Gerry's Funeral on 2FM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 fabfemale

I don't claim to have been a fan of Gerry Ryan's, I didn't listen to the radio show very often and I didn't think he was great on tv. He was a bit full of himself and he didn't hesitate to express an opinion, even if it was cringeworthy. But so what? Nobody's perfect and there are far worse out there. He was married for 26 years - that speaks volumes about him as a husband. He has five beautiful children who adored him, and who spoke so well today that it was heart-wrenching. His colleagues at work loved him and are grief-stricken. Honestly, I think that some posters are just sitting around waiting to say something horrible, and I think that's inappropriate today of all days. Whatever anyone thought of G Ryan, he worked hard and was a family man and he is entitled to a bit of respect on the day he's laid to rest. Save the venom for afterwards. Sincere condolences to his family - they did a first rate job today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Darksaga87 wrote: »
    Its not the "Legion of Doom" burying Darth Vader you know. :rolleyes:

Darth Vader wasn't buried. According to his Jedi beliefs he was burnt on a funeral pyre! :mad:

Legion of Doom weren't in attendance either. I believe they were fighting Demolition for the belts on the particular day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Renn wrote: »
    Just means you're unemployed, no?

If you had the cop on to look to your left <- you would see I LIVE IN MELBOURNE. "+9GMT"

Stop trying to be smart.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Just means you're unemployed, no?

Please keep pointless comments like this to yourself please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Nah, just says "Melbourne via Dundalk" tbh.

Anyone got a cause of death yet or will it all be hush hush for a while, i.e. forever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Fair play to Morah for acknowledging Melanie and her children. Am I right in thinking this was the only time Melanie was mentioned during the service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Anyone got a cause of death yet or will it all be hush hush for a while, i.e. forever?

No I reckon it will be mentioned in the papers this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

"I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time... like tears in rain... Time to die."

For completeness, the 2001 quote was :

"Good afternoon, gentlemen. I am a HAL 9000 computer. I became operational at the H.A.L. plant in Urbana, Illinois on the 12th of January 1992. My instructor was Mr. Langley, and he taught me to sing a song. If you'd like to hear it I can sing it for you. aIt's called "Daisy." Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer do. I'm half crazy all for the love of you. It won't be a stylish marriage, I can't afford a carriage. But you'll look sweet upon the seat of a bicycle built for two. "

Touching :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

FFS, shut up :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

"I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time... like tears in rain... Time to die."

Didn't Anthony Hopkins quote that on an ad for Sky recently??

I was wondering where it came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Genuine question that was answered ffs. Definitely no need for rollyeyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

deelite wrote: »
    Fair play to Morah for acknowledging Melanie and her children. Am I right in thinking this was the only time Melanie was mentioned during the service.

I think your right it was, fair play to Morah indeed, quite a poignant moment that she mentioned her. No doubt her grief is of equal amount to that of Morah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

Genuine question that was answered ffs. Definitely no need for rollyeyes.

You may have missed out on the last GR thread which took place last Friday. Apparently his passing is occasion for a huge number of back-seat wannabe mods to tell anyone who doesn't agree with their point of view to shut up. These posts don't seem to be warned or deleted because, as I was recently told by a mod, the idea is to keep the majority happy here.

Just so you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭LadyW

That can't have been easy for Morah, she should be applauded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

pookie82 wrote: »
    You may have missed out on the last GR thread which took place last Friday. Apparently his passing is occasion for a huge number of back-seat wannabe mods to tell anyone who doesn't agree with their point of view to shut up. These posts don't seem to be warned or deleted because, as I was recently told by a mod, the idea is to keep the majority happy here.

Just so you know.

You have to pander to the grieving masses.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

pookie82 wrote: »

Just so you know.

If you have a problem with how threads are moderated on this forum please contact a forum Mod to discuss it.
    Do not drag this thread off topic with such comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

The Master wrote: »
    If you have a problem with how threads are moderated on this forum please contact a forum Mod to discuss it.
    Do not drag this thread off topic with such comments

I was explaining to another poster why he's being told to shut up on thread for asking the wrong question. if he wasn't reading the other thread he wouldn't be aware of these rules. Just trying to help him out as he appeared confused.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭shivs

Surely this is not anybodys business.....except for his family?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Did we not pay his wage?

