Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish language?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

This is clearly a very emotive subject.

Out of curiosity, would those posters who clearly loathe the language have a different opinion had they been taught to speak the language?
    ie. Rather than grammar, prose and poetry being taught, how would you feel about half an hour of conversation, as Gaeilge?

I think, given the changes at primary level in how Irish is taught (ie Through music and mime, initially), the students would probably enjoy half an hour of chat.

I know some children who have started school with absolutely no Irish, who are fluent speakers in a year or two.

I'm not sure how effective that would be where the teacher is not a fluent speaker, though? The fact that my local school is an all-Irish school probably helped as well.

Nevertheless, if it works here, there's no reason why it shouldn't work in an English-speaking school, though progress might be a bit slower.

Anyone have any personal experience of this?

Noreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Irish is a mandatory subject for every person attending school in ireland unless that person was born abroad.

It is a compulsory subject. As is maths and english. It is not forced on anyone. When you use that term, it's emotive. If you consider Irish forced, then in the same respect - I consider English forced.
    Then Irish should be made optional and the majority that do want to learn it can continue doing so.

So would you support English being made optional so that those who want to learn it, can continue doing so?
    Those of us who would rather spend countless hours learning something useful can do that instead.

Sorry, but Irish is useful to me. Just because you find not relevance in it, does not make it useless.
    Yes, it is.

No, it's not. There are 100,000 people on this Island who live in Gaeltacht regions, and probably the bones of another 60,000 who either speak or learn Irish outside of school.

A language is only considered dead when it does not have native speakers. Irish has native speakers, and therefore - no matter how much you want it to be dead, it is not a dead language.
    I'm not dictating anything to anyone. I want Irish to be made optional, it is those in favour of Irish remaining mandatory that wish to dictate others.

Yes - you are dictating. You are dictating on what should or should not be a compulsory part of our education. You don't hear us quibbing on about English being a compulsory subject all the time. If Irish is to become optional, then I would ask for the same courtesy to be extended to those who do not wish to learn English.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

dlofnep wrote: »
    Not funny considering the language has been spoken here for well over 1000 years. Coleraine itself is an Irish word which comes from "Chúil Raithin".

Oh god do you have to get offended over that!! I meant it's weird they're speaking different language down there and that Irish thing about coleraine is true but it's plantation town - don't need get. Into can't be bothered

owenc wrote: »
    Oh god do you have to get offended over that!!

I'm not offended. I found it humerous that you find the idea of speaking Irish in Ireland as strange.
    I meant it's weird they're speaking different language down there

How exactly is it weird? There's actually quite a strong Irish language community in Derry. There's probably more Irish speakers in Derry, than there is in my city.
    and that Irish thing about coleraine is true but it's plantation town - don't need get. Into can't be bothered

Well - perhaps you might not find it weird for a language which has been spoken here for the bones of over a 1000 years to be still spoken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Scotland also has a language thats very like Irish, I can understand it a bit

Thats because it is the same language. Merly a different group of dialects

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Thats because it is the same language. Merly a different group of dialects

No, it's not the same language. Scottish Gaelic is a completely different language. I know, I can speak both Irish and basic Scottish Gaelic. It is descended from Middle Irish and it is not merely a dialect of Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Noreen1 wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, would those posters who clearly loathe the language have a different opinion had they been taught to speak the language?
    You should be careful not to make the (all too common) mistake of assuming that those who do not embrace Irish (the language and other cultural aspects) as you do, loathe Irish or Irishness.
    People define their Irishness in different ways, and compared to other aspects of Irish culture such as sport and music/dance, there is a hostility to the language from some which I think comes from its compulsion in schools.
    I have some reservations about the language, I think because of the over-zealousness of the way in which it was promoted by some. Although I have made a couple of efforts since school to learn Irish, but to no avail. The classes I took were supposed to be in spoken Irish (to get back to your question) but alas the tutor pretty much insisted on doing all the talking :(. So I decided after a few classes that I probably wasn't going to learn any more than I already knew. Certainly, I have pretty bad memories of trying to learn Irish grammar in school, I recall getting my homework returned with every page looking like it had the measles with all the red marks :o.

