Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackout Stories

• 13-02-2007 8:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Im not talkin about the electricity blackout on Chrisatmas Day here (My Turkey!!!) Im talkin about the blackout drink did to ye.

Ive had 3: My first happened when I was 17: I recall little except fallinf around the porch a lot. I woke up with 3 meters of Gaus wrapped around my thumb and there was a lot of blood on my front door. Parents were *thrilled*.

The second I was in a pub and I dropped my new HDD Mp3 Player: ****ing thing flatlined on me while I sat on the barstool. I got home OK then I woke up. There was vomit *mostly* in my wastebin (the rest in the carpet) and my pc was running with the MP3 attached: Alter-Me had manage to debug and reload the thing. To this day Im not sure how.

The third happened 2 weeks ago. I had a grand normal drink session. I came home, had the energy to change my sheets, tuck in, and fall asleep. Oh god that was a gorgeous change of sheets. Next thing I know Im Banging and kicking on my front door trying to get back into my apartment! I dont have my key with me because Im not wearing any clothes!! My roommate doesnt care to answer (douchebag) but my NEIGHBOURS do: and so does his Girlfriend who thinks it ****ing hilarious. I end up staying the rest of the morning in theirs wating for douchebag to wake up.

Alright People; its your turn..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Dude you have serious problems. Anyone passing out from over consumption of alcohol is in need of help.
    Have you asked yourself why you let yourself get so drunk that you black out?

tallus wrote:
    Dude you have serious problems. Anyone passing out from over consumption of alcohol is in need of help.
    Have you asked yourself why you let yourself get so drunk that you black out?
    Seconding this.

I don't have any "blackout stories" and I don't care to. And anyone who thinks they're a good thing/amusing has issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

What a legend, those stories nearly made me fall off my seat laughing. Give me a shout next time you are up in Dublin I cant wait to hit the town with you, Ya mad yolk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I've had a few. First one I had been awake for about 23 hours straight and decided to go on the lash with a few of the lads. I remember feeling tired in the pub, and went outside to smoke a cigarette. And thats the last I remember of the night. Woke up the next morning in my bed with the hangover from hell, covered in sick and 2 hours late for work.

The next one occurred while I was on some serious anti-biotics for a chest infection. Decided I should be okay if I only drank a few cans, nothing too mad. So I drank about 4 cans and felt fine, even managed to make myself a sandwich!! Next thing I know, I'm waking up in my back garden half naked with my cat clawing at my face.... Scared the sh1t out of me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Went on the piss in new jersey one night... and woke up the next morning on the 8th hole of a crazy golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

tallus, he is only young. It happens most people at a young age. You don't know exactly what you can handle and drink becasue everyone else is.
    It settles with age.

I have had a few black outs from drink. Most of them when I was in my late teens. Had my first one in years at christmas in Perth, lost about 4-5hrs after a few jager bombs when I was already pissed drunk. Left like I was living in a coffin for the following 24hrs

Some people wear it as a badge of honour, others class it as stupid and dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

tallus wrote:

Most people get them occasionally when they overdo it, it doesn't mean they need to go to AA.

I've had it happen a few times. Once I went outside a pub for a smoke and the next thing I know, it's four hours later and I'm lying on my kitchen floor with my dog licking my face to wake me up.

Another time, I was dancing in a club and then I was in bed the next day with all my clothes and my shoes on, suffering from the world's worst hangover. I thought I still had my contact lenses in so I tried to take them out with my shaking, nicotine-stained fingers. Of course I had already taken them out, so all I did was poke at my eyes for no reason. Not recommended.

Overheal - "Alter-Me" is a brilliant way to describe your blackout self. I'm going to blame Alter-Me for every stupid thing I do when drunk from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I've had only about two blackouts and both were from drinking wine with beer. Do not mix your drinks! Both times, I emerged quite a long way from where I was orginally and it was many hours later.

Blackouts are very dangerous. You could have done anything in the intervening time.

Lat blackout I had was about two weeks ago and I ended up sleeping with a friend.Thin that friendship is ruined!:(

Did you snore?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I only ever had one blackout, while I was in Gran Canaria a few years ago. Very scary experience and not something I would ever boast about. It put me off alcohol tbh. I rarely ever drink anymore.

