Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI Recruitment - The Waiting Room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Louisiana 1927

bc84 wrote: »
    Blame PYG lou, it was her. she told me so

I'm lost:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bc84

me too lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭smyff

no hurt feelings here chum :D yeah i go through phases where i have steely resilience about the whole process, then i lose that and get royally hacked off with the whole 50/50 thing and take a hump. the whole process is so irish its ridiculous :D
    respect for diversity. you tryin to say us irish are ridculous!?!?! you are for thinking that hahahaa. but everyones gotta remember that its 50:50 for a reason.

and what Louisiana 1927 said about the medicals it is true. last year though, i think carlty got a medical by mistake. thats a bad way to put it though

all you in a row with close merit numbers however, have got medicals so why would they waste that

i hope your right smyff on the meds matey. not getting into a whole hullabaloo here re the 50:50, as yes i knew about it before i applied etc etc

i have a lot of respect for diversity my man, i have an evenly large repetoire of Paddy irishman, englishman, and scotsman jokes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭RoscoPColtrane

Dontchya just hate em. Looks like thats who was ringing yesterday (although Im secretly hoping stalker) as no call today. :( Aw well..In the immortal words of Mr Eurovision himself Johnny Logan..."Whats another year?"....thats what the next number of weeks will feel like anyhoo. Can someone get a few new magazines for this waiting room please...Any calls? Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭PapaYankeeGirl

Name Merit Background Vetting Medical

Suziesaysso...............310s............Non RC
    Testarossa1..............320-340.......Non RC..............Cleared
    Nobodys...................330s...........Non RC.............. Cleared......Passed
    Louisiana 1927............340's.........Non RC................Cleared......Passed
    Chance?.................. 340-360.......Non RC...............?............. Passed
    bc 84.....................~350.............Non RC...............?.............Passed
    PapaYankeeGirl..........350s...........Non RC..............Cleared..... Passed
    Peggysue's Mama ......360s...........Non RC...............?.............Passed
    faceman08...............360-380.......Non RC.............Cleared......Passed

Pablissimo..................110-120....RC......................?.... .........Appeal
    1979 SD....................200s.........RC
    Track........................300-350... RC......................?
    Townboss................~380..........RC
    Morri.......................~400..........RC
    RoscoPColtrane...........500-550....RC......................?
    Fo...........................~650 ........RC
    mutter man..............750-850.....RC.....................?..............Passed
    smyff......................950-1k .......RC
    shelleyelley..............950-1K........RC[/quote

My name always seems to get left off even when i put it on :(

Sorry maybe I deleted you by mistake while editing the table. Sorry!

I have come to the (misguided) conclusion that recruitments phones were broken today. Engineers say it will take 5 weeks til fix them...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭smyff

I have come to the (misguided) conclusion that recruitments phones were broken today. Engineers say it will take 5 weeks til fix them...:rolleyes:
    you need your head fixed

Na! Calls tend to be in the afternoon and I think they all scoot off home early on a Friday. Monday for definate folks.

WHAT????????????

Oh ba jasus, & i thought this process couldn't get any worse for waiting!!!!

I mean i'm on a knife edge this weather, i can't even sleep without thinking about getting the call even when i know that realistically & being completely honest, it's just a a bit too much too expect a call for July. However, having said that & as i said in a previous post, nothing about this process is set in stone, anything can happen & i think that's the big prob for me, & i'm sure some others also. You think your'e there but there's also the chance you could still get a see ye from recruitment, but tbh i don't think that'll happen;).

What am i saying now?? Hmmm, i'm not to sure, i guess i'm just bored with the magazines in this waiting room, they are worse than a doctor/dentist surgery! Anyways, i thought we'd have heard of more peeps getting calls for July espec given Belfastard got the call. Well i spose it's possible that the whole of the July intake go the call & the only one of the boardies to get one was Belfastard:eek:, any thoughts? That's possible right:(? Please say, it's possible but very unlikely that we wouldn't have heard of others:confused:.

Does anyone know if the calls all go out on the same day? I see PYG had mentioned that they go out in the afternoon, is this always the way, as in has this happened with previous calls??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭belfastard

was I the only one to get a call? i thought some one else mentioned in the july thread about starting apart from me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭given1

Does anyone know if the calls all go out on the same day? I see PYG had mentioned that they go out in the afternoon, is this always the way, as in has this happened with previous calls??

my call came at 10 in the morning originally, i was on a plane couldnt take it but they lkeft me a voicemail.... however myt call came late this afternoon... the calls can take up til wenesday next week and the weeks after depending on people not taking the job anymore.....

dont take this the wrong way, the ones who got medicals recvently but i think july might just be out of reach, i could be wrong(hpe i am) as i know what the wait is like(2 years to the month im starting exactly:eek:) the reason i think this is that some of yous only had your medical last month, if they knew they were going to be short foir numbers for july ,recruitment would have relaised this a while ago and prepared for it then! i think august, sept, oct will be your intakes:)

just my personal thought...... good luck:pac:

given1 wrote: »
    my call came at 10 in the morning originally, i was on a plane couldnt take it but they lkeft me a voicemail.... however myt call came late this afternoon... the calls can take up til wenesday next week and the weeks after depending on people not taking the job anymore.....

