Cobh's 'White Witch' Helen Barrett- What are your experiences with her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Sinall

Oh christ I'm laughing so hard at that right now. :pac: I'll tell you what though.. I was reliably informed that she has predicted that there'll be an earthquake in Tramore either a year or a couple of years from now (cant remember which year), and shes been tellin people that they'll be part of the rescue operation when it happens!! Obviously they laughed.
    I know someone who knows about all this sh!te (earthquake in Tramore prediction) and who also knows a geologist. Funnily enough now,she (the geologist) said that it isnt unlikely that Tramore will get an earthquake because of the earth platelets forming a sort of junction point to another platelet around that area. :rolleyes:

Interestingly I have family near Tramore and spend a bit of time there....will post here again should I ever save someone from an earthquake in Tramore! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭tobytobe

I was meant to see the witch once and she either didn't turn up or just plain didn't answer the door and whenever I see her now she gives me a creepy look so I have convinced myself she didn't want to see me cos it was bad news!!! I could be about to pop my clogs any minute so could someone please PM me Stephanie's no?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭MrMojoRisin

tobytobe wrote: »
    I was meant to see the witch once and she either didn't turn up or just plain didn't answer the door and whenever I see her now she gives me a creepy look so I have convinced myself she didn't want to see me cos it was bad news!!! I could be about to pop my clogs any minute so could someone please PM me Stephanie's no?

Thanks!

Believe me that behaviour of hers isn't unique to just yourself. She has a reputation for not bothering her hole showing up for readings,usually wit no notice given. The White Witch also gives most people the creepy eye. It's the only look within her limited range of looks that she has. I wouldnt worry about her possibly telling u bad news if she had seen you because she's sh!te at doing readings anyway. She couldn't tell the future if a fella who was on fire ran in front of her and asked her. Shes crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sazzer

can someone send me on number of one of those fortune tellers in cork please, ie the white witch in Cobh or Veronica in Black Pool thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 astridruelon

HOW DO I GET AHOLD OF HER????!!!! What is her contact info, I just moved to cork and I am super interested in seeing someone with this ability. Nothing like that in southern california

HOW DO I GET AHOLD OF HER????!!!! What is her contact info, I just moved to cork and I am super interested in seeing someone with this ability.

Look, no offence now but if you even read through the whole thread properly,you'd know by now that the White Witch is a chancer. A fool. I think this lady does her (not very good) readings for six reasons...

1) It keeps her public visibility up and keeps people talking about her (whether they're saying good or bad things), which is handy for when she wants to get her name in to do media appearances and all the rest

2) She has forged an agreement with Failte Ireland because shes seen as a 'tourist attraction' in Cobh.

3) Her doing readings for people allows her to build and maintain a useful contacts network for herself

4) The readings are a bit of an auld interest and a bit of craic for her.

5) It's handy pocket money for her.

6) Every village needs an idiot and she happily fulfills that role

But if u really want to meet her for a wee reading,check your PM inbox.

I'd never actually actively discourage the people wanting to see her when they realise it's all a great laugh. It's just the people who really believe she's a genuine psychic and a 'medium' and all this other stuff and they are in search of assistance that I'd say,'No, stay away'.
    Nothing like that in southern california

I bet there isn't :pac: :pac: :pac:

The Witch was speaking at that Ghost Convention in the old Gaol last night. Did anyone go? Id love to have heard what she said for the laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 notaclue2blu

Hi I was at the Ghost convention. I have never seen or heard the White Witch before but I was shocked at her. To me she was like someone drunk or totally off her trolley. NUTS. You couldn't hear her properally, she was rambling, changing her train of thought continously so you never knew what she was on about, laughing to herself. Loads of people were in stitches at her & not for the right reasons. The recession will go out with a bang Paddy weekend next year & a meteor will hit Cork & divide Ballincollig from Cork & it will be flooded on 21st Dec 2012. There will be a militry barracks with thousands of men & women in uniform in Cobh & she asked everyone being bullied to ask "Dancing Waterfall" who is an 8' man to help them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭LCDeelite

Look, no offence now but if you even read through the whole thread properly,you'd know by now that the White Witch is a chancer. A fool. I think this lady does her (not very good) readings for six reasons...

1) It keeps her public visibility up and keeps people talking about her (whether they're saying good or bad things), which is handy for when she wants to get her name in to do media appearances and all the rest

Look, whatever her reasons are for doing readings, I’d just let her off. Don’t we all have reasons or motivations for doing things? But, yes, it makes sense how being active in what you do (whether that involves giving people psychic readings, or otherwise) in the community is obviously going to sustain your professional visibility.
    6) Every village needs an idiot and she happily fulfills that role

But if u really want to meet her for a wee reading,check your PM inbox.

