If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

RTÉ's Storyland ***MEGA MERGE***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Catching up with this ... the Hardy bucks is fecking hilarious ... so many people I know on screen!

/edit I mean character wise ...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

i've heard what the next bucks episode is about.....sounds like it'll be a good 'un

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

i've heard what the next bucks episode is about.....sounds like it'll be a good 'un

Care to share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭afatbollix

have a look at teh wiki page ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭SHREDDER

The further this competition drags on, the more confused I become.
    Quite simple, What is the whole purpose of this competition? And what's t be gained from winning? When the project was being talked about in January, there was talk of a sum of €50,000 being bandied about and then a series on Television. Apparently none are true. So what prize are we now talking about? After all the nature of a competition is to compete for a prize. To me the project looks poorly organized with no interaction, no bio's no forums, and no interactivity. When the first round started I was baffled to see Rental boys was identical to Hardy Bucks, Except for the 30 second clock scene from hardy bucks. Second Round didn't show Psych Wards film for three days.
    What was going on with the Poll, the only feature that had any bit of excitement was then removed. Then the viewer has to wait a further 2 or three days for the results.

Who's even watching Storyland anyway? Most people would have grown bored with having to wait so long to watch the next episode come out.

Why on earth didn't they make three rounds giving each entrant a half an hour pilot with 15.000€. As someone posted previously it feels like a half hour pilot broken up into segments. Maybe they Could have had the pilot's voted for by the public on Network 2 (Or whatever its called these days.)

Because the majority of the entrants are miles ahead of some of the cringe worthy ****e seen on 2tv already. I watched a scene from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tRUZ9Y4Tuk

I found it painful to watch. really just woeful.

But here's an unrelated something to make you laugh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1H913UqQ6w&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

The 50,000 euro is the total amount of funding you receive if you get voted for each week. I don't think it is quite 50,000 TBH.

Each episode gets 8,000 euro.

As for a TV series I think it is unlikely. RTÉ Drama might (if they have any sense) commission Psych Ward for their 2009/2010 season, regardless of how well it does out of Storyland.

But RTÉ Drama won't have anything to do with the comedies which are general commissioned by RTÉ Entertainment. :rolleyes:

But as I have said before you would be mad to want to be involved in this project. 8000 euro a month is **** and you can't plan ahead because you don't know if you will get the next 8000 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Elmo wrote: »
    But as I have said before you would be mad to want to be involved in this project. 8000 euro a month is **** and you can't plan ahead because you don't know if you will get the next 8000 euro.
    Your very focused on the money. :) Hardy Bucks looks like they drank the €8000 and had a laugh, I know there's more to it than that but I'd say they could keep going without the €8000 and still make a very good show. In Ireland it seems to be money first then Ideas when it should be the other way around.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Your very focused on the money. :) Hardy Bucks looks like they drank the €8000 and had a laugh, I know there's more to it than that but I'd say they could keep going without the €8000 and still make a very good show. In Ireland it seems to be money first then Ideas when it should be the other way around.

Not very, I know you can produce programmes on less but you have to think what your putting yourself through. 8,000 for the month is 2000 a week, to get everyone together, to have a basic out line of what your filming (ala Curb Your Enthuism), no really back up from RTÉ, no script advisors, no budget advisors, while ultimately holding on for the public to vote you in for the next episode.

I do agree that Ideas have to happen first but the initial ideas need development, 36,000euro would be great developmental money for all of the the shows to develop scripts, to network with each other and have a much more robust production by the end of 6 months. I think this and many other productions are putting the cart before the horse. Developmental and research money followed by production money, neither of which have to be huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

truly dreadful what a waste of money by rte they wonder where is there money going ill tell them where its going being wasted on crap like this there is only 1 or 2 good 1s oh dont get me started hey its 8 grand an ep what a waste as i said what has this country come to

oh hey listen maybe i was 2 severe all the lads n ladies well done u really are doin a good service and tryin ur best just hate rte sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Raymiiii

storyland isnt great set up. maybe they'll learn from their mistakes and next years might (if it goes ahead) be a lot more professional. But as bad as the set up is there is no other way for certain shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭SHREDDER

Nobody has even heard of the storyland project. It makes me wonder what the hell Pat McCabe was even doing in it. What was he going to get out of it? What will anybody get out of it?

