CycloAssault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,585 ✭✭✭✭tunney

hobochris wrote: »
    Would you cop on!

1. The cyclist is bound by the rules of the road, which state in a public place road users must give way to pedestrians. This cyclist was a road user.

2. While the women should have waited for the pedestrian crossing, It was the cyclist that was reckless.

The cyclist broke the law what ever way you look at it, its either assault or failing to observe the rules of the road.

As did she. Two wrongs don't make a right, but she won't do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Would you cop on!

1. The cyclist is bound by the rules of the road, which state in a public place road users must give way to pedestrians. This cyclist was a road user.

2. While the women should have waited for the pedestrian crossing, It was the cyclist that was reckless.

The cyclist broke the law what ever way you look at it, its either assault or failing to observe the rules of the road.

Shame the law doesn't take stupidity into account :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,939 ✭✭✭LEIN

Shame the law doesn't take stupidity into account :(
    There would be a few from here arrested in that case! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

tunney wrote: »
    Punched? Or a shove? All we have is one persons intrepretation of what they saw.

It was a punch. Made with his left hand connecting with her upper right shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

caseyann wrote: »
    You don't like women much do you :rolleyes:
    He had no right what so ever to put his hands on her and he should get a hiding same as if a woman hits a man she should get a hiding to:mad:

Why would you try to turn this into a sexism issue?

She broke the rules so tough **** imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭hobochris

As did she. Two wrongs don't make a right, but she won't do it again.

She as a pedestrian is top of the pecking order when it comes to right of way according to rules of the road.So while a bit of common sense could have been applied by her she is not legally bound to the same rules the cyclist is as a road user.
    Mossy Monk wrote: »

She broke the rules so tough **** imo

I think you should make yourself more familiar with the law on this issue.

She didn't break the rules, she just didn't follow logical convention, The cyclist on the hand broke the law!

grundie wrote: »
    It was a punch. Made with his left hand connecting with her upper right shoulder.

And you could see that his fist was closed?
    Sounds awfully like he pushed her out of the way and *saved* her from a collision with a bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No they don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

she also broke the law.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1997/en/si/0182.html#zzsi182y1997a46

punching her,however, was a bit harsh,perhaps.

She as a pedestrian is top of the pecking order when it comes to right of way according to rules of the road.So while a bit of common sense could have been applied by her she is not legally bound to the same rules the cyclist is as a road user.

I think you should make yourself more familiar with the law on this issue.

She didn't break the rules, she just didn't follow logical convention, The cyclist on the hand broke the law!

I must remember the next time a guard cautions me for jay walking that a bloke on boards said i don't have to worry about where and how I cross the round.

Its not illegal here so you don't have to worry about that ever happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,775 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

You don't like women much do you :rolleyes:
    Her sex has no relevance. Her stupidity does
    He had no right what so ever to put his hands on her and he should get a hiding same as if a woman hits a man she should get a hiding to:mad:
    How do you know he put is hands on her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Walk accross the M50 with a large sign displaying you're above the oncoming traffic in the pecking order.

(have an ambulance on standby)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

Quazzie wrote: »
    RED MEANS STOP!.

and green means proceed if the way is clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

no bleeding kneed for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

From my cycling days, the only thing that used to stop me ploughing into jaywalking twats as hard as I could was the fear that I might fall off the bike myself.

I dislike cycling fanatics myself, don't get me wrong, but the arrogance and stupidity of some pedestrians (to a cyclist or motorist) beggars belief, despite how wrong the cyclist was in this instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

And you could see that his fist was closed?
    Sounds awfully like he pushed her out of the way and *saved* her from a collision with a bicycle.

Closed fist.

She had just got out of his way and he lashed out as he had been forced to slow down a bit. After striking her he stood on his pedals to speed up after looking round to see her on the ground - and possibly because the 15-20 people waiting to cross looked pissed off with him.

I have a very clear recollection of the incident. This is due to the fact that when I first seen the cyclist speeding along shouting at the people ahead of him crossing, I thought to myself that there was potential for something interesting to happen.

In some countries, jaywalking will land you in court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

stovelid wrote: »
    From my cycling days, the only thing that used to stop me ploughing into jaywalking twats as hard as I could was the fear that I might fall off the bike myself.

I dislike cycling fanatics myself, don't get me wrong, but the arrogance and stupidity of some pedestrians (to a cyclist or motorist) beggars belief, despite how wrong the cyclist was in this instance.

as a motorcyclist i would have much the same gripe.
    the amount of people who walk,with nary a glance, between lines of cars,slowed by traffic,is staggering and i've had a few very close calls.

wudangclan wrote: »
    as a motorcyclist i would have much the same gripe.
    the amount of people who walk,with nary a glance, between lines of cars,slowed by traffic,is staggering and i've had a few very close calls.

Or morons that stand on the road while waiting for the light to change, thus giving a cyclist (or even motorists) the option of clipping them or having to suddenly veer out of your lane/away from the kerb.

Seriously, good enough for the morons if they get a whack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Given the lady's lack of dramatic response, I am of the opinion that she is quietly plotting revenge and will return to the scene later, under the cover of darkness - she will then proceed to stretch some piano wire between the traffic light posts at the correct height to ensure instant decapitation for all cyclists.

(Could someone phone John Gormely and tell him that they are giving away free hemp tampons at that location - thanks)

Damo9090 wrote: »
    Its not illegal here so you don't have to worry about that ever happening.

Not what I was very forcible told on Dorset street some time ago by two guards.

Its not law. You must have done something really dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Quazzie wrote: »
    Did the guy on the bike that broke no laws deserve to get decked by a lady breaking the law and knocking him off his bike at speed causing considerably more damage. He was dead right to protect himself.

A green light mean only proceed if it is safe to do so/ proceed with caution.

Clearly he showed no caution at all. Pedestrians as the most vulnerable road user will nearly never be found at fault for stuff like this. She clearly wasn't in the way if he had to reach out and strike her. Sounds like assault to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

What would have happened to her had he just driven straight into her? Would she have been better or worse off?

TheZohan wrote: »
    What would have happened to her had he just driven straight into her? Would she have been better or worse off?

A few broken bones i would imagine. Then he would have been caught and given 6 months with any luck!

Then he would have been caught and given 6 months with any luck!

Six months for accidentally running into a jaywalker on his pushbike?

You reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭cosmic

Then he would have been caught and given 6 months with any luck!

What country are you living in?

stovelid wrote: »
    Six months for accidentally running into a jaywalker on his pushbike?

You reckon?

cosmic wrote: »
    What country are you living in?

On purpose and causing serious harm to a pedestrian! Then he would deserve everything he gets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

This is AH. What did you expect?

scumbag/traveller/foreigner bashing?