If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

RTÉ's Storyland ***MEGA MERGE***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

mknotaro wrote: »
    If you're on a platform where you can curse, then fine, go ahead, do so.
    But if you're on a platform where you not allowed curse, beeping it out afterward doesn't make it funnier, unless the beep in itself makes it funnier.

**** sake! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

I was the one who brought up the cursing thing. My main reason for doing so wasn't that they were cursing. It was the stupid beeping of it out. Which is exactly what Colm and Jim-Jim do.

If you're on a platform where you can curse, then fine, go ahead, do so.
    But if you're on a platform where you not allowed curse, beeping it out afterward doesn't make it funnier, unless the beep in itself makes it funnier.

Though I imagine RTE may have told them to pull back on the cursing as the competition draws to a close since they plan on publicising the winners (maybe), which could have caught the Bucks out a bit. It'll be interesting to see if they put out the next episode without all the cursing and still make it work...

To me it looked like either subliminal messaging or giving 2 fingers to the project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭afatbollix

whens the next one out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

afatbollix wrote: »
    whens the next one out?

The 17th of this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭tennessee time

the boo was seen buying an armani suit in eddie murphys menswear ballyhaunis , paid in cash, apparently the boo and the i 102 104 thief are twin brothers , the thief being the evil twin.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

Nearly caught the thief yesterday in Ballina, so close to €1000.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I wouldn't go by the storyland site vid.
    It's more than likely cut to ribbons.
    In fact I've not watched it myself as i am waiting on the raw youtube upload.

Just watched it there. It was alright, they have been better. Liked it better than Psych Ward and Rental Boys though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Wyndman

I have to say the Hardy Bucks are phoning it in. Their last episode showed flashes of effort but this was just a mess. Once again they seemed to thrown in as many random friends as possible. Was there a single joke this time?

Still miles ahead of the other entries, if only because of the four lads, (the little they're in it.) They're what I click on hardy bucks to see.

And no, I'm not watching the youtube cut this time. They should play by the same rules as the others, it's meant to be a fair competition. It's also disingenuous for them/their fans to blame RTE if the shorter Storyland version is worse since they edit it themselves. The youtube versions don't seem have anything all that risque or controversial in them save for an easy curse or two and there still loads of dead air / annoying rap business so room to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

The first half of it wasn't great. Second half was a bit better, but I didn't get much of a laugh off it like I would have done previous episodes. First disappointing episode, but it's also the first episode I've seen off youtube, so it might be premature to write it off yet.

Yillan wrote: »
    The first half of it wasn't great. Second half was a bit better, but I didn't get much of a laugh off it like I would have done previous episodes. First disappointing episode, but it's also the first episode I've seen off youtube, so it might be premature to write it off yet.

You're probably right. I imagine they've a YT episode coming but at the same time, in the context of Storyland, they shouldn't rely on a YT longer-cut. The task is to produce 7 minutes of coherent story for a small budget... the votes shouldn't be coming from YT viewers of a different edit, as Wyndman says.

It's a tough ask, for sure, as shown by the fact that this round everyone went over the 7min cap but I don't think Rental Boys or Psych Ward have extended edits on other sites that completely change the perception of their show.

It'd be fairly odd for coronation st. to have a bad 30minute show, and justify itself by saying they've a better version on youtube that's 40minutes long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 lukem

It's a tough ask, for sure, as shown by the fact that this round everyone went over the 7min cap but I don't think Rental Boys or Psych Ward have extended edits on other sites that completely change the perception of their show.

Actually, the 7 minute limit applies to the editorial content of the show, so the time between our disclaimer/viewing suggestion slate at the top of Psych Ward 4 and the start of the credits is just under 7 mins.

I am the co-writer/director of Psych Ward, in the interests of disclosure

lukem wrote: »
    I am the co-writer/director of Psych Ward, in the interests of disclosure

I am supporting Psych Ward, but that last episode was very lacking! sorry!

