Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

MW2 has turned into a joke...

• 04-02-2010 11:34AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭

The time has come to quit this game until some drastic changes are made or I find another game.

I find it hard to believe some of the crap that goes on in this game, the most annoying being the Usain Bolt moon walkers with 15 foot long arms who are impervious to bullets. Its absolutely ridiculous. Played a game last night and this bloke literally ran around in circles stabbing people from miles away, no one could touch him, everyone just left.

Air support is down right stupid as well, some dude got a kill streak of 7 within about 2 mins, 2 mins later he has a nuke down to air support - yeah baby, lets play for 4 minutes and everyone gets nuked... Stupid....

Rant over...

Time to put it down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

You're doing it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Keyzer wrote: »
    Air support is down right stupid as well, some dude got a kill streak of 7 within about 2 mins, 2 mins later he has a nuke down to air support - yeah baby, lets play for 4 minutes and everyone gets nuked... Stupid....

Yeah baby, lets play a game where noboby knows what Cold Blooded and a Stinger can do. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Hercule

the game was always a joke - its just a shame it so many people bought it to find out the hard way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

The only thing people should be giving out about is the Matchmaking and host Migration

Everything else has a counter measure to stop it as suggested above.

Air support - cold blooded & stinger
    Commando - stop running up to him, shoot him a medium-far range
    boosters - kill / leave game / follow them to games to pee them off

I think the main problem people have is 'having' to change class to adapt to the game..

"Eh, im a sniper, peopele should stay far away so I can shoot them, its not fair when they come right up to me and kill me when I dont have a close range weapon"

It is annoying, but not the worst thing about the game.

Does this stuff really happen as often as people say because personally I rarely meet these people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Dymo

Yeah baby, lets play a game where noboby knows what Cold Blooded and a Stinger can do. :rolleyes:

I played a game last night and there was care packages falling all the time, I had about 3 kills but shot down about 8 aircraft, it was ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

Big Knox wrote: »
    You're doing it wrong

You need to adapt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

well I knew the multilpayer would be bad before it came out. Only got it to play the single player game, thats good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Randy Shafter

I agree about the host migration. Its a mess. I was playing TDM last night and in 3 games it kept migrating hosts and it would ALWAYS fail!!! :mad:

Fecking joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Whats worse is one m8 of mine always gets to be the host , groundwar no problem he can hold 18 people without a hitch, but yet when he is the deicated host in a domination game (12) the connection is always crap and he usually lags out , this is happening all too regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Tallon wrote: »

Does this stuff really happen as often as people say because personally I rarely meet these people

+1 - although I probably wouldn't notice them if I was in the game because I never knew what to look for. How widespread is the problem in your experience lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭majiktripp

Last night I kept getting "An updated playlist update is available" which it would try and download I presume, then our party would be disbanded and back to the main screen.
    I see a new patch was roled out last night/ this morning up to .182 now so maybe that fixed that issue.

There's too much cloak and dagger about what their actually fixing and patching, the matchmaking system is indeed a farce by no stretch of the imagination and should be retired, but then they'd have to admit P2P was a bad idea....and well that just wont happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭flugel

match making is a farce, really really poor

killstreaks are OTT

i just wish there was a lobby for non-prestige people to play in, give a guy a chance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

In MTDM I meet infinite-care package glitchers far more often than boosters but I do occasionally come across boosters. Most boosters in MTDM don't get a nuke simply because there's more people scouring the maps imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

The only thing people should be giving out about is the Matchmaking and host Migration

Everything else has a counter measure to stop it as suggested above.

Air support - cold blooded & stinger
    Commando - stop running up to him, shoot him a medium-far range
    boosters - kill / leave game / follow them to games to pee them off

Ok, I see where you coming from and yes, it is a game, but seriously, these dudes who run around like idiots stabbing people from 25 miles away is down right stupid - its next to impossible to combat it unless you do the same thing which I'm not going to do.

I already use cold blooded but not very many others do, hence the dude getting nuke after nuke after nuke, it really spoils the game.

It would be a great game if all this nonsense, clearly aimed at 10 year olds and the like, was removed from the game and it "devolved" into ground and pound with guns and not much more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Desperately trying to keep away from online, hearing too many rubbish things about it. Much prefer the single player/multiplayer/spec ops aspects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

I don't find it too bad either. There are some games where enemy air support can be a bit daunting, but they can be shot down. I'd be quite happy if they got rid of the care packages and EADs entirely, think they cause a lot of the problem. It is, after all, supposed to be a first person shooter, and all the air support just takes away from that.

Matchmaking is still the worst problem. Between waiting in lobbies and hosts migrating, I only get through 3 or 4 complete ten minute games every hour. Nothing more annoying than waiting 2 minutes for a new game to start then, when it finally does, the game ends after a few minutes.

