Fingerprint scan for you to claim benefits, would you object?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

PCPhoto wrote: »

We are a nation of smart people !!! - no matter what system we adopt or create - there is always a flaw/loophole which people can find/exploit and yet the government either choose not to close the loophole or they are too inept to even notice it.

You make a good point, we are a nation of smart people, that's why the place is being robbed blind!!! I don't understand how this is a privacy issue, when you go to get your dole (for example) you need to sign on and are viewed on CCTV. Why is it an issue to submit to thumbscan?

Why are so many people afraid of this? a previous poster asked me to post my details if I had nothing to fear, I did so, so where are the rest of you????

Are you all so afraid? have you all got something to hide? well if you don't then do as I did and show that you have a pair and post your name, area you live in and annual wage.

I'm sick to the back teeth of do gooders defending the lifelong scoungers, and their recent compatriots, pi$$es me off beyond belief!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭j2u

its has to be one of the most stupid ideas there is but if history of the curent government is to repeat itself then im sure its up there with electronic voting machines or selling to shell the rights to the corrib gas line . why is it nessecery?
    you already have to sign for it already so how about you just bring your id and show it to the cashier at the post office?
    or would that be too much of a cost effective approach given the infinate supply of money at our disposal.
    They want to cut social welfare and at teh same time talking of over 30 million going on this project?
    In that case then they should not need to cut social welfare because i have a plan that can save them over €30 million euro. here it is.
    We dont pay €30 million on fingerprint bull**** .
    Thats it !!
    I should a job in government consider the money my idea have just saved this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

You make a good point, we are a nation of smart people, that's why the place is being robbed blind!!! I don't understand how this is a privacy issue, when you go to get your dole (for example) you need to sign on and are viewed on CCTV. Why is it an issue to submit to thumbscan?

Why are so many people afraid of this? a previous poster asked me to post my details if I had nothing to fear, I did so, so where are the rest of you????

Are you all so afraid? have you all got something to hide? well if you don't then do as I did and show that you have a pair and post your name, area you live in and annual wage.

I'm sick to the back teeth of do gooders defending the lifelong scoungers, and their recent compatriots, pi$$es me off beyond belief!!!!

Its a small matter of Identity fraud - in this country especially - all that someone would need would be your name, date of birth and address....which they could get from a letter that you throw out in the bin. (granted its not as common here as it is/was in the States but back then they gave out credit cards to people just because they turned 18)

anyway - getting back on topic - the main reason people would object to the fingerprint or retinal scans is that the data would have to be stored somewhere and there is no guarantee that the information would be safe.

I remember a previous post (cant remember at the moment) but it was a similar thread - at the time that Dolores McNamara won the Euromillions her details were accessed by 60+ different people in the local social welfare office - following an investigation ONLY 4 of these were genuinely required - the others were just curious/nosey civil servants - and none of these civil servants were repremanded.

details may not be 100% but should be pretty close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

just bring back workhouses

problem solved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Ziggurat

You didn't give your full address, or your PPS, or bank details, or anything else.

Seeing as you have nothing to hide you shouldn't have a problem posting those.

What are you, twelve? Easy being the tough guy behind a monitor, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

nipplenuts wrote: »
    The scanners do not record a fingerprint.

Then how would such a system work?

The scanner would be responsible for verification of the biometric data in my fingerprint, verification between the scanned fingerprint and..what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Are you all so afraid? have you all got something to hide?

Good for you posting up that information! I'm not afraid in the slightest, I just prefer not to divulge that information myself though I'm sure you could work out my annual wage since I'm on the dole.

Being "afraid" is presumably not the reason many people are against this, I know it's not why I'm against this idea. I'm not scrounging, I'm not double-claiming or scamming the system.

Apply your logic to other situations, let's get a subsection of the Gardai to wiretap our phones. Sure anybody who complains has something to hide. No, I'd just rather not have people listening to my personal phone conversations.

I'm not a criminal, and I'd prefer not to give over my fingerprints either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Is it even constitutional? I remember reading a while back about a case which is due in the Supreme Court over whether the Gardai could take fingerprints. And that was regarding a serious criminal matter.

Let's face it, this is a white elephant and should be treated as such. The real threat is that a biometric company will lobby successfully to have such a hare-brained scheme implemented and the government will write them a blank cheque. I think that such a system would cost more each year in maintenance than it would save.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Then how would such a system work?

The scanner would be responsible for verification of the biometric data in my fingerprint, verification between the scanned fingerprint and..what?

