Other people standing for the National Anthem

krudler wrote: »
    Whats that got to do with what I said? I never mentioned lyrics, just said most people wouldnt know the Spanish anthem if it was played to them, same as those Spaniards may not have know the Irish anthem

Sorry, I just saw you mention their anthem and it reminded me of a pub quiz question i heard a while ago. Wasn't picking holes in your point or anything............although,..........If i was to pick holes in your point, I might say that if I was in a pub in Spain and every Spainiard stood up and fell silent I'd assume it was their anthem and would probably stand as well out of respect.
    NothingMan wrote: »
    You really seem to see the world through wierd colour glasses. You insult a poster then claim you were infracted for being patriotic. 26 + 6 = 1? That way of thinking leads to some very bad actions by the ignorant few. Why can't you argue your point without resorting to name calling or other people in extreme cases, car bombs.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Puck wrote: »
    I believe you called him a "total loser", that there's personal abuse and is against the charter.

Out of curiosity, without looking it up somewhere, could you give me the English translation of the Irish national anthem and explain to me why you love it so much?

Or that it was written in English first then translated into Irish, not the other way round?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

this is my respect face.

Not bad.

This is my ban face. :mad:

Banned for ignoring on-thread mod warning and trolling. Nothing to do with your country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

I thought we buried all of the pomp and ceremony of nationalist sentimantility in some ploughed up field in Flanders.

I'm a pretty passive person but I just find the trumpet blowing and drum beating of nationalists wallowing in some sort of glory by virtue of birth to be such a vexing concept.

That kind of self-important glorification of the state one chances to have been born in played a significant part in Ireland's misery for so long that I wonder why so many Irish people yet subscribe to it. Symbolic nationalism does no good. The National anthem means nothing, and should be afforded such proportionate attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Again, I don't care about being banned but stand over my comment.

You sort of sound like you want to get banned to me fuelinjection. Nobody cares about how much pride you have, you called someone a total loser and that is against the charter. So either stop posting in the thread or stop derailing it with "poor me/I'm going to go down for my country... any second now..." posts and contribute something to the debate...

Anyways, I do think it's only fair that people stand for the National Anthem at matches, it is an established part of the game for both sides to do so and that, seems fair enough to me. I do cringe a little when it comes on in bars though, not because of what it is but for what it invites (the aforementioned inevitable "up the ra" bollixology)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    You sort of sound like you want to get banned to me fuelinjection.

Not exactly Robert Emmett from the dock is it?

Sacrifice for one's ideals were bettah in t'old days. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Pointless nationalistic sentiment, IMO. Stand or don't, we live in a country where people have the freedom to do either and that is what should be respected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Dave! wrote: »
    Oh god I cringe and die a little inside when the national anthem is played in a pub

Any reason why? Or just the usual first post thanks whoring?

Nothing wrong with the anthem being played, nothing wrong with standing up for it either, nothing wrong with people trying to sing it, they're probably pissed drunk either way. I do have a problem with those disrespecting other peoples beliefs, I do have a problem with those patriots giving shít to others for not standing up for it.

Each to their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Nothing wrong with the anthem being played, nothing wrong with standing up for it either, nothing wrong with people trying to sing it, they're probably pissed drunk either way. I do have a problem with those disrespecting other peoples beliefs, I do have a problem with those patriots giving shít to others for not standing up for it.

Each to their own.
    Nah no reason, I was just first post thanks whoring

shhh, though -- I could make post of the day at this rate !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

This is what we're told it's meant to be... to be patriotic.

There's nothing patriotic about drunken, idiotic chants about murderers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭KaiserMc

For the people that find some Irish people's disdain of the British embarrassing ,it is not endemic to the Irish ,there are plenty of British people in British pubs doing the exact same thing as our patriotic Irish brothers and sisters.On a scale of who is more 'Insulting' towards their neighbours and fellow continentals the British win hands down. This sort of thing goes on with neighbours throughout Europe,you will find that most countries have historical gripes with their bordering neighbours and many enjoy expressing this disdain when given the opportunity,although some find it embarrassing there are many who don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

robinph wrote: »
    Because they got rid of the words as they felt they were too nationalistic, bit of a strange problem with the words of a national anthem I'd have thought.

Not exactly because they were too nationalistic rather about who they were associated with, namely Franco, the dictator. Same as Germany really, they dropped the verse of lyrics that were used under the Nazis, but at least they kept another verse.
    I'd rather sing God Save The Queen at the end of the night than get tarred with the same brush as those knuckle-dragging morons.

As indeed I did last year in a Dublin pub as loud as I could. There was an elderly retired couple in watching the Ireland v England match and they were the receiving end of abuse from a group of tossers. So I sang it out loud as I could myself in my Irish jersey and that shut the prats up right quickly, should've seen the look on their faces. :D Ha classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

KaiserMc wrote: »
    For the people that find some Irish people's disdain of the British embarrassing ,it is not endemic to the Irish ,there are plenty of British people in British pubs doing the exact same thing as our patriotic Irish brothers and sisters.On a scale of who is more 'Insulting' towards their neighbours and fellow continentals the British win hands down. This sort of thing goes on with neighbours throughout Europe,you will find that most countries have historical gripes with their bordering neighbours and many enjoy expressing this disdain when given the opportunity,although some find it embarrassing there are many who don't.

