What is the most scared you have ever been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

The time I had a bad trip on acid, without a doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Nico22 wrote: »
    Does nobody get the claustrophobic element to it? It's the closed in bit that gets me. I sometimes even get it on the Luas at rush hour when it's packed and people are still trying to push in.

I don't have a huge fear of flying but I get your claustrophobic argument. I hate being on public transport when it's absolutely jammed, between people sitting and standing. I was on a waterboat in Venice during the summer and I had to get off after the first stop because the thing was insanely jammed. It just made me feel uneasy in my stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Does nobody get the claustrophobic element to it? It's the closed in bit that gets me. I sometimes even get it on the Luas at rush hour when it's packed and people are still trying to push in.
    I get that sometimes when I haven't been on a plane for a long time (Over a year etc) but it subsides after takeoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

When I was around 12/13 I was in the gaeltacht and myself and a friend thought we would take a shortcut to the school, we ended up getting sperated in a bog area where there were thorns and such well above my head height, I had no idea where I was, I was cut to pieces by the thorns and slowly sinking in the bog. I was ready to give up and just drown in the bog at one point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

I was home alone when I was about 14, the middle of the summer, was on the phone to a friend. For some reason (still don't know why) I looked up at the wall behind me...there was this HUGE god-awful spider the size of my HAND just over the door frame. I can't stand spiders in any shape, form or size (my sister has had to remove a money spider from the bath for me :p). I was in absolute hysterics, couldn't breathe properly, I was gasping little short sharp gasps, I was bawling my eyes out, heart racing, sweats and all.

Most terrifying thing of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Aidric wrote: »
    I don't have a huge fear of flying but I get your claustrophobic argument. I hate being on public transport when it's absolutely jammed, between people sitting and standing. I was on a waterboat in Venice during the summer and I had to get off after the first stop because the thing was insanely jammed. It just made me feel uneasy in my stomach.

I can get claustrophobia anywhere.

I won't get on fairground rides, rolorcoasters etc. Anything where I am trapped then I snap.

Years ago I went to a concert in the point and I was up front and the crowd pressind me freaked me. I couldn't move.

I often think about those that dies at Hillsborough. How they must have felt trapped like that. Can't think of a worse way to go that to suffer for hours like that.

Yup, enclosed spaces, they defo scare me :(

I was cut to pieces by the thorns and slowly sinking in the bog. I was ready to give up and just drown in the bog at one point!

Nico <---- Fingers in ears .. lalalallalallallaa .. I'm not listening :eek:

That's my idea of hell :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

the time i lost my son at the races for 30 minutes,i lost it completely.it was like an out of body experience(i think)i never knew i could sweat so much in such a short time,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭DanHendrix

I had a panic attack a few months back for the first time... Thought I was going to drop dead of a heart attack.. Since that day i cant get it out of my head.. Im in fear of my heart just stopping at any moment...:(

DanHendrix wrote: »
    I had a panic attack a few months back for the first time... Thought I was going to drop dead of a heart attack.. Since that day i cant get it out of my head.. Im in fear of my heart just stopping at any moment...:(

The best thing that happened me was to steady my blood sugars. I was given a book by a professor here in Dublin called 'Sugar Blues' and ever since I hardly get them.

I used to get them everywhere - particularly if things were going well. I was told that this is because when your happy your excited a little and more prone to them.

I can't have much sugar now or white bread etc but I feel much better for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭iguy

The most sacred i've ever been is when my ex girlfriend flipped because i lost a measly 25 euro to pay a bill(i had the money to replace it) anyway she kicked me into the legs twice and then she got on top of me and she hit my chest and she was roaring and shouting.....
    The reason why i was scared was because when she was hitting me i thought i would hit her back which i did.nt,however i did remove her of me gently then she rang the guards!..
    They came and my gf proceeded to say i assaulted her,i looked at her in shock thinking how could she say such a thing... Then a female guard asked where i supposedly hit her and she told the guard and then the guard asked her to go into the bedroom and then she looked at my ex,the guard came out on her own and said there was not a mark on my ex,then the male guard asked to see my marks and i showed him the guard said i had 11 fresh bruises on my legs,1 in my abdominal area and 3 finger mark type ones on my left kidney area,he also said i had numerous bruises on my arms chest and back...
    Anyway to make a long story short the guards actually sectioned her without asking if i wanted to press charges,i was asked if i wanted to press actually charges i said yes the judge gave 12 weeks in the mental...this ordeal actually happened 1 year ago on monday and it actually frightens me to think about it:(...
    I hope this post did not offend anyone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

