Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I love the commentary on RTÉ after the match.

Hook 'We have the worst scrum in the world!' - such an exaggeration, brillant.

Sadly he's not exaggerating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

The U20's forwards are nowhere near ready. We've an ageing front 5 and not much to replace them. It'll be tough to get the youngsters up to speed after the world cup.

On a positive note the rugby forum makes more some hilarious reading at the moment.
    Woah, so much locked threads. O_O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

The U20's forwards are nowhere near ready. We've an ageing front 5 and not much to replace them. It'll be tough to get the youngsters up to speed after the world cup.

On a positive note the rugby forum makes for some hilarious reading at the moment.

Oh, I know that, unfortunately! Hopefully there's a few provincial players who can step up and form a decent pack with whoever we have left. I'm keeping everything crossed! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

Sadly he's not exaggerating.

They wern't great today but in general they're really good. George Hook is hilarious, he always speaks his mind.

They're good players but not good scrummagers. If every team was fully fit with all players available, Ireland would have the worst scrum out of all the rugby playing nations.

I love listening to Hook though. He said his prediction of Scotland being dark horses was proven right... after they won one match:pac:

Ohh Johnny Wilkinson 5 points behind ROG in the all-time 6 Nations scoring list...makes this match all the more interesting.

They're good players but not good scrummagers. If every team was fully fit with all players available, Ireland would have the worst scrum out of all the rugby playing nations.

I love listening to Hook though. He said his prediction of Scotland being dark horses was proven right... after they won one match:pac:

I thought Ireland was known for it's good scrums?
    Yeah Hook's usually right even if he does go a bit overboard sometimes, love listening to him after a match. Scotland were so close to getting the wooden spoon!

England just scored a try. :eek: This could be good...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭msbrightside

Ireland are known for their good line outs, no so much their scrums...

My bad, always thought our scrums were great though. My mam has now taken over the tv so I can't watch the rugby but it'll be interesting to see who wins, it's been a good match so far anway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Just realised I'll be on the school trip to Cologne during the 1st leg of United - Bayern.

Might have to organise a de-tour to Munich and pick up a ticket outside the Allianz Arena :D

I went to London with my school last year to see King Lear. It just so happened to be on the same day as the last rugby match of the season to see if we would win the championship. My P.E teacher was there too and he was not happy he missed it. We were listening to the match in the taxi on the way to the play and got the results in the middle of it. My P.E teacher stood up half way through and threw his hands in the air and shouting to let everyone else know we had won, the actors wern't too happy. Epic night though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭kev_s88

jumpguy wrote: »
    Ohh Johnny Wilkinson 5 points behind ROG in the all-time 6 Nations scoring list...makes this match all the more interesting.

actually ROG is 1 point ahead of J Wilkinson...O'Gara's 5 points today put him back on the top of the list (or so RTE tells me)...and judging on how Toby Flood is doing so far id be surprised if we see Wilkinson on the pitch today :)

on a plus note, as of this afternoon, we now know who is in our group for the Rugby World Cup next year...we got Australia, Italy, Russia and the USA...lets just hope we can do them all in and take the French down somewhere along the way too :) will make up for all our misadventure in this year's 6 Nations :cool:

kev_s88 wrote: »
    actually ROG is 1 point ahead of J Wilkinson...O'Gara's 5 points today put him back on the top of the list (or so RTE tells me)...and judging on how Toby Flood is doing so far id be surprised if we see Wilkinson on the pitch today :)

on a plus note, as of this afternoon, we now know who is in our group for the Rugby World Cup next year...we got Australia, Italy, Russia and the USA...lets just hope we can do them all in and take the French down somewhere along the way too :) will make up for all our misadventure in this year's 6 Nations :cool:
    Apart from Australia, not a bad group at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Just realised I'll be on the school trip to Cologne during the 1st leg of United - Bayern.

