drop someone with a spas or double barrelled rangers (as you said before you couldnt), it is connection.
    You trying to be the internet tough guy now ??
    Just get your facts right before you try and make a point, you'll find you screw up a lot less, or dont and keep on makin an ass of yourself...its very entertaining as highlighted by callaway above also. "stopping power counters could blooded" "usually everyone who gives out about commando is a camper or sniper" .... prime examples of idiocy.
    More tough guy talk ?
    Facts , in my gameplay it IS snipers and campers that complain alot more about commando pro than the ordinary person.
    I unlike yourself shammy have no interest in trying to have an argument with a total stranger. Grow up.

I've read some of your previous posts and yes you do enjoy arguements with total strangers,

Also i would say tubing with danger close is a lot more "hated" than commando pro.