Anyway I have given up on this idea, I hope ye all get a real commission out of the shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

Latest Bucks episode was dissapointing to be honest. Definatley the best overall but wasn't as funny as the last few for sure. Still get my vote lads. "Big Shtyle!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 lukem

Hey Elmo,
    Just wondering if there was a particular problem that you felt there was with Episode 4 of Psych Ward? I'm keen to get feedback and you have been a good supporter of the series to date so I'd like to know where we are going wrong.

Cheers

Luke

lukem wrote: »
    Hey Elmo,
    Just wondering if there was a particular problem that you felt there was with Episode 4 of Psych Ward? I'm keen to get feedback and you have been a good supporter of the series to date so I'd like to know where we are going wrong.

Cheers

Luke

For 7 mins and all of the projects have suffered for the same reason, there is alot of shots of people doing things, I think over all the 4 episode work well as one full episode.

Hopefully you will get a fifth. You should put all eps into one full episode on You Tube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭SHREDDER

I couldn't have agreed more. I think it's all been a bit of a blunder on behalf of RTE. 7 mins an episode I mean.

If I was involved in the creation of the stroyland project, here's how I would have done it.....

Divide all the money it would have taken to develop the whole length of the story land project. Distribute it all equally to each of the top 10 or nine, Let them go off and make a series, let them all show one 10 minute episode each week for a month; then let the public decide who they want to get a commission for a TV series.

I don't even think there is a prize at the end of this competition, So what's the point. Is there a prize. If so can someone tell us.

My opinion of psych ward was there was no problem. It would be great as a whole episode, instead of it being broken down into monthly instalments. your doing a great job, Production and acting wise.

Job done.

The 7 minute issue is taking away the essence from each contestant.

Well done to those involved great job, and best of luck to you all.

Bucks Youtube new episode is up now. Much better than the cut version RTE did but still shouldn't depend on youtube to see the full episode potential.
    I thought it was a good episode, missing the viper though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V1fm-7ojUz4

Much better than the cut version RTE did

Noticed this on the Bucks YouTube comments. RTE don't cut or edit anything... the individuals do. The Bucks cut their own material, they don't submit it to RTE for editing at any stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mikom wrote: »
    I wouldn't go by the storyland site vid.
    It's more than likely cut to ribbons.
    In fact I've not watched it myself as i am waiting on the raw youtube upload.

Just watched the unedited version there....... good, but lackin' the Viper.
    As for the storyland version, well lets just say "it would bring a tear to a sthone".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

SHREDDER wrote: »
    I couldn't have agreed more. I think it's all been a bit of a blunder on behalf of RTE. 7 mins an episode I mean.

If I was involved in the creation of the stroyland project, here's how I would have done it.....

Divide all the money it would have taken to develop the whole length of the story land project. Distribute it all equally to each of the top 10 or nine, Let them go off and make a series, let them all show one 10 minute episode each week for a month; then let the public decide who they want to get a commission for a TV series.

I don't even think there is a prize at the end of this competition, So what's the point. Is there a prize. If so can someone tell us.

My opinion of psych ward was there was no problem. It would be great as a whole episode, instead of it being broken down into monthly instalments. your doing a great job, Production and acting wise.

Job done.

The 7 minute issue is taking away the essence from each contestant.

Well done to those involved great job, and best of luck to you all.
    It would have been ok if they had a forum on the website to get feedback. They could have built up quite a user group over the weeks but the website is terrible there's absolutely no reason to be there once you've watched the episode. It would have to be heavily moderated to stop the rte bashing but it could have been invaluable to them if they made the effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭SHREDDER

It's a disatser, totally agree with the lack of a forum and there's no interactivity on the site what so ever. What happened to the pole? The Only interesting feature on the site.

What eejit designed it anyway? Shame shame shame!

I seen the youtube Version of Hardy Bucks It was better than the RTE version alright. I can't understand why everyone is saying that RTE Cut it though. I think people/viewers must have taken it upon themselves to blame RTE.

