pedo gets a slap on the wrist

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Should have gone to jail. OK so it was just images that he had nothing to do with but he encouraged it by his downloading. Technically he was not a pedo but broke the law.

Should have gone to jail IMO.

You break the law you do the time.
    I assume you've never broken the law then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭DenMan

Some under one year old.. Pretty rotten stuff..

What!!! :mad:

Who would take a picture of a one year old in the first place!!!

I'm very angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

While I disagree with what he's done. He hasn't actually abused any children himself (that we know of). So let's cool the jets here yeah?
    Still though, the horror of the stories behind those images... it's more than just looking at pictures/paying for them.

Not that I'm agreeing with the pitchfork approach either though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

As a parent of two young children I am shocked at the lightness of this sentence.

I can only surmise that the judge considers that someone who views images is "not as bad" as someone who abuses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

GalKiefer wrote: »
    When I see sentences like this being handed out by judges a part of me becomes very suspicious of the judge to be honest.

What are you implying? That the judge is a paedophile as well? Coz thats just ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭appleb

Totally agree that the sentence is a joke. Think he will receive his 'sanction' by the reaction that he will hopefully get from his community. I feel sorry for his poor old mother.... her 'carer'???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

GalKiefer wrote: »
    When I see sentences like this being handed out by judges a part of me becomes very suspicious of the judge to be honest.

In this case I'd imagine the 'caring for mother' excuse etc got him off but in general when I hear about ridiculously light sentences for paedos I too suspect the judges of having empathetic feelings for the accused, either that or they're masons:mad:. If no one looked at these sites there'd be no market for them...they're all guilty as sin, every last one of them.....
    No normal person would let a child molester off with the sentences some get away with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭tuom

[quote=MagicMarker;

While I disagree with what he's done. He hasn't actually abused any children himself (that we know of). So let's cool the jets here yeah?

However, he hasn't helped matters by putting money (we assume he paid for it?) into the hands that do abuse children.

Indirectly he is abusing these children and enabling the abusers to continue with the abuse , he paid to look at the images , images of babies and children sufferering "horrific abuse" Garda quote , this made me cry today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    I can only surmise that the judge considers that someone who views images is "not as bad" as someone who abuses?

Surely you don't think it is as bad?

If that's the case then watching any video that contains murder would be just as bad as killing somebody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Surely you don't think it is as bad?

If that's the case then watching any video that contains murder would be just as bad as killing somebody

No, I am rational enough to not consider them one and the same.

However this sentence for viewing is extremely light and is effectively not a punishment at all.

I wonder what sentence that judge would have given to an abuser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

Notorious wrote: »
    According to the radio some of the pictures were of babies not even one year old.

Jesus Christ! what sort of fuking animal is he, and what sort of judicial system do we have? I have 2 kids myself one is 10 months old, the guy should be castrated, or left in a room with me for a half an hour. Those pathetic excuses he gave were believed by the pathetic out of touch judge.

This country needs a complete upheaval and changing of the guard, everyone from our politicians and judges are out of touch with the reality of life in Ireland.

If he was deemed mentally stable enough to look after his mother he was mentally stable enough to know what the fuk he was downloading and fapping to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭Squiggle

I've always felt that the offence of downloading child porn should be changed to one of aiding and abeting the production of child porn - if there's no demand for it by the sickos the stuff won't be produced imo. Life in prison without parole for the producers of child porn , sentences from 20 years for the downloaders. Bad, bad cúnts the lot of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Squiggle wrote: »
    I've always felt that the offence of downloading child porn should be changed to one of aiding and abeting the production of child porn - if there's no demand for it by the sickos the stuff won't be produced imo. Life in prison without parole for the producers of child porn , sentences from 20 years for the downloaders. Bad, bad cúnts the lot of them.
    I could apply the same criteria for drugs also.

I'm sure everyone agrees with me. *

*Yeah, that's called sarcasm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Squiggle wrote: »

Lets not go crazy now, if you go down that road then you'll have to start charging people who download movies and music with theft or handling stolen property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

This is the pathetic society we live in nowadays. What the hell was the judge thinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

He funded an industry which abuses kids.
    He deserves to be locked up.
    That's justice ,imo.
    It shouldn't come into it that he may not be a threat in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

wudangclan wrote: »
    He funded an industry which abuses kids.
    He deserves to be locked up.
    That's justice ,imo.
    It shouldn't come into it that he may not be a threat in future.

