Bartholomew Ahern: a complete zero or still a hero?

The worst Taioseach the country has ever had.

A fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

looking at him on the late late show a few weeks back, if hadnt known who he was its was impossible not to like him... i dont know how he does it.. he started off as a great politician... he however was one of the main reasons we are in the trouble we are in. But like all the others he lost his back bone... for those who say he was worse than haughey ye must be daft.. Haughey was the one that started all the corruption and other BS.. he was the one telling the people of this country that we were living way beyond our means all well and good for a man who could fly to france and paris for hand made suits... if memory serves me he married sean lamass' daughter and lamass said the haughtey would never set foot in leinster house as long as he was in power and he didnt.. lamass could see what a corrupt and vial man he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Greatest Taoiseach ever & hope he runs for President
    No option for "I think Bertie Ahern is a thieving ****". He was touring the airwaves yesterday promoting his book. Why was he not doing his job as a TD? I hate him and wouldn't care less if he died in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭funk-you

Bertie can suck a fart clean out of my ass. Theiving f*ck.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Is it illegal to call the man a [EMAIL="w@nker"]w@nker[/EMAIL]? Becuase I tell you any man that has spent as long as he has in the couts then trys to convince us he did all he did cause the "Boss" told him to is nothing but an ass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

They are interviewing idiots on 96fm now that were at his book signing in cork yesterday. The majority seem to be old women that think he done nothing wrong and that he is a saint. Are these fcuking idiots stupid or something. His car got egged though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

mikom wrote: »
    Patrick Bartholomew Ahern, a complete topic for the politics section.

If I said no backseat modding, would that be backseat modding on the back of backseat moderation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 scoile

It seems 130% of people have a view on this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Bartie (correct name ) is a crook no more, no less, at least CJH had something to show for it

"Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others" - Winston Churchill

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Just trying to get an idea of any remaining support for Patrick Bartholomew Ahern.

Personally I hate the b@stard. I can't stand the lying, deceitful blank cheque writing reprehensilbe little man who accepted ten of thousands in cash from a businessman as well as a large house in Drumcondra. All for no reason - mar dhea. These are just some of the established facts to date. Bertieland reeks of corruption, shady deals and cronyism - all dressed up in "I'm one of the lads" rubbish which far too many ignorami are willing to accept at face value. He is not one of "us", and hasn't been since long before the last century ended.

His appointment of that arch unstable sycophant Eoghan Harris - what has he ever done for Irish society? - to Seanad Éireann as a reward for defending him on the Late Late was the ultimate two fingers. Harris is now receiving @ €100,000 in salary and expenses in that pointless institution for doing, well, nothing but ranting and raving. Yes, dear PAYE taxpayer, that is where some of your money is going.

And if Ahern succeeded in his aim to establish an "honours" system in this state you can be absolutely certain that Harris would be something like Lord Harris of Monkstown. Same with Lord Paddy the Plasterer and the rest of them.

What sort of morons in Dublin Central elect Patrick Bartholomew Ahern? And are these people just as thick and morally redundant as those who elect Michael Lowry, Beverely Cooper Flynn and John O'Donoghue?

In a word "yes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Bartie (correct name ) is a crook no more, no less, at least CJH had something to show for it

at least CJH did his crooked dealings behind closed doors, Bertie (bartie) does his out in the open!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

"Still" a hero? He was never a hero and now he's just being particularly brazen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 MickMacca

dis and dat.

Berto is a hero, he took you lot for all you were worth, it took you 20 years to catch on. Infact he even retired of his own accord.

Who is you nexy moral crusader? that kerry school teeacher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

"He's the man. He's the best, the most skilful, the most devious, and the most cunning of them all."

Sage words indeed from the Godfather of FF, CJH.......

At least he was half right.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

0001662a12cry.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

He should be prosecuted by the full force of the law
    Sam Kade wrote: »
    They are interviewing idiots on 96fm now that were at his book signing in cork yesterday. The majority seem to be old women that think he done nothing wrong and that he is a saint. Are these fcuking idiots stupid or something. His car got egged though.
    charlie haughey had the same bingo parade supporting him. maybe becuase they are so senile they cant remember all that he did?

Besides all his other sins, the greatest in my opinion was instituting a culture of incompetence, lack of accountability and "ah sure it'll be alright" that permeated all levels of the government and state bodies and by consequence of the general lack of oversight into the banking and construction industry. The true cost of this will never be known.