Sensors capture an image of the fingerprint and use a series of algorithms to create a unique user number, which is stored in the teminal and in the central database. The next time the finger is read a new number is generated based on the same algorithm and compared to the first. If it is within predefined tolerances it will be accepted. There is no fingerprint stored. You cannot reverse engineer a fingerprint from the generated number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Wouldn't photo ID suffice?
    You would think so. But it requires human validation and people often don't look very like any of their passport-style photos, and to a non-familiar observer it's very easy to confuse family members. I could easily use one of my brother's ID for example and anyone who didn't know us wouldn't be able to say with any kind of certainty that it wasn't me in the photo. This is the kind of fraud that's going on. Constantly.
    Some clerks just aren't even bothered enough to check the photo ID beyond hair colour and skin tone. (i.e. a brief glance).
    People on the dole should be more concerned about it being scrapped and those kicked out on the streets like most Eastern European countries. :eek:
    We're a centre-left country. We love our capitalism, but we don't agree with leaving our most vulnerable people out in the cold. Look at what happened last year when the government attempted to do something as small as means test the medical card for OAPs. While we give out about dole cheats and the like, very few of the electorate would stand for having social welfare eliminated completely.
    Commercial organisations such as banks typically do not try to authenticate the identity of a person, but rather the validity of a transactions (e.g. by signature or PIN) due to the acknowledged difficulty in reliably identifying an individual in a fraud proof and convenient manner. In otherwords. If the cards and signature match. The onus is on you to prove you did not take out the money. Sound familular to anyone!
    This is not the issue, there are multiple ways of carrying out ID fraud, one person "stealing" someone else's dole is only a small part of it. Most ID fraud occurs where all parties are fully aware of the fraud but allow it to occur regardless.
    Cards with centralised database could be used to track anyone's movements and private life, thus endangering privicy. The proposed British ID card (see next section) will involve a series of linked databases, to be managed by the private sector. Managing disparate linked systems using a range of institutions and any number of personnel is alleged to be a security disaster in the making.
    Depends on how the architecture is structured. Any such "linked" system would likely limit the amount and type of information accessible by any single individual, meaning that the potential exposure is limited.
    If you're concerned about your movements being tracked, then be more concerned about the ATM & credit card in your pocket. The issuing institution has access to enough information to trace your general movements as you take out cash and make purchases (even online ones). And they're private.
    A requirement to carry an identity card/Finger print at all times can lead to the inconvenience of arbitrary requests from card controllers (such as the police). This can lead to functionality creep whereby carrying a card becomes de facto if not de jure compulsory, as in the case of Social security numbers in the USA and RSI numbers over here, which are now widely used as ID.
    "Numbers" are used as ID because they're much easier. A number can be unique, names and addresses aren't always. It's a fundamental of data storage and processing that every individual object in your database must have a unique identifier, and this makes it easy to refer to when you want to find the information on it. Every citizen of the country needs to be identified, to do otherwise is anarchy. A system of identification is not in itself inherently wrong, it's all about how that identification is used.
    In many cases, other forms of documentation such as a drivers licence, passport serve a similar function on a more limited scale, and thus an ID card is not needed.
    This is a red herring. Many people do not have or carry driving licences or passports.

To a certain extent any measures like these are a "beggars can't be choosers" scenario. If they introduce this and you want social welfare, then suck it up.

However as pointed out, it's likely that the cost and effort to implement such a system will far outstrip any fraud. It also doesn't take into account that ID fraud is only one type of social welfare scam - and I would hazard a guess that it makes up a small proportion of all fraud. Mandatory ID doesn't combat the issue of people fraudulently claiming benefits they're not entitled to - disability benefit and single parent allowance being the two that are most commonly abused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

How about the post office have a photo of everyone collecting the dole? No dole for you if you don't match your picture and signature.

Wouldn't even need to be a national database, each PO could have their own servers for the people in who sign on in their office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Knackers would be cutting off there fingertips to get there booze money if they brought this in!!!

But its still a good idea!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Is it even constitutional? I remember reading a while back about a case which is due in the Supreme Court over whether the Gardai could take fingerprints. And that was regarding a serious criminal matter.
    IIRC the Gardaí can only keep DNA evidence for 6 months or till the end of the trial, but can keep fingerprints forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

irlmarc wrote: »
    Knackers would be cutting off there fingertips to get there booze money if they brought this in!!!