I think it's a classic case of the 7 min touch of death. The other contestants should put up some extra footage to flesh out theyr'e shows. It seems Viable. Rental boys seem to have done the same in the beginning but then lost interest in Youtube.

Credit where it's due to Hardy bucks they maximised the use of the internet Ie youtube and bebo. RTE didn't do much to promte them or the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Wyndman

SHREDDER wrote: »
    It's a disatser, totally agree with the lack of a forum and there's no interactivity on the site what so ever. What happened to the pole? The Only interesting feature on the site.

I think it was taken down because it facilitated the cheating in the first round of the competition. One could easily see how behind their favourite was and they could just keep deleting cookies / voting again until they had pushed their count over the others.

Not saying any of the entrants actively did /approved of this, but it's clear at least some friends/fans were in that first round. Hard to blame people for taking glee in such an easy exploit.

Of course taking down the pole also covered up how ill-conceived and badly-run this comp is . The money should have been spent on actual script development for once, not disposable web clips. What was the point of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The Youtube version is probably the best yet. It's like they cut out the good parts and gave it to RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

the youtube version of the bucks is far better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 mknotaro

So the fourth episodes of the remaining three Storyland projects are available. One of which is trying to tell me a story, while the other two are telling me stories.

Pysch Ward.
    I've hammered on about this show's quality production values. So it annoys me slightly that after four eps, I still haven't engaged with this. I'm still waiting for this to be as interesting as its teaser trailer. Like many have commented (at least, I think this is what they're saying), there really doesn't seem to be enough going on in seven minutes. I think the other projects suffer from this too. But thinking back on the fourth episode of Pysch Ward, it seems there was a bit going on, but nothing meaning much, which for the first two/three episodes I went along with, but now I need something more. And perhaps this is me being me (just being stupid), but am I supposed to know who the woman behind the counter in the amusement arcade is. Yes, she's the same woman from the start of episode four, but is he there to seek her out, or is it an accident that they're coming face to face? I think its that I'm unsure of what the focus of Pysch Ward is, coupled with the expectations of the trailer, that leaves me wanting more.

Hardy Bucks
    I've also spoken about how I don't follow the policy of "on YouTube its better". This episode was really unfocused. What is this series about? These guys wanting to get out of the town but failing? The introduction of a whole new group of people was meaningless. And overall, there is no character growth, or any real character exploration in this series. It's fantastic student/up-for-the-craic youTube fodder, but for the RTE Drama department name to come up on it, it shows a lacking of an real drama and conflict.

Rental Boys
    I kinda want to like Rental Boys, but I still can't get over the feeling of unoriginality. It starts with the Monty Python style opening credits, which doesn't seem in any way to comment or be self-referenal to the project. The story really suffers from any real drive. 7 mins for the non-too-surprising reveal of the tanned guy being the new manager. There was no real need to have everything else in the episode. We already know the lack of customer service from the characters, it doesn't need a full episode to establish it. But my major problem comes in the latter half of this episode when they 'cross the line'. Anyone with a hint of knowledge about cameras and angles know about crossing the line. Everyone makes mistakes, but in the simple two shot set-up that it occurs in, is frankly unforgiveable.

Pysch Ward.
    am I supposed to know who the woman behind the counter in the amusement arcade is. Yes, she's the same woman from the start of episode four, but is he there to seek her out, or is it an accident that they're coming face to face?

I think she is the Boy's mother/sister, the boy who killed either his sister or mother in episode one.

Hardy Bucks
    I've also spoken about how I don't follow the policy of "on YouTube its better". This episode was really unfocused. What is this series about? These guys wanting to get out of the town but failing? The introduction of a whole new group of people was meaningless. And overall, there is no character growth, or any real character exploration in this series. It's fantastic student/up-for-the-craic youTube fodder, but for the RTE Drama department name to come up on it, it shows a lacking of an real drama and conflict.

Even I think you might be looking for to much from this!