Rabies wrote:
    Did you snore?
    She wanted relationship(I didn't) but apparently I used her now.*sigh*

Meh, a drunken one night stand. Someone gets hurt now and again.
    You used her for sex.
    She had sex with you with hope of getting a relationship out of it.

Take it to PI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah, it's not being a killjoy to suggest that blackouts are dodgy. I've had a few (always wine-induced). The usual - being in the pub one minute, sitting on the couch at home with my head in a bucket of sick the next. Was funny at the time (I would have been in my late teens or early 20s) but looking back... Christ only knows what I could have done.
    I heard of one really freaky blackout - a guy was at a Christmas work do in Cork city centre, started to feel really woozy, suddenly found himself in Cork Airport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Did the other guy?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I've had a few in my time, mostly when I was 17 and learning my limits with alcohol. Each time I have one though, it turns me more and more off alcohol. I had one a few weeks ago. I hadn't even intended to really drink that much, but the last thing I remember was ordering a glass of wine at a party, and next thing I remember was waking up in my bad at 10 am the next morning. I've no idea what happened in the intervening 11 or so hours. I think I must have walked home, on my own. Smart, eh?

Blackouts really aren't cool and are extremely disorientating. It's one thing not remembering potions here and there, but it's another thing forgetting a whole block of time!

Rabies wrote:
    Meh, a drunken one night stand. Someone gets hurt now and again.
    You used her for sex.
    She had sex with you with hope of getting a relationship out of it.

Take it to PI.
    Its not a personal issue for me!:)

I have more crazy drunken stories.But no more black out ones.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I've never had a blackout from alcohol, but I had some similar moments on cannabis.

Best one that comes to mind is when I started a new job last summer. The first day, after orientation and all of that crap, 2 of the blokes who were already working there invited me back to one of their houses for a session. Grand so. I hadn't smoked anything in months prior to this. So we're sitting around the table watching Family Guy and smoking Js, when I start to sweat alot and needed to go to the toilet. I tried to keep my cool since I had only met the blokes :D, but they could tell I was gettin kinda green.

Anyways I stood up and decided to go to the bathroom which was upstairs. I open the door out of the kitchen and the stairs are a few paces forward and to the right; walk on further and to the right is the living room. So I walk out of the kitchen with the intention of going upstairs, and then I open my eyes to realise that I'm lying face down on the floor in the living room, and the 2 blokes are standing above me asking what happened! :eek: Scary. So I saw the funny side as did they, and I go upstairs to the bathroom, open the door, close the door, open my eyes again and I'm lying face down in the bathroom, with my head right on the raised part along the bottom of the shower. My ears were ringing like crazy now. So I did a number 2 (charming) and stayed there for about 15 minutes waiting for my ears to stop ringing after smacking my head. They didn't stop so I went back downstairs and sat down casually, and tried to play down what had happened :) We laughed alot about that after it ceased to be scary, lol

I had to walk a good bit of the way home and I thought I might go to A&E and tell them what had happened in case I should, y'know, die in my sleep as a result of smacking my head so hard. But I decided against it in the end.

I'm okay now :) And I rarely smoke anything anymore; if I do I'll only have a bullet. God I'm goin to Amsterdam this summer, what the hell am I gonna do!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Blackouts scare the crap out of me. I went through a phase early last summer when I was having them nearly every week. I could only put it down to the fact that I had just discovered jager bombs and was drinkin my way through tons of the things. So I gave them up and havent had one since. One particular incident: Walked in to my kitchen to discover puke on the counter. I immediatly roared at my flatmate to get in their and clean up their vomit. I was told in no uncertain circumstances that my flatmate had not been out the night before and had enjoyed an early night and on closer inspection the vomit was mine. I have no recollection of this at all as I thought I got home from the night club and got straight into bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cionn

Overheal wrote:
    The third happened 2 weeks ago. I had a grand normal drink session. I came home, had the energy to change my sheets, tuck in, and fall asleep. Oh god that was a gorgeous change of sheets. Next thing I know Im Banging and kicking on my front door trying to get back into my apartment! I dont have my key with me because Im not wearing any clothes!! My roommate doesnt care to answer (douchebag) but my NEIGHBOURS do: and so does his Girlfriend who thinks it ****ing hilarious. I end up staying the rest of the morning in theirs wating for douchebag to wake up.

similar thing happened to me I have gone sleep walking a few times after a couple too many beers.