I agree that he should be jailed..

I wasn't trying to say he shouldn't be, I was referring to the people saying he should be castrated and nailed to tree and peeled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

can not there be set sentences for this type of schit, no wonder my folks in the u.s. are always laughing at our goverments, the nod and sly wink graft etc. it is time accountability became the norm here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

SV wrote: »
    did you hear part of his defense?
    if he was put in jail his mother would be "sad and lonely" :mad: :mad:
    Noone gives a shít about your mother! (apart from that gobshíte of a judge..)

fúcking bástard..hopefully karma catches up with him. sick sick cúnt.

I suspect that karma won't catch this cnut, and in my eyes it's yet another victory for the PC brigade, with irrefutable evidence like this, this "man" should simply be put to work on the chain gang (I plan to start a thread on this later, although I doubt it will get much support)

It's an insult to anyone that has ever been a victim of a paedophile to see this kind of news, and turns my stomach that our justice system will give this excuse for a human a free pass, and another free pass for all those scum bankers that landed us in the current disaster that we're in, and yet would gladly imprison some poor fecker that was guilty of shoplifting a bottle of milk :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

When a Goodfellas Pizza just aint right it gets fu*ked off the line and fed to the pigs....why not the same principle apply to pedos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Voltex wrote: »
    When a Goodfellas Pizza just aint right it gets fu*ked off the line and fed to the pigs....why not the same principle apply to pedos?

Because even pigs have some taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

IvySlayer wrote: »

Castrate him I say, then he won't have sexual attraction and therefore no threat. Maybe a prison term of 10 years too.

All medical and criminal data knows this not to be true. If it was an effective method it would be used. It is a common misconception

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭BlueLepreachaun

I think everyones overreactiong here, theres no need to lock someone up for such a frivolous offence.
    Prison space is limited these days and we need it for people who commit real crimes, like these:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/ideysnmhey/

...and these:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/1016/1224256787797.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

People are going to jail because they can't pay fines and credit card bills. These people are probably usually from working class families. However someone who comes from a middle class family can download vile, unhuman images of young children suffering over a period of 3 years and walk free. Irish people used to talk about the injustice of British Justice but to me Irish justice is even worse. This paedo probably had connections in the right place, ie the law library, the hierachy or the government and he walks free. Its a stain on the soul of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭BlueLepreachaun

People are going to jail because they can't pay fines and credit card bills. These people are probably usually from working class families. However someone who comes from a middle class family can download vile, unhuman images of young children suffering over a period of 3 years and walk free. Irish people used to talk about the injustice of British Justice but to me Irish justice is even worse. This paedo probably had connections in the right place, ie the law library, the hierachy or the government and he walks free. Its a stain on the soul of this country.

THAT is an absurd and slangerous allegation I demand that you withdraw that imme...oh whats that over there...

http://www.ucc.ie/law/irishlaw/blogger/2004/06/judge-may-be-removed-due-to-child.html

...oh...right...never mind then..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

IvySlayer wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1113/iversd.html

For the people who want to read it.

Castrate him I say, then he won't have sexual attraction and therefore no threat. Maybe a prison term of 10 years too.

Yes pedofiles are disgusting but thoughts and attractions aren't illegal, only actions.

I agree that there is a huge inconsitency in the way Judges hand down sentences but if it is judged that he is genuinely sorry for his actions and that there is little to no chance of him re-offending, then I don't really see what the problem is. The prospect of him going to prison for 4 years or more should be enough discouragement. I just don't see the point in locking someone up unless it's going to achieve something. Either:

1) Keep them away from the public
    or
    2) Punish them so that they won't do it again.

1: It was judged that he poses no harm
    2: It was judged that he won't re-offend.

I do think he should have gone to prison to perhaps act as a bigger deterrent for the future, but I think the huge outrage in this topic is a bit of an over-reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

To paraphrase Sir Humphrey Appleby "This country will have all the crime it is prepared to pay for". If we weren't willing to pay for this disgusting cun)ts, i.e. we were happy to torture and kill them, then there would be less of them FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Voltex wrote: »
    At what point does one become so depraved that the qestion of total removal from society is required.....

Was thinking the same when I saw this....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8359636.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

m@cc@ wrote: »

I genuinely am confused at people who are anti death penalty when there are people like him in the world. I wonder do they want their children murdered and raped? Why else would you let him exist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

there is double standards in ireland one for the pedo in the streets,and one for the pedo in the church,