Blackout Stories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭DilbertPartII

i was 5 so they say. i remember that we we're playing and i got thirsty so i went for a drink. grabbed a cup which i thought was water yet it was biiter sweet. i drank it bottoms up. woke up the following morning and was told and retold what i've done...i grew up remembering it coz never had my family forgotten!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Blackouts *are* big and clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

First and last blackout from drink happened a few weeks ago with me waking up to a sore head.

Here's why:
    http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/5451/346196092a3566374587b76gb8.jpg

Apparently hard things hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

Emm, me….. I went out one day, it was a Sunday, and got into the Pub at around 12:00, got my first pint and it took me an hour to drink it as I was messed up with a hangover from the night before. On me third pint now, feeling fcuking deadly, started on the Vodka and Red Bulls again, feeling top of the world. I skip dinner and by 7pm I am p issed as a fart again, bullet proof. I manage by 9pm to get 3 more pints into me before my stomach starts to eat itself.

I leave pub with one eye opened and make a scene as I fall out the door down the stairs. Eye is cut, people watching as I stumble to say, hey I am okay. At this stage I am awaiting a round of applause from my audience, I think they are applauding me, but what they are really saying, stupid drunk bollix…

Making my way to the Chipper, trying to compose myself. Fall inside the chipper door. Place full of young people and kids, I am cut, stinking of booze and I order my grub…. It only took 8 times to repeat myself to get my order correct, stupid people behind the counter… what they mean when they cant understand me? I show them, the pricks…. Get my burger and start milling into outside the chipper. I am like a person who has not been fed in months. A guy walks by me and I have convinced myself he said something and while I was not looking tried to take a bite of my burger, so I start throwing digs at him, because it was oblivious what the fecker was trying to do. With the first throw of a dig towards the burger robber, I fall to the ground and I BLACK OUT…….. I wake up, now knowing what happened, its 8:00pm and everyone is walking to the other side of the road, but I still think I am cool, even though my head is split open, have another knock on my head from falling down the stairs in the pub and now I am going to Puke…. Ops. There is comes and I manage to get it all over myself. So know I look like a proper down and out.

I manage to get myself home and wake up the next morning in bits all the while saying to myself, Jayis what a night I had, can’t wait to do it again… Where is me phone so I can call me mates and BRAG to them about spending 150 euro to fall down the stairs, start a fight and puke all over myself. Deadly night so it was…..

I am and used to be a huge drinker but I never never understand the mentality of getting pissed drunk, spending a foutune, starting fights and puking all over yourself and bragging about it the next day as if your a legend awaiting a throphy…

Cop on lads, go out and enjoy yourself but save a few bob, have a few drinks less and take it easy. You don’t need to get plastered to enjoy yourself.

10 years ago.. I was a bragger also….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Emm, me….. I went out one day, it was a Sunday, and got into the Pub at around 12:00, got my first pint and it took me an hour to drink it as I was messed up with a hangover from the night before. On me third pint now, feeling fcuking deadly, started on the Vodka and Red Bulls again, feeling top of the world. I skip dinner and by 7pm I am p issed as a fart again, bullet proof. I manage by 9pm to get 3 more pints into me before my stomach starts to eat itself.

I leave pub with one eye opened and make a scene as I fall out the door down the stairs. Eye is cut, people watching as I stumble to say, hey I am okay. At this stage I am awaiting a round of applause from my audience, I think they are applauding me, but what they are really saying, stupid drunk bollix…

Making my way to the Chipper, trying to compose myself. Fall inside the chipper door. Place full of young people and kids, I am cut, stinking of booze and I order my grub…. It only took 8 times to repeat myself to get my order correct, stupid people behind the counter… what they mean when they cant understand me? I show them, the pricks…. Get my burger and start milling into outside the chipper. I am like a person who has not been fed in months. A guy walks by me and I have convinced myself he said something and while I was not looking tried to take a bite of my burger, so I start throwing digs at him, because it was oblivious what the fecker was trying to do. With the first throw of a dig towards the burger robber, I fall to the ground and I BLACK OUT…….. I wake up, now knowing what happened, its 8:00pm and everyone is walking to the other side of the road, but I still think I am cool, even though my head is split open, have another knock on my head from falling down the stairs in the pub and now I am going to Puke…. Ops. There is comes and I manage to get it all over myself. So know I look like a proper down and out.

I manage to get myself home and wake up the next morning in bits all the while saying to myself, Jayis what a night I had, can’t wait to do it again… Where is me phone so I can call me mates and BRAG to them about spending 150 euro to fall down the stairs, start a fight and puke all over myself. Deadly night so it was…..

