Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you hate about boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

The thanks system and the way it has changed posting... Seems to be especially noticeable in AH with way too many try hards injecting some lame humour into proceedings...

"Your favourite xxxxxx" threads, which have pretty much no scope for discussion. Fair play to mods like KH who don't tolerate that kind of crap.

The fact that they even allowed the hunting forum to be created... Absolutely ****ing disgusting stuff!

People posting faux humour stories like that "hang sandwich" one anywhere outside of the humour forum... Lame!

"Grammer nazis" (sic)... If you're going to complain about somebody elses grammar, at least make sure that you can spell properly yourself!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Mrmoe wrote: »
    Thanked 2,140 Times in 738 Posts

2,140 * €18 = €38,520

I hope you declared this to the revenue, they are watching you know;)

*Notes down IP address
    I registered my account in the cayman islands, the revenue ain't gettin nothin from me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Nordie Loyalist

seems a grand site. The good stuuf is out weighing the bad for me.

I don't like all the people commenting on NI matters when they do not have a clue. Media gleened facts are just that :rolleyes:

The personal issues having a lot of unqualified people, kids and misfits handing out advice like the know things when it is just their thoughts/experiance is scary on way too many levels for my liking

I can see how the one law for mods and one for users can be an isuue sometimes.

all in all it is a grand wee site.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

People posting shíte in tags that I then have to go and delete.

javaboy wrote: »
    People posting shíte in tags that I then have to go and delete.

Where is the tags forum? I don't see it in your profile as a moderator?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Where is the tags forum? I don't see it in your profile as a moderator?

I can't spot sarcasm so I hope that wasn't sarcy :P.
    Every thread has the option to add 'tags' to describe it. If a thread was about a hospital in dublin, the tags could be "hospital, health, dublin" etc.

Javaboy's on about people abusing these tags and adding unneccessary things, for example "scumbags, thiefs" or just nonsense that he has to delete from tags for threads in AH

brummytom wrote: »
    I can't spot sarcasm so I hope that wasn't sarcy :P.
    Every thread has the option to add 'tags' to describe it. If a thread was about a hospital in dublin, the tags could be "hospital, health, dublin" etc.

Javaboy's on about people abusing these tags and adding unneccessary things, for example "scumbags, thiefs" or just nonsense that he has to delete from tags for threads in AH

sorry mate just as i was reading your post I saw the tag bar at the bottom, :) but it is empty, maybe why that is why I didn't notice it before.

I can understand what java meant now. thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

People who sign their posts

We know who the f*ck you are, your username is in that big blue box on the left! Rawr! :mad:

José

People who sign their posts

We know who the f*ck you are, your username is in that big blue box on the left! Rawr! :mad:

They're ****in irritating.

Tom

They're ****in irritating.

Tom

I'll find where you live, I swear! :mad:

:P

José

Mods who abuse their power for their own amusement.

lol that is what it is all about :D

but it is abuse.

Ah, I see that you did there.... but it's spelled José. You fail.

Edit: damn!

/leaves thread in shame

Ah, I see that you did there.... but it's spelled José. You fail.

Edit: damn!

/leaves thread in shame

Report it for abuse and see if we can get hiim banned for amusement :D

Javaboy is now on my list of things I hate about Boards. To hell with reporting abuse, those who make the law can break the law... :(

So you're not dead?

Get away out of that, it's just Terry trying to scare us

phasers wrote: »
    Get away out of that, it's just Terry trying to scare us

I'd be more scared of a hug.

Javaboy is now on my list of things I hate about Boards. To hell with reporting abuse, those who make the law can break the law... :(

Tempted to do it my self for the craic :D

I'll find where you live, I swear! :mad:

:P

José

It's not hard, I give out way too much information on here :P

I'd be more scared of a hug.
    Don't be afraid of man love Tom, it's perfectly natural

phasers wrote: »
    Don't be afraid of man love Tom, it's perfectly natural

I know it's natural but I'm afraid of it.
    Help me overcome my fear phasers?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Klingon Hamlet

I hate the way a newbie will post a comment or a general question and some human/computer hybrid will within three minutes deliver a scathing remark/derogatory opinion/out-and-out soulcrushing insult upon the OP.

I'm all for witty banter and merry pi$$taking, and the majority of posters seem sound, but wow, there is an awfully bitter minority waiting in the wings, just dying to wave their ge-net-alia in a Fresh Fish's face.

So, short answer: @$$holes giving well-meaning posters sh1t.

(PS I don't think I've had the privilege of being intershat on yet, in case I seem wounded:pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I hate the way a newbie will post a comment or a general question and some human/computer hybrid will within three minutes deliver a scathing remark/derogatory opinion/out-and-out soulcrushing insult upon the OP.
    Whatever, n00b.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I'm all for witty banter and merry pi$$taking, and the majority of posters seem sound, but wow, there is an awfully bitter minority waiting in the wings, just dying to wave their ge-net-alia in a Fresh Fish's face.

(PS I don't think I've had the privilege of being intershat on yet, in case I seem wounded:pac:)

Hate that too, AH is probably worse for that. The mods do a decent job of moving threads but some people have no cop!

Maybe something like this? http://michaelwender.com/2008/10/09/new-gmail-feature-are-you-sure-you-want-to-sent-that/

:p

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

To be fair, the majority of people here are lovely and welcoming to 'newbies'. I was intimidated at first, but got talking to a few people via PMs (not gonna stroke their e-penis, but they know who they are, and I appreciate it :)).
    It's quite a nice feel here in AH minus a few idiots, it can just take a while to settle it.. I'm a bit too settled in already :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Smug and wanky "RIP" threads.

humberklog wrote: »
    Smug and wanky "RIP" threads.

Having recently been the subject of an RIP thread that questioned my sexual prowess among other things, I can confirm that dead people do have feelings and the fawning "gloss over every bad thing they did/child they screwed" type posts are much less hurtful. Smug and wanky as they may be.

I know it's natural but I'm afraid of it.
    Help me overcome my fear phasers?
    Sure, meet me at the docks in 2 hours.

I hired a lovely escort for you named "Big fat ugly Steve"

Having recently been the subject of an RIP thread that questioned my sexual prowess among other things, I can confirm that dead people do have feelings and the fawning "gloss over every bad thing they did/child they screwed" type posts are much less hurtful. Smug and wanky as they may be.

To be fair, java, hardly any of that thread was about you in the end