I'd never actually actively discourage the people wanting to see her when they realise it's all a great laugh. It's just the people who really believe she's a genuine psychic and a 'medium' and all this other stuff and they are in search of assistance that I'd say,'No, stay away'.

Ah, come on, that’s a bit harsh. Take it easy on her. I actually don’t think she even does readings for people anymore because her health has deteriorated of late. I think she’s suffering from problems with her heart, or something like that. Well, despite her coming out with some bizarre words in her readings for people - as recounted by people on here, and elsewhere – I suppose she has given a lot more than she has ever taken, if that makes sense? I’m sure she has given some people a bit of reassurance by just inviting them in and hearing what they had to say, or by listening to what they wanted to ask her. In that respect, I believe she has given a lot to people.
    For many years, when she first began to read for people, she never asked them for money. The most she would ask for was a 'donation' of a packet of cigarettes, or something, if people wanted to do that. Then she started asking people for £10, eventually rising to £15, then €20, followed by €25. It was hardly a fortune - tuppence compared to what some in this field are charging people nowadays (anything from €50+ - I was shocked when someone asked me recently if I thought it was a good idea for them to visit some woman in Galway who charges €150 for a reading. :eek: Obviously, the answer was a resounding NO). So, it's crystal clear that the White Witch's motivation for doing readings has never been money-driven. But you can kind of tell that from talking to her anyway because she comes across as being totally absorbed in, and enthralled with, what she does. I mean, it makes her very happy to do what she does - and all in the face of ridicule and blanket scepticism (some justified, I know), too.
    I suppose the world would be a far poorer and much less interesting place without Helen/the White Witch really. :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭LCDeelite

Hi I was at the Ghost Convention. I have never seen or heard the White Witch before but I was shocked at her. To me she was like someone drunk or totally off her trolley. NUTS. You couldn't hear her properly, she was rambling, changing her train of thought continuously so you never knew what she was on about, laughing to herself. Loads of people were in stitches at her, and not for the right reasons.

The recession will go out with a bang during Paddy's weekend next year and a meteor will hit Cork and divide Ballincollig from Cork, and it will be flooded on 21st Dec 2012. There will be a military barracks with thousands of men and women in uniform in Cobh, and she asked everyone being bullied to ask "Dancing Waterfall" who is an 8' man to help them.

People usually laugh at her when she speaks at the Ghost Convention, but she seems to find it all as hilarious as they do, which kind of takes guts, tbh. She's well aware that people are taking the mickey out of her, but I think she can detach herself from all of it to the point where she's observing the hilarity of it all herself. She probably thinks sometimes that it's actually really amusing to find herself standing before a microphone in front of an audience of predominantly strangers and telling them about otherwordly beings and predicting future events, at a convention about ghosts. It's funny when you look at it all that way. :) She's naturally an eccentric person, which can seem "nuts" to people who are unused to eccentricity in the people who are usually around them.

Whether she was drunk or just nuts, I don't think she's enjoying the best of (physical) health at the moment, so I'd give her a break. She might be taking medication that makes her feel a bit giddy. You never know. All in all, it's tough going to prop yourself up in front of an annually changing retinue of random people and tell them about things that they've scarcely heard of, or that they understand. Yeah, the eight feet tall 'Dancing Waterfall' man who people can just summon sounds totally 'out there' alright, but who knows?? If she believes he exists, then good luck to her, I suppose.

As for her predictions... All I can say is that we can only wait and see...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Lizzzy

Just joined this site so thought that I could put my tuppance worth in! I went to see Helen recently - friends of mine had been and had been quite impressed with her.

In honesty I dont know - my friends had all been very excited by their readings - but all results together showed that all of our sons who are here and still to come would be in the European Army - with the Lisbon treaty who knows?

There was one thing Helen said to me that I would dearly love to come to pass - and I'll probably be able to confirm this in perhaps 15 years - my daughter is special needs - Helen told me that I would be able to make her unlimited by then due to the increasing break throughs in stem cell research. This would be beautiful of course.

Helen did see that I was seperated - she got the ages correct of some of my life events - and there were certainly some life events that she saw that would not be the normal run of the mill for most peoples lives

Yes I was a little phased by her and I would agree with previous writer that she isnt in the best of health at present - but all said - I am pleased that I met Helen - and really liked her as a person.

Im glad I hadnt read any of this thread before I went as I doubt I would have gone - and I think I would have missed out on a very intersting life experiance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Tricia Nation

Hi, I was just searching for Stephanie in Cobh who I went to a couple of years ago and thought she was fantastic, I am looking for her number and I am wonder do you still have it and if so can you mail it to me.
    If you did go to see her how did you get on ?

Tricia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Tricia Nation

Did you ever get the number for Stephanie in Cobh of the other one in Cork ? if so would you mail me them !!!

