Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CycloAssault

• 21-10-2009 9:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭

So there I was was, walkign home from work just before 6pm yesterday. I had got to the pedestrian crossing between Grainger's pub on Talbot Street and Connolly station.

There was a red man for pedestrains, but there weren't any cars passign at the time. So some people were nipping across from the direction of Connolly.

A cyclist comes shooting through heading north up Amiens Street and rather than slow down, he starts screaming "F***ING MOVE" and ringing his bell at the people crossing. A lady who was crossing just managed to get out of his way and as he passes her, he punches her on the shoulder sending her crashing to the ground where she ended up with bleeding knees, nose and hands.

He was going so fast no one got a good look at him, other than to determine he was wearing a suit and carrying a laptop bag on his back.

Someone called the Gards, but the cyclist was going too quick for anyone to get a descriptions so I don't think anything will come of it. The lady who got punched was quite upset initially, but went on her way after 10 minutes saying it was her fault and refusing offers of medical assistance.

I know pedestrians really shouldn't cross the road when the red man is lit, but don't drivers and cyclist also have a responsibility to slow down when someone is in the road rather than speed up and lash out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Surly there is CCTV all over the place there to catch this a-hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hey, he was on a roll

Just be thankful he wasn't in a car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

So the lady was breaking a red pedestrian light, and the guy on the bicycle went through as he is entitled to do and protected himself from a pedestrian by clearing his path.

Did the guards take the name of the lady. She should be fined tbf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Had she not been knocked to the ground with the punch, I may have thought that it was Bernard Dunne on the way to a meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

Damo9090 wrote: »
    Surly there is CCTV all over the place there to catch this a-hole.

I would hope so. The lady wanted to be on her way and not cause problems - or press charges. But hopefully the Gards would have words with the guy and ask him to not be so angry when cycling.

The place where this happened is bloody awful for cyclist/pedestrian conflicts.

I have seen cyclists shoot through when they had a red light and actually hit pedestrians who had a green man to cross.

At other times I've cyclists nearly go over their handlebars as they have had to break for pedestrians crossing when they shouldn't.

It's a mad junction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Are you sure he punched her and she didn't just get a knock off his laptop bag/shoulder?

Let this be lesson to the sheeple to obey red lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

anyone get his licence plate?

Quazzie wrote: »
    So the lady was breaking a red pedestrian light, and the guy on the bicycle went through as he is entitled to do and protected himself from a pedestrian by clearing his path.

Did the guards take the name of the lady. She should be fined tbf.

The Guards hadn't arrived before she left.

I understand she was in the wrong but did not deserve to by floored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

If you wanted to catch him, simply stand there at 6pm this evening and more than likely that same cyclist will pass that way. Or on the same night next week.

seamus wrote: »
    Are you sure he punched her and she didn't just get a knock off his laptop bag/shoulder?

Let this be lesson to the sheeple to obey red lights.

He really did strike out. A lot of people witnessed it.

[quote=
    wudangclan
    ;62631632]anyone get his licence plate?[/quote]

Are you taking the piss or did you read op?

I understand she was in the wrong but did not deserve to by floored.
    Did the guy on the bike that broke no laws deserve to get decked by a lady breaking the law and knocking him off his bike at speed causing considerably more damage. He was dead right to protect himself.

Are you taking the piss or did you read op?

i would never knowingly take the piss in AH.

Did the guy on the bike that broke no laws deserve to get decked by a lady breaking the law and knocking him off his bike at speed causing considerably more damage. He was dead right to protect himself.

Would you say that if it was your mother that was knocked to the ground?

Of course I would, and I'd warn her to watch where she is going next time and be more careful.

She actually got away lightly. If it was a motorbike and she was a foot further out it could've been fatal.

The pedestrian broke a very straight forward basic rule.

RED MEANS STOP!.

She deserved it. Case closed!

Of course I would, and I'd warn her to watch where she is going next time and be more careful.

She actually got away lightly. If it was a motorbike and she was a foot further out it could've been fatal.

RED MEANS STOP!.

:pac: lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

probably more likely to say "Well you should have waited for the green man, thats what you always told me to do."

RED MEANS STOP!.

But doesn't the cyclist also have an obligation to stop for obstructions in the road?

Both parties were just as guilty in this particular situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

Ah would you come off it, fair enough if he wanted to make his point and let out a shout (Which he did) but this was assault pure and simple!! Protecting himself by punching somebody!! Please!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

yer man was a scumbag, cant believe people are defending him

Ah would you come off it, fair enough if he wanted to make his point and let out a shout (Which he did) but this was assault pure and simple!! Protecting himself by punching somebody!! Please!! :rolleyes:

Punched? Or a shove? All we have is one persons intrepretation of what they saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

At least he wasn't cycling on the footpad...

Wossack wrote: »
    yer man was a scumbag, cant believe people are defending him

This is AH. What did you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I hate sheeple. Woman was a tard and has learned a life lesson to LOOK before crossing.

