Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MW2 has turned into a joke...

• 04-02-2010 10:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭

The time has come to quit this game until some drastic changes are made or I find another game.

I find it hard to believe some of the crap that goes on in this game, the most annoying being the Usain Bolt moon walkers with 15 foot long arms who are impervious to bullets. Its absolutely ridiculous. Played a game last night and this bloke literally ran around in circles stabbing people from miles away, no one could touch him, everyone just left.

Air support is down right stupid as well, some dude got a kill streak of 7 within about 2 mins, 2 mins later he has a nuke down to air support - yeah baby, lets play for 4 minutes and everyone gets nuked... Stupid....

Rant over...

Time to put it down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

You're doing it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Keyzer wrote: »
    Air support is down right stupid as well, some dude got a kill streak of 7 within about 2 mins, 2 mins later he has a nuke down to air support - yeah baby, lets play for 4 minutes and everyone gets nuked... Stupid....

Yeah baby, lets play a game where noboby knows what Cold Blooded and a Stinger can do. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Hercule

the game was always a joke - its just a shame it so many people bought it to find out the hard way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

The only thing people should be giving out about is the Matchmaking and host Migration

Everything else has a counter measure to stop it as suggested above.

Air support - cold blooded & stinger
    Commando - stop running up to him, shoot him a medium-far range
    boosters - kill / leave game / follow them to games to pee them off

I think the main problem people have is 'having' to change class to adapt to the game..

"Eh, im a sniper, peopele should stay far away so I can shoot them, its not fair when they come right up to me and kill me when I dont have a close range weapon"

It is annoying, but not the worst thing about the game.

Does this stuff really happen as often as people say because personally I rarely meet these people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

Yeah baby, lets play a game where noboby knows what Cold Blooded and a Stinger can do. :rolleyes:

I played a game last night and there was care packages falling all the time, I had about 3 kills but shot down about 8 aircraft, it was ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

Big Knox wrote: »
    You're doing it wrong

You need to adapt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

well I knew the multilpayer would be bad before it came out. Only got it to play the single player game, thats good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Randy Shafter

I agree about the host migration. Its a mess. I was playing TDM last night and in 3 games it kept migrating hosts and it would ALWAYS fail!!! :mad:

Fecking joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Whats worse is one m8 of mine always gets to be the host , groundwar no problem he can hold 18 people without a hitch, but yet when he is the deicated host in a domination game (12) the connection is always crap and he usually lags out , this is happening all too regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Tallon wrote: »

Does this stuff really happen as often as people say because personally I rarely meet these people

+1 - although I probably wouldn't notice them if I was in the game because I never knew what to look for. How widespread is the problem in your experience lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭majiktripp

Last night I kept getting "An updated playlist update is available" which it would try and download I presume, then our party would be disbanded and back to the main screen.
    I see a new patch was roled out last night/ this morning up to .182 now so maybe that fixed that issue.

There's too much cloak and dagger about what their actually fixing and patching, the matchmaking system is indeed a farce by no stretch of the imagination and should be retired, but then they'd have to admit P2P was a bad idea....and well that just wont happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭flugel

match making is a farce, really really poor

killstreaks are OTT

i just wish there was a lobby for non-prestige people to play in, give a guy a chance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

In MTDM I meet infinite-care package glitchers far more often than boosters but I do occasionally come across boosters. Most boosters in MTDM don't get a nuke simply because there's more people scouring the maps imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

The only thing people should be giving out about is the Matchmaking and host Migration

Everything else has a counter measure to stop it as suggested above.

Air support - cold blooded & stinger
    Commando - stop running up to him, shoot him a medium-far range
    boosters - kill / leave game / follow them to games to pee them off

Ok, I see where you coming from and yes, it is a game, but seriously, these dudes who run around like idiots stabbing people from 25 miles away is down right stupid - its next to impossible to combat it unless you do the same thing which I'm not going to do.

I already use cold blooded but not very many others do, hence the dude getting nuke after nuke after nuke, it really spoils the game.

It would be a great game if all this nonsense, clearly aimed at 10 year olds and the like, was removed from the game and it "devolved" into ground and pound with guns and not much more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Desperately trying to keep away from online, hearing too many rubbish things about it. Much prefer the single player/multiplayer/spec ops aspects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

I don't find it too bad either. There are some games where enemy air support can be a bit daunting, but they can be shot down. I'd be quite happy if they got rid of the care packages and EADs entirely, think they cause a lot of the problem. It is, after all, supposed to be a first person shooter, and all the air support just takes away from that.

Matchmaking is still the worst problem. Between waiting in lobbies and hosts migrating, I only get through 3 or 4 complete ten minute games every hour. Nothing more annoying than waiting 2 minutes for a new game to start then, when it finally does, the game ends after a few minutes.