I don't think she's trying to question or judge anyone's "Irishness" - but rather question who out of the detractors of the language can actually speak it? I mean - if people are to claim that something is useless - then wouldn't it have more merit to come from someone who can actually speak it and has an opportunity to use it, rather than someone who has consistently rejected it?

And that's not directed at you lugha (fair play to you for giving it a shot) - but just in general.

No, it's not the same language. Scottish Gaelic is a completely different language.

Is American English a different language to British English ?

What about Hiberno English ?

Judging by this thread and many others of a similar vain, Gaeilge is spoken more about than actually spoken. Sad that there are such strong feeling against it's use.

Sad that there are such strong feeling against it's use.

I havent seen any postings condeming the use of Gaelic among consenting adults ?

Its the compulsion and use of public money that many people have an issue with.

Is American English a different language to British English ?

What about Hiberno English ?

They are dialects of English.

Scottish Gaelic is NOT a dialect of Irish. It has matured into it's own language over the course of nearly 1000 years. Not one linguist considers it a dialect of Irish. You're demonstrating extreme ignorance about the language.

What exactly qualifies you to classify Scottish Gaelic as a dialect of Irish?

I havent seen any postings condeming the use of Gaelic among consenting adults ?

It's the compulsion that only a minority of people have an issue with. Don't pretend to speak on behalf of the majority of anyone. The majority of the Irish people support the Irish language remaining a part of our curriculum and society.

Scottish Gaelic is NOT a dialect of Irish.

I didnt say it was

Scottish Gaelic and Irish Gaelic are dialects (or more accurately groups of dialects) of Gaelic
    Don't pretend to speak on behalf of the majority of anyone. The majority of the Irish people support the Irish language remaining a part of our curriculum and society.

Try taking your own advice (and working on your reading comprehension) sometime ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I can't speak it but I love hearing it being spoken.
    I do it in school like, but I'm shít at it. The only Irish I'd speak regularly would be the odd word like "I'm going to the leithreas(toilet)", "Níl sé", "Sé" etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

It is a compulsory subject. As is maths and english. It is not forced on anyone. When you use that term, it's emotive. If you consider Irish forced, then in the same respect - I consider English forced.
    As a compulsory subject it is forced on those that have no interest in learning it.
    So would you support English being made optional so that those who want to learn it, can continue doing so?
    How can one even compare studying the works of Shakespear or Yeats to that of learning a useless language ?

I think you need to reassess your priorities.
    Sorry, but Irish is useful to me. Just because you find not relevance in it, does not make it useless.
    And it will continue to be useful to you as a choice subject. However those of us who prefare to spend our time constructively can do so without interfering in your right to learn the states offical first language.
    No, it's not. There are 100,000 people on this Island who live in Gaeltacht regions, and probably the bones of another 60,000 who either speak or learn Irish outside of school.

A language is only considered dead when it does not have native speakers. Irish has native speakers, and therefore - no matter how much you want it to be dead, it is not a dead language.
    Ok, how about I change the word dead to useless ? No matter what way you want to look at it there are very few monolingual irish speakers alive today. To me that makes it a dead or useless language, what ever you want to call it.
    Yes - you are dictating. You are dictating on what should or should not be a compulsory part of our education. You don't hear us quibbing on about English being a compulsory subject all the time. If Irish is to become optional, then I would ask for the same courtesy to be extended to those who do not wish to learn English.
    I want to give people a choice in Iearning Irish, I want to give those with a love of the language the ability to excel in it without being held back by those in class with no lust for the (dead/useless) language.

You on the other hand want to force (yes force) those with no desire in the (dead/useless) language to learn it. There by wasteing countless class hours that could be spent learning something useful, i.e Physics, Biology, Mathamatics etc.

Now let me ask you a question: Why should any leaving cert student, any adult (yes those of us over 18 are adults) be forced (yes forced) to learn a (dead/useless) language that we have no need of outside of school ?

I didnt say it was

Scottish Gaelic and Irish Gaelic are dialects (or more accurately groups of dialects) of Gaelic

No, they are not. There is no root language called "Gaelic" alive today. Irish (Gaeilge) and Scottish gaelic (Gaidhlig) are two, individual and unique languages.
    Try taking your own advice sometime ?

