Traffic Blues - RTE1 - May 31st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

gdamedic wrote: »
    Anyone notice the student with the bicycle jacket?

I did!

How the hell did she get that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Terrontress

What would happen if the lady with the five kids in the back were to be stopped again before she got home? Can she drive round now with impunity as she has been allowed to proceed?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

What would happen if the lady with the five kids in the back were to be stopped again before she got home? Can she drive round now with impunity as she has been allowed to proceed?

No, she could get another ticket.

However if she didnt pay both and was summonsed to court the judge would most likely strike out one of the summonses or take it into consideration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

It is interesting to note the amount of foreign drivers that have been included in the show so far. If you took it as a cross section you'd swear the paddy didn't break a single law.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

next weeks show looks extremely exciting!
    "a car takes off at a checkpoint in drogheda"
    "a woman using a mobile phone is pulled over"
    "and a driver in donegal is stopped for speeding"

Honestly, is this the best footage they could get in the whole time they spent with the gardai? Pathetic!

APM wrote: »
    next weeks show looks extremely exciting!
    "a car takes off at a checkpoint in drogheda"
    "a woman using a mobile phone is pulled over"
    "and a driver in donegal is stopped for speeding"

Honestly, is this the best footage they could get in the whole time they spent with the gardai? Pathetic!

I was thinking the same way but then I thought maybe the ones that are shown are ones that have paid their FCPS' and have court cases finished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

foreign wrote: »
    Could she have examined his tacograph...

She can examine my tachograph whenever she wants...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Loads of whinging in Legal Discussion over last nights show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Terrontress

No sign of it on youtube this week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

No sign of it on youtube this week?

RTE Player , it's up there at the moment.

http://www.rte.ie/player/#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I have to say that I was getting all excited about episode 4 with the 'car takes off at a checkpoint' etc, but was of course disappointed when they lost him..

This post is from a different thread and from a while back,
    rondeco wrote:
    I have it on great authority from a mate of mine that they recorded a massive chase that started in tallaght and went to dundrum back to tallaght and up the mountains before 'crashing'!!! [

Only 2 episodes left for this to happen....

That would be for the season finale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Bond-007 wrote: »
    That would be for the season finale.

And I bet that the ''chase'' will be the usual footage shown by AGS of patrol cars following at a safe distance travelling at 30mph.....nothing exciting.

O and the usual intro.....This week on traffic blues, a high (slow) speed chase through Dublin, a motorist is caught with no NCT (o god the horror), another motorist drives from a checkpoint only to be lost (come on lads the camera is rolling make some effort) and for the season finale (yes you guessed it) ANOTHER DRUNK DRIVER!!!!

O and the usual intro.....This week on traffic blues, a high (slow) speed chase through Dublin, and for the season finale (yes you guessed it) ANOTHER DRUNK DRIVER!!!!

Don't forget the part where the drunk driver is arrested for, wait for it, being drunk :eek:.
    'I can smell alcahol off you , okay.'

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Never knew you could operate a speed check at cars not travelling directly in front of the speed camera. Always thought thats how the machines operated - by pointing in the direction of the car is travelling (front facing) rather then at the back as it passes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Sully wrote: »
    Never knew you could operate a speed check at cars not travelling directly in front of the speed camera. Always thought thats how the machines operated - by pointing in the direction of the car is travelling (front facing) rather then at the back as it passes!

Oh yeah we can detect a vehicles speed as it travels away from us. If you noticed on the programme (I think) the speed was 141KPH but it can seen on the Laser as -141KPH. The - indicates the vehicle was travelling away from the Garda's location.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

TheNog wrote: »
    Oh yeah we can detect a vehicles speed as it travels away from us. If you noticed on the programme (I think) the speed was 141KPH but it can seen on the Laser as -141KPH. The - indicates the vehicle was travelling away from the Garda's location.

Do members know this? That was the first ever speed check iv seen operate in a different direction.

Yeah members know this.