I am and used to be a huge drinker but I never never understand the mentality of getting pissed drunk, spending a foutune, starting fights and puking all over yourself and bragging about it the next day as if your a legend awaiting a throphy…

Cop on lads, go out and enjoy yourself but save a few bob, have a few drinks less and take it easy. You don’t need to get plastered to enjoy yourself.

10 years ago.. I was a bragger also….

I agree you dont need to get plastered to have fun. But I dont think anyone is bragging. People are just recounting incidents when they have blacked out. I know im certainly not proud of getting that bad but it does happen sometimes. Maybe because you drank more than usual, sometimes because you didnt eat etc. But it just happens. As I said I figured it was the jager bombs so I cut them out and its worked havent had a blackout since.

Also the whole thing about a blackout is you dont remember what happened and you just wake up somewhere strange or more often than not your own bed with no recollection of getting there so your whole story makes little sense if you were intending poking fun at this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Firstly- Cionn: You win! You win!

Now- Max Damage that is some scary ****. Thats the wonderful thing about alter-you though isnt it: He isnt a complete bollocks when it counts. Alter-me during the MP3 incident had the sense to sober up: he had 3 bottles of water and a sandwhich while I was 'asleep' :p

You have to remember that Alter-You is you up until the point you come out of the blackout and then he has to be defined nearly as an alternate person as you cannot access his experiences.

As for the first 2/3 posters...Buzzkill. Truth sure but cmon buzzkill. We all know the inherent dangers of over-consumption; just over christmas my Stepmother died in a ditch because she couldnt find her way home. But we'll leave that there for now.

Whats a Jager Bomb? I work in a club but we dont sell Jager Aftershock or Mickey so I wouldnt even know how to make one.

Well during blackout 1 I was doing something silly by drinking Tequila Sunrise at a rate of 2 an hour, which at 17 is stupid. During the second I think it was just lots of bulmers. The third time was JD and coke: it really doesnt have too much to do with what you drink I don't think..could be wrong though.

So yeah keep it coming chappies: What have you woken to find your Alter-Ego has done in your stead? cryptic messages? Marriage Proposals? Reveal all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,598 ✭✭✭Duff

Just last saturday, I was heading to a club like I do most weekends only this time my mate and I had a great idea to smuggle a naggin of smirnoff in with us... woke up in a shrubbery at 8:27 a.m the next morning..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

Was out drinking in Toronto woke up in New York

Go Canadia!

I reccomend that anyway btw as a cash saver: bring in a naggon: buy a filler of coke or something when you get in. save over 50%!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Lol, some good stories/reads in this thread!

I've only completely blacked out a few times, some of the times involved rec. drugs mixed with booze (in my younger years) but 2 of the times were when I got spiked drinks. No really good stories to tell though, but thank God for good friends is all I'll say.
    However, I do often completely forget taxi trips after nights out, its quite odd but for some reason I always remember up to getting into the taxi, and then getting out of it, but never remember the trip itself. Same goes for any transport really, but depends on how much I've actually drank too.

One time that I completely blacked out, turned out I'd came home, had a MASSIVE fight with my parents and said some bad stuff and went to bed.
    Another time I woke up with a friend in the back arse of Kildare, we didn't even know the people who we stayed with but according to the friend we'd met them in a club the night before, agreed to go back and now couldn't remember who the f*ck they were and scattered before they woke up.

Hasn't happened often, only a few times really (which isn't anything to be proud of either), but it is the most horrible feeling the next morning, waking up and checking your sent messages and seeing the shíte you sent people and then finding out through friends what exactly had happened the night before. Thank God everythings forgotten about quickly enough anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

rb_ie wrote:
    Hasn't happened often, only a few times really (which isn't anything to be proud of either), but it is the most horrible feeling the next morning, waking up and checking your sent messages and seeing the shíte you sent people and then finding out through friends what exactly had happened the night before. Thank God everythings forgotten about quickly enough anyway.
    Mobile phones need a breathalyser installed on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Terry wrote:
    Mobile phones need a breathalyser installed on them.

been thinking about buying one of the 100 euro ones but then I realised you would probably end up on nights out trying to see how high it goes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,072 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

On the subject of real blackouts (the electrical type), during one my brother decided to make a torch, except not like in the movies (stick, cloth, petrol, flame), but instead a stick with a roll of toilet paper on the end. Needless to say upon lighting, it went up in flames very quickly, prompting him to throw it into a puddle to throw it out.

Now, that couldn't be the end of it, the next morning, my sister came in to tell me the green bin had been burned down, so I go down expecting it to be slightly singed, but instead am greeted to a 1 foot high mound of melted plastic with some wheels attached. He had (of course) thrown the smouldering but wet toilet roll into the full green bin (so plenty of kindling). We ended up cutting the green bin apart and throwing it away in the other bin :)

Now after this, we had some green plastic splattered on the wall (from the bin), which I told him to scrape off, so he decides the best way to get this off the wall is via the burner we use to seal the garage roof (like a mini flame thrower). I stopped him before he got this far, but who's solution to a fire is more fire? He's never going to be able to live by himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Hmmm.. I really did think this thread was going to be a bragging type affair, but fair play, its not thus far.