:rolleyes: Like Guards, that type of thing?

I'm sure if there is any gossip, the tabloids will pick up on it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭shivs

Did we not pay his wage?

Oh FFS! Yes we did, but it doesn't mean we should be privy to how the man died......

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Jesus some of you need to take a look at yourselves.
    Theres a couple posting in this thread purely to pisstake at those with genuine respect - how totally pathetic is that,its the lowest of the low.
    Whats even worse is the morons encouraging them with a thankyou :mad:
    For God sake will yas just quit the BS please,most people have come on here to pay there respects in some small way.
    Those that wish to pisstake, your not welcome and show some damn respect will you.
    The man has sadly passed away and some people wish to pay their respects here,i fail to see what is wrong with that.

Can everyone just quit the bickering and let the man RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

i understand everyone has there opinion on things but there has been comments made on this thread that is very disrespectful and this is the last post i am going to put on this thread i for one have the hight of respect for gerry ryan and i will miss him so much in the mornings on the radio REST IN PEACE GERRY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 fabfemale

I can't believe the bad mindedness on here. I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 saraz86

shivs wrote: »
    Surely this is not anybodys business.....except for his family?

I agree. Can't get over all the coverage this is getting..

Some off topic comments have been removed from this thread

Please remember this thread is for discussion of Gerry Ryan's funeral service

Not speculation or questions about his death.

Please consider his family and loved ones on this day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 scarpetta65

Gerry gave the impression he was anti-Catholic, why have a Catholic burial then???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Does anybody know if Harry Crosby was in attendance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Gerry gave the impression he was anti-Catholic, why have a Catholic burial then???

I am always of the opinion that the funeral is more for friends and loved ones and not for the recently deceased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 chasingcars

I thought the funeral was very moving and glad it was on radio and online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 philomenadeise

I signed up to this website to pay my respects to my hero and longtime companion Gerry Ryan. I never met the man but I was still a close friend that invited him into my home every morning for a chat and a laugh, as many in the country did the same. I listened to Gerrys funeral on 2fm and the tears were streaming down my face. I am trembling and find it hard to talk without bursting into tears again. For many long years this man shared my life, my disappointments, upsets and joys and was always available for a kind consoling word between 9 and 12 on 2fm. I neve missed a show on those long years, apart from once when I had to go to hospital, and my sister was kind enough to tape it for me to listen to when i got out. I have hunderds of shows on tape and I will listen to them for the rest of my life. Gerry transformed the airwaves and helped Ireland get where it is today. In some ways, he was the confidence of a nation and rightly belongs alongside Pearse, Connoly, and our other national heroes in the pantheon of legends. Gerry Ryan helped make modern Ireland. he opened our eyes to to the future, and hopefully beyond. Ireland before Gerry was stuffy, backwards and self conscious. Gerry showed us the strentgh we have inside ourselves and what we can do if we truly believe, and have a kind spirit. My own father died young so ina a lot of repsects Gerry was for me the only real father I had for most of my life. He was a wonderful, kind man whose stories would make you laugh and even cry. When i needed him, he was there. Gerry was our collective father. He was our brother, daughter, son and confidant. He was a larger than life bon viveur and raconteur. His voice could light up a romm, and his footstep fell heavy wherever he went. I am shocked at the cruelty of people who sign up just to trash the man's name and memory. I feel sorry for you, that you never bothered to appreciate Gerry when he was alive, and all that he did for you. Think of his kids, his gorgeous wife and girlfirend, and the thousands of ordinary men and women Gerry's death leaves helpless. I pray that Gerry's family finds the strength that they need to get on with their lives, which must certainly now be empty, unliveable, angry at the God that would cut a life so rich so quickly. I know Gerry is in heaven now, looking down on all of as and probably having a laugh. He is with all the greats, john lennon, frank sinatra, james dean, jfk, churchill, gengis khan, etc.. I wonder what they make of his tall tales. To know i will never hear his voice again, apart from the old tapes, makes me utterly devastated. God rest your soul, you were Ireland's prince. Gerry, rest in peace and may your spirit enrich us all philomena