Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pure Mule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Tonight was brilliant,It was PURE MULE!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    One billionth thread on this.

Kind of let down tbh. It really dragged, it sorely missed the old regulars and Tom Murphy (Seamie).

Can't put a name on the song in the closing credits, any help?

Waiting for the Night to Come is the name of the song I think, Mundy sings it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Waiting for the Night to Come is the name of the song I think, Mundy sings it

yep, and Mundy's from Birr and it was filmed round Birr etc.
    Scobie did some amount of Riding in all fairness to him......lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Good way to finish the series. Thought they would take the easy option by Jen and Scobie riding off into the Australian sunset.
    Scobie a strange character. Felt sorry for guy who lost his job at the site. Maybe they can give him a spin off series!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

ya great viewing . everybody knows a scobie.

agree a few more of trhe other faces from orig series would have been good.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Totally changed my point of view towards Scobie. He's a bit pathetic really.
    I didn't like the English guy at all but he was right when he said Scobie was just a boy. He just goes around doing whatever he likes and lets his mammy and others pick up the pieces.

I had originally wanted him and Jen to get together but by the end of it I was glad she tolf him no. I didn't really want her with that English lad either, but I think that was more to do with the fact that I didn't like the actor.

All in all a pretty decent way to wrap things up. And jaysus but time hasn't been good to that Ger one. Miserable auld cow. That story made no sense at all. I mean it's not like Kevin went behind her back with Jen, they were all there together when it happened.

Another thing that confused me was when Deirdre was telling Jen that Scobie was always mad about her. Did she forget the time he spent chasing after her!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

while i enjoyed sunday nights episode , last nights was disapointing and not really worth the effort , nothing as such was resolved with the charechters , that said thier was interesting and obvious commentary on the way the country has gone , rescession , empty houses , a feeling that its time for irish people to once again go overseas , not bad but not as good as 1st time round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭jos28

Good way to finish the series. Thought they would take the easy option by Jen and Scobie riding off into the Australian sunset.

I was happy with the way it all worked out in the end. I was glad Scobie and Jen did not end up together. I liked the new bloke so I'm happy they got back together. Still missed Tom Jordan, even looking at the empty bed in Scobie's room made me feel sad:(
    I can feel the wedding sequel coming on, Jen and Tom, Scobie's Mam and Cliff.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭smurke

I thought the first series was alright for rte, definitely one of the better productions they have had. But this 2 episode special was ****. The first episode was just slightly better than the 2nd but that means absolutely nothing. It probably had a lot to do with the quality of acting but the writing was atrocious. Tom Murphy was a great actor and he was definitely missed here, fair enough it was nice to think of his character was with Therese but the knock on effect that had was that Eileen Walsh and Sean McGinley, two more fine actors, weren't included. Liam Carney was back but his performance isn't worth talking about. Scobie's Mum's character was completely rewritten, she was really annoying. I thought Orla Fitzgerald was under used, she's a fantastic actress and she definitely seemed like one of the most natural, believable characters. I doubt the kid was scobies, he was too old, I got the impression that the set up with her and him was something that kind of attracted him but there was nothing that implied he was the dad. I felt like there was a Jerry Maguire thing going on, where the kid meant as much to him as the girl but sure I suppose these things are open to interpertation. The guy buying the car was terrible, just badly drawn, Scobies attempt at a heart to heart with him was cringey, as was the end scene with the cars.

I disliked as much about the 1st series as I actually liked about it but there was nothing I liked about this at all. They should have just left it, as was.

The accents are pretty bad, especially Jens, she fights too hard to get rid of her own accent and it just sounds like some mutated version of how people speak in Offaly. It was something I forgot about after the 1st episode though, because she is a pretty good actress. The main problem is that the flow of the accents were all wrong, people from Offaly don't speak like that, I'm from Birr, and we just don't. There were similarities but people from Offaly speak a lot faster, the actors were speaking it as it was written, not as it sounds. The other factor about the accent is that even in Offaly, like say, Dublin, there are really diverse accents, so something more neutral might have not drawn such a negative response. Most people from home that I know watched it, just thought it pretty funny.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Have to agree about the last scene with the cars. As soon as I saw them driving along I said I bet you anything they shout Pure F-ing Mule at eachother, just like Shamie and Scobie did in the first series. I did cringe at that.

As I said before Jens accent was more like a Dundalk accent with her Monaghan twang coming through, but Charlene McKenna is such a good actress you'd forgive her it.