Walked out of my hotel room in westport in my boxers and woke up as the fire escape door closed behind me on the external emercency stairs at about 8am. No way of getting back in and stranded in the courtyard (open air) for about 45mins. I heard some vioces from the ground floor and found a hotel employee.

Next thing she is leading me through the nightclub (now being cleaned up, me in my jocks) making sure she brings me past all the other employees breaking their sh1t laughing at me. Then I have to get another key programmed in reception as the "normal" guests are heading off for their day's sightseeing everyone is p1ssing themselves laughing at me.

I get back into the room as the lad I was sharing is getting up and asking me if I wanted to go down to breakfast, i passed.

I think it was Hotel Westport if I remember correctly it had only just opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I've only fully blackout once before. It was about 2 years ago, with myself and 2 friends of mine in my local, one of my friend's came later on in the night with the rest of his family! Anyway, all of us drank ourselves silly (I must of had in the region of 13-14 pints of lager in me), and from what I remember in the pub is that I was shouting quite loudly at my friend's father to buy me more alcohol! After that, everything went black until I woke up at home the next morning, still quite drunk. Apprently, according to eye-witness reports, I cycled home on the wrong side of the road into on-coming traffic, and managed NOT to get killed by a car. When I think of it now, I was very lucky I wasn't killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

MikeHoncho wrote:
    Blackouts scare the crap out of me. I went through a phase early last summer when I was having them nearly every week. I could only put it down to the fact that I had just discovered jager bombs and was drinkin my way through tons of the things. So I gave them up and havent had one since. One particular incident: Walked in to my kitchen to discover puke on the counter. I immediatly roared at my flatmate to get in their and clean up their vomit. I was told in no uncertain circumstances that my flatmate had not been out the night before and had enjoyed an early night and on closer inspection the vomit was mine. I have no recollection of this at all as I thought I got home from the night club and got straight into bed.

haha, eh wha?

had a cupla ones meself. first one, only back from Gran Canaria with about 20 bottles of cheapo spirits. me bein a lightweight, me mate makes me do 6 shots of honey rum in a row, while i was drinkin a pint of bodka and red bull. i was in work the next mornin so planned on bein home early. turned out i was. they kicked me out about midnight. only went over about 10! maybe jsut after. remember driinkin me pint, and then woke up in me bed with sick down the side of it. me ma told me that i came in, me liitle sis was on the phone, slapped her in the head and grabbed the phone off her and start shoutin down the fone, then tried to piss in the cooker, then broke me sisters perfume or sumtin like that. apparently i was pukin for ages. glad i missed that.

i've had a few other ones too. nothin serios tho, like findin me jeans laid out nicely on the floor in me kitchen (i must be a neat freak wen im drunk) or comin home and rememberin comin in the door but nothin after. bout 2 months ago, i woke me ma up at bout 5am. she came in me room and saw me sittin on the crapper with me boxers around me ankles, bangin me head off the wall. she had to put me to bed. didnt remember that at all. embarassing stuff. i tihnk she musta seen me willy too!!

glad i havent ended up in a foreign country or dodgy field somewhere. the alcohol fairies must like me! i know i've had other mad drunken shenanigans happen to me but cant remember. ill have to write them down in future! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I blacked out the first time I went to a Boards Beers Cork. In my defense we were undertaking a long pub crawl in a short space of time. The last thing I remember was being in Tom Barry's thinking : "I'm starting to feel a bit pissed". I woke up in my sister's house with vomit on my shoes. What a way to make a first impression......

The last time it was happened was at a going away party about 8 months ago. The last thing I remember is almost falling out the door of the pub. I woke up in the morning to find I had been sick in the little dustbin I keep next to my bed. I was amazingly neat about it - nothing on my pillow or the sheets.

Sometimes I can drink incredible amount and barely feel it's affects. Sometimes I'll feel myself getting too drunk and refuse any more drink. Once in a blue moon I won't realise I've had too much until it's too late....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I've only had two full blackouts. I don't want to have anymore really but I wouldn't say its put me off drink or even having too much drink on certain occasions just not having crazy amounts of alcohol.

The first one was at a wedding about 20 months ago. It was a Bulgarian wedding and I was working with the guy. They had the reception back at a massive rented house. I was offered vodka and accepted it and then I was gone. Woke up the next morning in the house I was supposed to be staying and puked. It was a pretty strange experience for my because I usually don't even puke after drinking and I knew I hadn't drunk that much before the vodka. Only heard later on that the vodka was an imported Bulgarian one which was 60%.