As for the boosters, I've only ever seen them on Saturday afternoons, when I guess the kids are out in force. But I quite enjoy going after them now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭BobbitoDigital

if your going to stop playing it well stop moaning about the game and just stop playing it,i still think its the best game ever made,u get cheats every game,so what,deal with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

if your going to stop playing it well stop moaning about the game and just stop playing it,i still think its the best game ever made,u get cheats every game,so what,deal with it

Play ground bully attitude here. If a person cheats deal with it....

Your right it is a great game, but like all great games its the players that make it great. We start taking the attitude above only the cheats will be left playing the game.

Wouldn't that be fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

as i've said on numerous occasions he has paid his money he's entitled to his opinion you can't tell people to stop moaning, it's narrow minded.

Desperately trying to keep away from online, hearing too many rubbish things about it. Much prefer the single player/multiplayer/spec ops aspects.

thats stupid the game was built for online

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭zero86r

The only problem i have with the game right now is the infinite care package cheat, otherwise i have no issues, any class can be stopped and some people are just better than you (not directing that at you op just everyone in general). Also using marathon, lightweight and commando perks doesnt make you invincible at all. You just need to be aware of people using these perks and you need quick reactions otherwise you're toast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Detrimental2u

Counter to a knifer:

SHOTGUN

Counter to Air Support:

CB / STINGER

Game over Usain!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I wish there was a game type with no perks or killstreaks. A TDM and HTDM. Put some emphasis on skill rather than needing your killstreaks to do the majority of work for you.

Host migration doesn't really bother me, especially compared to the matchmaking which is shamefully shockingly ****e. There's no middle ground to it 9 out 10 times. Your either with a good team or bad team with little experience or plain rubbish.

Got to say, haven't come across infinite care package glitch yet.

Some of your childish posts in this thread deserve a childish reply... so in regards to above:

:pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

Yeah the air support and killstreaks are OTT but still enjoying the game.

Have come across a few cheats, but just leave if it gets too bad.

Very mature, you should be proud of yourself...

You are most likely one of the very fools who ruins the game.

no you got that wrong,i have never cheated in any game,i dont camp and im actually pretty good at the game,i get on with it,i dont cry about little muppets cheating on boards,i get paybacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Wow, originally I infracted the 'piss off' post but following the other posts, it's a 7 day ban for BobittoDigital.

Now I'm going to tidy the thread ans see if we can get back on topic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Nice, thank god he's gone...

I suppose I just don't like it when a game is "almost" perfect (although that's my opinion) - I just see the need for all this OTT nonsense.

As someone said, its a FPS so lets do some FPS'ing not calling in helicopters and pavelows and nukes - silly in my opinion and unneccesary...

Anyway, maybe I'll take a breather for a while and come back to it when let my frustrations lessen.

Nice, thank god he's gone...

I suppose I just don't like it when a game is "almost" perfect (although that's my opinion) - I just see the need for all this OTT nonsense.

As someone said, its a FPS so lets do some FPS'ing not calling in helicopters and pavelows and nukes - silly in my opinion and unneccesary...

Anyway, maybe I'll take a breather for a while and come back to it when let my frustrations lessen.

True but they are in the game , this care package glitch is gone right out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

care package glitch if worse than the boosting. At least with the boosters you can kill them before the nuke and that's game over for them, but the care package glitch is crap because if they die they can still do it over and over and over , there is no defense against it.
    I do find the game is better during the day when the kids are in school. The cheating is bad but as many people have already said , it's the game itself that's the major problem. Matchmaking , and migrating sessions and what not , it's total crap.
    Oh , and has anybody else had a problem with shooting people and it not even coming up as a hit. It's been happening a lot more lately , just today i was on Afghan and no word of a lie , i aimed my 50cal at an enemy who didn't move and put a full mag into him , with every shot on target. Then as I was reloading he just noticed me and effortlessly put two bullets into me.It's very annoying.

care package glitch if worse than the boosting. At least with the boosters you can kill them before the nuke and that's game over for them, but the care package glitch is crap because if they die they can still do it over and over and over , there is no defense against it.
    I do find the game is better during the day when the kids are in school. The cheating is bad but as many people have already said , it's the game itself that's the major problem. Matchmaking , and migrating sessions and what not , it's total crap.
    Oh , and has anybody else had a problem with shooting people and it not even coming up as a hit. It's been happening a lot more lately , just today i was on Afghan and no word of a lie , i aimed my 50cal at an enemy who didn't move and put a full mag into him , with every shot on target. Then as I was reloading he just noticed me and effortlessly put two bullets into me.It's very annoying.
    Did you get the Hit marker? If so, it would have registered and killed him regardless of lag. (Based on the new "anti-lag" coding they put into the game)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Simple solution, don't like the game, don't play it.

nope , no hit marker , i genuinely started thinking that i was going mad, thinking he was perhaps on my team or something.