Tricia

Lizzzy wrote: »
    Just joined this site so thought that I could put my tuppance worth in! I went to see Helen recently - friends of mine had been and had been quite impressed with her.

In honesty I dont know - my friends had all been very excited by their readings - but all results together showed that all of our sons who are here and still to come would be in the European Army - with the Lisbon treaty who knows?

There was one thing Helen said to me that I would dearly love to come to pass - and I'll probably be able to confirm this in perhaps 15 years - my daughter is special needs - Helen told me that I would be able to make her unlimited by then due to the increasing break throughs in stem cell research. This would be beautiful of course.

Helen did see that I was seperated - she got the ages correct of some of my life events - and there were certainly some life events that she saw that would not be the normal run of the mill for most peoples lives

Yes I was a little phased by her and I would agree with previous writer that she isnt in the best of health at present - but all said - I am pleased that I met Helen - and really liked her as a person.

Im glad I hadnt read any of this thread before I went as I doubt I would have gone - and I think I would have missed out on a very intersting life experiance.

When did she say this European Army would start up? Just so we know exactly in advance if it does happen...

If I'm to believe what I've been told, she's going to be on 96fm tomorrow morning with the mighty Neeeeil Prendeville. That should be a laugh. :D

It turns out she was on with Neil on the Tuesday (December 1st). I can't get 96fm up here but they said she was going on about the horrors of 2012, Ireland coming out of the recession next year and Barack Obama being shot in a military parade. Did anyone hear her on the radio? I'd be interested in more details. It's a balls that they don't leave podcasts of Neil Prendeville's show,yet they have ones for that stupid early breakfast segment alright. :mad:

Came across this recent enough article on her tho..

Cork Independent online:
    "At a very young age, I saw thousands of soldiers of mixed race march down the street in Cobh," she says, explaining that she believes that a huge European army military base will be located there. And in the not-too-distant future either. Helen shared something special with her grandaunt, as both had the signature of fate on their palms, the Ladder of Success, a symbol of leadership in witchcraft.

Leading a total of 155 Cork wizards and witches, Helen uses her crystal ball and psychic ability every day and places an unshakeable ‘matter-of-fact' faith in her palm-reading skills.

Her home is constantly under siege from curious members of the public, all with appointments of course. And Helen confides that her phone rings off the wall each day with anticipation from those seeking psychic guidance. Helen's first premonition occurred through an astral projection experience, which has been widely reported, as the seven-year-old Cobh girl travelled in spirit to the tragic Stardust fire in 1980.

Since then, she has predicted the death of Lady Diana Spencer, John F Kennedy and Barack Obama. "Obama has a short life line on his palm. It may happen in a military parade but he will pass away near water," she says.

There are good things ahead for Ireland though, according to Helen. "Ireland has fallen under the power of Taurus and it will be oil and gas that will bring Ireland into huge wealth. It is destined to happen and soon.

Full article,
    page 1: http://www.corkindependent.com/profiles/profiles/white-witch:-helen-barrett/

Page 2: http://www.corkindependent.com/profiles/profiles/white-witch%3a-helen-barrett/1/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Bluebell35

I didn't read this whole thread lol I will tomorrow when i'm more awake but long story short I went to the white witch when I was 21 i'm 35 now and every single thing she told me up until now happened. I have tried to poke holes in her reading but I can't. She told me some exact details about my life that nobody could possibly predict randomly. I do think she's a bit nutty but I think having that kind of gift could possibly drive you around the bend. Also she didn't charge me a penny just said I could donate if I want, I gave her a fiver lol if I knew how accurate she was I would have given her more.

Bluebell35 wrote: »
    I didn't read this whole thread lol I will tomorrow when i'm more awake but long story short I went to the white witch when I was 21 i'm 35 now and every single thing she told me up until now happened. I have tried to poke holes in her reading but I can't. She told me some exact details about my life that nobody could possibly predict randomly. I do think she's a bit nutty but I think having that kind of gift could possibly drive you around the bend. Also she didn't charge me a penny just said I could donate if I want, I gave her a fiver lol if I knew how accurate she was I would have given her more.

Well, if you're 35 now that means you saw the White Witch in around 1995. AFAIK she was very talented then. By all accounts her 'gift' has only dwindled during the past 5-10 years, and her quality of physical health (or its increasing lack) seems to be linked to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 quitepossibly

Can someone PM me Helen Barretts number please? Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ammotwomey

Tupps wrote: »
    Hiya,

I have the White Witches number if you want to pm me.

Tupps

hi,

can you send me on a contact number for the white witch in cobh

ta

ann marie

Can someone PM me Helen Barretts number please? Cheers!