For speed checks on Motorways it is better to do it from the on ramp. Not cos its sneaky but it is easier and quicker to catch up to speeders.

Also the laser will also show the distance to the vehicle at the time of measurement, e.g. -141 KPH at -267M.

Sneaky feckers ye :p Now I have to slow down approaching ramps as well as keep my eyes peeled in the distance! (I kid, I kid! :))

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Also the laser will also show the distance to the vehicle at the time of measurement, e.g. -141 KPH at -267M.

Not entirely true. While the speed will be preceeded by a -, the distance does not

Check this vid from Traffic Blues at about 1 minute 15 secs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Roadrat

Not entirely true. While the speed will be preceeded by a -, the distance does not

What Bond 007 says is correct ...the distance is also given as can be seen on the gun-monitor showing 135.0 metres. :pac:

Roadrat wrote: »
    What Bond 007 says is correct ...the distance is also given as can be seen on the gun-monitor showing 135.0 metres. :pac:

Ha smartass

Bond 007 was saying the distance would be - 135m where I said the distance shows as 135m even if the car is going away from the speed check :pac::D:p

I mightn't always be right but Im never wrong!!!

anyone who posts links of my posts where I was wrong faces instant paddling

Ha smartass

anyone who posts links of my posts where I was wrong faces instant paddling

Anyone up for 6 o' the best on the bottom , from our very own Nog?.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Just don't do one of these when you're on foot. Unless you're a naturally gifted sub-1-minute 100 metre sprinter like me.

The lads on the border tend not to use it this way so much when the cars are travelling north!

Only the traffic lads know about the "minus" reading. It's their negative attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bigass

And I bet that the ''chase'' will be the usual footage shown by AGS of patrol cars following at a safe distance travelling at 30mph.....nothing exciting.

O and the usual intro.....This week on traffic blues, a high (slow) speed chase through Dublin, a motorist is caught with no NCT (o god the horror), another motorist drives from a checkpoint only to be lost (come on lads the camera is rolling make some effort) and for the season finale (yes you guessed it) ANOTHER DRUNK DRIVER!!!!

Your damed if you do and damed if you don't!!

As we well know the show is not a 100% true picture of what traffic corps do, if yee go to easy your not doing your job...
    And if your doing your job, yer to hard on joe public..

I wonder does the camera add ten pounds!!!!!!lol

Sneaky feckers ye :p Now I have to slow down approaching ramps as well as keep my eyes peeled in the distance! (I kid, I kid! :))

Haha that's the first thing I learned in templemore, sneaky training..lol

bigass wrote: »
    Your damed if you do and damed if you don't!!

As we well know the show is not a 100% true picture of what traffic corps do, if yee go to easy your not doing your job...
    And if your doing your job, yer to hard on joe public..

I wonder does the camera add ten pounds!!!!!!lol

Its nothing like what we do in traffic.....they must have picked the worst locatons for any bit of action and the members....well I wouldnt put them in traffic. Their knowledge of the RTA is shockingly poor.

The show is a great idea, but its OTT for liency and shows mundane incidents

O o and deadwood says I do a great job!!!!

Its nothing like what we do in traffic.....they must have picked the worst locatons for any bit of action and the members....well I wouldnt put them in traffic. Their knowledge of the RTA is shockingly poor.

The show is a great idea, but its OTT for liency and shows mundane incidents

O o and deadwood says I do a great job!!!!

In all fairness you didnt think they were going to show every little detail of what yee do.

RTE presents "A Day with Nice Guy".

Deadwood= comedian...lol
    Wouldnt take it serious niceguy, as long as you feel you do!!

bigass wrote: »
    In all fairness you didnt think they were going to show every little detail of what yee do.

RTE presents "A Day with Nice Guy".

Deadwood= comedian...lol
    Wouldnt take it serious niceguy, as long as you feel you do!!

Ya but the members could have been a bit more professional!! At least looked at the law books before heading out!!!

''A day with nice guy''........emmmm it has a ring to it!!