Then you weren't hitting him with your bullets, period.

It could be down to lag , what did the replay of the kill look like ? did it show you firing ?

Shammy wrote: »
    It could be down to lag , what did the replay of the kill look like ? did it show you firing ?

didn't look at it , went in to make a cup of tea and calm down i was that annoyed.

I was defo aiming at him , thermal sight , red cross-hairs smack bang in the middle of the white person ( i didn't bother with head-shots ). I even moved the cross-hairs to different parts of the chest but to no avail.

however , same thing happened to me , i was writting a message to a guy in the same game ( he was camping and i always send messages to campers saying " camp much ?" ) and in the background of the screen ( i'm on ps3 ) i could see the game going on , but i was getting shot by a harrier , and i didn't die until i re-entered the game.( maybe just a weird coincidence ?)

oh and my connection is excellent

, i was writting a message to a guy in the same game ( he was camping and i always send messages to campers saying " camp much ?" )

Ha ha very good, maybe a weird coincidence i dont know , it used to happen to me when i played in the evenings , put a clip into someone then he just turns around and kills me, watching the replay i didnt fire a single shot, but my ping always goes sky high between 6 pm and midnight and that was the caue of it.

yeah , just very annoying when you're doing well and get stopped like that.

And yeah , i think everyone should send messages like that , most don't reply , but some do , claiming " I wasn't camping " or " Its a tactic " , eh ya , i'm just going to sit here and " tactically wait " , most f the time with double shotguns and a claymore beside them incase hey can't kill you due to their ****e aim. I HATE CAMPERS.

yeah , just very annoying when you're doing well and get stopped like that.

And yeah , i think everyone should send messages like that , most don't reply , but some do , claiming " I wasn't camping " or " Its a tactic " , eh ya , i'm just going to sit here and " tactically wait " , most f the time with double shotguns and a claymore beside them incase hey can't kill you due to their ****e aim. I HATE CAMPERS.
    I camp... sometimes. But only when I am in a game following the other team camping.

Once the entire enemy team was camping so the next game I did the same. I went to an area a few of them wanted to camp... set up claymores via OMA, watched the doorways, killed them all trying to come in. One guy accused me of camping, then I responded "sucks doesn't it, your team was doin it all last game"

That's the only time I'll justify camping.

oh defo , that's grand to do that , or i'd even accept it if you are one kill away from a new killstreak or what not , maybe , but for the entire game ? hell no !

http://www.infinityward.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=260502

We've updated the PS3 version of Modern Warfare 2, including the following fixes:

- Care Package, Emergency Airdrop, and Sentry Gun marker grenades sprint speed normalized.
    - Fix for "infinite care package" exploit.
    - Sentry Guns: Improved placement detection, preventing cases of Sentry Guns inside geometry.
    - Model 1887: Bling using Akimbo and FMJ combination now has same range and damage as non-Bling Model 1887s.
    - Fixes to prevent various XP hacks.

Xbox 360 Players:
    This patch has been pulled from Microsoft certification to add in additional fixes. We'll update once it has re-entered certification.

Wonder how long we 360 gamers have to wait for the patch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Xbox 360 Players:
    This patch has been pulled from Microsoft certification to add in additional fixes. We'll update once it has re-entered certification.

Wonder how long we 360 gamers have to wait for the patch.

The 360 usually get the patches last. PC first, then PS3 then us lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

I still dont understand what exactly the "Care Package Glitch" is and seeing as this is the 4th time they have supposedly patched it, neither do the developers. I've seen it happening, usually a bunch of lads holed up in some remote corner, they could be looking at each others willies for all i know.

Point is, whatever is causing it is endemic to the codebase thus ultimatly unfixable without an entire rewrite. Online gaming while more enjoyable than any AI will ever achieve is still in its infancy. As consumers we have ended up in a causality loop which owes its roots to inadequate quality control. What better User-Acceptance-Test than to push it out earlier and patch as they go?

I'd rather see a new login feature, age rated, a group for say over 25's, authenticated by credit card, exact same lobby setup except populated with reasonable young adults, given that the game is an 18 cert yet all the problems are clearly coming from early teens, this would be a sensible solution. It would require IW to put their hands up though and accept some culpability for a shoddy release strategy.

MY TWO CENTS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

minotour wrote: »
    I still dont understand what exactly the "Care Package Glitch" is and seeing as this is the 4th time they have supposedly patched it, neither do the developers. I've seen it happening, usually a bunch of lads holed up in some remote corner, they could be looking at each others willies for all i know.

Point is, whatever is causing it is endemic to the codebase thus ultimatly unfixable without an entire rewrite. Online gaming while more enjoyable than any AI will ever achieve is still in its infancy. As consumers we have ended up in a causality loop which owes its roots to inadequate quality control. What better User-Acceptance-Test than to push it out earlier and patch as they go?