Might have to organise a de-tour to Munich and pick up a ticket outside the Allianz Arena :D

That would be some detour when munich is 350 miles from Cologne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

I haven't even seen the match and I can tell you he should have taken off sexton at half time[he's just not up to scratch yet for international rugby]

I really miss stringer,he was proportionally the strongest rugby player in the world for ages.The first day he stepped on to the pitch he was first choice scrum half for years after,he never was dropped for a mtach apart from injury of which he had very few and then one day TOL takes his place and he's only been back on the pitch once since[internationally]

I thinks it's a sham he's not put on late second half more often,he's the one player,garaunteed to make the team work harder and get a visible shift in the game,just by being there.

as for the pack,we need a more solid front row[hayes isn't good enough,from a rugby point of view] as for second rows I think we're a bit fúcked as far as that's concerned we have one of the best guy sin the world in Paul O'Connell and donnacha isn't to be laughed at either.replacement wise it'll almost certainly be a downgrade.

^^This is why I like to stay out of the rugby forum.It takes too long to leave it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

The limerick lads played well today. Was really happy to clap them off the pitch :)

And with dublin losing to galway today, relegation play-off in parnell park in 2 weeks. DUN DUN DUN!

I haven't even seen the match and I can tell you he should have taken off sexton at half time[he's just not up to scratch yet for international rugby]

I really miss stringer,he was proportionally the strongest rugby player in the world for ages.The first day he stepped on to the pitch he was first choice scrum half for years after,he never was dropped for a mtach apart from injury of which he had very few and then one day TOL takes his place and he's only been back on the pitch once since[internationally]

I thinks it's a sham he's not put on late second half more often,he's the one player,garaunteed to make the team work harder and get a visible shift in the game,just by being there.

Stringer was dropped for Reddan long before TOL came along. Granted it was at a stage when Reddan was playing quite well. He doesn't get selected any more because his pass, the one thing he had over the other scrumhalves, has gone to crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

And with dublin losing to galway today, relegation play-off in parnell park in 2 weeks. DUN DUN DUN!

Up the dubs.

unknown13 wrote: »
    Up the dubs.

haha, yea.
    Well the league can go anyway.
    I'd favour the dubs buuut the league is so unpredictable.
    Offaly turned ye over.
    We could too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

We could too :)

But this time we will not take our forwards off.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

unknown13 wrote: »
    But this time we will not take our forwards off.

Ahh you remember that game! Think Daly just lost the run of himself tbh. I thought Dublin was going to win!

I found out that the gaa board of people made stupid changes. This time 2 years ago Waterford would be in the league semi final, last year fighting for a place in the final. This year they decide to change again so now Waterford are gone altogether.. And all the games in 2 weeks time mean nothing, fail gaa, fail!

Actually except Dublin, Limerick they're fighting not to be relegated..

Cmon limerick :D
    Todays the big day out in parnell park against the dubs to avoid relegation to div2.
    It's being telivised on tg4 for anyone interested.

Dublin are just playing with the ball. Nice of Limerick to try and keep it interesting with the red card though!

deise_girl wrote: »
    Dublin are just playing with the ball. Nice of Limerick to try and keep it interesting with the red card though!

What's the score? I'm not near a tv.

In the last 4mins Dublin got 2 goals :L
    3:26 to 1:10.. Limerick have 14 players
    EDIT: 4:26 now..

In the last 4mins Dublin got 2 goals :L
    3:26 to 1:10.. Limerick have 14 players

:D Good match? I normally go but with the whole Leaving Cert and all I think i'll leave it a few months.

Good in the sense Dublin were never seriously challenged. Limerick fans will argue with here but its been one sided from the start!
    Poor Soccy.. Division 2 next year
    Another goal for Dublin 5.26 to 1.10 now
    EDIT 6-26..

Good in the sense Dublin were never seriously challenged. Limerick fans will argue with here but its been one sided from the start!
    Another goal for Dublin 5:26 to 1:10 now

I prefer when there's more of a competition but can't say i'm disappointed when they win by that much :) There isn't a whole lot of atmosphere when it's one sided though.

Another goal for Dublin 5:26 to 1:10 now

I prefer when there's more of a competition but can't say i'm disappointed when they win by that much. There isn't a whole lot of atmosphere when it's one sided though. Dublin usually find it hard to hold onto the lead but it doesn't sound like that today :)