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

RED MEANS STOP!.

You don't like women much do you :rolleyes:
    He had no right what so ever to put his hands on her and he should get a hiding same as if a woman hits a man she should get a hiding to:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Would you cop on!

1. The cyclist is bound by the rules of the road, which state in a public place road users must give way to pedestrians. This cyclist was a road user.

2. While the women should have waited for the pedestrian crossing, It was the cyclist that was reckless.

The cyclist broke the law what ever way you look at it, its either assault or failing to observe the rules of the road.

hobochris wrote: »
    Would you cop on!

1. The cyclist is bound by the rules of the road, which state in a public place road users must give way to pedestrians. This cyclist was a road user.

2. While the women should have waited for the pedestrian crossing, It was the cyclist that was reckless.

The cyclist broke the law what ever way you look at it, its either assault or failing to observe the rules of the road.

As did she. Two wrongs don't make a right, but she won't do it again.

Would you cop on!

Shame the law doesn't take stupidity into account :(

There would be a few from here arrested in that case! :)

tunney wrote: »
    Punched? Or a shove? All we have is one persons intrepretation of what they saw.

It was a punch. Made with his left hand connecting with her upper right shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

caseyann wrote: »
    He had no right what so ever to put his hands on her and he should get a hiding same as if a woman hits a man she should get a hiding to:mad:

Why would you try to turn this into a sexism issue?

She broke the rules so tough **** imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

As did she. Two wrongs don't make a right, but she won't do it again.

She as a pedestrian is top of the pecking order when it comes to right of way according to rules of the road.So while a bit of common sense could have been applied by her she is not legally bound to the same rules the cyclist is as a road user.
    Mossy Monk wrote: »

She broke the rules so tough **** imo

I think you should make yourself more familiar with the law on this issue.

She didn't break the rules, she just didn't follow logical convention, The cyclist on the hand broke the law!

grundie wrote: »
    It was a punch. Made with his left hand connecting with her upper right shoulder.

And you could see that his fist was closed?
    Sounds awfully like he pushed her out of the way and *saved* her from a collision with a bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No they don't.

she also broke the law.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1997/en/si/0182.html#zzsi182y1997a46

punching her,however, was a bit harsh,perhaps.

She as a pedestrian is top of the pecking order when it comes to right of way according to rules of the road.So while a bit of common sense could have been applied by her she is not legally bound to the same rules the cyclist is as a road user.

I think you should make yourself more familiar with the law on this issue.

She didn't break the rules, she just didn't follow logical convention, The cyclist on the hand broke the law!

I must remember the next time a guard cautions me for jay walking that a bloke on boards said i don't have to worry about where and how I cross the round.

Its not illegal here so you don't have to worry about that ever happening.

Her sex has no relevance. Her stupidity does
    How do you know he put is hands on her?

Walk accross the M50 with a large sign displaying you're above the oncoming traffic in the pecking order.

(have an ambulance on standby)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

RED MEANS STOP!.

and green means proceed if the way is clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

no bleeding kneed for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

From my cycling days, the only thing that used to stop me ploughing into jaywalking twats as hard as I could was the fear that I might fall off the bike myself.

I dislike cycling fanatics myself, don't get me wrong, but the arrogance and stupidity of some pedestrians (to a cyclist or motorist) beggars belief, despite how wrong the cyclist was in this instance.

And you could see that his fist was closed?
    Sounds awfully like he pushed her out of the way and *saved* her from a collision with a bicycle.

Closed fist.

She had just got out of his way and he lashed out as he had been forced to slow down a bit. After striking her he stood on his pedals to speed up after looking round to see her on the ground - and possibly because the 15-20 people waiting to cross looked pissed off with him.

I have a very clear recollection of the incident. This is due to the fact that when I first seen the cyclist speeding along shouting at the people ahead of him crossing, I thought to myself that there was potential for something interesting to happen.

In some countries, jaywalking will land you in court.

stovelid wrote: »
    From my cycling days, the only thing that used to stop me ploughing into jaywalking twats as hard as I could was the fear that I might fall off the bike myself.

I dislike cycling fanatics myself, don't get me wrong, but the arrogance and stupidity of some pedestrians (to a cyclist or motorist) beggars belief, despite how wrong the cyclist was in this instance.

as a motorcyclist i would have much the same gripe.
    the amount of people who walk,with nary a glance, between lines of cars,slowed by traffic,is staggering and i've had a few very close calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

wudangclan wrote: »
    as a motorcyclist i would have much the same gripe.
    the amount of people who walk,with nary a glance, between lines of cars,slowed by traffic,is staggering and i've had a few very close calls.

Or morons that stand on the road while waiting for the light to change, thus giving a cyclist (or even motorists) the option of clipping them or having to suddenly veer out of your lane/away from the kerb.

Seriously, good enough for the morons if they get a whack.