Did you actually look at the results of this poll? Find me one poll that demonstrates that the majority fo the public do not support the Irish language remaining a part of our curriculum or society. Find me just one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

As a compulsory subject it is forced on those that have no interest in learning it.

How can one even compare studying the works of Shakespear or Yeats to that of learning a useless language ?

And it will continue to be useful to you as a choice subject. However those of us who prefare to spend our time constructively can do so without interfering in your right to learn the states offical first language.

Ok, how about I change the word dead to useless ? No matter what way you want to look at it there are very few monolingual irish speakers alive today. To me that makes it a dead or useless language, what ever you want to call it.

I want to give people a choice in Iearning Irish, I want to give those with a love of the language the ability to excel in it without being held back by those in class with no lust for the (dead/useless) language.

You on the other hand want to force (yes force) those with no desire in the (dead/useless) language to learn it. There by wasteing countless class hours that could be spent learning something useful, i.e Physics, Biology, Mathamatics etc.

Now let me ask you a question: Why should any leaving cert student, any adult (yes those of us over 18 are adults) be forced (yes forced) to learn a (dead/useless) language that we have no need of outside of school ?

why should i have had to learn the absolute nonsense that was sylvia plaths poetry, or read **** sh!t that was how many miles to babylon or analyse bollocks like the film witness? when it is of absolutely no relevance to what i am currently studying. why should that have been - to use a great AH saying - rammed down my throat? surely that should also be choice as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

and the ye olde english of shakespeare isnt dead?? sure i hear it all the time down on patricks street :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Hello? Hello? History lesson: the English are nothing but a bunch of upstart merchants.
    The old Napoleonic nation of shopkeepers description? For someone who claims educated opinion, that's one helluva blunt and clumsy description. Not far off some english describing us as apes not so long ago. Equally daft. The list of contributions to culture and science by english types is a long one.
    Mere merchants trying to ape the Normans, but, in Ireland anyway, treated with contempt by the Normans for their crude nouveau riche notions.
    Actually its a little more complex than that and Im not sure what you mean by "in Ireland anyway". The Norman ruling class in england did treat the locals and their language with contempt. They invaded in 1066 and it wasnt until edward the third in the mid 14th century where an English king actually born and bred in the place replaced norman french as the official language of england(and that was due to fears his "own" people were about to revolt). It wasnt his first language either. Richard the lionheart, who would be claimed by many english people as one fo theirs couldnt speak a word of the language(and barely lived there at all).

In Ireland the normans were much more integrated from very early on. Marrying locals etc, even speaking the local language. A point noted by norman english types at the time. Much of the animosity in the early days anyway, wasnt so much between irish and english people as between hiberno norman and anglo norman. Not unlike the aggro between england and france at the time actually. Anglo normans and franco normans with the local french and english being dragged along for the ride. There it was even dafter as you had members of the same norman families either side of the channel coming to blows. In fact you could argue the normans of all hues were the shopkeeper nouveaus. The normans are more to blame for the traditional enmity between these islands than the local irish, english scots or welsh. Later generations just kept it going.
    To be intellectual and opposed to this crowd of blood-thirsty, monastery-robbing, land-grabbing peasants that pass as the New English (i.e. the English, as they are now known) is a historically solid position in Ireland.
    Again more complex than you're painting this. Lets look at the monastery robbing. Good old henry the eighth. A man with little to recommend him as a human being. Twat just about covers it. He was Welsh more than english. Considering the irish presence in wales over the millennia, he may well have had more irish than english in him. The english as a nation havent had a "truly english" monarch for a very very long time. Hell the current lot are german hapsburgs.
    Intellectualism, English style, was attained through the barrel of many, many guns and marked by a willingness to break established norms of warfare and engage in mass murder such as the scorched earth policies of Humphrey Gilbert, Walter Devereaux and Richard Bingham. Nothing respectable, never mind intellectual, about that reality.
    Again a very blunt reading of history. "Established norms" of warfare varied quite a bit. IE outside of storybooks there werent any. Look at the civil war in england itself. Look at the various wars europe wide. Scorched earth policies were not exactly thin on the ground. Neither was religious intolerance and massacres on the back of it. The french(again) were unbelievably brutal at the time of the reformation and after in their dealings with protestants. Even the pope at the time was "ah here lads calm the hell down". Even the boogie man cromwell was as bad or good as far as quarter given among his own as he was in ireland and arguably gave more quarter than his continental counterparts would have.