As for the boosters, I've only ever seen them on Saturday afternoons, when I guess the kids are out in force. But I quite enjoy going after them now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭BobbitoDigital

if your going to stop playing it well stop moaning about the game and just stop playing it,i still think its the best game ever made,u get cheats every game,so what,deal with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

if your going to stop playing it well stop moaning about the game and just stop playing it,i still think its the best game ever made,u get cheats every game,so what,deal with it

Play ground bully attitude here. If a person cheats deal with it....

Your right it is a great game, but like all great games its the players that make it great. We start taking the attitude above only the cheats will be left playing the game.

Wouldn't that be fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

as i've said on numerous occasions he has paid his money he's entitled to his opinion you can't tell people to stop moaning, it's narrow minded.

Desperately trying to keep away from online, hearing too many rubbish things about it. Much prefer the single player/multiplayer/spec ops aspects.

thats stupid the game was built for online

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭zero86r

The only problem i have with the game right now is the infinite care package cheat, otherwise i have no issues, any class can be stopped and some people are just better than you (not directing that at you op just everyone in general). Also using marathon, lightweight and commando perks doesnt make you invincible at all. You just need to be aware of people using these perks and you need quick reactions otherwise you're toast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Detrimental2u

Counter to a knifer:

SHOTGUN

Counter to Air Support:

CB / STINGER

Game over Usain!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I wish there was a game type with no perks or killstreaks. A TDM and HTDM. Put some emphasis on skill rather than needing your killstreaks to do the majority of work for you.

Host migration doesn't really bother me, especially compared to the matchmaking which is shamefully shockingly ****e. There's no middle ground to it 9 out 10 times. Your either with a good team or bad team with little experience or plain rubbish.

Got to say, haven't come across infinite care package glitch yet.

Some of your childish posts in this thread deserve a childish reply... so in regards to above:

:pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

Yeah the air support and killstreaks are OTT but still enjoying the game.

Have come across a few cheats, but just leave if it gets too bad.

Very mature, you should be proud of yourself...

You are most likely one of the very fools who ruins the game.

no you got that wrong,i have never cheated in any game,i dont camp and im actually pretty good at the game,i get on with it,i dont cry about little muppets cheating on boards,i get paybacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Wow, originally I infracted the 'piss off' post but following the other posts, it's a 7 day ban for BobittoDigital.

Now I'm going to tidy the thread ans see if we can get back on topic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Nice, thank god he's gone...

I suppose I just don't like it when a game is "almost" perfect (although that's my opinion) - I just see the need for all this OTT nonsense.

As someone said, its a FPS so lets do some FPS'ing not calling in helicopters and pavelows and nukes - silly in my opinion and unneccesary...

Anyway, maybe I'll take a breather for a while and come back to it when let my frustrations lessen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Nice, thank god he's gone...

I suppose I just don't like it when a game is "almost" perfect (although that's my opinion) - I just see the need for all this OTT nonsense.

As someone said, its a FPS so lets do some FPS'ing not calling in helicopters and pavelows and nukes - silly in my opinion and unneccesary...

Anyway, maybe I'll take a breather for a while and come back to it when let my frustrations lessen.

True but they are in the game , this care package glitch is gone right out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

care package glitch if worse than the boosting. At least with the boosters you can kill them before the nuke and that's game over for them, but the care package glitch is crap because if they die they can still do it over and over and over , there is no defense against it.
    I do find the game is better during the day when the kids are in school. The cheating is bad but as many people have already said , it's the game itself that's the major problem. Matchmaking , and migrating sessions and what not , it's total crap.
    Oh , and has anybody else had a problem with shooting people and it not even coming up as a hit. It's been happening a lot more lately , just today i was on Afghan and no word of a lie , i aimed my 50cal at an enemy who didn't move and put a full mag into him , with every shot on target. Then as I was reloading he just noticed me and effortlessly put two bullets into me.It's very annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Detrimental2u

care package glitch if worse than the boosting. At least with the boosters you can kill them before the nuke and that's game over for them, but the care package glitch is crap because if they die they can still do it over and over and over , there is no defense against it.
    I do find the game is better during the day when the kids are in school. The cheating is bad but as many people have already said , it's the game itself that's the major problem. Matchmaking , and migrating sessions and what not , it's total crap.
    Oh , and has anybody else had a problem with shooting people and it not even coming up as a hit. It's been happening a lot more lately , just today i was on Afghan and no word of a lie , i aimed my 50cal at an enemy who didn't move and put a full mag into him , with every shot on target. Then as I was reloading he just noticed me and effortlessly put two bullets into me.It's very annoying.
    Did you get the Hit marker? If so, it would have registered and killed him regardless of lag. (Based on the new "anti-lag" coding they put into the game)