It's nice to see how they ended up but I suppose at the same time it wouldn't have bothered me if they hadn't made it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Arcee

Element Pictures Distribution will be releasing a DVD box set with all the original episodes and the new ones before Christmas. There's a facebook page now and the release dates etc will be posted there.....

http://en-gb.facebook.com/pages/Pure-Mule/126874958811

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

The Last Weekend was beautifully shot. Does any one know what type of camera was used and was it HD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

I just couldn't figure out how the builder was going to stop Scobie going to OZ the following day.

Charges might be pending but he wasn't on bail and the Guards didn't have his passport so what was the big deal about his mother having to go and beg the guy to let him go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭seany2929

wilson10 wrote: »
    I just couldn't figure out how the builder was going to stop Scobie going to OZ the following day.

Charges might be pending but he wasn't on bail and the Guards didn't have his passport so what was the big deal about his mother having to go and beg the guy to let him go?

Was thinking the exact same myself.

Must say i love the show & wish there was more episode's in the second series. They were saying that there might be more in the future.

Wonder could they have made a full second series out of it. Think they definitely could have got another few episodes out of it.

smurke wrote: »
    the accents were all wrong, people from Offaly don't speak like that, I'm from Birr, and we just don't

ye do.:pac:

ya ye do so.

i'm off now to buy a bith a buttherrr.

aka (i'm off now to buy a bit of butter)

Surely there are different accents in Offaly. Five or six in Dublin that I know of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭smurke

Surely there are different accents in Offaly. Five or six in Dublin that I know of

That was my point, Eugene O Brien is from Edenderry but a lot of it was shot in Birr, even these two places are different. People from Edenderry don't speak like they do in Pure Mule either.

Another really funny thing is the type of music in the Night Club, Neosupervital would never be played in a rural night club. It's pure chart.

That was my point, Eugene O Brien is from Edenderry but a lot of it was shot in Birr, even these two places are different. People from Edenderry don't speak like they do in Pure Mule either.

It never stated in Pure Mule about it being based in Birr, so it does'nt matter to where geograpically the accent is specific to - to all intents and purposes, its a flat midlands accent in the drama,and it does well enough without being all pedantic about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Another really funny thing is the type of music in the Night Club, Neosupervital would never be played in a rural night club. It's pure chart.

I noticed that too,

I really doubt there are many one night club towns that seem to only play feeder/greenday and the like.

Makes me want to live there.

but a lot of it was shot in Birr, even these two places are different. People from Edenderry don't speak like they do in Pure Mule either.

quote]

thats funny

have tipp cousins, and the accents seemed good enough. Know they are different counties, but overall I thought they were okay apart from Jens which was a bit thick.

where did i leave the jayzus car ?

typical of an expression in p.mule

do ye say this alot around pure mule country ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭jkmanc1974

Anyone know who the actress is that played the blonde haired girl in the hotel(Jen's best mate from the original series), swear have seen her before...

Brgds
    Johnny

jkmanc1974 wrote: »
    Anyone know who the actress is that played the blonde haired girl in the hotel(Jen's best mate from the original series), swear have seen her before...

Brgds
    Johnny
    Simone Kirby. According to IMDB, the only other role she has played outside of Ger in Pure Mule is Ophelia in Hamlet. Assume you were not confusing her with the girl who was in Commitments. Angeline Ball. Very alike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,217 ✭✭✭lukin

Arcee wrote: »
    Element Pictures Distribution will be releasing a DVD box set with all the original episodes and the new ones before Christmas. There's a facebook page now and the release dates etc will be posted there.....

http://en-gb.facebook.com/pages/Pure-Mule/126874958811

'bout time. Anyone would think RTE don't want to make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Have they any motor ownership laws in Offaly, they just swap money and keys and nuts to tax books and insurance certs and the like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

but a lot of it was shot in Birr, even these two places are different. People from Edenderry don't speak like they do in Pure Mule either.

quote]

thats funny

Oh yes they do.I have loads of relations from Edenderry and belive they sound like that:D.The accents are great on P.M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭smodgley

i never watched the original or the repeats, i only happed to watch the 2nd part on RTEplayer coz i was bored, i must say i thought it was the best thing RTE have done in a long time, loved it, i laughed when they kapt saying jayus this jaysus that, i say that alot and im not from the midlands ima yellabally hahahaha
    great programme thou