Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "I should have left the credit card at home" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

ROK ON wrote: »
    Need advice. Seriously considering a bike that is on sale for agreat price. Kitted out in SRAM Red. While I am so tempted, I dont want to feel like a complete feckin idiot. I can barely climb out of bed never mind up a hill.

Am I deluding myself. Should I bother. I dont even race FFS, and I probably wouldn be able to notice the difference.

Buy the bike with Red, or buy something more appropriate for my ahem, skillset.
    If you can afford it without your family going hungry then why not, we all have bikes far beyond our abilities around here.

It will have no practical benefit but it will make you feel good!

My Litespeed was a dream machine for me and then it came up half price... It has no practical benefit over the Planet X but it is a "nice bike."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Need advice. Seriously considering a bike that is on sale for agreat price. Kitted out in SRAM Red. While I am so tempted, I dont want to feel like a complete feckin idiot. I can barely climb out of bed never mind up a hill.

Am I deluding myself. Should I bother. I dont even race FFS, and I probably wouldn be able to notice the difference.

Buy the bike with Red, or buy something more appropriate for my ahem, skillset.

A voice of reason here but surely all your bikes are the same ... as in road bikes ... unless this one offers something different ... why???

But now that I have killed the fellow why typed the above line ... why not ... post up a pic now so people can advice you on the upgrades ... why waste a few weeks with lower spec when you can immediately upgrade before the first ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Well this proposed new bike would be
    (1) lighter,
    (2) more aero,
    (3) looks unbelievable,
    (4) has an unbelieveable groupset,
    (5) pretty good wheels,
    (6) good carbon compound by all accounts,
    (7) is on sale at a fantatsic price,
    (8) the paint job is matt finish, which I favour over gloss.

http://www.thebikeshop.ie/details.aspx?pid=P1259&cid=C0144&sid=C0225

Picture
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/images/felt-f3-zoom.jpg

I may be able to get for even cheaper than this, as there is a sale on where I am looking.
    If I can get it in compact (imagine having a compact red chainset!!!), and my size, then I will go for it.

Seriously considering this one also (which has friendlier geometry for me I think), and I love the shape of the frame.
    http://www.labicicletta.com/edatcat/uploads/kuota_kebel1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 ditch hurler

yeah nice bike. see cycleways are doing a thing on the 1st december in store. bit of a clearance. could get a nice cannondale or specialised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

To be honest that doesn't strike me as a massive discount. Massive discount is at least 40-50%.

Crank chain and cassette are non-Red groupset, wheels are OK but not exactly spectacular, they are Ksyruims which is a plus but they are the entry-level ones.

Tyres and finishing kit are very "meh" for a top end bike.

Just my 2c, if you particularly want it go for it, I have always thought those frames looked nice. Wouldn't do it for me as a fantastic bargain though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Shattered-Dreams.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,278 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

blorg wrote: »
    Crank chain and cassette are non-Red groupset

Indeed, I think they're Force. And the brakes are Rival, and the BB is not ceramic, and the cables are not the ones that come with Red.

So, it's basically just Red shifters and derailleurs. However, this is no bad thing. Aside from the shifters and front mech, Force looks better than Red, and the Red cassette is awfully noisy.

It's a nice enough bike though.

If and when my Red stuff wears out, dies in a crash (or more likely, I get bored and change bikes again) I'm going with a full Force gruppo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Frankly, I love Felts and I think that is a cracking bike (as is Brayblue's AR).

Are you sure you want the more aggressive F geometry if you aren't racing?

If it feels right, go for it. I think Felt geometry suits me better than any other bike I have sat on, indeed I may purchase one and ditch my Colnago dream in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

I decided to get my act together and get some winter gear after being out last week and freezing my hands (and the rest) to the point where I just wanted to drop my bike and hail a taxi........I've only been cycling since last december *cough* on nice days ;) *cough*

So I've just ordered from PBK:
    Endura Luminite Waterproof Jacket - High Visibility £58.69
    Endura Winter Road Overshoes £17.99
    PBK Exclusive SL Bib Tights Without Pad £27.39
    Sealskinz Waterproof Ankle Socks £17.22

Just to let you know there is currently 10% off at PBK and if you use the Voucher Code XMAS you'll get another 10% off
    Nice :) Plus its free delivery, I couldn't not order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Well this proposed new bike would be
    (1) lighter,
    (2) more aero,
    (3) looks unbelievable,
    (4) has an unbelieveable groupset,
    (5) pretty good wheels,
    (6) good carbon compound by all accounts,
    (7) is on sale at a fantatsic price,
    (8) the paint job is matt finish, which I favour over gloss.

http://www.thebikeshop.ie/details.aspx?pid=P1259&cid=C0144&sid=C0225

Picture
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/images/felt-f3-zoom.jpg

I may be able to get for even cheaper than this, as there is a sale on where I am looking.
    If I can get it in compact (imagine having a compact red chainset!!!), and my size, then I will go for it.

