is anyone else disgusted at this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I opened that and expected news of some sort.. Glenda Gilson's birthday party and Rosanna's maybe sugar Daddy. WHO THE **** CARES!! Thanks for that OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

Biggins wrote: »
    Tell me about it.
    My daughter has to live with it. See HERE

It's a complete disgrace. Why is nobody going to prison for this massive robbery of the Irish people? The following are now responsible for the death of ordinary people who are being denied necessary healthcare, all due to their massive greed:

- bankers
    - property developers
    - the politicians in their pockets
    - estate agents
    - media (publishing biased property supplements supporting house price inflation)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,002 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Loathe as I am to defend Johnny Ronan here, but he's Treasury Holdings involvement in NAMA isn't the same as some of the other creditors. they are involved in NAMA due to the size of the business they had with Anglo Irish Bank, most prominently as funding for the Battersea Power Station project. NAMA has taken over the Anglo involvment (and they are not the only financial institution involved ) in the funding of the project, not Treasury being protected. It's not the same as Liam Carroll, for example.

According to a discussion I heard on on Newstalk anyway.

And who Glenda Gilson or rosanna Davidson is getting the mickey from is not news, nor should it be.
    Are repayments being made according to the schedule agreed at the outset of the loan? Are the investments still sound?

If so, I don't see why the loans would be transferred to NAMA...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 SophieX

Exactly.

The article the OP posted is news worthy. It proves that tax payers are yet again been made look like total morons. Ronan is swanning around the world on a private jet while the 9 to 5 TAX payer is bailing him and his NAMA buddies out. Where in the world would you see the likes of it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Sick fucking country. It's a fucking disgrace so it is, letting these creatures parade around the place with our fucking money while hospitals are closed, children are being taught in rat infested prefabs. I honestly don't know why we put up with this, I'm sick of it.

SophieX wrote: »
    Exactly.

The article the OP posted is news worthy. It proves that tax payers are yet again been made look like total morons. Ronan is swanning around the world on a private jet while the 9 to 5 TAX payer is bailing him and his NAMA buddies out. Where in the world would you see the likes of it:rolleyes:

Zaire with Seko.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 SophieX

Lol well apart from there!

SophieX wrote: »
    Lol well apart from there!

Haughey was as bad, so it isn't something totally alien to this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

Biggins wrote: »
    Tell me about it.
    My daughter has to live with it. See HERE

Ronan and his ilk were members of the party at the FF tent at the Galway races, where the FF's must have been droolling at the mouth whilst surrounded by their new high flying friends and funders... you would have thought that they could have at least asked one of them for the 9.5 million it would have taken to keep the Crumlin hostpital wards open... instead they awarded them lucrative government contracts in exchange for campaign money and god only knows what else. Between them they have wrecked the country... they should be hung, drawn and quartered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Ronan and his ilk were members of the party at the FF tent at the Galway races, where the FF's must have been droolling at the mouth whilst surrounded by their new high flying friends and funders... you would have thought that they could have at least asked one of them for the 9.5 million it would have taken to keep the Crumlin hostpital wards open... instead they awarded them lucrative government contracts in exchange for campaign money and god only knows what else. Between them they have wrecked the country... they should be hung, drawn and quartered

....and still Fitzpatrick and Drumm, the two chief Gombeens in Anglo, have yet to be questioned by the police re: Anglo. This is more than a year after Brian 'Lendahand' Lenihan said heads would roll.

Lads, we live in a Banana Republic. If you expect ANYONE of the Galway tent crowd to be made pay, you'll be waiting.

If you're young and have no debt then you're probably better off out of Ireland. NAMA will capsize the country economically, so get out while you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

To all those getting into a childish tantrum about this. Where the fcuk is the evidence that anything he is doing is with your money?

There was no mention of that in the article. Exactly why are we presuming that he's somehow cheated us? Because he has money? Is that the extent of your ability to reason? That if someone is rich, it is because they stole it? From you? wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I'd give Glenda one over that over yoke Davidson or is she still using daddie's surname to prostitute herself to the media?
    Can't fúckin stand her..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I'm more jealous than disgusted really.

Yea, imagine just pullin out of glenda and straight into chris de burgs daughter..

He's on a winner.

Just shows though, women arent attracted by money.

oh..wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

Johnny Ronan, protected by NAMA, still living the lavish lifestyle he led through the boom years, while his escapades with self absorbed socialites such as Rosanna Davidson make the headlines... who else is protecting these wan*kers... the NAMA 10 were allowed to run up a debt of 16 Billion... now its being passed on to the taxpayer, why is there no-one out on the streets?

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/news-gossip/rumours-fly-after-rosanna-misses-glendas-bash-2091721.html

I agree, its an absolute disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Johnny Ronan, protected by NAMA, still living the lavish lifestyle he led through the boom years, while his escapades with self absorbed socialites such as Rosanna Davidson make the headlines... who else is protecting these wan*kers... the NAMA 10 were allowed to run up a debt of 16 Billion... now its being passed on to the taxpayer, why is there no-one out on the streets?