Second time it happened was only for a couple of hours. I was at a mates birthday last summer and I remember going into the room I was staying in around 4ish in the morning. 5 other people in the room were staying in the room with me. Then I can't remember anything until I walk out of the ensuite at about 6.30 in the morning. According to my friends I went there just before 5 and I obviously fell asleep in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

The_B_Man wrote:
    h

she came in me room and saw me sittin on the crapper with me boxers around me ankles, bangin me head off the wall. she had to put me to bed. didnt remember that at all. embarassing stuff. i tihnk she musta seen me willy too!!

You got a toilet in your room?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The_B_Man wrote:
    findin me jeans laid out nicely on the floor in me kitchen

similar has happened to me
    2 different occasions i woke to wonder where my jeans were. both times found folded neatly beside the toilet (2 different houses)

once i had a balckout that resulted in my being banned from a friends house for 6 months. i still dont know what happened but meh

i dont relaly drink much these days though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

petes wrote:
    You got a toilet in your room?

yup, but no toilet seat! gonna get a novelty one off eBay, with like, fish floatin around in it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

I have had many many blackouts due to my epilepsy related fun and games :)

Most are quite boring, I was thinking about one of them the other day actually. I was in London. I was in a cab going to back to a girls place, whom I had met a couple of hours previously. It was a bit of a, "I really fancy a shag, and I'm going home now and your the closest person to me right now" kind thing..

I was hammered [which is a very bad thing with epilepsy] and at some point in the taxi I had a wee fit, and blacked out. When I came back to this world, I was in the spare room in this strange house. No idea in the world where I actually was..

Next morning I was mortified and therefore did a runner before anyone in the house woke up. It turns out I was miles and miles from home, so had the joy of spending an hour on the overland train [with gigantic hangover] with all the folks working on Sunday mornings and those also doing runners :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭DilbertPartII

i was 5 so they say. i remember that we we're playing and i got thirsty so i went for a drink. grabbed a cup which i thought was water yet it was biiter sweet. i drank it bottoms up. woke up the following morning and was told and retold what i've done...i grew up remembering it coz never had my family forgotten!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,199 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Blackouts *are* big and clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

First and last blackout from drink happened a few weeks ago with me waking up to a sore head.

Here's why:
    http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/5451/346196092a3566374587b76gb8.jpg

Apparently hard things hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

Emm, me….. I went out one day, it was a Sunday, and got into the Pub at around 12:00, got my first pint and it took me an hour to drink it as I was messed up with a hangover from the night before. On me third pint now, feeling fcuking deadly, started on the Vodka and Red Bulls again, feeling top of the world. I skip dinner and by 7pm I am p issed as a fart again, bullet proof. I manage by 9pm to get 3 more pints into me before my stomach starts to eat itself.

I leave pub with one eye opened and make a scene as I fall out the door down the stairs. Eye is cut, people watching as I stumble to say, hey I am okay. At this stage I am awaiting a round of applause from my audience, I think they are applauding me, but what they are really saying, stupid drunk bollix…

Making my way to the Chipper, trying to compose myself. Fall inside the chipper door. Place full of young people and kids, I am cut, stinking of booze and I order my grub…. It only took 8 times to repeat myself to get my order correct, stupid people behind the counter… what they mean when they cant understand me? I show them, the pricks…. Get my burger and start milling into outside the chipper. I am like a person who has not been fed in months. A guy walks by me and I have convinced myself he said something and while I was not looking tried to take a bite of my burger, so I start throwing digs at him, because it was oblivious what the fecker was trying to do. With the first throw of a dig towards the burger robber, I fall to the ground and I BLACK OUT…….. I wake up, now knowing what happened, its 8:00pm and everyone is walking to the other side of the road, but I still think I am cool, even though my head is split open, have another knock on my head from falling down the stairs in the pub and now I am going to Puke…. Ops. There is comes and I manage to get it all over myself. So know I look like a proper down and out.

I manage to get myself home and wake up the next morning in bits all the while saying to myself, Jayis what a night I had, can’t wait to do it again… Where is me phone so I can call me mates and BRAG to them about spending 150 euro to fall down the stairs, start a fight and puke all over myself. Deadly night so it was…..