Seriously considering this one also (which has friendlier geometry for me I think), and I love the shape of the frame.
    http://www.labicicletta.com/edatcat/uploads/kuota_kebel1.jpg
    Can't believe the increase in price of Felt bikes. I changed bikes 2 years ago and bought a Cayo however my heart was set on Felt F3 with full Dura Ace which was on sale at Evans for £1599! A few months later a certain David Millar threw his leg over a Felt and the prices when through the roof. I didn't go for it as it wasn't available in compact. Still think it is super bike but as Dirk said its quite an aggressive geometry but then maybe thats what you are looking for. Price is just ok. They were selling a Canyon Ultimate CF with full Red groupset for around €2500 at end of year clearance and it had Ksyrium SL's. Was very very tempted but too late. I'm sure you saw this on Wiggle, very similar spec to your list and more relaxed geometry. However I'm sure you will pick up a bargain in the sales but remember if buying across the water the Vat rate goes back up in January (I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

sy wrote: »
    however my heart was set on Felt F3 with full Dura Ace which was on sale at Evans for £1599!

You should have bought it!

Price rise might also be attributed to Shimano's price hike on top of Felt gaining more mainstream brand recognition in europe.

Canyons look deadly, not sure I would want to deal with that sales website though.

Thanks foe advice. Nit going for FELT now. Beautiful. But having gone the geometry versus what I have I don't think it would work for a fred like moi.
    Looking at another bike but trying to do a deal on the groupset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭MadHatter

Thanks foe advice. Nit going for FELT now. Beautiful. But having gone the geometry versus what I have I don't think it would work for a fred like moi.
    Looking at another bike but trying to do a deal on the groupset.

Am pretty sure Wheelworx still have a 2008 model Felt Z25 for around the €2000 mark if still interest in a Felt. Size 54cm - same size as my Z35 and think we're similar heights. Relaxed geometry and compact gearing. Same frame as my bike but with more dura-ace bits.

Not the most bling bike in the world but very nice machine. It's been there a while so they might do a deal to shift it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

CRC are shortly due to provide me
    41611.Jpg

&

43178.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

@ Uberwolf...let me know what those campy gloves are like when you get them.

I have Santini windproof gloves but they're too warm for anything above 2 degrees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 RouB

I've just bought the following from http://www.chainreactioncycles.com. They're doing something like 43% off the cassette and 30% off the chain (See Below). You get the two for about €60!:D

1 Shimano Ultegra Cassette 10 Speed 6600
    ID: 41007
    Unit Price: £39.99

1 Shimano Ultegra Chain 10 Speed 6600 - Each
    ID: 38825
    Unit Price: £19.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

Yesterday was a bad day for the credit card. Two wiggle orders and one CRC order. Tied in with another CRC and Wiggle order last weekend and Bike24 and Elite Fitness.

Top is all off, I transferred money to the wrong credit card so now I *have* to go buy more.

All told, I've ended up with a new winter wheel w/powertap, and pretty much a new bike less the groupset and wheels, both of which are thankfully out of stock right now.

For those wondering too, you don't get double discount using vouchers on CRC. The vouchers apply before the basket 10% so it wipes off that discount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

uberwolf wrote: »
    43178.jpg

Hope these work out better for you than they have for me - I got last years version on sale in September and within a week the right one was coming apart. The stitching on the elasticated band around the bottom started going and by now the band is totally gone, toe section has nothing holding it on. Same has started happening on the left one.

I wear them every day commuting through the city though so maybe they'll hold up better with less clipping in and out. Oh, and despite them being called "Endure H2O", they aren't waterproof at all which is really irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

mfdc wrote: »
    Hope these work out better for you than they have for me - I got last years version on sale in September and within a week the right one was coming apart. The stitching on the elasticated band around the bottom started going and by now the band is totally gone, toe section has nothing holding it on. Same has started happening on the left one.