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/news-gossip/rumours-fly-after-rosanna-misses-glendas-bash-2091721.html

Protected by NAMA??? You really dont have a clue how NAMA works do you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

cooperguy wrote: »
    Protected by NAMA??? You really dont have a clue how NAMA works do you!

of course I do...
    http://www.politics.ie/political-humour/98981-nama-explained-mister-men-style.html :pac:

now, quit trying to defend the indefensible

P.ie well there's a good start:rolleyes:

And he's a property developer how exactly is Nama going to help him out?

P.ie well there's a good start:rolleyes:

And he's a property developer how exactly is Nama going to help him out?

It allows him to continue in business.

Instead of bankrupting him as if he were a normal business (meaning he forfeits the right to be a company director for five years), taking ALL his assets off him (land etc) and enforcing all his personal guarantees, NAMA allows him to continue business as usual.

It sets aside all his liabilities awaiting the day when the 'miracle' of LTEV is realised.

Hence the development of the €300 million port and the work he's doing at Battersea power station (and Treasury's EXTENSIVE work in China).

Unless all profits of these go to the State and repay his debts, NAMA is useless.

Does he not have to keep repaying his loans as normal?

In theory, yes. In reality, in Ireland, no.

Fitzpatrick hasn't started to repay his €100 million loans. David Drumm is fighting to not pay his €8 million.

How many developers can seriously pay back their loans?Even Mick Wallace was on Tubridy a few months back saying these guys couldn't pay back the INTEREST on their loans! The banks were rolling it up!

We're never going to see the developer money again....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

bazmaiden wrote: »
    Well tbh honest those two birds look like they should be working the streets

pics of your bird or gtfo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

**** bailing them out. Let's all refuse to pay taxes and move to the Isle of man, leaving all these rich cnuts left on this Island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 muppet26

z

lol are u serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The 'Rumble in Ranelagh'. Jesus the Indo is some sack of shit.

dotsman wrote: »
    To all those getting into a childish tantrum about this. Where the fcuk is the evidence that anything he is doing is with your money?

There was no mention of that in the article. Exactly why are we presuming that he's somehow cheated us? Because he has money? Is that the extent of your ability to reason? That if someone is rich, it is because they stole it? From you? wtf?

Don't suppose you've ever heard of Carl Sagan? Well he once said regarding the universe and extra terrestrial life that; "absence of evidence is not evidence of absence", I think the same rule applies to these fuckers. Seriously, look at it like this (we'll even use Occam's Razor).
    Suppose there was no NAMA, Banks Guarantee etc... what do you think would happen to said developer in the greatest property bubble crash to hit this country and the developed world in a century? Well market forces would take hold and he'd become insolvent and bankrupt (i.e. like a lot of American developers and bankers).
    Why is this? Like any developer in the last 20 years, his business model was based on a continuous credit flux from lending institutions, payable at a relatively low interest rate and netting him profit due to the extortionate house prices during the peak of the boom. Instead what has emerged is that market forces have been countered through NAMA etc... his debts (and trust me, he had debts) are now our debts. And you say 'sure he probably had to pay some off' and that he did, but minus the interest because banks love their developers (there was a prime time special on it last year).
    So really, in this case:
    NAMA bales out rich developer, costs the Irish citizen €54 billion (we're paying his debt, he saves his money), developer is now debt free (i.e. spending our money or money that should go to pay his own debts) = going off on holiday with tart pinhead.
    So the simplest answer really is, this dickhead is getting away with debt, while the a tens of thousands of people are paying exponentially high mortgages on property that has halved in value, while facing unemployment, increased taxation, poor physical infrastructure, low employment prospects, poor health care, poor education. So yeh, it's a tantrum alright, we're just super jealous that this dick can have a holiday and a bird under his arm...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Teddy Chips

I wonder if anyone gave Glenda a saddle for her birthday so she could ride herself up the hill of self importance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

He'd have Chris De Burgh singing at his wedding, karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

El Siglo wrote: »
    NAMA bales out rich developer, costs the Irish citizen €54 billion (we're paying his debt, he saves his money), developer is now debt free (i.e. spending our money or money that should go to pay his own debts) = going off on holiday with tart pinhead.

I honestly don't think you understand NAMA.

Nobody has actually paid off anyone's debts. The debts have moved from the bank's balance sheets to NAMA's Balance sheets. The sole purpose of this was, rather than have a developer claim bankruptcy now and walk away from his/her debt, he/she can repay that debt over the life of NAMA (circa 10 years), thus he/she repays a lot more (ideally the full debt, with interest).

muppet26 wrote: »
    z

lol are u serious?
    Feel free to explain it to me so. They just change who they make their payment to. If they cant pay then NAMA takes the asset off them just like the bank would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

Rabble rabble rabble.... Baaaa!