So how did you get on with her? She's supposed to be near-impossible to get a hold of to start with, before any hint of a reading happens at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 desil

[quoteLCDeelite/]Annette Singleton in Cork city, or Stephanie in Cobh instead...So, the overall verdict is that Annette is very, very good. She's also a genuinely lovely person.

i never heard of annette singleton until u mentioned her recently but ill take your word for it. stephanie doesnt get as talked about as much as the white witch but she should because shes deadly[/QUOTE]

do you have the number for stephanie in cobh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 desil

has anyone the number of Stephanie in Cobh and Annette Singleton in Cork as i was looking for the white witch but if they are better i rather go to one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

You can get numbers for Annette and Stephanie at http://www.paranormal.ie/directory.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 clonagirl

Hi! Two of my friends went to see Stephanie a couple of years ago. Told them what they wanted to hear but none of her future predictions came true. :( Went to veronica in blackpool myself, felt she was a bit on the negative side. However, two things she predicted came true soon after the reading. I will have to wait until the end of the year to see if she was right with the rest of her predictions! Thought betty near the silversprings was useless!! Couldn't read me at all!!:mad: I'm going to Peter Mathew next month, does anyone know if he's any good?

clonagirl wrote: »
    Hi! Two of my friends went to see Stephanie a couple of years ago. Told them what they wanted to hear but none of her future predictions came true. :(

Okay, so -1 for Stephanie in Cobh so.
    Went to Veronica in Blackpool myself, felt she was a bit on the negative side. However, two things she predicted came true soon after the reading. I will have to wait until the end of the year to see if she was right with the rest of her predictions!

The good things I've heard about her ability outnumber the bad things, so I'd say she's 50/50 really.
    Thought Betty near the Silversprings was useless!! Couldn't read me at all!!:mad:

I've heard her name being mentioned a few times in the past but I never heard anything about her readings and whether or not they were good or sh!te. Sounds like she's one that people should avoid anyway.
    I'm going to Peter Matthew next month, does anyone know if he's any good?

I've heard five excellent reviews about his readings and, based on those, I ventured along to see the man for myself before Christmas. I was talking about it a little on here last month.
    [...] I saw this bloke named Peter Matthew just before Christmas after hearing about a half a dozen rave reviews, and I was pretty damn amazed afterwards. I had only given him my first name beforehand and, even so, I don't have any personal, traceable (based on my first name, which is a common enough name, btw), info posted for public consumption on the net. I dunno how the f uck he knew all these names of deceased relatives I have and how they died, or how he gave me messages from one of my nans about actions I had taken privately and in seclusion. Highly specific stuff that you can't get by cold reading me. I have met scam sham twats claiming to be psychic in the past, btw. You have to live and learn, and sift through the sh*t to find the gold. Anyway, yer man had me fairly shaken for about a day or two after the reading. If you think you'd like to give a reading with him a lash, his details are here.

The information he came out with was very specific and detailed. One mate of mine suggested that he might have been able to do some background research on me in the intervening weeks before the reading, but, as I said above, I don't have anything personal under my real name on the internet. I even 'Googlebaited' myself (looked myself up) using both my real first name and my real full name and I couldn't find anything - the nearest results (if you could even call them near at all) were some people in the USA who share my name and who have their professional profiles on LinkedIn. And no, there's no connection between us despite sharing the same name.

I still haven't figured out how Matthew knew what he knew about me and long-dead family members. There were a few things he said that made no sense to me at all and I even went to the trouble of querying near and distant family members about that stuff afterwards, but that didn't bear any fruit. Unless they were playing stupid with me. Like, one of the details was about a miscarried baby boy. That might have been a bit of a sensitive issue. My Mam said that a cousin of ours may have had a miscarriage before. Then again, miscarriages are common things. It'd be fair game for a 'medium' to throw that one into the reading - everyone knows at least one person in their whole family (near and distant) who's miscarried a baby.

But Matthew made me a bit nervous when he was able to describe my actions in my own room that I had done a few weeks beforehand (nothing weird, btw) and of which nobody knew anything about. And then the detailed info (first names on the first go, and where exactly they lived when they were alive, etc) about dead relatives of which I was already well aware.

Anyway, getting a bit OT here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 clonagirl

Thanks for the info re Peter Mathew! I'll let you know how it goes! Forgot to mention the famous white witch in my last post! Needless to say, she got everything wrong!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭virgo69

Hi there, new to this, just had a look at Peter Mathews website it says he can do readings by email, anyone ever tried this and do you recommend????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Oein

I'm sure she is a wonderful woman in person but I cant help but feel confused in regards to the comment of head of the council of Elders... has anyone heard of this council? While such occult things may indeed be kept in the shadows from the eyes of everyday man I cant help but feel it is unusual that there is no reference to them beyond her name.

Can anyone enlighten me on this matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 kitchykoo

hey, could someone please pm me both helen barrets and stephanies numbers! thanks:o