This stuff like the language really depends on the angle one comes at it. Like I was saying to dlofnep I've personally very very rarely heard Irish spoken outside my schooldays. In Irish speaking areas too(and in the scots hebridies ;)). Now I accept that because I dont speak the language Im much less likely to engage with it than someone like dlofnep who does. He's far more likely to hear it as he's far more likely to kickoff a convo in it in the first place. On that basis I would say that between the two extremes of how many actually speak it, the answer lays in the middle. Its not as low as I think it is or have experience of, but its equally not as high as dlofnep thinks it is or has experience of. IMH I'd reckon the figure for daily Irish speakers who would be approaching fluent is around the 60 k mark.

It is not a dead language on that basis, but I would argue its a long way from a living practical language as far as this island goes. In a way that doesnt matter so long as enough people speak it and have use for it. I doubt we'll ever see it being our actual first language. English* is just too strong internationally. In a 1000 years it may be Chinese being the strong one and still so long as say 100,000 are speaking Irish it;ll still be around.

*I still have the feeling that for many the love an promotion of the Irish language is more to do with the cultural baggage and dislike of english.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Did you actually look at the results of this poll? Find me one poll that demonstrates that the majority fo the public do not support the Irish language remaining a part of our curriculum or society. Find me just one.

Did you actually read my post ? Show me where I used the word majority. Whatever about your Irish/Gaelic your English reading comprehension is something you seem to be struggling with ?

Only a minority, as evident by this poll consider it a pointless subject. The majority of the people are content with it's support. English was forced on me as a subject, I had no interest in learning it - but I accepted that it was a part of my curriculum.

Firstly - Irish is not useless. Secondly, Shakespeare is of no use or benefit to me. I've secured a place in a masters degree, without ever requireing Shakespare.

I don't care what you think I should or should not do.

Are you willing to extend the same courtesy to English?
    Ok, how about I change the word dead to useless ? No matter what way you want to look at it there are very few monolingual irish speakers alive today.

But it's not useless. I use it on a daily basis. There are over 100,000 people who speak it on a daily basis. You may find it useless - but that does not mean that it's useless to everyone.

Do you want to give people the choice of learning English?

No, I'm not forcing anything on anyone. I accept that it is a compulsory subject, and I'm not going to moan about it. If you want it to be optional - I would say fine - you have a case there, but I'm asking you if you would offer the same courtesy to those who do not want to study English at leaving cert level (assuming we're both discussing optional subjects for the leaving cert).

Firstly, it's not forced. Secondly - they learn it because it is a compulsory part of their education. It is compulsory because the state feels that the Irish language is unique to the state, and deserves to be preserved. It is compulsory because the majority of the population support it being compulsory.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

In a way dlofnep that's a moot point. Like I said it seems our national character is happier to pay lip service to the language for many reasons, than actually speak it. Its easier to tick a box saying "I love Irish as its part of me" than actually do anything about it. Plus they dont want to hear the "how dare you suggest otherwise" from others. Hell I know a guy who is a real chucky who goes on about the hated engerlish any time he gets the chance, thinks irish culture(think Gaaa etc) is the best and Irish is a wonderful expression of said culture. I speak more irish and bear in mind I speak none or very little

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Did you actually read my post ? Show me where I used the word majority. Whatever about your Irish/Gaelic your English reading comprehension is something you seem to be struggling with ?

I'm not struggling with anything. When you use unquantifiable words like "many" - you are attempting to portray a fake reality.

In my opinion, most people support Irish education. So why should we not respect the wishes of the majority of people?

Wibbs wrote: »
    In a way dlofnep that's a moot point. Like I said it seems our national character is happier to pay lip service to the language for many reasons, than actually speak it. Its easier to tick a box saying "I love Irish as its part of me" than actually do anything about it.