iguy wrote: »
    The most sacred i've ever been is when my ex girlfriend flipped because i lost a measly 25 euro to pay a bill(i had the money to replace it) anyway she kicked me into the legs twice and then she got on top of me and she hit my chest and she was roaring and shouting.....
    The reason why i was scared was because when she was hitting me i thought i would hit her back which i did.nt,however i did remove her of me gently then she rang the guards!..
    They came and my gf proceeded to say i assaulted her,i looked at her in shock thinking how could she say such a thing... Then a female guard asked where i supposedly hit her and she told the guard and then the guard asked her to go into the bedroom and then she looked at my ex,the guard came out on her own and said there was not a mark on my ex,then the male guard asked to see my marks and i showed him the guard said i had 11 fresh bruises on my legs,1 in my abdominal area and 3 finger mark type ones on my left kidney area,he also said i had numerous bruises on my arms chest and back...
    Anyway to make a long story short the guards actually sectioned her without asking if i wanted to press charges,i was asked if i wanted to press actually charges i said yes the judge gave 12 weeks in the mental...this ordeal actually happened 1 year ago on monday and it actually frightens me to think about it:(...
    Crazy... I hate loons like that and she was crazy enough to call the guards and say you assaulted her. Fair play to you for not hitting back, she obviously has mental issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

But what we must remember is it was all your fault because you are a male and we all know women can't do things like that:P Seriously man that was a crappy situation to be in if ever there was I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

in the 70s i was on a british oiltanker picking up oil from venezuela, along side us was a norwegian tanker,to get ashore we had to walk down a narrow road to a gate controled by a army guard, comming back, after a good drinking session, we started to kick a empty beer can around with the norwegians,the young soldier [not older than 14years] shouted at us then opened fire,as the first bullet passed my ear i was over the side ,into the sea,it was f.....k the sharkes

Who could it offend? I grew up in a household where there was physical abuse and it wasn't from a male - nuff said.

You were lucky the guards did their job as I can assure you that there are Guards that would have just locked YOU up.

On camden st a few weeks back there was a girl kicking and battering her bloke up a lane and when the Guards came (two males) they dragged the guy off and phoned for a female Guard for the girl.

You were lucky maybe that you got a female Guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Scariest when I was a kid(national school age):
    At swimming lessons being moved from the baby pool to the deep end, I was afraid and the ignorant instructor simply pushed me in when I wasn't looking. I'd only just left the feicing baby pool!!! Couldn't find the surface was thrashing around for what seemed like forever. Thought I was going to die as I couldn't hold my breath any longer, the instructor had walked off and nobody was near me. By some miracle I found the surface and clawed my way out of the pool(was too wee to even lift meself out of the pool) and ran to changing rooms and cried. Haven't been back in water since. Over next few years I'm going to attempt to over come that fear!!

Scariest when an adult:
    Last year in New Zealand. Hick town where they like to shoot things from their pick up trucks. Stranded with mobile not working and no taxis in the town. Had to walk for over an hour in the pitch black, had group of males shout lines from a well known domestic violence film at me, followed me for awhile but managed to loose them.
    Then half way home and a certain pick up truck zooms past and turns and zooms past again and keeps doing this over and over. Managed to hide in a random garden and ran for my life when I got the chance!!! Thought my heart was going to explode.
    (there had been a series of female abductions nearby around that time-they all ended up dead)!
    NEVER walk home alone EVER!!! Pay a taxi from the city if you have too!!!:eek:

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    At swimming lessons being moved from the baby pool to the deep end, I was afraid and the ignorant instructor simply pushed me in when I wasn't looking. I'd only just left the feicing baby pool!!! Couldn't find the surface was thrashing around for what seemed like forever. Thought I was going to die as I couldn't hold my breath any longer, the instructor had walked off and nobody was near me. By some miracle I found the surface and clawed my way out of the pool(was too wee to even lift meself out of the pool) and ran to changing rooms and cried. Haven't been back in water since. Over next few years I'm going to attempt to over come that fear!!