I am and used to be a huge drinker but I never never understand the mentality of getting pissed drunk, spending a foutune, starting fights and puking all over yourself and bragging about it the next day as if your a legend awaiting a throphy…

Cop on lads, go out and enjoy yourself but save a few bob, have a few drinks less and take it easy. You don’t need to get plastered to enjoy yourself.

10 years ago.. I was a bragger also….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Emm, me….. I went out one day, it was a Sunday, and got into the Pub at around 12:00, got my first pint and it took me an hour to drink it as I was messed up with a hangover from the night before. On me third pint now, feeling fcuking deadly, started on the Vodka and Red Bulls again, feeling top of the world. I skip dinner and by 7pm I am p issed as a fart again, bullet proof. I manage by 9pm to get 3 more pints into me before my stomach starts to eat itself.

I leave pub with one eye opened and make a scene as I fall out the door down the stairs. Eye is cut, people watching as I stumble to say, hey I am okay. At this stage I am awaiting a round of applause from my audience, I think they are applauding me, but what they are really saying, stupid drunk bollix…

Making my way to the Chipper, trying to compose myself. Fall inside the chipper door. Place full of young people and kids, I am cut, stinking of booze and I order my grub…. It only took 8 times to repeat myself to get my order correct, stupid people behind the counter… what they mean when they cant understand me? I show them, the pricks…. Get my burger and start milling into outside the chipper. I am like a person who has not been fed in months. A guy walks by me and I have convinced myself he said something and while I was not looking tried to take a bite of my burger, so I start throwing digs at him, because it was oblivious what the fecker was trying to do. With the first throw of a dig towards the burger robber, I fall to the ground and I BLACK OUT…….. I wake up, now knowing what happened, its 8:00pm and everyone is walking to the other side of the road, but I still think I am cool, even though my head is split open, have another knock on my head from falling down the stairs in the pub and now I am going to Puke…. Ops. There is comes and I manage to get it all over myself. So know I look like a proper down and out.

I manage to get myself home and wake up the next morning in bits all the while saying to myself, Jayis what a night I had, can’t wait to do it again… Where is me phone so I can call me mates and BRAG to them about spending 150 euro to fall down the stairs, start a fight and puke all over myself. Deadly night so it was…..

I am and used to be a huge drinker but I never never understand the mentality of getting pissed drunk, spending a foutune, starting fights and puking all over yourself and bragging about it the next day as if your a legend awaiting a throphy…

Cop on lads, go out and enjoy yourself but save a few bob, have a few drinks less and take it easy. You don’t need to get plastered to enjoy yourself.

10 years ago.. I was a bragger also….

I agree you dont need to get plastered to have fun. But I dont think anyone is bragging. People are just recounting incidents when they have blacked out. I know im certainly not proud of getting that bad but it does happen sometimes. Maybe because you drank more than usual, sometimes because you didnt eat etc. But it just happens. As I said I figured it was the jager bombs so I cut them out and its worked havent had a blackout since.

Also the whole thing about a blackout is you dont remember what happened and you just wake up somewhere strange or more often than not your own bed with no recollection of getting there so your whole story makes little sense if you were intending poking fun at this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Firstly- Cionn: You win! You win!

Now- Max Damage that is some scary ****. Thats the wonderful thing about alter-you though isnt it: He isnt a complete bollocks when it counts. Alter-me during the MP3 incident had the sense to sober up: he had 3 bottles of water and a sandwhich while I was 'asleep' :p

You have to remember that Alter-You is you up until the point you come out of the blackout and then he has to be defined nearly as an alternate person as you cannot access his experiences.

As for the first 2/3 posters...Buzzkill. Truth sure but cmon buzzkill. We all know the inherent dangers of over-consumption; just over christmas my Stepmother died in a ditch because she couldnt find her way home. But we'll leave that there for now.

Whats a Jager Bomb? I work in a club but we dont sell Jager Aftershock or Mickey so I wouldnt even know how to make one.

Well during blackout 1 I was doing something silly by drinking Tequila Sunrise at a rate of 2 an hour, which at 17 is stupid. During the second I think it was just lots of bulmers. The third time was JD and coke: it really doesnt have too much to do with what you drink I don't think..could be wrong though.