I used to black out a helluva lot between the ages of 17 and 19/20 as I'm sure most of us did. But there'd be nights where I'd be going about my business in the same way as my mates (they'd tell me the next day), I'd never be falling around drunk, but for some reason I just couldn't remember major parts of the night.

Obviously what I was drinking wasn't making be austociously drunk, but it was hitting me in the aul memory chip. Other nights I would be stupidly drunk and there'd be no chance of me remembering what happened.

Worst times happened down in Carlow rag weeks, one night while making my way home on my own (mates had disappeared), I was found passed out in the Aldi/Lidl car park at 3 in the morning, with no shirt on. The two girls that found me took my mobile out of my pocket and rang my last dialled, which thankfully was the mate I was staying with. I woke on the floor of his room a day later with little memory beyond 11pm the previous night.

I guess most (not all) people take the stupid route with drink at one stage or another. I learned from that and haven't gotten to that state since thank God. Most people will learn that lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

i used to never blackout and would remember everything from the night before but recently i cant remember a thing an awfull lot of the time.

But once i did blackout i was prob about 16:o and was staying in my friends who lives beside a pitch and putt course. the next morning he came in to the spare room were i was staying to find me in bed with 18 flags from the course. He went ballistic just aswell his parents were away. I really though he put then there but he insists he knew nothing about them.

Are Carlow Ragweeks good? I can only cross my fingers (its my first time; be gentle yet riotous :D)

Ive been a good lad usually considering my first blackout scared the hell outta me and I swore to never do it again....:p

Moral story: know your limit and when you suspect something may be wrong its time for a water..

PS its an Aldi :D and you are lucky to have found someone with sense..not that Carlow seems particularly dangerous, but that was some bit of Samaritism on their part, Connundrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

At a festival last summer, that i won't mention here, i am missing about 6 hours from the sunday. Last thing i remember was getting cider of some girls we met:rolleyes: and then a blank. Aparently we were in the arena talking to friends. Still no recollection. I was cheated out of a lot of bands i wanted to see :(

Another incident was last summer aswell where i had 2 cans of larger, went for a walk, had 2 cans of cider about an hour later, then a blank. Aparently what happened was i went quiet, then lay down on the ground and went to sleep, they continued on drinking, checking my pulse here and there. Then when they woke me i wasn't making any sense and could bearly walk. Ended up falling giving myself a huge gash on my hip and shoulder. Awoke the next morning remembering nothing with all these cuts that looked like a car hit me.

Lesson learned, i no longer drink cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,598 ✭✭✭Duff

astrofool wrote:
    On the subject of real blackouts (the electrical type), during one my brother decided to make a torch, except not like in the movies (stick, cloth, petrol, flame), but instead a stick with a roll of toilet paper on the end. Needless to say upon lighting, it went up in flames very quickly, prompting him to throw it into a puddle to throw it out.

Now, that couldn't be the end of it, the next morning, my sister came in to tell me the green had been burned down, so I go down expecting it to be slightly singed, but instead am greeted to a 1 foot high mound of melted plastic with some wheels attached. He had (of course) thrown the smouldering but wet toilet roll into the full green bin (so plenty of kindling). We ended up cutting the green bin apart and throwing it away in the other bin :)

Now after this, we had some green plastic splattered on the wall (from the bin), which I told him to scrape off, so he decides the best way to get this off the wall is via the burner we use to seal the garage roof (like a mini flame thrower). I stopped him before he got this far, but who's solution to a fire is more fire? He's never going to be able to live by himself.

Thanks for that! Thats the most i've laughed at a post in a long, long time!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭nicolo

a few years back i went out to one of my mates birthday parties, it was held upstairs in the sheds in Clontarf and as such very few folk showed up but this didn't deter us at all, we all got well trashed and when the time to go back to his for the party came there was a dilemma, there was 9 of us and only one car so the driver drove them home and was gonna come back for us, and we (there was 4 of us) decided to walk back a bit of the way, now on the way we passed the bus depot in Clontarf and one of us noticed that it looked deserted, then another mate who's a bit of a scumbag had the bright idea of nicking a bus.

now this was about 3 in the morning and the place was empty so we managed to get onto a bus ok and my mate got into the cab at which point we discovered that you cant hot wire buses.