I'd rather see a new login feature, age rated, a group for say over 25's, authenticated by credit card, exact same lobby setup except populated with reasonable young adults, given that the game is an 18 cert yet all the problems are clearly coming from early teens, this would be a sensible solution. It would require IW to put their hands up though and accept some culpability for a shoddy release strategy.

MY TWO CENTS

You sound like you know a bit about Software development, yet ignore the fact that no software is bug free. Usually, users try to avoid bugs, but in this case people are actively searching for bugs that they will benefit from.

As a software developer myself, I was impressed at the overall quality of the product. Besides these glitches, which are really just situations that weren't taken into consideration by developers, I haven't noticed anything that looks like a bug. If you looked up what it takes to reproduce the care package glitch (or most of the glitches for that matter), you'd understand how it passed QA without being noticed.

Your point about UAT could be applied to all operating systems and nearly all software.

I agree with you about the age thing though - it's headwrecking and I'm positive that nearly all of the cheaters fall within the teen age group. Don't see it happening though :(

Which brings us back to the beginning , if there was a beta for this game there probably wouldnt be these glitches.

No sense crying over spilt milk.

Too late to go back. They are fixing them (slowly) and I'm glad I have a game to play now instead of waiting for the beta to close to fix all the problems (which there would still be some found later).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭thekid9

I was playing free for all last nite in wasteland and there were 2 guys boosting and to make it worse they were telling everybody over the headset so basically one lad got his nuke but left the other guy get 19 headshots before the other guy used his nuke, and trust me i spent the whole time looking for them but cudnt find dem.. I sent the 2 of them a msg but one never replied and the other guy goes "its only a game and not to be getting in a tiz"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

"its only a game and not to be getting in a tiz"

which is true :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭STForSale

No one has mentioned the most annoying aspect of playing this online, the waiting. I understand online server capacity is limited but the game seems to be designed to stop you from playing it if that makes any sense.

60 second intermission....
    Game starting in 10 seconds...
    Game about to begin, another 10 seconds...
    All I seem to be doing is looking at a countdown
    WTF.

The host migration is a joke and this is not helped by points not being awarded until the end of the game.

Some people leave a game if they are getting an ass whiping and if they happen to be the host we get a host migration which fails almost every time.

I'm getting anoyed just posting about it.

John_Mc wrote: »
    You sound like you know a bit about Software development, yet ignore the fact that no software is bug free. Usually, users try to avoid bugs, but in this case people are actively searching for bugs that they will benefit from.

As a software developer myself, I was impressed at the overall quality of the product. Besides these glitches, which are really just situations that weren't taken into consideration by developers, I haven't noticed anything that looks like a bug. If you looked up what it takes to reproduce the care package glitch (or most of the glitches for that matter), you'd understand how it passed QA without being noticed.

Your point about UAT could be applied to all operating systems and nearly all software.

I agree with you about the age thing though - it's headwrecking and I'm positive that nearly all of the cheaters fall within the teen age group. Don't see it happening though :(

Given the widespread commercial appeal of this (and other) games, I dont view them as simply software commodities, they are interactive media for the most part. The average consumer has no idea what goes into production, as industry pro's we do, the burden of knowledge etc.

Let me ask you this, without divugling your sector (cause I sure as sh*t wont). does your company release sub standard product with the understanding that you can patch it on the fly? In most sectors it would be devasting to future business, excluding O/s obviously but thats a whole different ball game/forum/thread.

I agree there will always be glitches if people go hunting, in fact, anyone remember "power up" and i think "original game" on bubble bobble, although they were certainly intentional, i never started a game without enabling them.

In my opinion the industry has relaxed the release standards in recent years and that has to be related to online updates. Look at all the minor iterations on PS3 alone. Plus the servers fell over on day 2 at lunctime (When the yanks woke up), that was the Irish crowds fault though in fairness. Dimensioning for this should be relativly straightforward, they must have low balled it, as they did with other factors.

That being said, I have loved every game in this franchise, mostly for the online play, without it id say my playstation days would have ended years ago. ive said it before here, all i want from them is new maps and guns and im a fan for life, maybe a bit more focus on "known" glitches though.

STForSale wrote: »
    No one has mentioned the most annoying aspect of playing this online, the waiting. .

I'm getting anoyed just posting about it.

I hear ya bro, i find this is related to how much time you have to play, the console can tell by your sweat glands in your hands how much you want to play and they conciously make you wait longer thus by the time you get into a match you're a quivering wreck/bullet magnet.............at least thats how it goes for me.

The host migration is genuinly complciated though i reckon, MW1 just booted you out altogether, at least in this i find the higher % of migrations seem to work.