Could Hitler happen again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

dannym08 wrote: »
    we must exterminate the human mayo:confused:

i used google translate to say we must exterminate mayo people.

i studied french in school :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Kelda09

Hi, the thread reminds me of a book I'm in the process of readin, The Death of Sigmund Freud (I've been in the process for 3months, I'll finish it eventually :D) it claims that Freud wasnt surprised that the nazi regime flourished as basically all humans have a deep desire and tendancy towords violence and cruelty and if the rigt person came along at the right time, (ie Hitler who was charismatic, controling and appeared to have all the answers at a troubled time in Germany) then people would follow him. I'm proberably not doing the book justice, but thought it was ineresting that Freud had described this type of person before Hitler came along. Sorry for the boring post and to answer the question, yes I do believe that in the right (or wrong) circumstances unfortunatly history could easily repeat itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,589 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

bleg wrote: »
    Who'll we commit genocide on?

I hear Muslims are the new Jews.
    A charismatic leader with an almost obsessive following who will turn the country around in it's darkest hour...

No one else thinkin Obama no? :D

Ha first thing i thought of too. Yes we can! Yes we can! Yes we can! Repeat Ad Nauseum

g-whizz wrote: »
    look at germany... there is no scum or knackers (drains on society). thats why germany is so efficient.

No scum in Germany? Having a laugh?
    Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Bush wasnt far behing Hitler minus the genocide, although the hundreds of thousands of dead Iraqis might have something to say about that.

They might ask their fellow Iraqi's why they keep bombing them in marketplaces.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    i used google translate to say we must exterminate mayo people.

i studied french in school :(

thats what i used to change to back to english, i studied french too

i hope google arent monitoring it...they'll think there is a revolution afoot in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Bush wasnt far behing Hitler minus the genocide, although the hundreds of thousands of dead Iraqis might have something to say about that.

the bush admin ticks most of these boxes http://www.ellensplace.net/fascism.html

dsmythy wrote: »

Ha first thing i thought of too. Yes we can! Yes we can! Yes we can! Repeat Ad Nauseum

wtf...is that for real, its worryingly similar to der Hitler-Jugend

(only there is less of them and they are alot fatter)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

dannym08 wrote: »
    thats what i used to change to back to english, i studied french too

i hope google arent monitoring it...they'll think there is a revolution afoot in Ireland

so you agree that mayo people should be shot on sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

perhaps i was too literal in my OP. i didnt mean a dictator coming to power and doing exactly what he did, i suppose i was asking could factors ever arise again that would aid a hitler esque-rise to power. how bad do you think it would have to get, some would argue that despite everything thats bad about humanity we're too civilised to allow it to happen again

others argue that its already happened, as you have characters like mugabe.

perhaps i shouldnt get stoned and think of stupid ideas for threads, but hey it prompted a bit of (albiet less than serious) discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,589 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

perhaps i was too literal in my OP. i didnt mean a dictator coming to power and doing exactly what he did, i suppose i was asking could factors ever arise again that would aid a hitler esque-rise to power. how bad do you think it would have to get, some would argue that despite everything thats bad about humanity we're too civilised to allow it to happen again

perhaps i shouldnt get stoned and think of stupid ideas for threads, but hey it prompted a bit of (albiet less than serious) discussion.

Seriousness ist verboten!

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    so you agree that mayo people should be shot on sight.

Only if we can include Kilkenny people in it aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

A few despots like Mugabe are too disorganised to ever cause serious trouble, for the west at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

whos mugabe?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

then once he's in power we'd be rightly ****ed...

We'd be fúcked?
    It'd be everyone else whod be up a creek without a shítpaddle.

The new Aryan race had better not be pasty freckled gingers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

rossie1977 wrote: »
    the bush admin ticks most of these boxes http://www.ellensplace.net/fascism.html

Cant you find a majority of these elements in most modern societies. Especially ones such as cronyism and corruption, power of corporations protected and controlled mass media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

It's only a matter of time really, all things come full circle.

The guy who almost single handedly sent Zimbabwe up the swanee. ;)

an evil Zimbabwean dictator

edit:

damn bet to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

It could happen again. Of course it could. Is the human race really as advanced or civilied as we would like to think it is? After all Hitler only died 64 years ago. Its not an enormous amount of time in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Well i'll vote for anyone who sorts out the gyppos for once and for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Bob Mugabe, your friendly African dictator, head of state of Zimbabwe since 1980

Dislikes: Elections, gay people, white people, opposition parties.

Does funny things like compare himself to Hitler, have opposition leaders wife doused in petrol and set alight, after having hands and feet chopped off (allegedly).

Probably the dictator most frequently compared to Hitler these days, though he's likely no worse than Kim Il Jong, Than Shwe, Islam Karimov or half a dozen other dictators.

Well i'll vote for anyone who sorts out the gyppos for once and for all.