then we hear a voice behind us to discover the driver who had been asleep at the back upstairs had woken up and come down to find 4 big hairy metallers trying to nick his bus, he was fairly cool about it and gave us a ride down to the party which is pretty much the last thing i remember, the next being waking up in my flat in mount joy square on the floor in the hall, with id say about 50 pancakes all over the flat. They where the shop bought ones but to this day I've no recollection of getting home or where i got the pancakes as there was no packaging anywhere.

oh another good one was right after the whole 911 thing, my school had a trip planned to go to Bosnia (don't ask me why i wasn't involved) but a lot of the parents pulled their kids out of the trip over the attacks, this left a tonne of free paid for flights to Bosnia which two of my friends went on. when they came back one of them had brought back the Bosnian equivalent to poitin, a type of heinous paint stripping potato spirit with no real label on the bottle or indication of strength, so we started having dare competitions to drink it and i wound up drinking about 2 thirds of the bottle on top of a heap of gin an cider. cant remember **** all bout that night but my girlfriend got a pretty funny call. went something like this "hey hun! I'm sittin on the wall outside the gaff(this walls about 9 foot high)....I'm the most precariously balanced man in the world" at which point all she heard was a WUHHHHH from me a thump and the phone went dead, my mates ma found me asleep outside when she got home from work at 3 am. apparently i spent the next hour getting sick in the sink upstairs punctuated with me singing new york dolls songs till i passed out and splitting my eye brow off the sink.

god i miss drinking...and debauchery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

I know this thread is a bit old but it's all I could find on blackout drinking. I went out on saturday night to a friends birthday party. I'm 26 years old and never had a blackout. The thing is that i left 500 quid sitting on my mantle piece at home before i left to head out.

I remember the start of the night no problem and about 30 seconds of a 25minute taxi run home where i was giving the poor taxi man abuse (according to my girlfriend)

I woke up the next day (yesterday) with a serious hangover and the money gone. I have searched the house everywhere and I cannot find it. I have no recollection of lifting this money but i've got a funny feeling I hid it somewhere, but now I'm thinking that I may have threw it into the fire on that night and I ended up lighting a fire yesterday without even checking it cos it was just full of rubbish. I'm at work now so I'll have to have another search for it this evening. Did this ever happen to anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

No real blackouts to tell of but I did see a programme on narcolepsy a while back. There was one scene filmed at the meeting of a nacoleptics support group and they had 4 people taking minutes 'cause they all kept dropping off - that was amusing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

I was on boards in 2007 and the last thing i remember is reading a thread about blacking out... Next thing i know i wake up with my laptop still on over 2 years later!

Relevant wrote: »
    I was on boards in 2007 and the last thing i remember is reading a thread about blacking out... Next thing i know i wake up with my laptop still on over 2 years later!

What kinda battery do you have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

Long Onion wrote: »
    What kinda battery do you have?

I use it on powersave mode....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Anybody ever experience the opposite of a blackout?

My first ever serious over consumption of alcohol (aged 17) ended in a horror trip that never seemed to end.

I was sick, really ,really sick ...but couldn't throw up for ages. Sounds around me just turned into unbearable NOISE and I couldn't blank it out. People talking to me had distorted faces and they were scaring me ...but I wasn't able to just get up and run away. Everything seemd to move in slow motion and time just streched like honey dripping out of a jar.
    All I wanted to do was get away from it all and hide in a quiet, dark corner, but I couldn't move. When I finally was able to throw up, thinking I'd get some relief, that also lasted for hours and just wouldn't stop. Every five minutes I'd get a retching fit that was so bad I nearly forgot to breathe.

Scared, sick and immobilised for hours on end while the world around me resembled a trip on a ghost train ...only scrarier. Worst night of my whle life.

Needless to say ...ever since I've managed to stop drinking before I reach that point.

peasant wrote: »
    Anybody ever experience the opposite of a blackout?.

I believe that this is called "caucasian in" it refers to certain rare phenomena such as David Gillick qualifying for a sprint final or Rory Gallagher releasing good blues albums.

peasant, thats more like an acid trip you had. I know someone who took one in tablet form. He said he could see music coming at him like objects and seeing weird colours that words couldn't describe. Near the end of his "trip" he could see everyones faces melting and distorting and he lost all track of time like it didn't exist. He couldn't get his head around the concept of time. Scary stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

The one story i have is when i went overboard with the drink one night. I woke up the next morning in my bed and got up as i had to go to work. I was putting on my clothes when i noticed the floor was wet. I then looked at the table that had my brand new HD tv, my xbox, ps3 and the 1TB external hard drive and noticed there was water all over the place. Turned out i had gotten up in the middle of the night and pissed all over the place.

Luckily nothing was damaged.

I then went into the kithchen and my mother told me that i had vimited all over the bathroom.

I have no memory of either of these events.

Pablomakeveli, Your lucky you didn't electrocute your little man.