But its still a good idea!
    There is easier ways of removing finger prints, ie dip them in an acid solution. :D

seamus wrote: »
    We're a centre-left country. We love our capitalism, but we don't agree with leaving our most vulnerable people out in the cold. Look at what happened last year when the government attempted to do something as small as means test the medical card for OAPs. While we give out about dole cheats and the like, very few of the electorate would stand for having social welfare eliminated completely.
    Couldn't our government wash their hands on this and similar matters in future?

Didn't the country vote Yes for something on October 2nd 2009?

IIRC the Gardaí can only keep DNA evidence for 6 months or till the end of the trial, but can keep fingerprints forever.
    This isn't the same article that I was reading, but it's the same case. It would appear to contradict that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

There is easier ways of removing finger prints, ie dip them in an acid solution. :D

You can file them off too!!

No needs to go to such painful lengths. Use polyfilla or plastic wood and that stuff sticks to your fingertips for a while. Which brings up another point; these machines are going to have problems with the amount of grease and other gunk that gets left on them.

Just pick your ho*le before you scan. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I've never heard of anything as ridiculous in my life.

The issue is not, nor ever has been WHO was claiming benefits, but whether they're entitled to it.

Typical, spend millions on something thats not needed, but have everyone pay more tax to pay for it...
    I'm pretty sure 30mln could be better spent elsewhere - like maybe cleaning up the welfare system in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Zynks

About the storage of personal data, the ID cards could be implemented without the data being stored at government or third party servers. The data can be encrypted and stored in the chip itself, so the system would confirm if your fingerprint matches what is in the ID card's chip.

I would be in favour of such a system.

Zynks wrote: »
    About the storage of personal data, the ID cards could be implemented without the data being stored at government or third party servers. The data can be encrypted and stored in the chip itself, so the system would confirm if your fingerprint matches what is in the ID card's chip.

I would be in favour of such a system.

If the data wasn't stored, then what would happen if they were 'lost'? Thats more ridiculous than the fingerprinting TBH.

The Gov already store as much data as they need about each and every one of us.

Who would pay for this? The UK has been trying to implement a national super-duper ID for years now, containing biometrics, shoe size and favourite colour. It's not ready to be implemented yet and it's already looking like £90 a card. The translates into €100 if we don't include a wee bonus for friends of Fianna Fail who get the contract. If 400,000 people need this to get the dole, that's a €40m bill for the cards alone. Add in pensioners and other benefit recipients and watch the cost rise.

If the data wasn't stored, then what would happen if they were 'lost'? Thats more ridiculous than the fingerprinting TBH.
    If the card is lost, it is useless. To issue a new card would be very simple. I don't see the issue.

Let me quote you again Zynks:
    the ID cards could be implemented without the data being stored at government or third party servers

So exactly how would it be easy to send the cards out again, without a copy of the data being stored somewhere?

1. You didn't store the information.
    2. Cost

Let me quote you again Zynks:

So exactly how would it be easy to send the cards out again, without a copy of the data being stored somewhere?
    The user goes in and gets a new finger print and the card is issued on the spot. What's the issue?
    1. You didn't store the information.
    2. Cost
    The card itself doesn't cost more than the SIM card in your phone.

Loss of cards is likely to be as frequent as Laser cards being lost, so not exactly huge...

The user goes in and gets a new finger print and the card is issued on the spot. What's the issue?

Loss of cards is likely to be as frequent as Laser cards being lost, so not exactly huge...
    Okay, but since you didn't store the information from the first time around, how do you ensure the integrity of the identification? Seems like a security flaw.

Also, you've just increased the cost of implementation as now you need a machine to produce these cards in each of 1,200 post offices around the country.

Let's face it, this is just the wet dream of a biometrics company rep and is never going to work right.

Eh, all the administration and checks would have to be performed again...

1. The cost of the physical card is NEVER the issue.

2. The cost of administering basically the same applications over and over again would be huge.

3. Ya know how laser cards / credit cards / ATM cards are replaced so easily?? Go on, 1 guess??

THE BANK STORES YOUR INFORMATION!!!!

Guys, were you watching Primetime last night? Some estimations put SW fraud at up to €3 bn per year, or 15% of the total claims. One common practice is for foreigners leaving the country to sell or rent their PPS, so many people are claiming on two different IDs.... and the reporter himself got a second PPS for himself with fake information.

Except for the ones benefiting from the fraud, I would assume any sensible person would agree something needs to be done. I agree this method I am suggesting will not be very cheap and that whatever is done at the end will involve paperwork.

So, we agree any solution will be labour intensive and there will be costs associated. Does anyone have a cheaper idea? Just saying this is an expensive solution without showing an alternative doesn't really do it, does it?