You can't "sort out the gyppos once and for all" Knackers (bad ones) are hardly going to sit back and let themselves be sorted out once and for all. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

orourkeda wrote: »
    Cant you find a majority of these elements in most modern societies. Especially ones such as cronyism and corruption, power of corporations protected and controlled mass media

i am sure you can find two or three of these in most modern societies, ireland for example will have a few of these but under the bush admin things like:

*human rights were abused re: guantanamo
    *patriotic nationalism increased, the wearing of flag lapel pins were very much in evidence by members of the bush admin, flags started to appear everywhere
    *a common scapegoat was found ie al qaeda
    *the military were very much news story number one every week
    *Obsession with national security, yes/no under bush ;)
    *Religion and ruling elite tied, yes/no under bush ;) god didn't tell me to go to iraq
    *Fraudulent elections, florida in 2000 ring any bells

now compare to ireland, do we tick any of those boxes, are we obsessed with national security?? do you ever hear anything about our military, does brian cowen tell the people of ireland god told him to do _____

you notice under obama most of these points are beginning to disappear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

I've seen the graffiti of scumbag hoodies glorifying Hitler,swastikas galore etc.They even managed to spell the tyrant's name correctly.But what the dopeheads don't realise is a Hitler style regime would be wipeout for them,the total wasters they are.Maybe it's a form of deathwish on their part and humanity and civilisation would certainly benefit if that should come to pass soon.Unfortunately,in our liberal democratic world we will have to suffer their continued existence.Of course Hitler and his mates employed fellow scumbags and lowlifes to do their dirty work being the grudging, narrow minded types they essentially are.And it's not beyond the bounds of possibility that someone,a bit brighter than the average hooded dope could rise to power and give the wasters a sense of political importance and muscle,albeit temporarily,until the new "Milosovic" no longer needs them and establishes total control:rolleyes::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

Has The Third Wave been mentioned yet?

We're all potential Nazi's. We won't realise it, until after the fact.

The same way nobody in Germany knew of the holocaust... nobody in Ireland knew of institutional abuse. Sort of.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

The United States is currently the closest to most likely emulating Germany at the time. Its got a lot of the right ingredients.

1st world military power/empire.

A lot of blindly patriotic people who will go for anything if in the name of America, even more so if there was a recent disaster in their country. (The amount of Americans who think Iraq was behind 9/11 is depressing)

Another amount of people who have such disinterest in whats going on in the world that they wouldn't see the implications of certain actions by their country.

Theres a lot of extreme nationalism sprinkled with a little bit of ignorant racism. But they're in the minority thank ****. Still scary though. For example, this video scares the flying **** out of me. Its hard not to see similarities with nazi germany there.

A lot of Americans wouldn't see anything wrong with that there but that's cause a lot of Americans actually don't know much about Hitler or his rise to power, all they generally know is "Germany were the bad guys and we saved everyone". So the whole learning from history thing doesn't happen.

However luckily there is still way too many decently informed people in the US. People who'll ask questions and be critical. The US may be the most similar but its still far far off.

Then finally they simply don't need to conquer the entire planet. Empire building doesn't work the way it used to. Although they were sneaky with that whole Hawaii thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes, I believe a Hitler type figure or Nazi type party could rise again.

I also believe in another country, or another era George W Bush JR would have been a prime candidate for the role.

Look at the actions of Bush and his warmongers after the 9/11 attacks and put them into context with what Herman Goering had to say at his Nuremberg war crimes trial...

"Why of course the people don't want war. Why should some poor slob on
    a farm want to risk his life in a war when the best he can get out of
    it is to come back to his farm in one piece? Naturally the common people
    don't want war neither in Russia, nor in England, nor for that matter in
    Germany. That is understood. But, after all, it is the leaders of the
    country who determine the policy
    and it is always a simple matter to
    drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist
    dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no
    voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders.
    That is easy. All you have to do is tell them they are being attacked,
    and denounce the peacemakers for lack of patriotism and exposing the
    country to danger. It works the same in any country
    ."

I don't think in our lift time we'll see a programme (succeed) designed to exterminate a whole race of people or to 'cleanse' the world of the handicapped, or the homosexuals or the politically dissident on the industrial scale of the Nazi's, but I do believe we'll come close to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    For example, this video scares the flying **** out of me. Its hard not to see similarities with nazi germany there.

Yeah, this is Fascism in the making alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

g-whizz wrote: »
    look at germany... there is no scum or knackers (drains on society). thats why germany is so efficient.

that's funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

It will happen again in a way, no doubt. Just much bigger and much worse.
    The writing's on the wall. World population rising, resources drying up. Humans being evil pigs generally speaking. Eventually the whole thing about capitalism and everlasting growth and exploitation, hold on...

"Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth, and subdue it; and rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the sky and over every living thing that moves on the earth."

... that thing basically, will come down like a house of cards, and I'm glad I won't be around to witness that one. And when that is beginning to unfold the whole thing with civilization and democracy and enlightenment and all that goes out the window in no time at all.

I like Terry Pratchetts line on this:

"Civilization is twenty-four hours and two meals away from barbarism."