Have you ever got a random text, i just did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Papillon!

got a call before from some man who started nattering away in chinese or something for ages...it was so random...i really didnt know what to say

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Teutorix wrote: »
    I am more often the one sending them.

My fav is "Honestly, why haven't we had sex yet?"

For the lulz you know?

I am so tempted to try this :D

Also, a lad I used to be friends with sent me a text last week. Went along the lines of "I don't mind Friend A's one, but Friend B's one anoys me because it affects my gang and my Ennis friends. I don't care, but I can't avoid it."
    Basically, he's sick of hearing friends talking about my blog, and he accidentally told me so. Whinging little git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

An File wrote: »
    I am so tempted to try this :D

Also, a lad I used to be friends with sent me a text last week. Went along the lines of "I don't mind Friend A's one, but Friend B's one anoys me because it affects my gang and my Ennis friends. I don't care, but I can't avoid it."
    Basically, he's sick of hearing friends talking about my blog, and he accidentally told me so. Whinging little git.

Maybe he wanted you to know....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I got a voicemail from some respectable sounding girl saying "Just calling to arrange meeting up, I be at SuchandSuch pub on Friday at 9". Of course, being a voicemail, I couldn't call her back to say she had the wrong number. So on the following Saturday I got an voicemail of her shouting all sorts of abuse at the guy she thought stood her up. I'd say he was lucky!

Press 22 to call back from your voicemail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

fullstop wrote: »
    Press 22 to call back from your voicemail.

I never knew that, thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I had a priest ring me in a panic saying he was going to be slightly late for the wedding.

It had my then girlfriend who was lying beside me in bed very confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Tom65 wrote: »
    I once got a voicemail that said, "what's the point of having this phone if you never f*cking use it!?".

I just wish I could've called him back.

I've done that to mates of mine...stupid fcukers...having a mobile and never getting through to them :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

All of the time. Random calls, random texts. I don't even answer my phone anymore unless I know the number. Last week alone I've had some batty cow from somewhere out the weist' going on about her childs birthday party (two calls), some guy from cork saying my car was ready for collection in the garage (despite living in Dublin), and numerous random texts and picture messages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Some girl rang me once and asked me if I was feeling myself, now I don't know if I'd dealt out my number to some skank in a nightclub while smashed, but it was 3 am, I had colleg in the morning, and I hadn't the first fcuking clue who it was.

May be a missed opportunity, fcuk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

I got a text message about 3 years ago saying 'i turst you to put rambon objects down my ear'. Sent a relay saying 'what the f*uk'. Got a vey rude call then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

I never get random texts, someone text me 0871234567

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Vain wrote: »
    I never get random texts, someone text me 0871234567
    Delivery report failed.You lie :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

I got one a few weeks ago from a job recruitment agency..they said to talk to helen..an be there at 9....god, i pity the fecker who missed their interview......:pac:

:pac:.............G

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I got one a couple of years ago from some dude looking for a mistress to spank him, and from the tone of it, i don't think he was joking either :eek:

i got a text message just there it wasnt for me, it said.

"where the fcuk are ya,
    im waiting ages 4 ya.
    i cant wait anymore, thanks to you im just going to start jackn meself"

has anyone ever got an random message sent to them that wasnt for them.

OP, stop letting your girlfriend text off your phone.. this is what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I got one a couple of years ago from some dude looking for a mistress to spank him, and from the tone of it, i don't think he was joking either :eek:
    Sorry about that.Took down the number wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Yes, last one was a text saying '' who's this '' :confused:

I replied '' it was you who texted me .....you first ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

i got one a while back.. it said?
    Well?

I replied "well what"?
    Are ye fcuking going?

No, im cummin! Now fcuk off stranger.

Oddly enough, the exchange of texts ended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Enii

For awhile there someone was sending me the results of the African Nations and telling me things about football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭DigiGal

I got a phone call from an irate mother telling me that "If I didn't ****ing send Sharon Home right now she'd ****ign knife me" To which i replied Jaysus no wonder Sharon doesn't want to go home."

She hung up, rang me another 4 times convinced I was this Sharon girls mate....Told her Sharon gave me crabs and I wanted nothing to do with her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

I got one once that said "Well whats craic? Are ya givin me them wheels are ya?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

"Are ya ne good at lick outs?" :p
    ..."Sorry! Wrong number"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

donmeister wrote: »
    I got the most random one just the other day! It read :

'Tom --- ere would you know of anyone interested in 12 new pvc white windows,at the right money!
    :confused::confused: :pac:

I could do with some myself. What price?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

I got one before that said ''Dnt get dat one again it ws 2 big lst time''

Didnt know how to take that!!

take it up the arse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Dublin141

I'm always getting texts saying who's this - why the fook are you texting me if you don't know who I am?!

I've gotten a few phonecalls from an irate kerryman looking for some man that I've never heard of. He must have owed him money or something because he was really pissed off on the phone and seemed to think I was pretending I didn't know who he was talking about. The first call came literally five minues after I turned the bloody phone on after buying it!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

So weird, I have never gotten one before and last night (after reading this thread) I got one..

"Leave power hosing until I get home"

No idea who it was, I asked but they never responded..

How weird is that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Flying Abruptly

Sending random pictures to people you dont know who have bluetooth enabled on their phone is always funny, especailly when your in a lecture or something and your waiting to see a 'wtf' reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Enii wrote: »
    For awhile there someone was sending me the results of the African Nations and telling me things about football.

You sure someone didn't sign you up to a football subscription service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Sent a text to my dad a while back that read "What the fcuk did you feed the dogs last night?Let them out of the pen this morning and there was sh1t all over the place".

I rang him a while later to discuss.
    "Hey dad, did you get my text??what the hell like??"
    "No, didnt get it all. Why?"
    "fcuk"

About 5 mins later I get a call from the number I sent it to. Then a number of texts saying whos this. Eventually i just said, sorry txt you by mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

Got one before that went MAM CAN I STAY IN JANE'S TONIGHT PLEEEASE!? I SPOKE TO HER DAD AND HE DOESN'T MIND

So I sent one back along the lines of GET HOME AT ONCE YOU HORRIBLE LITTLE SHíTEHAWK. YOU KNOW BLOODY WELL HOW I FEEL ABOUT JANE'S DAD.

Didn't get a reply though. My mate sent a message that was intended for a girl he was tapping to the wrong number. This guy is rather... er open minded (read depraved) about all things sexual and this is reflected in the messages he writes to girls. Except that unfortunately this time, the girl who recieved the message was still in primary school. Her father rang him up and threatened all sorts of litigation. Apparently the little one was quite scarred by the affair.

My own dad regularly gets texts on weekends from someone asking him to "please work tonight".