Well - in fairness, it's hard to find time outside of school to put into studying any language. I think many people genuinely would like to be able to speak the Irish language - but I think that needs to start in school, rather than expect an entire population to find the time outside of school.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Plus they dont want to hear the "how dare you suggest otherwise" from others.

Well, it's a private poll. They have the option of ticking whatever box they want and just moving on. I don't feel that people made their choice based on being bullied into it. I think you know that this is not the case.

When you use unquantifiable words like "many" - you are attempting to portray a fake reality.

I am doing nothing of the sort. You seem to be hellbent on persuing this line of accusing me of saying things I didnt actually say even after being pulled up on it ?

English was forced on me as a subject, I had no interest in learning it - but I accepted that it was a part of my curriculum.

Firstly - Irish is not useless. Secondly, Shakespeare is of no use or benefit to me. I've secured a place in a masters degree, without ever requireing Shakespare.
    Yes but to compare an iternational language like english(or french or spanish or mandarin) to a language spoken by a small population is on a practical level comparing apples with oranges. If we never had english(or another international language) the cultural landscape would be the lesser for it. Our ability as a market would be seriously diminished. So cultural notions aside the fact we all speak an international language has been far more a help than a hindrance. it just happens to be english.

I am doing nothing of the sort. You seem to be hellbent on persuing this line of accusing me of saying things I didnt actually say even after being pulled up on it ?

Well - How about you start using words that are more quantifiable rather than saying "many". Many couple be anything from 4 people to 4 million people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

I'm not offended. I found it humerous that you find the idea of speaking Irish in Ireland as strange.

How exactly is it weird? There's actually quite a strong Irish language community in Derry. There's probably more Irish speakers in Derry, than there is in my city.

Well - perhaps you might not find it weird for a language which has been spoken here for the bones of over a 1000 years to be still spoken.

Erm weres that I've been to Derry millions of times and I've never heard Irish.. Maybe your talking about the very edge of Derry which is nearly in donegal but the majority of derry should be as in google maps this is shown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Only a minority, as evident by this poll consider it a pointless subject. The majority of the people are content with it's support. English was forced on me as a subject, I had no interest in learning it - but I accepted that it was a part of my curriculum.
    English should be compulsory, for obvious reasons. A monoligual Irish person will find it very hard living in modern Ireland. However by passing foundation English this monolingual Irish speaker now has a small vocab in English that she can use when she needs.
    You're right, Shakespear is of no use to you. But speaking English is.
    I don't care what you think I should or should not do.
    Ow, don't be like that. I hope we can remain friends.
    Are you willing to extend the same courtesy to English?
    No, as english is the spoken language in the state and as such everbody should be able to speak it.
    But it's not useless. I use it on a daily basis. There are over 100,000 people who speak it on a daily basis. You may find it useless - but that does not mean that it's useless to everyone.
    Sorry to tell you but 100k is a pretty useless number for a language. I would classify any language with 100k bilingual speakers and <1k monoligual speakers dead/useless.
    Do you want to give people the choice of learning English?
    No, because one must speak english in order to live a full life in this state. English is the most spoken language in the world, Irish is a dead/useless language. The two cannot be compared.
    No, I'm not forcing anything on anyone. I accept that it is a compulsory subject, and I'm not going to moan about it. If you want it to be optional - I would say fine - you have a case there, but I'm asking you if you would offer the same courtesy to those who do not want to study English at leaving cert level (assuming we're both discussing optional subjects for the leaving cert).
    And again you make the mistake of thinking Irish and English are even comparable.
    Firstly, it's not forced. Secondly - they learn it because it is a compulsory part of their education. It is compulsory because the state feels that the Irish language is unique to the state, and deserves to be preserved. It is compulsory because the majority of the population support it being compulsory.
    Firstly: It is forced.

Secoundly: So you believe that a person must learn Irish because a group of people seventy years ago tought it would be a good idea ?

As for the majority of people liking it, tell them how much money we would save ayear by sacking every Irish teacher in the country, sinking the Irish translator gravy boat in Brussels and by not reproducing english documents into Irish and I think they would soon turn on Irish.