Nearly everybody who's entered the competition one way or another has had some connection with RTE in the past. Apart from Hardy Bucks and This is not a conspiracy theory, (though I'm not sure).

It seems to me That Storyland has gone completely under the radar, and what puzzles me is why Rte haven't tried to publicize this to their full potential. I think its a shame that each video is restricted to a 7 minute episode. It's ridiculous. What if the contestants have used up great ideas for shows which have been shaved down to a bite size chunk of a pilot that nobody's going to even remember.

On a lighter note, I'm looking forward to seeing what the top four productions are going to come up with. Hopefully we won't see a repeat of running low part 2.

Will we see our character in Psych ward descend into madness David Lynch Style?

Will The Hardy Bucks Make it to Galway?

What's going on in the Finglas film festival?

What's the craic with the Black girl in Happy slapper and yer man from psych ward?

Good luck to all involved.

What's going on with the next round any way? How many are voted off?
    How many more rounds will there be?

Episode 3 is up?

I cann't Psych Ward's wasn't up yet again???

Are they restricted by 7mins?

says 5pm on the website...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Just saw the new Bucks now. I think it's the best yet. The last one wasn't great but this is a return to form. French Toast has a few great lines.

I can only see the first 30 seconds of hardy Bucks?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

ScumLord wrote: »
    I can only see the first 30 seconds of hardy Bucks?? :confused:

It's all up on YouTube, schtap yur messin with the RTE site.

The new Buck's episode is brilliant. French Toast is a hero, some of his lines are legendary - 'I model my sthyle on Pierce Brosnan'.

have to say best esp yet.... http://www.youtube.com/user/hardybucks

"hes like a horses cock... there big when there out... "

some classic one liners as allways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭dossier

The Buckeens have really raised their game for this one, it's nearly 15 mins long on youtube and all comic gold. The RTE episode is is only half that and they are censoring swear words now.- it's intended for a mature audience ffs.

Rental Boys has gotten worse, didn't laugh once. There was only about three 'jokes' in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

dossier wrote: »
    The Buckeens have really raised their game for this one, it's nearly 15 mins long on youtube and all comic gold. The RTE episode is is only half that and they are censoring swear words now.- it's intended for a mature audience ffs.

Rental Boys has gotten worse, didn't laugh once. There was only about three 'jokes' in it
    Direct link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭dossier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Do yourselves a favour, if you haven't already and view all three parts of the new buck episode starting from here........ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRkzEAEf6Z0
    Uncensored and as funny and insightful as I have ever seen them.
    Come on the boo.

SHREDDER wrote: »
    Quite simple, What is the whole purpose of this competition? And what's t be gained from winning?

defo mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 frenchtoast

scent of a champion lidl's finesht! tis like a cheaper more economical version of sex panther ya know da wan dat works 60% of the time all the time. plus ya get a free aluminium step ladder if ya buy three bottles on a sunday ...after mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

This is far and away the best Irish comedy I've seen in years. Hope it wins!

I was showing this to a friend over the weekend and watched the entire series again, it actually got better. I can usually never watch the same thing twice but I was in stitches all the way through again.

just watched them all there..

psych ward needs a half hour... when they get picked it will look alot better when they get more money... for one stop shooting in a school :<

happy slapper is crap.. wouldn't vote for it if i was paid..

rental boys has gone down hill... not that funny this time.. looks like they have given up...

and then the bucks... i think they have uped the game.. it looked good and the comedy bits in the new one is spot on ...