dont take this the wrong way, the ones who got medicals recvently but i think july might just be out of reach, i could be wrong(hpe i am) as i know what the wait is like(2 years to the month im starting exactly:eek:) the reason i think this is that some of yous only had your medical last month, if they knew they were going to be short foir numbers for july ,recruitment would have relaised this a while ago and prepared for it then! i think august, sept, oct will be your intakes:)

just my personal thought...... good luck:pac:

Wouldn't take it the wrong way at all, i think your right bu t one can't help but get the old hopes up y'know. Yeah from Aug onwards though i dopn't think there's an intake in August this year, anyways thereafter would probably be the most logical timescale given we had meds bout a month ago. I appreciate what your saying, but you mean, out of reach for the July intake right?

Congrats on getting the call yesterday? BTW why had you to wait two years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭given1

Wouldn't take it the wrong way at all, i think your right bu t one can't help but get the old hopes up y'know. Yeah from Aug onwards though i dopn't think there's an intake in August this year, anyways thereafter would probably be the most logical timescale given we had meds bout a month ago. I appreciate what your saying, but you mean, out of reach for the July intake right?

Congrats on getting the call yesterday? BTW why had you to wait two years?

yep but i could wrong and i hope i am but just trying to look at it logically, i reckon they have a fair idea who their going to appoint roughly a few weeks before making the calls! lol thanks i got the call for april but had deferred... lol answered the other part in a pm:)

I didnt say it was always the case. Just by looking at previous calls they tended to be afternoon time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭shelleyelley

well hello guys

how is everyone??!?!?!?

just wondering.... anyone know what the highest merit number is to get the call so far??

still chilling waitin on the cal after passing everything, well havent called about vetting in months so i dont know if it is cleard or not yet and it was sent away in like october time lol

and as you all know i managed to failed the IST this time round.... im one of a kind lol

just grabing on to that little hope that i will get a call from a witheld number soon offering me a place lol

rember my merit number is just below 1K and RC if anyone wants to shed any light on the chances for me lol

thats yallll xox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Track

well hello guys

how is everyone??!?!?!?

just wondering.... anyone know what the highest merit number is to get the call so far??

still chilling waitin on the cal after passing everything, well havent called about vetting in months so i dont know if it is cleard or not yet and it was sent away in like october time lol

and as you all know i managed to failed the IST this time round.... im one of a kind lol

just grabing on to that little hope that i will get a call from a witheld number soon offering me a place lol

rember my merit number is just below 1K and RC if anyone wants to shed any light on the chances for me lol

thats yallll xox

You have just as good of a chance of getting a call than any of us; merits don't really mean that much (ie. I think the highest so far getting in this year is 850) - it's all about the vetting; with the current trend it seems that if you are cleared - you're in!

Very quiet here.......no calls at all yet for July.......???

6 or 7 i think so far matey

Belfastard, Delta and Rosco where the only 'real' calls. The rest were deferals!

Please ring me!:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Delta2783

Belfastard, Delta and Rosco where the only 'real' calls. The rest were deferals!

Ok PYG i have decided that we should start a petition to get you in! Surely if enough people sign they will have to give you the call! P.S dont worry its a fact that you are gonna get the call, its just when. I so so so so so want you to be in my squad, so PSNI if any of you guys are reading this then get dialling!

Delta2783 wrote: »
    Ok PYG i have decided that we should start a petition to get you in! Surely if enough people sign they will have to give you the call! P.S dont worry its a fact that you are gonna get the call, its just when. I so so so so so want you to be in my squad, so PSNI if any of you guys are reading this then get dialling!

Awwhhh, thanks!

I want to be in the 'cool' squad. I could bring so much to the squad, LOL. You know we would rock it.

Get the petition going.....who is handing it into Sir Hugh?

Oops, I must have been looking at the wrong spreadsheet! Congrats to all!

Track wrote: »
    Oops, I must have been looking at the wrong spreadsheet! Congrats to all!

Spreadsheet. Ha ha. I never want to see another spreadsheet in my life. Ever...Sorry. What am I doing in the waiting room. Goodbye waiting room. I hated your wallpaper....

You always complained about the magazines too!!

How can you hate the waiting room?!?! I LOVE it in here; so cozy I want to spend the rest of my life waiting in here! I'm making a spreadsheet of all the spreadsheets I can find on boards ie; when I finish I reckon I'll get the call! Congrats again RPC.... now get the hell out of here!:D

Awwhhh, thanks!

I want to be in the 'cool' squad. I could bring so much to the squad, LOL. You know we would rock it.

Get the petition going.....who is handing it into Sir Hugh?

Me. Ill do it. Im quite partial to a red headed* (*substitute with blooded when required) male in a position of autoritayy. Id die off. In a cool way. The cool squad. I luvs ya PYG.

Waiting makes me sad. I've just been offered a job with much higher pay, with a great company car, and excellent bonuses. It's too good to turn down. Money isn't an issue, so I'd much rather join the police if I get a choice, but one of the stipulations in my new contract will be 3 months notice if I leave before a 2 year entrance period. Does anyone think the PSNI will have a problem with me deferring IF I get the call?