I wear them every day commuting through the city though so maybe they'll hold up better with less clipping in and out. Oh, and despite them being called "Endure H2O", they aren't waterproof at all which is really irritating.

i bought these on CRC sale as well and only use them on road spins (not commuting) and they are grand (they were a size too small as well so thought they would last one ride but i leave them on the shoes over the winter)
    neoprene isnt waterproof btw - ever worn a wetsuit ?

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

i bought these on CRC sale as well and only use them on road spins (not commuting) and they are grand (they were a size too small as well so thought they would last one ride but i leave them on the shoes over the winter)
    neoprene isnt waterproof btw - ever worn a wetsuit ?

Yeah I know, I didn't read the description closely enough before buying :o "Endure H2O... grand they'll do for the rain", without actually bothering to see what they're made of. They still do the job though, despite the toe flapping about they keep my feet from freezing which is a definite improvement over last year. Just hope they hold together for the next few months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

This

This

This

& This bought in the last few days.

I also picked up some Gore waterproof trousers and a wool jersey in Cycleways last week.

I think I'll stop for a while now.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

Probikekit selling jerseys and shorts for 18 pounds... disaster! three jerseys two shorts on the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

just bought some craft shorts myself so much for my self restraint

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

I'm normal sized and therefore **** out of luck when sales like that come around. You xxl and xxs lads have it sorted.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

niceonetom wrote: »
    I'm normal sized and therefore **** out of luck when sales like that come around. You xxl and xxs lads have it sorted.

Keep eating mince pies. More pies = more savings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

el tonto wrote: »
    Keep eating mince pies. More pies = more savings.

I'm on the case. 3 today. I'll be going for double digits once we enter christmas week.

...Then marmotte inspired starvation. I'm aiming for xxs by june.

I am with Tonto on this. Having shed alittle bit of weight my food bills have risen. Do people actually tealisd just how expensive healthy food is.
    I also have to buy new suits and shirts for work. Fat is cheaper on thw wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

I am with Tonto on this. Having shed alittle bit of weight my food bills have risen. Do people actually tealisd just how expensive healthy food is.
    I also have to buy new suits and shirts for work. Fat is cheaper on thw wallet.

It is a strange thing alright but it is worth it in the end. Healthy food makes you faster, and it really is cheaper than take aways or other fast foods.

The clothes thing however is really annoying. A few months pass and the clothes are too small so you buy some new ones. They arrive and are already too small because more weight has been lost. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

Ordered 2 Vittoria Rubino tyres and a glass cyclist model from Wiggle earlier in the week and a Topeak Master Blaster road frame pump and white Adidas sock overshoes (need another set these days to protect my new shoes, see below) from CRC on the same evening. At the weekend I splashed out and got myself a Tacx Spider team workstand from PBK for 100 quid and Gore Cross gloves. Last week my Adidas Adistar Road pro shoes arrived from S-Tec sports (€115 delivered)

Just now I ordered 2 PBK skinsuits. One long sleeved one for €37 and a short sleeved one for €53. Great value I think, and was tempted to get the bib tights too for €50 and so many jerseys for under 20 quid. (Don't forget to use the 10% off XMAS voucher at the checkout)

Anyone find the PBK's own brand size charts are way off? I usually take small in cycling clothing, maybe xs if I want a really tight race fit. However the skinsuit size chart shows that these sizes would almost fit a premature baby. A 20" waist and 28" chest :eek:. I ordered one of my usual size and one that the size chart tells me to get so between them one should fit OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Ordered 2 Vittoria Rubino tyres and a glass cyclist model from Wiggle earlier in the week and a Topeak Master Blaster road frame pump and white Adidas sock overshoes (need another set these days to protect my new shoes, see below) from CRC on the same evening. At the weekend I splashed out and got myself a Tacx Spider team workstand from PBK for 100 quid and Gore Cross gloves. Last week my Adidas Adistar Road pro shoes arrived from S-Tec sports (€115 delivered)

Just now I ordered 2 PBK skinsuits. One long sleeved one for €37 and a short sleeved one for €53. Great value I think, and was tempted to get the bib tights too for €50 and so many jerseys for under 20 quid. (Don't forget to use the 10% off XMAS voucher at the checkout)

Anyone find the PBK's own brand size charts are way off? I usually take small in cycling clothing, maybe xs if I want a really tight race fit. However the skinsuit size chart shows that these sizes would almost fit a premature baby. A 20" waist and 28" chest :eek:. I ordered one of my usual size and one that the size chart tells me to get so between them one should fit OK.

If your parents are ever looking to adopt another child .... I take 1st dibs .... I am just a bigger, older, fatter, slower version of you who spends just as much on gear