We 'do not want to deal with black staff'

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Nodin wrote: »
    I don't think having a pair of balls was your problem there.

So my response was to laugh, stand up and thank them for their advise, which really pissed them off but like all bullies made them leave me alone for the rest of the night. Like when anyone has ever slagged me the best way to annoy and piss off the person is by agreeing with them because it shows it doesn't affect you. The worst thing you can do is take offense it only means that they win. Obviously there are limits to this!

So what would your response have been Nodin. To say "stop being racist you big meanie, your hurting my feelings"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Don't really see what the family did wrong. If they're racist, they're racist.. No need to discriminate against them like.

Didnt you get the memo? Its perfectly acceptable to discriminate against white people, indigenous people (if they are white) and those who the media deem to be 'racists'.

I think you need to go for some re-education... we cant have somebody walking around whose opinions have not been given to them by the media/tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Is the black man keeping you down, Orange? Poor thing.

Morkarleth wrote: »
    Is the black man keeping you down, Orange? Poor thing.

Thay tuuk ma jab!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭irelandrover

is it not the family's right to say who serves them? it might not be politically correct but its still their choice. If they're uncomfortable with someone of colour serving them then why should they not ask for a white person. I still think they're idiots for their request but i do think they're entitled to it.
    And in my opinion the hotel and the manager did nothing wrong. they are probably getting sued either way. if they gave in to the request the waiter sues them. If they dont then the family sues them. they were in a lose lose really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

And in my opinion the hotel and the manager did nothing wrong. they are probably getting sued either way. if they gave in to the request the waiter sues them. If they dont then the family sues them. they were in a lose lose really.
    On what grounds would the family sue them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

they don't want to be served by someone with a foreign accent

they're british, they went to america, therefore are foreign themselves, fcuking twats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭irelandrover

refusing custom? Im sure to be honest but it is america after all.

I'm not sure but I dont see what grounds the employee is suing them either. He was not allowed serve a table. It's not like he was told to go home or sacked because he is coloured. He wasnt stopped doing his job as he still worked but served other tables. I used to work in hotels and was not allowed serve people sometimes as they wanted women to serve them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,245 ✭✭✭✭bnt

There is a silver lining to this cloud: this kind of incident is now so rare that it's headline news when it occurs. :rolleyes:

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The guy is obviously going to suffer from esteem issues after such blatant discrimination. This could be a slippery slope to severe depression.

So this one instance of discrimination is going to lead to esteem issues? How? You obviously know the person in question then? Are they really that feeble minded and weak to be affected this way, So quickly?

I lost count of the times the British army and RUC used stop and harass me when I'd visit my future wife up North. It didn't stop me from moving to and spending many years in London, it also didn't stop my visits up North. I didn't develop any self esteem issues or hatred of the English. I don't recall any depression or physchological issues, but then again I suppose, I was only threatened and abused at gunpoint. The Guy you refer to wasn't allowed to serve clients - that's heavy man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Does it say if the British family were all wearing matching shellsuits? Its the shell suit wearers I find to be the worse.

This, for some reason, reminds me of the story about the BA flight from Jo'Burg to London. An Afrikaan lady boarded and was sat next to a black guy and instantly kicked up a fuss about sitting next to a "Blick". The cabin crew asked her to stay in her seat and they would sort it out once the flight was airborne.

20 minutes into the flight the stewardess returned to the lady and said that she had spoken to the attendant in first class and he agreed that no one should be made to sit next to an offensive person on a flight and therefore they had found the man a much nicer person to sit next to in first class!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

There is building a bridge and then there is allowing people to walk all over you. Thank God Rosa Parks had more of a pair.

I think the mans point that the "victim" had to get help for mental scarring is valid.

Hes acting the bollix Mr Rodney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

The whole thing smacks of idiocy. Perhaps that family should stay at home in future and not go outside into the real world at all.

For some reason, it reminded me of this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭baalthor

Zapho wrote: »
    Ok fair enough, the man is doing the right thing by sueing because of this Civil Rights violation. Thats completely understandable and I'm 100% on his side.

But seaking medical and psychological help? COME ON! He just trying to squeeze every penny out of this.
    If you take a civil case you must demonstrate that you have suffered loss or damage. His lawyers would have come up with this, same would happen in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Greyfox

is it not the family's right to say who serves them? it might not be politically correct but its still their choice. If they're uncomfortable with someone of colour serving them then why should they not ask for a white person. I still think they're idiots for their request but i do think they're entitled to it.