So yeah keep it coming chappies: What have you woken to find your Alter-Ego has done in your stead? cryptic messages? Marriage Proposals? Reveal all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Just last saturday, I was heading to a club like I do most weekends only this time my mate and I had a great idea to smuggle a naggin of smirnoff in with us... woke up in a shrubbery at 8:27 a.m the next morning..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

Was out drinking in Toronto woke up in New York

Go Canadia!

I reccomend that anyway btw as a cash saver: bring in a naggon: buy a filler of coke or something when you get in. save over 50%!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Lol, some good stories/reads in this thread!

I've only completely blacked out a few times, some of the times involved rec. drugs mixed with booze (in my younger years) but 2 of the times were when I got spiked drinks. No really good stories to tell though, but thank God for good friends is all I'll say.
    However, I do often completely forget taxi trips after nights out, its quite odd but for some reason I always remember up to getting into the taxi, and then getting out of it, but never remember the trip itself. Same goes for any transport really, but depends on how much I've actually drank too.

One time that I completely blacked out, turned out I'd came home, had a MASSIVE fight with my parents and said some bad stuff and went to bed.
    Another time I woke up with a friend in the back arse of Kildare, we didn't even know the people who we stayed with but according to the friend we'd met them in a club the night before, agreed to go back and now couldn't remember who the f*ck they were and scattered before they woke up.

Hasn't happened often, only a few times really (which isn't anything to be proud of either), but it is the most horrible feeling the next morning, waking up and checking your sent messages and seeing the shíte you sent people and then finding out through friends what exactly had happened the night before. Thank God everythings forgotten about quickly enough anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

rb_ie wrote:
    Hasn't happened often, only a few times really (which isn't anything to be proud of either), but it is the most horrible feeling the next morning, waking up and checking your sent messages and seeing the shíte you sent people and then finding out through friends what exactly had happened the night before. Thank God everythings forgotten about quickly enough anyway.
    Mobile phones need a breathalyser installed on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Terry wrote:
    Mobile phones need a breathalyser installed on them.

been thinking about buying one of the 100 euro ones but then I realised you would probably end up on nights out trying to see how high it goes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,236 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

On the subject of real blackouts (the electrical type), during one my brother decided to make a torch, except not like in the movies (stick, cloth, petrol, flame), but instead a stick with a roll of toilet paper on the end. Needless to say upon lighting, it went up in flames very quickly, prompting him to throw it into a puddle to throw it out.

Now, that couldn't be the end of it, the next morning, my sister came in to tell me the green bin had been burned down, so I go down expecting it to be slightly singed, but instead am greeted to a 1 foot high mound of melted plastic with some wheels attached. He had (of course) thrown the smouldering but wet toilet roll into the full green bin (so plenty of kindling). We ended up cutting the green bin apart and throwing it away in the other bin :)

Now after this, we had some green plastic splattered on the wall (from the bin), which I told him to scrape off, so he decides the best way to get this off the wall is via the burner we use to seal the garage roof (like a mini flame thrower). I stopped him before he got this far, but who's solution to a fire is more fire? He's never going to be able to live by himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Hmmm.. I really did think this thread was going to be a bragging type affair, but fair play, its not thus far.

I used to black out a helluva lot between the ages of 17 and 19/20 as I'm sure most of us did. But there'd be nights where I'd be going about my business in the same way as my mates (they'd tell me the next day), I'd never be falling around drunk, but for some reason I just couldn't remember major parts of the night.

Obviously what I was drinking wasn't making be austociously drunk, but it was hitting me in the aul memory chip. Other nights I would be stupidly drunk and there'd be no chance of me remembering what happened.

Worst times happened down in Carlow rag weeks, one night while making my way home on my own (mates had disappeared), I was found passed out in the Aldi/Lidl car park at 3 in the morning, with no shirt on. The two girls that found me took my mobile out of my pocket and rang my last dialled, which thankfully was the mate I was staying with. I woke on the floor of his room a day later with little memory beyond 11pm the previous night.

I guess most (not all) people take the stupid route with drink at one stage or another. I learned from that and haven't gotten to that state since thank God. Most people will learn that lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

i used to never blackout and would remember everything from the night before but recently i cant remember a thing an awfull lot of the time.

But once i did blackout i was prob about 16:o and was staying in my friends who lives beside a pitch and putt course. the next morning he came in to the spare room were i was staying to find me in bed with 18 flags from the course. He went ballistic just aswell his parents were away. I really though he put then there but he insists he knew nothing about them.