You reminded me about a time in Spain when I was 16 I was standing near a gigantic swimming pool as lads older than me were jumping off diving boards and stuff. They started throwing chairs in and then their mates and I was just enjoying the playacting as a viewer and presumed they wouldn't do the same with me.

Well they did. I couldn't swim at all, never been in a pool until that very moment of just plunnging downwards like a submarine through the water. My instincts kicked in and somehow managed to get out, God only knows how :o

God only knows how :o

Is bloody right! Haven't spoken to that twat of an old man since.

As for the whole scared of being trapped in small spaces I definitely have that but not as severe. Esp about planes. I've been on so many now I've no problem. I'd rather die fast in a plane explosion than from something like cancer.
    Lifts I don't like. Take the stairs always!
    Was once playing with a small cousin when I was younger and crawled under the table and got stuck in the legs of a chair. I COMPLETELY freaked out. Those slides that are big cyclinders also freak me out but in fairness it's my own fault for going down one with 6 others and we all got stuck:eek:
    Use to think that I'd never be able to go to a concert like Oxegen or anything like that but turns out they really are not that bad!
    The Metallica concert....was a bit more extreme:eek::eek: Some of the fans liked causing physical pain to themselves and random others!

The world is scary but ya simply have to throw yourself out there bit by bit if that's what it takes to get over the fears:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Has to be when I was about 15 in the Gaeltact,came in about 2330 to see the "Bean an Tí" with her two legs up on the table pulling a rope of tampax out of a gowler which looked like a bad badger roadkill.

Took me a while to recover.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭twanda

That's terrible! What an ignorat baxtard of an instructor! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Most scared I have ever been was on a 'Fireblade" with An Garda Siochain in a Dhiadh :eek:

The world is scary but ya simply have to throw yourself out there bit by bit if that's what it takes to get over the fears:D

I'm too old to be getting over fears - there with me to the end at this stage :)

You say Metallica wasn't so bad. Well I wasn't at it but I did once jump on stage and put my arm around Kirk Hammet and then dive off stage into the crowd :D

And Justice For All tour '88 in the Top Hat.

Top what ya say? Exactly! I'm too damn old :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I was in hospital for a couple of weeks, 33wks pregnant and suffering from various complications.

My husband had just left & the Dr's were doing their rounds, they all huddled around my bed, much whispering & muttering and general calm hysteria done. I asked if I should call my husband back & the Doc told looked at his watch, shook his head & said, he has about 5mins - and shouted to get the anaesthetist. It was bizarre - I felt quite healthy considering but I knew my baby would be premature & tiny. Scary biscuits.

He was 4lbs and we were both fine. I still have nightmares about that night tho.

I'm too old to be getting over fears - there with me to the end at this stage :)

You say Metallica wasn't so bad. Well I wasn't at it but I did once jump on stage and put my arm around Kirk Hammet and then dive off stage into the crowd :D

And Justice For All tour '88 in the Top Hat.

Top what ya say? Exactly! I'm too damn old :)

I'll PM ye about that!

twanda wrote: »
    That's terrible! What an ignorat baxtard of an instructor! :mad:
    :(Yeah
    I managed to force myself into a small pool last year...was able to stand up in it and the water was up as far as my chest,so I knew I wouldn't come to any harm. But no matter what I did I simply couldn't put my head under the water.
    The mind is a seriously powerful thing:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Most scared....mhhh.... it has to be a toss up between nearly choking to death on from a bone in my bacon ribs about 2-3 years ago (I've never ate them since) it lasted for about 10-20 seconds, very frightening!

And another time falling off a banana boat about 1 mile out in seas and my life jacket falling off, luckily I grabbed it before it floated away and I sank into the abyss....I think I poo'd my pants abit at the time.

Has to be when I was about 15 in the Gaeltact,came in about 2330 to see the "Bean an Tí" with her two legs up on the table pulling a rope of tampax out of a gowler which looked like a bad badger roadkill.

Took me a while to recover.:eek:

Good holy lord God:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 asterix

To all the posters describing how they feel on planes, in lifts etc., you're describing classic panic attacks.
    There's no need to suffer.Go to a few CBT (cognitive behavioural therapy) sessions with a qualified therapist (the author of "When Panic Attacks" has a practice in Dublin). A few hundred euro to put the enjoyment back into life and let you enjoy hols etc. I saw it work miracles on someone close to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I used to get scared ****less about everything when I was younger. I don't think I've been more than mildly anxious since I was about 15.