No, of course their not entitled to it, to me what your basically saying is do people not have the right to be racist! Of course the manager was wrong, he basically allowed the family to be racist and deserves everything he gets! Him and the family are scum, in this day and age nobody should be let about with this! He should of told the family to f**K off!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

baalthor wrote: »
    If you take a civil case you must demonstrate that you have suffered loss or damage. His lawyers would have come up with this, same would happen in Ireland.
    Maybe because American waiters rely on tips as partly to make up their wages, he might have a claim that he was discriminated against in trying to do his job in order to also earn those tips?

...Its just a passing thought.

Ok' he'd get feck all tips from them but he could claim also that he was discriminated against at least in trying to gain equal opportunity, to such earnings, could he not?

Its just a random thought as I've said.

Does it say if the British family were all wearing matching shellsuits? Its the shell suit wearers I find to be the worse.

This, for some reason, reminds me of the story about the BA flight from Jo'Burg to London. An Afrikaan lady boarded and was sat next to a black guy and instantly kicked up a fuss about sitting next to a "Blick". The cabin crew asked her to stay in her seat and they would sort it out once the flight was airborne.

20 minutes into the flight the stewardess returned to the lady and said that she had spoken to the attendant in first class and he agreed that no one should be made to sit next to an offensive person on a flight and therefore they had found the man a much nicer person to sit next to in first class!!

A truly dimwitted post. Go live in Joburg for 6 months and if you survive, you probably wouldn't want to sit next to a black guy on the plane back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Biggins wrote: »
    Maybe because American waiters rely on tips as partly to make up their wages, he might have a claim that he was discriminated against in trying to do his job in order to also earn those tips?

Ok' he'd get feck all tips from them but he could claim also that he was discriminated against at least in trying to gain equal opportunity, to such earnings, could he not?

This sounds to me like one of those cases where the American justice system is going to get someone for something just to make a public statement on racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Orange69 wrote: »

[A truly dimwitted post] Go live in Joburg for 6 months and if you survive, you probably wouldn't want to sit next to a black guy on the plane back[/A truly dimwitted post]

FYP

I think you post was missing the appropriate coding syntax. Remember to add the brackets to the code and close the code with a /

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Orange69 wrote: »
    A truly dimwitted post. Go live in Joburg for 6 months and if you survive, you probably wouldn't want to sit next to a black guy on the plane back.

As someone who lived in Botswana and travelled around Southern Africa incl Jo'burg once/twice a year for most of my childhood and know people living all around Botswana and SA I find that extremely offensive. I know many who have lived in Jo'burg and they didn't have problems with black guys afterwards. I understand that Jo'burg is dangerous but i don't think that can be a considerable reason to behave like the woman did in this case.

There's still such thing as human rights and dignity.

Biggins wrote: »

Possibly, but it's quite common to sue for psychological or emotional damage.

His lawyers will argue in the context of the waiter being a black person in the US and the impact on him of being asked to accede to a racist request from a customer. If the customer's request was acceptable then there would also be the potential fallout for other black and minority people.

Ironically, many racist people in the past were happy to be waited on by black people while socially enlightened whites weren't so keen.

In one his essays Tom Wolfe describes the fund-raising dinner parties thrown by wealthy white liberals in the sixties for the Black Panthers. The party throwers felt it would be inappropriate to host the Panther leadership while being waited on by black servants so the usual servants were given the day off. Some-times they even went so far as to hire South Americans since US white ethnic staff didn't exactly approve of the black revolutionaries!

So... maybe the hotel's lawyers could argue that the Morgans were in fact earnest anti-racists who felt uncomfortable being waited on by black or immigrant staff since it put them in the historical position of the master being looked after by his black or minority servants :D
    Unfortunately their sincere egalitarian views were misinterpreted by the manager (himself possibly a non-native speaker of English) so therefore the hotel did not act in a deliberately racist manner!

That story does sound a bit modern myth-ey ...

Just for the record I (a white Irish guy)sat beside an Afrikaner lady and a black guy on the BA London-Joburg flight. She was very friendly and talked away to both of us although he was very quiet ...

I did see a woman lose it for a different reason on an Aer Lingus flight several years ago. She had been "bumped down" from business class and started arguing with the attendants that she should be re-instated.

Eventually she was reduced to pleading for a copy of the Irish Times

Woman: "At least give me a copy of the Times ..."
    Male Flight Attendant: "I'm sorry madam, newspapers are for business class only .."
    Woman (shouting): "But they're just there behind the curtain, I can have one when they're finished ..."
    Flight Attendant: "No!"

How we laughed ...