Are Carlow Ragweeks good? I can only cross my fingers (its my first time; be gentle yet riotous :D)

Ive been a good lad usually considering my first blackout scared the hell outta me and I swore to never do it again....:p

Moral story: know your limit and when you suspect something may be wrong its time for a water..

PS its an Aldi :D and you are lucky to have found someone with sense..not that Carlow seems particularly dangerous, but that was some bit of Samaritism on their part, Connundrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

At a festival last summer, that i won't mention here, i am missing about 6 hours from the sunday. Last thing i remember was getting cider of some girls we met:rolleyes: and then a blank. Aparently we were in the arena talking to friends. Still no recollection. I was cheated out of a lot of bands i wanted to see :(

Another incident was last summer aswell where i had 2 cans of larger, went for a walk, had 2 cans of cider about an hour later, then a blank. Aparently what happened was i went quiet, then lay down on the ground and went to sleep, they continued on drinking, checking my pulse here and there. Then when they woke me i wasn't making any sense and could bearly walk. Ended up falling giving myself a huge gash on my hip and shoulder. Awoke the next morning remembering nothing with all these cuts that looked like a car hit me.

Lesson learned, i no longer drink cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

astrofool wrote:
    On the subject of real blackouts (the electrical type), during one my brother decided to make a torch, except not like in the movies (stick, cloth, petrol, flame), but instead a stick with a roll of toilet paper on the end. Needless to say upon lighting, it went up in flames very quickly, prompting him to throw it into a puddle to throw it out.

Now, that couldn't be the end of it, the next morning, my sister came in to tell me the green had been burned down, so I go down expecting it to be slightly singed, but instead am greeted to a 1 foot high mound of melted plastic with some wheels attached. He had (of course) thrown the smouldering but wet toilet roll into the full green bin (so plenty of kindling). We ended up cutting the green bin apart and throwing it away in the other bin :)

Now after this, we had some green plastic splattered on the wall (from the bin), which I told him to scrape off, so he decides the best way to get this off the wall is via the burner we use to seal the garage roof (like a mini flame thrower). I stopped him before he got this far, but who's solution to a fire is more fire? He's never going to be able to live by himself.

Thanks for that! Thats the most i've laughed at a post in a long, long time!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭nicolo

a few years back i went out to one of my mates birthday parties, it was held upstairs in the sheds in Clontarf and as such very few folk showed up but this didn't deter us at all, we all got well trashed and when the time to go back to his for the party came there was a dilemma, there was 9 of us and only one car so the driver drove them home and was gonna come back for us, and we (there was 4 of us) decided to walk back a bit of the way, now on the way we passed the bus depot in Clontarf and one of us noticed that it looked deserted, then another mate who's a bit of a scumbag had the bright idea of nicking a bus.

now this was about 3 in the morning and the place was empty so we managed to get onto a bus ok and my mate got into the cab at which point we discovered that you cant hot wire buses.

then we hear a voice behind us to discover the driver who had been asleep at the back upstairs had woken up and come down to find 4 big hairy metallers trying to nick his bus, he was fairly cool about it and gave us a ride down to the party which is pretty much the last thing i remember, the next being waking up in my flat in mount joy square on the floor in the hall, with id say about 50 pancakes all over the flat. They where the shop bought ones but to this day I've no recollection of getting home or where i got the pancakes as there was no packaging anywhere.

oh another good one was right after the whole 911 thing, my school had a trip planned to go to Bosnia (don't ask me why i wasn't involved) but a lot of the parents pulled their kids out of the trip over the attacks, this left a tonne of free paid for flights to Bosnia which two of my friends went on. when they came back one of them had brought back the Bosnian equivalent to poitin, a type of heinous paint stripping potato spirit with no real label on the bottle or indication of strength, so we started having dare competitions to drink it and i wound up drinking about 2 thirds of the bottle on top of a heap of gin an cider. cant remember **** all bout that night but my girlfriend got a pretty funny call. went something like this "hey hun! I'm sittin on the wall outside the gaff(this walls about 9 foot high)....I'm the most precariously balanced man in the world" at which point all she heard was a WUHHHHH from me a thump and the phone went dead, my mates ma found me asleep outside when she got home from work at 3 am. apparently i spent the next hour getting sick in the sink upstairs punctuated with me singing new york dolls songs till i passed out and splitting my eye brow off the sink.

god i miss drinking...and debauchery.