Towards the French and Germans, they don't give a crap about Ireland. You won't find the same anti French or German bias though when they may be playing some other non-UK team though as you will when England are playing Timbuktu and the Irish are suddenly all from the "other" country that they have never heard of before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Nothing wrong with the anthem being played

imo its the most redneck, smalltime thing imaginable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

prinz wrote: »
    As indeed I did last year in a Dublin pub as loud as I could. There was an elderly retired couple in watching the Ireland v England match and they were the receiving end of abuse from a group of tossers. So I sang it out loud as I could myself in my Irish jersey and that shut the prats up right quickly, should've seen the look on their faces. :D Ha classic.

I've a few friends who did that too. It certainly shocks the midless anti-English bigots when they see someone in an Irish jersey singing God Save The Queen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

the 'cause' was in fact bail money for a joyrider.

WTF?! that is crazy.

anyway, i don't think the national anthem should be played in niteclubs, its so out of place and also, boring... play another britney ffs :pac:

I've a few friends who did that too. It certainly shocks the midless anti-English bigots when they see someone in an Irish jersey singing God Save The Queen.

I remember seeing the cameras zoom in on a few people happily singing away to GSTQ in Croke Park during the first Ireland v England rugby match whilst wearing their Ireland jerseys.

WTF?! that is crazy.

International Bar, Dublin - Sunday afternoon. I haven't been back in but I've seen the same guys outside smoking on a regular basis so I imagine it's more of the same. Drop in if you want to be amazed at how stupid people can be.

robinph wrote: »
    I remember seeing the cameras zoom in on a few people happily singing away to GSTQ in Croke Park during the first Ireland v England rugby match whilst wearing their Ireland jerseys.

I was glad that there was respect shown for GSTQ at that match. It was great to see that not everyone is as thick as those who'll hassle someone for simply being English.

They must have been concerned about how it would all go down, but having rugby before football, and France before England will have all been part of the plan to make it all go smoothly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

.......The mindless thicks who start YAHOOING in Croke Park before the Anthem is finished playing.!!!!! What is that all about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Elenxor wrote: »
    .......The mindless thicks who start YAHOOING in Croke Park before the Anthem is finished playing.!!!!! What is that all about??

Cheering on your team and 'tis tradition!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

fletch... wrote: »
    It really p**sses me off to be honest, il use one of last christmass get togethers for a rough example. The pub is fairly packed, people are mostly drunk, the national anthem comes on. Idiots who dont even know the words doing their best to be heard over everyone els, then more idiots start shouting F*ck the brits and tiochaigh ar la and all sorts of crap like that.
    meanwhile my English girlfriend of 7 years has to pretend it doesnt bother her while my english Brother in law whos just visiting for xmass wants out of the pub.

There isn't many things I depise with a passion but the dimwits who shout 'IRA' and 'Sinn fein' during the chorus of The Fields of Athenry are pretty far up my most hated list.

My favourite thing to do in that situation is to say 'Oh so your a supporter of Sinn Fein, what did you think of their programme for goverment in the last general election?' Its usually dumb idiots who vote for Fianna Fail and would never vote for Sinn Fein who think its 'cool' to shout out anti imperialist slogans that they know nothing about.
    Elenxor wrote: »

Ah I kinda like that, Everyone is so excited for the game to start that they just can't contain themselves. What is really bad is when people start yelling during one minute silences.Who are those ejits?

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    There's nothing patriotic about drunken, idiotic chants about murderers.

How do you equate "murderers" with our National Anthem? and what Anthem do you respect?...none, I suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭wasper

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    I was in the pub the other night, and as it was a live music situation the National Anthem was played last. Most of us stood for it, however there was a group of Spanish students at the table next to us who decined to do so. After the Anthem was finished, a group of men wandered over to the table and started giving the students hassel for "disrespecting Ireland" - nothing violent or anything mind, they just seemed annoyed by it. I found this quite odd, as surely these same lads wouldn't stand for God Save the Queen if they were at an event in the UK now would they?

So what about ye? Do ye get upset when you see people sitting for the anthem, or could ye care less?
    I usually make an excuse &go to the toilet at the moment of signing. I think it's stupid & very fascistic in a way. Drink & politics don't mix.
    Why don't they do this in restaurants at closing time or any other place for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Each to their own.

Why play it in a pub, why not go the whole hog like the US and play it at the start of business each day, for example when Arnotts open, then again when it closes, and then play it at the end of each working day ? Feic it, why not play it as the Angelus !

My parents emigrated when I was a small child, fortunately I was lucky enough to return home in my early 20,s...I never learned the Irish Language, but I was always surprised when I asked what the words of the Anthem meant in English. No one seemed to be able to tell me, I made it my business to find out and so for those of you who care, here it is....

Soldiers are we, whose lives are pledged to Ireland
    Some have come, from a land beyond the sea
    Sworn to be free, no more our ancient Sireland
    shall shelter the despot or the slave
    to-night we man the Bar na Geal for Eireanns' cause
    from woe or wail, mid cannons roar and rifles peel
    we will chant a Soldiers Song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Puck

The thing is I'm not a soldier and my life is not pledged to Ireland (there are some things I am quite prepared to die for but the state is not one). So I don't like to sing the national anthem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

After the Anthem was finished, a group of men wandered over to the table and started giving the students hassel for "disrespecting Ireland".

Ah yes. Ireland's 'soldiers'; picking on Spanish students in a pub. It fills me with pride.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Frankie7

I work in a GAA club bar with live music every sat and sun night. National Anthem is usually played after and talk about a look that would turn ya to stone. We get some serious evil eyes if we evn dare to do our job of cleaning up while the Anthem is on. Also ya get the same eejits giving a band hassle at the end of the night if they dont play the Anthem.